The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection

The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection

Traveler (167)
Tuscany Room – Wedding Setup
Room & Suite (79)
II Palio Bar - Liquor Wall
Dining (28)

View prices for your travel dates

$209
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 17 hotels in Chapel Hill
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Italian
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Valet parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Tennis court
Aerobics offsite
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Raquetball offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

1505 E Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-2887
616Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 460
  • 103
  • 34
  • 11
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ron M wrote a review Jan 2020
Boca Raton, Florida119 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We will be staying at the Siena in the future when in the Greensboro area.
Nice quiet boutique hotel with great service.
The people go out of their way to help in all areas.
Parking is easy and the rooms very spacious.

This is truly one of the best hotels we have stayed in recent years while on business.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BigEatinInBerwyn wrote a review Apr 2022
Berwyn, Pennsylvania56 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stunning arrival impression. Beautiful hotel exterior and lobby. Definitely boutique feel with personalized check in process.

The room was large and the standout was the shower pressure, which I think could strip the paint off a car. In a good way.

Bathroom beautiful, big mirror and lots of light, and nice makeup mirror. Handle on sink was way loose, making it difficult to control temp, and lacking quality control.

The big negative in the room was the HVAC system. It rattled and made tons of noise regardlessnofnthe setting. This is the reason for the lack of a 5th star on my review.

The doors to most rooms have massive gaps at the threshold, allowing light and noise to come through overnight, even after you stuff a towel on in. They have attempted to add sweeps to some doors, but it doesn't fix it. They need to fix it for real by having a carpenter add meat to the bottom of the doors, that's the only real solution for a hotel of this caliber.

Platinum breakfast was in the nice restaurant downstairs, and was great quality and service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kristin Shaffer, Guest Services / Front Office at The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded Apr 15, 2022
Dear G G, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Siena Hotel! I am glad you liked the showers! I am sorry about the noise in the HVAC. Would you be able to let us know what room you were in so we can fix the issue? I am sorry for the inconvenience of the light under the door. Due to fire code, we have to allow that big of a gap under the doors, for in case of an emergency, it allows smoke to escape from the room. We do have rooms with different arrangements so there is the potential option to make sure your bed is not on the same side of the wall as the hallway door. Please let me know if there is anything we can do for you, and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
traveler6Atlanta wrote a review Aug 2021
Atlanta, Georgia62 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Siena is a lovely boutique hotel located a short drive from the downtown area of Chapel Hill. The lobby and rooms are artfully decorated and are extremely clean. The staff at the hotel are polite to a fault. Ample parking is free and room rates are reasonable for this "Autograph Collection."
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and filled with natural light from two large sets of French doors.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TDG65 wrote a review Mar 2020
Maryland70 contributions73 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My son and I stayed at this property while in town to watch a UNC basketball game in December. As usual, let's go Pros and Cons:

Pros
1. The staff and customer service were excellent from the moment we arrived until we departed. Jared is outstanding. The entire team made us feel at home.
2. The hotel offers shuttle service to and from "downtown" Chapel Hill and that was huge when getting to and from the Dean Dome for the UNC game. Jared dropped us off and picked us up. Again, he's great.
3. The Tar Heel cookies were a cool touch for UNC fans like us.
4. The property is close to I-40 and about 25 minutes from RDU Airport.

CONS
1.The smell of our room and the hallway leading to it said "old" and "dated."

Overall: If I'm in Chapel Hill for a UNC game, I'll likely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bowmanator22 wrote a review May 2021
Charlotte, North Carolina5,335 contributions665 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I spent a night at Siena and loved everything about it. They were wonderfully accommodating to our every request. The room was spotless and the process of checking in and out was very smooth. Free onsite parking is a rarity at a hotel of this quality. We would absolutely love to return in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patti H wrote a review Jan 2020
Garden City, New York27 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We love everything about this hotel. We stay several times a year while visiting our son at school and here is why we keep coming back. The hotel is not very large....4 floors. I would classify it as a boutique hotel. The rooms are very spacious and extremely clean and comfortable. Since it’s a smaller hotel you tend to run into the same staff every day, visit after visit. They are so friendly and genuinely seem concerned that they are doing all they can to make your stay great. When we dropped my son off for school last August in our room we found a handwritten note thanking us for returning. They wished my son a successful year and even left Tarheel cookies in the room! I recently stayed a few days by myself and was so pleasantly surprised when they upgraded me to a beautiful suite. The restaurant is fabulous and there is a small very comfortable bar to sit and have a drink, small plates or a whole meal. Looking forward to returning next month while college road tripping with my other son.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antonio D wrote a review May 2021
Atlanta, Georgia18 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel manager of the Siena Hotel in Chapel Hill, Kristin Shaffer, texted me, one hour before my wife and I were due to arrive (after a 6 hour drive) that our reservation had been cancelled. This was a reservation made long in advance of a long awaited visit with our grandchildren. She subsequently told me the unbelievable story that our reservation was cancelled due to a sports team wanting to overextend their stay and not wanting to leave the room that was assigned to us. We have stayed at the Siena Hotel many times before because of the proximity to our son's house. I had made this reservation on April 9th 2021 and it was paid it in full. You can imagine our surprise when she announced that we no longer had a room but instead were to report to an Extended Stay Hotel of inferior category and further away from our son's house. We were told that our reservation with Siena had been refunded and that our stay at the extended stay hotel would be paid in full "compliments of the Siena Hotel".

1) I still have not received my reimbursement for the canceled reservation.
2) If I had wanted to stay at an Extended Stay hotel, I would have reserved there. This particular place accepts pets. We were assigned a suite with an adjoining room that was occupied by a couple with a dog. A yapping dog!

This is no way to treat a customer, much less a repeat customer. Beware of being bumped for no good reason!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anthony Carey, General Manager at The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded May 5, 2021
Antonio D, We would like to apologize for your recent experience with your reservation and service interaction with us. When a reservation system error creates an over booking we do what we can to cause the least inconvenience for our guest. We talked with the third party reservation company you booked through to refund your money the day this error took place, and we followed up again with them as soon as you shared with us the credit was not received on your card. They assured us the credit is in process. We selected the hotel to transfer your reservation to for their great service scores and their close proximity to our hotel (3 traffic lights away). We are sorry this hotel was not to your liking. This situation rarely happens and we are so sorry this happened to you. As you know from your previous experiences with our hotel, this not up to our service standards and we are sad to see how this impacted you and your family. We hope you find it in your heart to give us another try the next time you are in the Chapel Hill area so we may continue to make this up to you and your family. Sincerely, Anthony
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thegoodegg wrote a review Mar 2024
Chicago, IL296 contributions223 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is bad. We just stayed three nights. If this is the nicest hotel in the Bonvoy portfolio, in Chapel Hill, there is much work to be done. Reading the reviews of the other hotels in Chapel Hill this one sounded good. I was wrong.

We were 4 people (2 adults, 2 kids) and our stay was not great.

First my husband has Bonvoy status entitling him to a room upgrade and usually breakfast. Here, Daniel, at the front desk smugly said “he gave us a nice room”. We received a small room overlooking the cooking vents of the restaurant. We also received 2 free breakfasts in the AM even though we were four people in the room. We asked him to compact our freebies to one foursome which is logical and he d he did. On going to the restaurant they had no record of it. The restaurant is not good, the food is very ordinary. Why not just make a buffet breakfast?

Next, the room, possibly the most shopworn, noisy, uncomfortable room we’ve had in a long time. The beds and pillows are worn and very uncomfortable, the headboards are so worn on all the fake leather is wearing off the surface of the tufting, and the furniture is beaten and dated. If we opened the window our room filled with flies, yes you read that right, and the smell of the grill and the dumpsters adjacent to them. It was disgusting.

Daniel, you did us no favors by giving us the worst hotel room you could. Though, in fairness all the rooms overlook the parking but at least some don’t have terrible smells. The last night there was a special event and there was no parking and we had to park under the massive grill vent so that this morning our car smelled of beef. I pity the rental agency trying to get that smell from the car!

And this no-amenity hotel has one bocce court along very busy Franklin Road, exactly nobody uses it.

The lobby furnishings and room furnishings are circa 2003 Z Gallerie. I also want to add the beds are oriented incorrectly. The headboards are on the wall of the entry so that every slamming door is just steps from your attempting-to-sleep head. The best news of all is I am typing this as I await our flight home away from the Hotel Siena which is a charmless, dumpy hotel that needs work.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere but if you must stay here get a room facing front as the cooking vents and workers...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anthony Carey, Owner at The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded Apr 3, 2024
Thegoodegg, Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback on your experience. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We love taking care of our guests and when we fail we take it very seriously. I have reviewed your comments with our team and thank you agin for sharing. Sincerely, Anthony
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lexibelle wrote a review Jun 2021
Phoenix, Arizona1,617 contribution268 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were visiting several friends who have relocated and retired in the Chapel Hill, Carrboro area. We decided to stay at this hotel since they are dog friendly and centrally located to where we needed to be. We requested a corner room which was nice and big with two views and juliet balconies. The bed was super comfortable and the shower in the bathroom is huge. Had everything we needed except a microwave and the hotel quickly provided once we asked. The staff were very personable and there was not daily cleaning unless requested. The hotel restaurant, Il Palio is amazing & delightful that we could have a cocktail without driving afterwards. The service in the hotel as well as the restaurant were personable, professional, & engaging. We highly recommend this hotel for your next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Corner rooms are large, very roomy and comfortable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Q3years wrote a review Feb 2023
Denver, Colorado88 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great experience. After a few hiccups related to my confirmed early check in time, the staff at The Siena MORE than made up for any initial inconvenience. I was traveling with two special needs family members and several friends on separate reservations. Fabulous restaurant, Friendly and polite staff combined with clean and comfortable rooms contributed to a great experience during a weekend in Chapel Hill that was planned around stressful family events. To the Siena management team - Thank you for your hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from AnthonyCH
Chapel Hill, NC4 contributions
The Corner King does not have a separate room with sitting area. All of our rooms are studio style with the sitting area in the same room. Our Large Suite does have a great large sitting area and dining table for four.
Jeanne R asked a question Dec 2015
Hollywood, Florida14 contributions2 helpful votes
Pet friendly? Will you allow an incredibly sweet and well behaved golden retriever?
Answer from Anna B
Dallas, Texas313 contributions143 helpful votes
That's a good question--I think you probably should call them and ask.
Thegoodegg wrote a tip Mar 2024
Chicago, IL296 contributions223 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere but if you must stay here get a room facing front as the cooking vents and workers smoking out back will scent your room."
Read full review
Platinum2VA wrote a tip Mar 2024
Fredericksburg, Virginia119 contributions89 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
" Be sure to have breakfast in this hotel — the omelets are great! "
Read full review
ProfPayne wrote a tip Feb 2024
South Bend, Indiana101 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It never hurts to ask for an upgrade to a really spacious room"
Read full review
kelleyyoung033 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Emmaus, Pennsylvania28 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Connecting rooms available. Coffee/tea available and top notch ! Close to college and down town."
Read full review
PKRJP wrote a tip Jan 2024
Dallas, Texas29 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking on-site is free. Several grocery stores, pharmacies and restaurants nearby."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chapel Hill area.
PRICE RANGE
$214 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
siena hotel chapel hill, siena chapel hill
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaChapel Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SIENA HOTEL, AUTOGRAPH COLLECTION $190 ($̶2̶1̶5̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Downtown Chapel Hill (0.4 miles), Silverspot Cinema At Chapel Hill (0.4 miles), and Kidzu Children's Museum (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunrise Biscuit Kitchen, Squid's Restaurant and Oyster Bar, and Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Italian.
All Chapel Hill HotelsChapel Hill Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Chapel HillHotels near The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars