We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cherokee \/ Great Smokies KOA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 301: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My son and I visited here from August 18th to the 21st. It was a beautiful drive in the RV vie the Blue Ridge Parkway. The park has plenty of activities to do. My 8 year old son loved the jumping pillow and the indoor and outdoor pool. The park is big enough to ride bikes around which we love... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt H
Hampton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our cabin was just as expected other than there was not much room to park. Disappointed that the wi-fi did not work at our site and there is zero phone service in the campground. Also disappointed that the trout ponds were not stocked due to the hot weather. The restrooms and showers were nice but FREEZING! The service in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chastityginn
Cherokee K, Public Relations Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Due to the dry, hot weather the Cherokee Hatchery have decided to suspend the stocking of their ponds, trout do not flourish in such warm waters. We hope you can visit us again in cooler months when the campground will be less busy and the ponds should be stocked. More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoy staying at the Koa in Cherokee.we have been staying there for year. We rent one of the cabins and we love it. There is so much to do. They have a pool and you can rent bikes. The cabin we stay in had its own bathroom but the bath house is normally clean.

Helpful?
Thank Dixie M
Cherokee K, Public Relations Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you keep returning to our campground and we hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Oak Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have rented KOA cabins in 33 states and this one was the worst ever. Asked for wifi password and was told that you had to keep trying and it would connect. After trying for 20 times it finally connected for a few seconds. Gnarly parking, no air conditioning(had to buy fan). No step off porch only big tree roots... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary J
Cherokee K, Public Relations Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Parking on the campground is very limited and we ask our guests to only bring one vehicle, unfortunately, sometimes guests have no choice but to bring more and this causes problems across the board. Again, I am sorry your staff did not meet... More 

Kilgore, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

July 2016 we spent 7 days at this KOA. This place has plenty of things for everyone to do. It is close to all the attractions in town and has a very convenient shuttle service to all the attractions. The staff is very helpful and Lucy is an employee I would want running my business. Now the reason for a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank meldeb2015
Cherokee K, Public Relations Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The problems with your stay have been noted and I will make sure to check out these problems. I am sorry you found your stay unsatisfactory. More 

Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are planning a trip here with kids, you may want to read all of this. My apologies that it's long, but these are all things I wish I had known before we booked our stay here. We are avid KOA campers, and we drove two days and 15 hours to stay at this KOA because we wanted to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank AprilLS
Cherokee K, Public Relations Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review, which I am sure will be helpful to many people. I am sorry that you were less than satisfied with our staff and this review will most definitely be used for training purposes. I hope you change you mind and choose to stay with us again so we can prove that our staff are... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent July 2nd through the 10th in this KOA. All in all it was pretty good. The customer service is terrible. I thought we were in a only 1 open register at Walmart! It took 20 minutes to purchase milk. If you have a peak week like the 4th of July please by all means have it fully staffed.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank scupstate55
Cherokee K, Public Relations Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory. All your comments will be noted and used for future training. More 

Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really a nice campground with great amenities as advertised. Shuttle service for tubing is great, indoor and outdoor pools are nice and clean with indoor and outdoor hot tubs as well. The playground is OK but there is so much other activity going on including the crafts etc that it really doesn't need a large playground, but man the customer... More 

Helpful?
Thank JPLEOL
Cherokee K, Public Relations Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful campground but sorry that it was spoiled by poor customer experience. In one of our many staff meetings I will make sure to point out this customer service experience and use it for positive training. We hope to see you again to show you... More 

Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. However, there was more than one issue that prevented me from giving this campground a higher rating. First, and foremost, their customer service is terrible. The lady I spoke with to make our reservations was short tempered and acted as if she really did not want to answer my questions. It did not get... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank familytraveler077
Cherokee K, Public Relations Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations and hope that you spoke with a manager while you were there so they could resolved the issues. We strive to make all our guests have a great experience and hope that you will visit us again and give us the opportunity... More 

Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were having dinner with family who were camping at this site. Had to get a pass to enter (no big deal, I appreciate security) but was charged $5.50 per person just to meet for dinner!!!! What????? We were only there for 3 hours!!! Wasn't spending the night!!! Thank goodness they didn't know about the third person in the car!!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank jhhampton
Cherokee K, Public Relations Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have found that most of our guests visiting family like to enjoy all the facilities that we have to offer too, so to be fair to our other guests we find a charge necessary. We hope you enjoyed the time spent with your family at our campground. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (115)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
4.3 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 29 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#13 of 29 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
2.6 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#16 of 29 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
5.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
What a location! The Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA is bordered on one side by the serene Raven Fork River and on the other side by three tribal trout ponds. It lies just across the road from Great Smoky Mountains National Park and one mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway. From almost anywhere on the KOA's grounds, take in 360-degree mountain views. The resort campground offers camping cabins, cottages and Deluxe cabins, large RV and tent sites. This KOA is ideal for the biggest group gatherings with year-round indoor and seasonal outdoor pools and hot tubs, food service,an outdoor movie-cinema, a Jumping Pillow and adventure mini golf. Campers enjoy the shuttle to area attractions and events too numerous to count. Check online for special events, theme weekends and seasonal activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Address: 92 Koa Campground Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-6451
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Cherokee / Great Smokies Koa Hotel Cherokee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing