We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Durham

Show Prices
#28 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Durham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Durham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Hopewell, New Jersey
Reviewed July 27, 2015 via mobile

Needed a place to stay near family in Durham (and a place that accepted dogs). Spacious room, decent breakfast and wonderful staff (Gwen and Maria were great). Good wifi and convenient location. Can't beat the place if it's near your destination!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbenhill
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear sbenhill, Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express! I'm happy to read you had a comfortable stay and found our staff so friendly & helpful. We can't wait for your next visit! Thanks again for your comments. David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed July 11, 2015

Wasn't planning on staying overnight, but needed a place closer to DC than Greensboro, NC. I wasn't overwhelmed when I got there, but I am not snooty about last-minute bookings. There are many great things going for this hotel. First, the pool is large and heated AND clean. My kids loved it. Secondly, the service was exemplary. I asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jalopyjoe
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear jalopyjoe, Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we hope you had a nice trip to DC! I'm glad your family enjoyed the variety of amenities we offer and found our staff helpful and friendly. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in our area! David Amick...

Wilder, Kentucky
Reviewed June 23, 2015

We stayed 2 nights while visiting a relative who is a student at Duke. The room was fine. Though we weren't there long, we used the pool because it was so hot when we were there. Breakfast was adequate and items changed a bit from day to day, which was nice. There were cookies in the afternoon for a snack...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kymom99
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear kymom99, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you enjoyed visiting your relative and exploring the local area. We do apologize for any inconvenience for not having an on-site fitness center, however, we do offer privileges at an extensive off-site facility and encourage our guests to inquire from our staff for details. Thanks again...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed June 20, 2015

I stayed at this hotel for one night last month during a work trip. I thought it was lovely! The front desk staff was very friendly. The room was extremely clean and in excellent condition. The bed was VERY comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and very nice. I especially enjoyed the Bath & Body Works products. I also thought cookies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shira K
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear Shira K, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review; it's great to hear you had an excellent visit that went above and beyond your expectations! We're grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and can't wait for your next visit. Thanks again for your praise! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

Stayed a week on business. Room was on 4th floor. Terrible cigarette smoke smell in my room and on floor. Breakfast not up to par with other HIX I've stayed at. Repeat foods daily, no offering of potatoes or gravy as most do. Room was clean, would've enjoyed stay if motel was non smoking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dwyday
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear Dwyday, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback. Providing a clean, comfortable stay for our guests is our biggest priority and we regret falling short of our goal during your visit. We will pass your feedback onto our team to discuss further and ensure our non-smoking guests receive the rooms they expect. Please reach out to me...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed May 19, 2015

While not close to RTP or downtown, it was a very pleasant stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great, and the managers meet and greet on Wednesday evening was a surprise. The room was very comfortable. The only thing it lacked was a fitness center, but i was so relaxed, I didnt mind nit working...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear David A, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I'm glad you had a nice stay and found our staff so helpful & friendly. I do apologize for the inconvenience regarding our lack of a fitness center, but appreciate your feedback and will pass your comments onto our corporate team. Otherwise, thanks again for your praise...

Cornelia, Georgia
Reviewed May 18, 2015

This motel is very convenient to Interstate 85. Our room was clean and the breakfast provided was well prepared. Very little road noise so you can expect a good nights sleep. The check in and check out were quick. There is an excellent Texas Roadhouse nearby with good steaks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissDixieDelight
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear MissDixieDelight, Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express! I'm pleased you had a great stay and found us well-located, as well as that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to your next stay! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc

new jersey
Reviewed April 30, 2015

Our daughter and her family come to Durham a few times a year and we try to meet them as often as possible, as they live out of the country. Consequently, we have stayed in many hotels in Durham area over the last five years. I have come to expect that I will have terrible sleep and/or come home sick,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luckyladyd
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear luckyladyd, Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express! We're very pleased to be your new favorite hotel in Durham and are happy you had an outstanding visit. We can't wait to see you during future visits with your family! Thanks again for your praise. David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed March 15, 2015

We got a last-minute room at this hotel through Expedia on the road, an hour away. Clean rooms, extremely convenient location and very helpful/friendly staff. All one could ask for in a room for the night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank t0eplitz
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear t0eplitz, Thank you for your review! It's great to hear you had a clean, comfortable stay and found our staff so helpful and friendly. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in our area and hope you will be able to stay for longer! Thanks again for your praise. David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc

Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed March 1, 2015

I've travelled a good bit the past month on business and luckily haven't had any poor hotel experiences. I just had a 2 night stay aY Holiday Inn Express in Dueham, NC. It's everything you would expect from this long-running chain. Rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, comfortable beds, good shower pressure. Hotel offers a complimentary breakfast with the usual fare-eggs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review

Dear Fred H, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We're happy your 2-night visit lived up to the rest of your recent business stays and you found our staff so friendly & helpful. Thanks again for your praise and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Durham! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#39 of 70 in Durham
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With an ideal location near I-85 and the Durham Freeway, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Durham hotel offers the utmost in comfort and convenience for your next trip. Use the free Wi-Fi access to keep in touch with home and the office, and the Business Center offers all the tools you need to make a dazzling presentation. We also offer free taxi service to Duke University Medical Center. In the morning, we serve up a free, hot breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durham

Address: 2516 Guess Rd, Durham, NC 27705-3307
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: $123 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durham Hotel Durham
Holiday Inn Durham
Durham Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Durham staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Durham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“They offer a free shuttle to Duke University hospital.They also offer medical discounts to patients and their families.”
 of 5 bubbles VBeacher, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
“Away from the Highway.”
 of 5 bubbles MarioA123, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“Get a room ending in a even number to avoid the interstate noise.”
 of 5 bubbles TexasTravler45, May 8, 2016 | Read review
“Don' know, we have stayed in several rooms and all ok as for being quite.”
 of 5 bubbles 360marionb, Apr 27, 2016 | Read review
“My room overlooked the interstate. Not a bother for me, but light sleepers should request a room on the other side of hotel when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles 964rochelleb, Mar 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question