We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
111 N Corcoran St, Durham, NC 27701-3207
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/22
Priceline
$199
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$167
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/22
Hotels.com$167
Travelocity$167
Lol.travel$230
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (408)
Room & Suite (106)
Dining (19)

About

#15 of 73 hotels in Durham
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Located in the heart of downtown Durham and occupying the historic Hill Building, 21c Museum Hotel Durham is a 125-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, cultural civic center, and home to Counting House restaurant. Stay with us and the iconic Fuchsia Penguin. The world has changed over the last several months and here at 21c, we have made some changes too. One thing remains constant. Our top priority is the safety and wellness of our teammates and guests. Our website has everything you need to know to return to travel with 21c. We can't wait to welcome you back to The Counting House and 21c Durham!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bathrobes
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Boutique
915Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 507
  • 212
  • 99
  • 56
  • 41
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
babtzia wrote a review Nov 2022
Baltimore, Maryland64 contributions52 helpful votes
Where to begin: 1. Our Hotels.com reservation for a 4 night stay was allegedly lost. 2. Hotel found us a room, which, at check out, cost TWICE the original price. 3. We were charged for champagne we did not drink. It was refunded. 4. Heat/AC in the room is NOT in the control of the guest. It is set for the whole building. 5. There was ONE towel in the room. Had to ask for towels. 6. Room not made up until as expected. 7. Room was very small and across from the elevator. The original reservation was for a bigger room. 8. The management tried to make up for the shortcomings, but too little - too late. 9. NOT recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Find a better hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Raney, Other at 21c Museum Hotel Durham
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Babtzia, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I am so sorry about the problems you encountered with your stay. We've used this feedback to talk to the team to enhance our overall experience. Our goal is to provide heartfelt hospitality to every guest and clearly we missed the mark. I hope you'll consider returning! Again, we can't get better without knowing your experience and we are so grateful that you've shared this with us. Very kindly, Kevin Raney- Director of Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex G wrote a review Nov 2022
Northbrook, Illinois384 contributions249 helpful votes
+1
21C is one of my favorite hotel brands, but this one in Durham is a bit disappointing. Great location, reasonable rate, and friendly service are on plus side. However, the rooms are smallish and outdated. More importantly, my room was not cleaned properly. There was half empty bottle of water on the window sill, garbage in the can, and few other small details. Museum art installations were not as interesting as in Chicago Kansas City or Nashville. Bar was nothing special too. Really 2.5 stars out of 5. I wish I can be more generous, but alas, there is room for improvement
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LeeMan16 wrote a review Nov 2022
65 contributions34 helpful votes
Very political, woke hotel with terrible "art" that looks like a 5th grader's project. The front door leads to a dirty elevator area that looks like a 1960s hallway. The doormen were helpful and nice, same with the front desk. The hallways have old bare floors, no carpeting, same with the rooms. The room was ok, comfy bed, coffee, waters. One night we came back at 10:30PM to a LOUD party with music in the first floor. When I called the front desk they told me ,oh, it should end around midnight or 1AM...what?? It ended up stopping around 11:10AM but the hotel's response was bizarre. $365+ a night and you have to put up with extremely loud music throughout the entire hotel? There was no way anyone in the hotel would get any sleep. One of the "art" pieces by the restaurant was a picture of a man shooting a handgun at an Army plane in the sky. We saw that and decided to eat elsewhere. Another was of a former president and Putin. Who wants to visit a hotel and be barraged with politics? Not us, never again. Goodbye 21c hotels forever...we will take our money and travel plans elsewhere!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Scott W wrote a review Nov 2022
1 helpful vote
Stay somewhere else for the price. Photos from website do not reflect the rooms at all. For the price point the poorest state of the rooms, I have ever stayed in. Room was in need of cosmetic repair, scuffs all over the walls, poorly repaired drywall, fixture covers not properly affixed, bathroom fan broken, etc. A/c was only sufficient for half of the space. Bedroom was cold, bathroom and sitting room were 80 degrees. I would also say that the hotel has an agenda with the art it accepts. Most of it was socially progressive/ politically based. Defintely not for all potential patrons. Valet service was poor at best. Waited over 30 minutes for our vehicle to be brought up, after calling 15 minutes ahead. Poor experience overall, there are much nicer hotels to stay at in this price point. I will not be staying at another 21c Muesem hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
QualitySearcher67 wrote a review Aug 2022
Cornaredo, Italy15 contributions42 helpful votes
What do you expect from a hotel with no public spaces (reception desk is not at street level, no breakfast available)? You expect service and room items supply. This is not the case in this hotel. Just to give you an example: one day I called the reception desk because after the housekeeping daily room service all these items were missing: hand towels, toilet paper (!), daily water supply, coffee caps. Do not pretend that in a room with two people you expect two coffee cups! I left a message to the housekeeping asking for the second cup, which was not taken into consideration. So I checked in the other room occupied by my two daughters, also there there was only one cup. Maybe in this hotel two people are supposed to drink from the same cup. I am used to stay in 4-5 stars ACCOR hotels and this is not what I am used to.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Raney, Other at 21c Museum Hotel Durham
Responded Aug 31, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay. Please allow me to apologize for the service your received with our housekeeping team. I will review this information with my Housekeeping Manager and we will be addressing those issues immediately. We value your opinion and will take a look into all of the items listed in your survey to better assist you and future guests. Please reach out to me directly regarding these and other matters that you faced during your stay. Kevin Raney- Director of Operations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcela Jiménez wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I stayed there for four nights and I forgot a little pillow which was very important to me because I got it from my mom when I was born, when I realized my little pillow was missing, I immediately called the hotel, it had not been 12 hours since I left, but they always told me they could not find my pillow, I assured them it was on the bed, but they made no effort to help me. They were very rude and inhumane I felt like they were making fun of me because I don't speak English fluently.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Raney, Other at 21c Museum Hotel Durham
Responded Aug 17, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Let me apologize if you felt that we were rude while you inquired about your pillow. Please contact myself or Ashley Morales (Front Office Manager) to further discuss the details of the pillow. We will continue to search the property to assure it is not here. Thank you and hope to hear from you soon. Kevin Raney- Director of Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cynthia T wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Pros- great location, museum portion is open 24/7 to guest as is the gym and suana. Various parking options ( street parking which is free after 7p on Friday thru Sunday/Garage across the street/Valet) I was able to park for free on the street it was a couple feet from the hotel . Staff is very friendly. The aesthetics of the property were very pretty. Cons- AC system is faulty it is activated by a motion sensor & our first room was 77 degrees and would not cool down we were moved to another room but woken up in a sweat both nights as the AC apparently kicked off while we slept leaving the room at 76 degrees, spa & room service & other amenities seemed a bit disorganized we had arranged for strawberrries and champagne to be brought to our room to celebrate a birthday before we headed out for our massage it didnt arrive I later learned it apparently was sitting in the original room we were moved from it was corrected but we received later after our spa appointments, room service arrived without utensils again it was corrected but further proved their system of doing things could be improved, the counting house again was very pretty but the food options and flavor were lacking and the prices were pretty high, our room bathroom was very dirty shower looked rusty and poorly designed the water seeped out onto the bathroom floor we had to use towels to prevent us from falling additionally some of the water must have wet the area by the toilet causing the bathroom to smell horrible best way to describe it would be a dirty urinal smell which confirmed what we thought that the bathroom had not been cleaned properly, the beds were not balanced so they would teeter back and forth when sitting or laying on them we had to use some of the magazines in the room to prop them up so we wouldn'tbe woken up by the noise if someone shifted in their bed, lastly there were some issues with charges but again everything was worked out in the end I will say the staff did their best to rectify the issues as they occurred which is why it was just alot of problems for a short stay of only two nights. I wouldn't stay at the hotel again personally. And to be fair there are worst hotels out there. I just felt for the price we could've expected better quality and comfort especially with the AC issue in the middle of summer and the lack of cleanliness of the bathroom. The museum is definitely worth checking out whether or not you're staying there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Raney, Other at 21c Museum Hotel Durham
Responded Jul 8, 2022
I would like to apologize for your HVAC and guest room experience and for not meeting your expectations. Would it be possible to speak with you directly? Please call my office. All the best, Kevin Raney - Director of Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
calstars wrote a review Apr 2022
San Francisco, California56 contributions67 helpful votes
The hotel is in a good location - central to the downtown Durham area. Walkable to the ballpark, numerous restaurants. We parked on the street - 50 yards from the hotel (had to move car before 8 am). The building is an older building. Lobby is on the 2nd floor after riding a rustic elevator. Not much to the lobby but the museum gallery takes up much of the broken up 2nd floor - a cool concept that doesn’t relly flow in this instance. The room was decent sized but felt sparse in terms of furniture - not in the cool, modern, austere kind of way. The bathroom had the dreaded shower curtain and was similarly uninspiring - serviceable, not bad, but not particularly memorable. The windows look out to an alley and building about 20 feet away - so not worth raising the shade unless you want some light, Not a bad place just not a great place.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michael A wrote a review Mar 2022
Hendersonville, North Carolina48 contributions20 helpful votes
Stayed here recently for two nights. The museum part of the hotel is very prominent - check-in is essentially in a contemporary art gallery. The concept is very minimalist throughout, including the rooms and the typical hotel information/amenities. Will appeal to some more than others - definitely not the traditional hotel, but quirky in a way that reflects today's Durham. For a special type of traveler.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
wigstheone wrote a review Jan 2022
5 contributions4 helpful votes
21c Museum Hotel Durham Durham Nice Stay, But The Accor Program is Very Poor Very nice hotel (I've stayed here many times before and had our engagement dinner here) and appreciate the room upgrade. That being said, the billing was entirely incorrect and a week later I still haven't received credit for the stay. Great hotel; totally crappy membership program.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$178 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
125
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

21C MUSEUM HOTEL DURHAM $157 ($̶2̶2̶6̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - NC

Frequently Asked Questions about 21c Museum Hotel Durham
Which popular attractions are close to 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Nearby attractions include NC Escape (0.08 miles), DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center (0.2 miles), and American Tobacco Historic District (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Parlour, Pizzeria Toro, and Rue Cler Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Is 21c Museum Hotel Durham located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Durham.
Are any cleaning services offered at 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does 21c Museum Hotel Durham offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.