We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people have started booking this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com$199
Tripadvisor$199
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (582)
Room & Suite (171)
Videos (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood.
Read more
Room & Suite (171)171
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Solarium
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Sun deck
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
1,245Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 839
  • 251
  • 105
  • 34
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Guide35127852410 wrote a review Sep 11
1 contribution1 helpful vote
To call Sanderling a “resort” is a mistake! We were very disappointed after our recent stay. Upon arrival we were assigned a room on third floor. No assistance was offered with luggage, no elevator was available. Room was cheaply furnished with white painted furniture chipped/scratched in several places. Carpet had large dark stain. Management needs training. We asked where advertised music was available but were told there was no music. A few minutes later we heard music coming from fire pit area. I was recovering from recent knee surgery so I took a stairway marked “Exit” in hopes it was less steep than main stairs. This stairway was filthy....hundreds of dead bugs, cobwebs, spiders and dirt! When I informed management, I was told that was not an “active “ stairway. What does that even mean? When we attempted to check out at 6:30 on morning of departure, clerk told us she didn’t know how to do checkout. The only thing deserving of “resort” part of Sanderling are the rates.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Memywifeandkidsx2 wrote a review Sep 1
Hilton Head, South Carolina3 contributions1 helpful vote
We needed a get away and felt an escape to the beach would be the best family option. Sanderling addressed all my traveling hesitations with lots of signage for social distancing and we never experienced staff not wearing masks. The beach location is perfect for spreading out and even the pool area was never crowded. The staff was phenomenal at making us feel welcome and we enjoyed ghost crabbing and a kayak tour with Kitty Hawk Kites. My son was able to do his remote school and even find some shells on our beach walk that related to a science lesson. We can't wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: South North Poolside rooms have outside entrance/exit options that you do not have to enter the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Jacemckelvs wrote a review Aug 2020
Bethesda, Maryland3 contributions2 helpful votes
I will preface by saying that my family has stayed at the Sanderling Resort before and had an absolutely lovely, memorable time. We stayed in one of their regular rooms. We loved it so much that we vowed to come back again... and we did! However, this review is based on our latest stay, which this time was in one of their vacation homes - the Evans House from July 8-14, 2020. This year, we came with our larger family including siblings and their kids - to "quarantine at the beach" together and get a change of scene due to the COVID pandemic. I spoke so highly of the Sanderling to my siblings and Mom - the cleanliness, the service, the amenities, the beach access... so the expectations were set high. I got the sense that they would take extra measures to make sure the house would be sanitized and safe because they had a strict policy about check in. I asked if we could check in early and they said they needed the time to devote to a proper cleaning. So "Yes, it's expensive, but it'll be worth it," I told to my family. When we arrived, we were all excited to check out the house. It looked, as the photos depicted, clean and pretty. But after closer inspection, there were issues: SPIDERS: The dining chandelier had spider webs on them, and there were spiders and spider webs all over the front porch, main deck, and garage. The main deck was so bad, we deemed it unusable and decided to only use the 2nd floor deck. My mother found a spider in her bed later in the week. We stayed in Duck numerous times before, but never experienced spiders. Didn't know it was a thing. Sanderling should have de-webbed the outdoor areas and properly cleaned the house prior to our arrival, treated the exterior and indoor areas for spiders. NEGLECTED HOME: We noticed window screens had fallen out of the some of the windows and down into the side yard. We noticed the wall clock in the main living area and TV remotes were out of batteries and not functioning. My sister reported a very lumpy bed mattress in her room. With this and the spider webs all over the place, it made us question how long ago housekeeping came into the home? And it certainly made us question how good a job they did. We doubted the cleanliness and COVID sanitation methods at this point. Sanderling should have higher quality standards on inspection and cleaning. If anything is not working or is old, they should replace it. KITCHEN SUPPLIES: We have stayed in numerous vacation homes, and must say, this home had the worst supplies. A plethora of plates, but not a single bowl. Pots and pans that didn't match and were old and dirty. Random, non-matching cookware. Moldy cutting boards, etc. I expected a higher standard at the price point we paid. Sanderling should have a matching, cohesive set of dining ware, serve ware, glasses and cookware. They should have an inspection and replacement list before every new guest checks in. LOCATION, BEACH SERVICE & AMENITIES: The best things about this property are the beach location, the pools and amenities, and the beach service. We loved the umbrella and chair service at the beach. In particular, our guy Chris, took care of and greeted us every morning. The bartender at the pool bar was also wonderful. We didn't use any of the onsite beach equipment because of COVID, but we have used in the past. Having this onsite is a great convenience. HAVING A GREAT TIME DESPITE THE FLAWS... So the place wasn't as perfect as we expected, but we dealt with it and didn't complain. After all, it's COVID times -- Maybe they were short-staffed and couldn't provide the same level of detail as they regularly would? We enjoyed our respite as the problems seemed small, and we even decided to stay an extra night when Sanderling offered it. ...UNTIL THE RAT!!! On our final morning as we were leisurely eating breakfast in the dining room, reflecting on our imperfect, but overall wonderful time there, my sister gives the most petrified look of horror! She was scared stiff and literally could not speak for seconds, but we got her to finally share that she SAW A VERY LARGE RAT scuttling from the living room into the hall... and possibly into her room where she had started to pack her bags! She said it was the length of a tall drinking glass, not including the tail! Gross! We were mortified at the thought of this creature being in the house all week, possibly in our food, trash, etc! We later found a large hole in the floor behind the bathroom sink. I called the front desk immediately and the woman I spoke to calmed me with the only things she could do at the moment - offer immediate assistance, assure us that they would handle the situation as soon after we checked out, told us we could depart as soon as possible, AND she offered to remove all charges for our last night. That was enough to satisfy me, though, I had to share this all with my friend back home who was considering booking her family trip to the Sanderling after seeing all my posts on social media having a fabulous time all week! I had recommended Sanderling, even with sharing my honest critique of everything. She was about ready to book, when we saw the rat. I would be remiss to not share this. INCORRECTLY CHARGED & STILL NO CREDIT. Needless to say, we departed, with a disappointing ending experience, unfortunately, because of the rat sighting on the final day. Further, I had been promised a credit, but after looking closely at my folio once I arrived home, saw that I had not been refunded the charge for our extra night, plus all the fees. When I called about it, the woman I spoke to quoted me a specific amount that would be credited to my credit card, but that there is typically a delay of 2 weeks for it to process. So I waited. Our vacation departure was July 14. Today is Aug 27 and I still have yet to see that credit. I plan to call tomorrow about this. But this whole experience just reminded me that I had meant to write this review. Sanderling has a great location and convenient amenities. But if you are going to stay there, DO NOT opt for a vacation house. We have rented homes through Carolina Designs Realty in previous years which are lovely, properly cleaned and stocked, and even less expensive. You need to also double check your bill. We own a financial consulting company and I can tell you I already had doubts about what their accountant said when I made that first call about my bill. And it turns out I was right.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay in their vacation homes. The hotel rooms are better.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanderling Management, General Manager at Sanderling Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are very sorry that you stay was not perfect. We appreciated the opportunity to address this with you in person and again after seeing this review. We do have a preventative maintenance program in place for all things that like to live in a beach destination. The confusion related to the bill was it appears you were expecting a separate credit to your credit card but your final bill was reconciled with that credit to a zero balance at checkout. As we provided, your final bill was only charged the 5 nights for the 6 night stay.
Read more
KHS wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We originally booked an ocean view room in the south inn and asked to be notified if an upgrade became available. We were convinced to upgrade to an Ocean to Sound Suite for $150 / night extra to take advantage of “4th floor views” Turns out these 4th floor views include the rooftop of the bar for one of these rooms, and the bedroom nor the bathroom doesn’t even face the ocean. Room # is 441, please be aware at time of booking. We regret not booking in the south inn as originally planned and will only be staying one night rather than 2 as intended. Photos taken from “sitting area”
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanderling Management, General Manager at Sanderling Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are glad we could accommodate you back in your South Oceanview room for the rest of your stay and that you are looking to join us again in the future. Note to other travelers: The separate parlor area with balcony faces the ocean. The bedroom with balcony faces the Sound. The bathroom does not face either. We would consider these 1000 sq feet suites our premiere accommodation (which we have two) with great views of the sunrise to the East and Sunset to the West. Our guests have enjoyed them and their views since they were constructed well in 2015.
Read more
Rachel J wrote a review Jul 2020
Boyds, Maryland4 contributions6 helpful votes
My husband and I checked into Sanderling Resort. At the front desk, was an incredibly rude employee not wearing a mask amidst Covid 19. We were pointed in the direction of our room (600/night) and came to the smallest room. Equivalent to an econo lodge room. The humidifier was full after we were guaranteed a sanitary room. Not a resort/vacation like feeling. My husband and I have stayed at multiple resorts in our time together but this one sucks. BTW, this is our honeymoon as we could not travel abroad. The team here has done nothing to acknowledge that- they’re SO bad. Oh well! Perhaps we’ll flee to the Hilton in Kitty Hawk. Do not come here- terrible all around.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanderling Management, General Manager at Sanderling Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are sorry we were not able to meet you expectations.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$196 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sanderling hotel duck, sanderling resort duck, the sanderling
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastOuter BanksDuck
NUMBER OF ROOMS
128
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sanderling Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sanderling Resort?
Nearby attractions include Duck Town Boardwalk (4.0 miles), Scarborough Lane Shoppes (4.4 miles), and Corolla Wild Horse Fund Museum and Store (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sanderling Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sanderling Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sanderling Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sanderling Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sanderling Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Duck Donuts, Paper Canoe, and The Blue Point.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sanderling Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sanderling Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sanderling Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Sanderling Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Sanderling Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.