We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Carter Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Carter Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 92: English reviews
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The exterior of the lodge is nicely kept up with a lovely river view out of the back balcony. The interior is in need of up-dating. The mattress was very uncomfortable and there were holes in the blanket. The dresser was missing some drawer pulls and the ceiling above the tub looked about to fall in. This is an inexpensive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Well I will start with this... The check-in was VERY interesting. I really hated the fact they have a 2 night minimum. The room we were assigned was on the ground level and felt like it was in a dungeon. The floor was very damp, almost to the point of I would call it wet. There was mold in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is my second stop here, the last being about 15 years ago. Now that we've moved closer, we'll be here more often. This is almost (depends on age/ability) walkable to Lake Lure as well. Room 7 has the most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on, which includes my $1100, 5" memory foam covered mattress at home. Owner (Joe) was... More 

Helpful?
Thank gypsyheart49
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were looking last minute for a room in Lake Lure. After discovering there was a festival that weekend, we felt very fortunate to find a vacancy here. We booked for two nights due to their policy. Upon initial arrival we were given a key to look at the room and see if we approved, before checking in. Initial impression... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy H
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice Motel. Owners are very friendly and helpful. They will help with whatever you need. They follow up if you are running late. The river is very nice and the area is quiet. It's easy to find and parking is right in front of your room.

Helpful?
Thank Rod L
Winston Salem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Would recommend to anyone wanting a peacefull night.Very clean and nice owners.Only complaint was no coffee.Was close to a coffee shop up town.Also good restaurant near by"Jennies".Had a good time touring the shops in town.

Helpful?
Thank Laird C
Linda C, Owner at Carter Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your stay and the compliments you gave us. We always love it when guests come to our small town and enjoy the shops, food and attractions. I am very sorry you did not get coffee. We do coffee each morning in our vending area on the downstairs level, from about 6:30 am until check-out... More 

Wilson, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed just one night, passing through. River just outside, swing, cornhole, great hospitality from the owners!! would recommend this to ANYONE!! just a quiet, quaint, little place_ not fancy, but worth it

Helpful?
Thank 1rpridgennc
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was perfect. Nothing fancy, just what is needed for a weekend getaway. Close enough to town you can walk. Beautiful view of the river. The property was kept up amazingly. Lots of sitting spaces to take in the great view. Friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Owners are very hands on -very attentive & polite. The rooms are clean. No rif -raf. I have stayed at the location many many times and each was satisfied.. the location is good not to close but, close enough t attractions and shopping in valley of CHimney Rock.

Helpful?
Thank arlingtonshelby
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Booked an overnight stay to celebrate our anniversary, the Carter Lodge was a great choice. Our room was clean, right on the river and at the base of Chimney Rock. Owners were very friendly and our stay was so nice and peaceful. Great pizza right down the road from the lodge, will be back again definitely! Thank you for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank 220Jimmy
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (60)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
0.9 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
5.1 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
15.1 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
#2 of 5 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Carter Lodge

Address: 273 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chimney Rock
Price Range: $121 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carter Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Carter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Chimney Rock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay