We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The VanLandingham Estate

49 reviews
Save
Traveler (17)
Room & Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good16%
  • Average12%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible20%
Travelers talk about
“carriage house”(8 reviews)
“b b”(5 reviews)
“magnolia room”(3 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Fitness center
3.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (49)Write a Review
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
20
8
6
5
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
20
8
6
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage houseb bmagnolia roomplaza midwoodchain hotelour room was spaciousbreakfast was deliciousenjoyed our staywould stay againfireplacedowntown
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 49 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2017

We rented a very nice suite with a jetted tub. It was a very nice room with a nice sitting area. The grounds were very nice to walk around with some interesting features, water, trees and buildings. The staff was great and we enjoyed the...More

Thank 4travelfan
Reviewed May 19, 2017

The Vanlandingham Estate is a beautiful old home near downtown in Charlotte, North Carolina. The grounds are really beautiful and are very popular with weddings. The inn itself shows some definite signs of wear. The rooms could use a thorough update, especially the bathroom which...More

1  Thank Mary K
Reviewed April 6, 2017 via mobile

My visit to this property was wonderful! There are elegant gardens to walk through and a history you will never forget. The chef cooks an excellent breakfast and the management staff was there to help me to my cab. Everyone was really friendly and helpful...More

Thank catlover15492
Reviewed March 11, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the estate. We love history and enjoyed the travel back in time. The breakfast is generous and delicious. The fireplaces are relaxing and inviting. We walked the grounds together and had coffee by the pond watching the...More

Thank LizzWelch
Reviewed March 7, 2017

While the staff was friendly, the overall condition of the property was poor and desperately in need of upgrading/a facelift. I was in the guest house and a fire almost started in the room below me. After midnight the fire dept. showed up (used a...More

3  Thank Betsy M
Response from Billy M, Manager at The VanLandingham EstateResponded March 8, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience. However we must take exception with one important aspect of your recollection. Unfortunately at 11:04 pm the guest in the room below you did burn a piece of pizza in the in-room microwave,...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345610
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Business Center with Internet Access
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
$144 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$144 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (17)
Room & Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The VanLandingham Estate staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"We paid a little extra to get the room with the jetted tub"
Read review
"The temperature in the coach house is on a single system. If it is too warm, close the registers to block..."
Read review
"The larger, more expensive rooms are on the bottom but right next to the main door entrance which can be loud."
Read review
"The Randolph Scott (the attic room) is spacious and gorgeous! I think I'd love to stay there next!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite