We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

21c Museum Hotel Durham

Save
Share
111 N Corcoran St, Durham, NC 27701-3207
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
MGallery
$159
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/30/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$178
$143
View Deal
SAVE $35
Priceline
eDreams$143
getaroom.com$178
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (396)
Room & Suite (101)
Dining (13)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 09/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from 21c Museum Hotel Durham
Updated 09/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 71 hotels in Durham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Located in the heart of downtown Durham and occupying the historic Hill Building, 21c Museum Hotel Durham is a 125-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, cultural civic center, and home to Counting House restaurant. Stay with us and the iconic Fuchsia Penguin. The world has changed over the last several months and here at 21c, we have made some changes too. One thing remains constant. Our top priority is the safety and wellness of our teammates and guests. Our website has everything you need to know to return to travel with 21c. We can't wait to welcome you back to The Counting House and 21c Durham!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Boutique
890Reviews7Q+A99Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 503
  • 209
  • 89
  • 50
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
RicePudding123z wrote a review Dec 2020
Sarasota, Florida2 contributions
Having stayed at 21Cs before, we diverted from an I-95 road trip to stay there b'c we trusted their COVID protocols. Even with reduced meal options because of Thanksgiving, the cocktails were outstanding, and the dinners good. Everyone was mask compliant, more than I can say of many other places. The reno of the old bank was whimsical and interesting. Loved the terrazzo floors and nouveau accents.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Mary F wrote a review Nov 2020
Durham, North Carolina, United States3 contributions1 helpful vote
Don’t go to this place! It is attractive and even “neat” in places but when they spent a ton of money on hotel decor they should have spent money on the sound proofing! It’s like sleeping in an office! The hallways are super loud and there is zero insulation from other rooms or outside! Don’t stay here if you want to actually sleep!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Steve wrote a review Sep 2020
Broomfield, Colorado83 contributions35 helpful votes
COVID has changed everything as far as i can tell. Limited services in the hotel, house keeping, etc. Yet after zero travel for so long this trip was a welcome respite! It was for a happy occasion, wedding, and overall it was great. We had a suite which was a great selection as it turned out because so many restaurants were take out only and the suite had a table and chairs! Staff were very nice and tried to help out as much as possible.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: During COVID try to get a suite.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Johnathan Thompson, Other at 21c Museum Hotel Durham
Responded Sep 29, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Best regards, John Thompson Director of Operations
Read more
Margarie J wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff Amy, Rob and Nancy are so very accommodating before you even arrive. They truly go out their way to make your stay is pleasant. Need coffee, clean towels just about anything Ms. V is there to greet you with a hello and a smile you can see even with her mask on and that you can hear in her voice. We went to see the location for our upcoming wedding and to meet with Jesse who was also very nice. The suites are roomy and we had no issues we couldn't call down to the front desk to resolve. I love how Covid19 conscience the property is and how focused on guest safety they are. The artwork is unique and a definite conversation piece. We will visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you can get a suite.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ken Abrams wrote a review Jul 2020
Durham, North Carolina19 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I was fortunate to stay in the 21c Suite (the alleged best room in the place) for several nights. The suite takes up the 15th floor (there are technically two floors above the 15th but neither are used for guest rooms - looked like they were used for access to the roof/storage). The elevator doesn't technically open right into the suite but does open into a private hallway which contains the 1501 room. First the Good: The Room - Obviously the suite is big. You walk into a little foyer area that connects directly into the living/dining area. The couch is fairly comfortable and the entire place has a cool vintage vibe to it. A small area by the dining table is where the wet bar is (not great placement or very usable but still nice). Continue to the left and a pocket door separates the dining area from the bedroom and bathroom. Bedroom is a good size with windows all around and blackout shades for the windows. A cool but useless feature was the TV. It is hidden behind 2-way glass so the large mirror you see in the bedroom actually has a large TV behind it BUT I got it to work one time and never again. Could have been my own fault but I am tech savvy and couldn't figure it out. The master Bathroom (there are two bathrooms in the suite which I didn't realize) is pretty fantastic. Large shower, large sit down vanity, large double vanity with sinks. There is a second bathroom tucked away near the living area and it's fine but basically just a large closet with a toilet and a sink, still not bad though. The Views - The views were fantastic of downtown Durham. You can see into the Durham Bulls stadium from the balcony and the windows in the suite give you 360degree views of the rest of Durham. Sunrise or sunset you can watch them both. My favorite time was nighttime and watching the city lights and cars driving around. The balcony is a great space but also has some issues which I mention below. Chic & Vintage - The building is a renovation and is one of the older buildings in Durham. It is pretty cool with the art museum vibe and nice restaurant downstairs. It doesn't exactly fit like a normal luxury hotel would but that's because it wasn't created to be that way. It used to be a bank and now it's a hotel. So some parts are a little odd but I enjoyed that. Staff - Staff was super helpful and very nice. The restaurant staff was great, the front desk people were nice, and the one maintenance issue we had they came up and fixed immediately. You can park in the streets after 5pm or in the parking garages nearby after 7pm or on weekends. That'll save you from having to pay crazy amounts for the valet parking. Still it is Durham so street parking can't be considered "safe". NEGATIVES No coffee maker - Yes that is correct. The $36/nt Red Roof Inn has a coffee maker but the 21c Suite does not. It would make sense to put one where the wet bar area is but shockingly there was no coffee maker in this room. Where is the extra bedding and towels? - The room only had the bedding that came on the bed. 2 pillows, a sheet, a comforter. No extra pillows, no extra blankets, no extra sheets. Only a few towels in the master bathroom and no towels in the extra bathroom, definitely not enough for more than a night. It's a $700/nt hotel room, I shouldn't have to ask for bedding or towels. Lack of trash cans - 3 small trash cans (1 in each bathroom and 1 at the wet bar) are not enough. Get a medium size trash can and put it in the living area. No privacy on the balcony :( - for many years I'm sure the balcony with the cool soaking tub was a secluded place at the top of Durham. Unfortunately in the last couple of years a 27-story apartment/condo building has been built literally across the street. If you wanted to have a romantic evening up on the balcony, you're now going to be sharing it with a wall of glass windows and 200 people watching you. A simple fix would be to add a privacy screen to the left side of the balcony and give the space its privacy back. You wouldn't be blocking any of the great view because now the only view in that direction is of the giant building. In conclusion, the room is great and the hotel is great in many ways and I'm very happy about my time there. In my opinion the 21c Suite is lacking a little bit in the "luxury feel" for the price, but I would stay there again if I had the opportunity. I still gave it 5 stars because I believe that's what it deserves but truthfully it would probably be about a 4.5.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Johnathan Thompson, Other at 21c Museum Hotel Durham
Responded Jul 30, 2020
Thank you very much for commenting on your recent stay in the 21c suite. We are happy you enjoyed your visit,however we apologize that our temporary room design was not fitting. We hope to resume our normal room layout once we can safely place this pandemic behind us. Thank you again for the valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon. best regards, Johnathan Thompson Director of Operations 21 C 919.956.6708 John.thompson@21chotels.com
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$183 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
125
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about 21c Museum Hotel Durham
Which popular attractions are close to 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Nearby attractions include NC Escape (0.08 miles), DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center (0.2 miles), and American Tobacco Historic District (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Parlour, Pizzeria Toro, and Rue Cler Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Is 21c Museum Hotel Durham located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Durham.
Are any cleaning services offered at 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at 21c Museum Hotel Durham?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does 21c Museum Hotel Durham offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.