We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Pioneer Motel and Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pioneer Motel and Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I celebrated our 9th anniversary at the Pioneer Cottage # 114 overlooking the river. OH how beautiful. This cottage is tucked away behind the motel . It is very quite and secluded. You would think you were way out in the country. The cottage is very clean and simple and comfortable. When renting a place I worry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose-Buck F
Laurel C, General Manager at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review

I am always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed themselves. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Its a real morale booster for our employees. We try very hard to make all of our guests comfortable and it is lovely to be acknowledge. THank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.

GEORGIA
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

Staff was very nice. Room was clean, bathroom is super small. We stayed in the motel room, a bit dated though. Room had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and tv. However, No safe, hair dryer, iron, or ironing board. Road noise was not pleasant, and we stayed a quite far from the road. Pool was closed for season, so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHATERLAU3
Laurel C, General Manager at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I am sorry that your sleep was disturbed. We are an older well maintained property and strive to make our guests comfortable. We do have irons on request as well as hair dryers. Thank you again for your review.

Whiteville, North Carolina
Reviewed August 18, 2016

Me, my husband, Gary and Lil dog, Chloe stayed in the cottage by the river for 9 days Oct-Nov 2015 and it was great. It was like staying at home with everything a house needs. The owner stopped by our cottage one day when we were outdoors and she was so friendly to us. We had a really nice conversation....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spivey2016
Laurel C, General Manager at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review

So happy you enjoyed your stay. I know you have visited us recently and we are happy you liked us well enough to return. We look forward to your next visit and Chloe's too. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

The cabins are very nicely furnished and quiet. They have grills and fire pits at nearly every cabin. It's also convenient to everything. Food lion, dollar store and casino are all with 2 miles. My family comes back here every year at least once or twice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
Laurel C, Owner at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your noticing our hard work. I will pass this along to our housekeeping staff. I know they'll be thrilled.

Inman, SC
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay for our annual family reunion in Cherokee. We stayed out by the pool most of the day and spent our evenings sitting on the porch or cooking out in the pavilion area while the kids played on the little playground or baseball area. It was clean and comfortable and perfect for us because we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank candgsmommy
Laurel C, General Manager at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Family reunions are such special times to get together and renew our ties and reacquaint ourselves. We are proud to have hosted yours.

Armuchee, Georgia
Reviewed July 9, 2016

Rooms were clean. Has swimming pool, playground area, horseshoes to play, pavilion with grills and picnice tables. Stayed here for three nights. Had two rooms for our family. Kids enjoyed the pool and at night they enjoyed playing basketball. Also on river but you have to walk a little ways in the back. Price is resonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdking0714
Laurel C, Manager at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be a good place for your family. We strive for cleanliness and to be a good value for your hard earned dollar.

Metairie, LA
Reviewed July 2, 2016

We have stayed here several times before and this time we had cabin #114 which is on the river. There is a big porch with rocking chairs and a picnic table. You can just sit and enjoy the view and the sounds of the river. There are two large bedrooms, on with two queen beds and one with one. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NewOrleansfirstgal
Laurel C, Owner at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are so happy that you keep coming back and glad you enjoyed the cabin. Thank you so much. We look forward to seving you again in the future.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Just got home yesterday from an extended weekend at the Pioneer and as usual, we were not disappointed! From our cabin, to the staff, to the lovely landscape and and beautiful pool we were more than pleased! We'll be seeing you again in August!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vrheath
Laurel C, Owner at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for coming back. We take pride in maintaining our property and thank you for recognizing that. We look forward to hosting you in August.

Ellijay, Georgia
Reviewed June 19, 2016

We always vacationed in cherokee every summer for years and stayed at pioneer in one of the river front cottages every year . We loved the scenery and it was always peaceful there until our last trip. The owners dog barked most of the day and all night long the whole time we were there. I was surprised Laurel the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bsdunn71
Laurel C, Owner at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your stay was interrupted by our family pets. I wish you had told someone at the desk or me personally and we would have taken care of the matter. We do live where we work and we have had these dogs for years and this is the first complaint we've had. But one is too...

Harlem, Georgia
Reviewed March 25, 2016

We Stay Here EVERY time we come to Cherokee. We have stayed in the cabins as well as the hotel. We would stay any where else. IT has always been clean and the people are so kind. We have probably been staying here for the past 8 years I know. The River is beautiful and the surrounding view is awesome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMulkey
Laurel C, Owner at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to review our property. We are so glad you were pleased. We try very hard to please. Cleanliness is our top priority and so glad you noticed. Our staff will be tickled that their efforts are paying off. Come see us again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
0.1 mi away
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
#15 of 28 in Cherokee
317 reviews
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 28 in Cherokee
255 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#8 of 28 in Cherokee
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are one of the most unique and quaint lodging options located on the Eastern Band of the Cherokee Indian Reseveration. We offer a variety of ecomonical lodging options for you and your family. We have 21 motel rooms and 7 cottages to accomidate you. We are family owned and operated and take pride in our facility. We welcome you to our property to relax and enjoy your vacation. Our property offers access to the Oconoluftee River for fishing or just playing around. Our property also includes a covered pavillion area, perfect for cookouts or family reunions. We also offer a recreactional area, including an outdoor basketball court for both adults and children to enjoy. Our outdoor pool area has recently been remodeled and offers an inviting atmosphere to simply enjoy the Cherokee sunshine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pioneer Motel and Cottages

Address: P.O. Box 397, Cherokee, NC 28719-0397
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Number of rooms: 26
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Pioneer Motel and Cottages staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Pioneer Motel and Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a room close to the Picnic Area”
 of 5 bubbles katsat, May 30, 2015 | Read review
“Motel rooms appeared to be very small and old, but the cabin we were in was spacious. There is central air in cabin #130.”
 of 5 bubbles NewOrleansfirstgal, Jul 30, 2014 | Read review
“Cabins 130 and 131 are modern and up to date and never heard any noise”
  • Pavilion and play area
 of 5 bubbles rowlandclan8, Dec 2, 2013 | Read review
“Do not stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles GKLagan, Oct 15, 2013 | Read review
“Stay in a cabin if you can. Lots of space for families and right on the river -- beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles KimM55, Aug 14, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question