We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Morehead Inn

Traveler (62)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (5)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Historic Morehead Inn, located just minutes from Uptown Charlotte in one of the city's most picturesque neighborhoods. An elegant Southern estate endowed with quiet elegance and fine antiques, our spacious and historic Dilworth home features intimate fireplaces, luxurious private guest rooms and a lovely four-bedroom carriage house. Built in 1917 and renovated in 1995, we have earned a first class reputation as one of the finest Inns in the South with numerous awards for renovation, cuisine and service. Our diverse and wide-open spaces provide a gracious setting for every gathering, from business luncheons and executive meetings to special occasion parties and accommodations. We look forward to your visit!
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Business Center with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
64Somewhat walkable
Grade: 64 out of 100
84Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
157Reviews
179Photos
7Q+A
33Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 80
  • 38
  • 15
  • 16
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This historic house is beautiful and perfect for special events like wedding receptions but as a hotel, it falls shorts. The rooms lack basic modern amenities such as a coffee pot or refrigerator. The deadbolt to my room was barely functional so it was hard to lock up my room
Read more
We had a great stay at the Morehead Inn. Our room was very nice and the breakfast the next morning was excellent. The outside of the inn could use a little work as the paint is peeling in places and the ivy on the chimney was dead. It gave the inn a little "abandoned" look.
Read more
B&B was in a great part of historic Charlotte with lots of cool restaurants and shops close by. However, the place itself was a bit disappointing. The suite was ok (Solarium) but no outside entrance as advertised. Breakfast menu offering was three items per display on front
Read more
We were very disappointed with our stay at the Morehead Inn. We were in a suite with many interesting antiques at the Hawthorne carriage house with a private outside sitting area adjoining the suite. The location was perfect for our trip to Charlotte. The neighborhood was
Read more
Response from Billy M, Guest Relations Manager at The Morehead Inn
Responded Jul 23, 2018
We rarely take issue with a guest's review, because it's a matter of opinion. We take feedback seriously and always try to improve from it. The internet is a blessing and a curse. It offers transparency, but it also allows for mischief. In this instance, no opinion is given and unfortunately truth and accuracy are absent. -We most certainly do have (free) wifi and since I live in the building directly above the room you were staying in, I can say with certainty that the wifi was operable the entire time, because I rely upon it for my connection as well. -The phone in your room was and is working fine. You screamed at me, "The phone in the room doesn't even work" as you stormed out. So I went out immediately and found no issues. -Of course there's an outlet in every bathroom, required by code. Yours was located just above the vanity (directly beside the mirror). That outlet is working fine. The "outlet" you're referring to as "blanked off" isn't an outlet at all. It's a junction box and is supposed to be covered by a plate. -As for the water, you know very well that we all woke up to no water that morning due to a large water main break at the bottom of the hill. All guests were told of the situation, which was beyond our control. The entire block had no water for several hours. Traffic on the street in front of the inn was backed up for blocks due to repair work. You kept shouting, "Someone didn't pay the bill", which is absurd. We had a full house and everyone but you showed good humor and grace. And as fate would have it, the water was back on within an hour of your abrupt departure, as was expected. -And finally, the biggest fib of all: breakfast. You requested a late breakfast and we accommodated you. You never arrived. When you finally did come to the desk you said that since we didn't have water you "assumed" breakfast was canceled. You said, "How can you have breakfast with no water?" We do have plenty of bottled water and everyone but you enjoyed their breakfast with no issues whatsoever. Being in the hospitality business isn't easy. We meet all kinds of people and we don't get it right every single time. But untruthful information on the internet such as this simply cannot go uncorrected. Philomena Willocks, Guest Services Manager.
Read more
Delightful B&B. Charming rooms. Bedroom large enough for two beds, sofa, two comfortable chairs & a table. Helpful & accommodating employees. Delicious breakfasts. Pancakes weren't on the menu but chef made them when we requested them.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Morehead Inn
The Solarium Suite at the Morehead Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Morehead Inn
The Dilworth Room at the Morehead Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Morehead Inn
The Cleveland Room at the Morehead Inn
2nd floor patio open to my room overlooking the tulip tree – glass of wine and a book.
The Mount Vernon bathroom
PreviousNext
12345617
Shuttle service to and from airport???
I drove here, but do not remember seeing a service. But you should contact the office directly to know the best way to get there from the Airport.
0 votes
We drove ourselves using Waze which is very accurate. Uber would be cheaper than renting a vehicle. Enjoy your visit!
0 votes
Show all answers
You know... that is a good question... the breakfasts are really good for sure. My guess is... and only a guess, is that if they knew you wanted to have a breakfast on a certain day... they would accommodate you. They are very easy to work with, so I would just give them a call!
-1 votes
Do they charge extra for pets?
Tomma.... You know I just don't know the answer to that question... I suggest just giving them a call. Great folks to work with.
0 votes
The idea of paying for a pet fee on top of paying for a horrible experience at Morehead just makes my head spin.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Would not recommend staying here."
"Small dogs are allowed to stay in the Kingston Room in the Carriage House."
"Don't stay in the Lexington Room unless you can carry your bags, and yourself, up the stairs."
"Call ahead to avoid stairs, if that makes a difference. Not many options for breakfast, but some."
"I stayed in the Dilworth room."
PreviousNext
1234567
PRICE RANGE
$175 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
morehead hotel charlotte
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaCharlotteDilworth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing