We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Engadine Inn & Cabins

Save
Share
2630 Smoky Park Hwy, Candler, NC 28715-9365
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (149)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (12)

About

#1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Candler
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Engadine Inn and Cabins is nestled in the mountains just outside of Asheville, North Carolina. It is conveniently located just 15 minutes from downtown Asheville and the Biltmore Estate and a short drive to some of the area's most popular outdoor adventures, including whitewater rafting, tubing, horseback riding, hot air ballooning and skiing. Situated on more than 12 acres of rolling hills with stunning mountain views, Engadine offers two unique options for your getaway. Stay in the Inn and enjoy old world elegance and a delicious breakfast in our dining room. Or escape to one of our six fully-equipped cabins where you can be closer to nature.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
284Reviews0Q+A70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 255
  • 26
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sz1992 wrote a review Aug 2020
Charlottesville, Virginia19 contributions1 helpful vote
This cabin was perfect for my husband, my dog and me to stay in. The lay out, design and construction are well done and very attractive. It is compact and has everything you could want. Great living room with lots of space which looks out onto a lovely large covered porch with a fantastic view. Full yet compact kitchen and dining room. Very comfortable bed with lots of storage space. Full bathroom with fluffy towels and bath products. The property is beautiful with great views of the surrounding mountains. There is an area below the cabin with lounging chairs and lights in the trees at night. The road going up to the cabin is a little challenging but well worth it. We will be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Rick Bell, General Manager at Engadine Inn & Cabins
Responded Aug 26, 2020
Thanks so much for sharing your experience at Engadine! We're happy to know that you enjoyed yourselves and that you took note of the amenities and services we provide to all of our guests, regardless of whether they are staying in the Inn or in one of our six cabins. We hope that you'll consider staying with us again during your future visits to Asheville and that you'll recommend us to family and friends!
Read more
Crissy wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions4 helpful votes
We found this place by searching the internet for a nice place to stay in an upscale cabin. The website was professional and looked high end. We called and spoke to the owner and decided on one of the cabins that was “private and quiet”. When we got there it was not private, quiet or even clean. The cabin was dirty with an old torn sofa and white dog hair all over it. Though they had an air conditioning unit, it failed to cool the back bedroom. The sofa bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. In addition, there was quite a bit of road noise and the smells of the neighboring paper mill wafted our way. At $169 a night we we decided to find another option. At breakfast we were honest with the owners and they offered us to stay in the Inn which looked much nicer. He suggested a certain room on an upper floor. After packing up and carrying half our things up the stairs to the new room, we were informed that there would be roof people walking around and a bucket in our room to catch dripping water. I said, "Are you kidding me?" He then proceeded to disparage me and say I would never be satisfied. The silver lining is they refunded all of our money and we ended up finding an amazing cabin on a beautiful river.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The inn is nicer than the cabins in our opinion
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rick Bell, General Manager at Engadine Inn & Cabins
Responded Aug 26, 2020
Sometimes you can't win for losing. That was the case with this guest. And while I have never responded to a critical review in this manner, I feel the need to do so in this unique case. The challenges with this guest began during the booking process during which we were completely honest about our location and setting. As we acknowledge on our website, we are located near a busy highway and for guests who are sensitive to sound or who prefer absolute quiet, we always recommend choosing another destination, often suggesting alternatives. Fortunately for most guests, however, the proximity to the highway is considered an asset as it affords quicker access to downtown Asheville and other area amenities and attractions. I guess not with these folks. In spite of our honest effort to accurately explain our situation, this guest booked her own reservation in this cabin anyway. Regarding privacy, ours is a twelve-acre property. On those twelve acres are the Inn and six cabins. And while the buildings are in sight of one another, none of them is in such close proximity to the others that "privacy" has ever been an issue. Until now. As for the paper mill, I'm not sure how we bear responsibility for that! The mill this guest refers to is located over in the NEXT COUNTY. For the most part it is rarely an issue for us or the Asheville area. That said, however, on infrequent mornings and depending on weather conditions, we do enjoy the fruits of its labor. It's unfortunate that these folks were impacted. But, it's not fair that they chose to hold us responsible for it. Regarding the condition of the cabin, I plead guilty. However. the cabin these folks chose to book is CLEARLY identified as one of our three pet friendly cabins in ALL of our marketing materials. As such, there may have been pet hair in the cabin. And while we do our best to remove all traces of visiting pets after their stays, we must have missed something in this case. For this, I'm sorry. Point well taken, however, and we'll do a better job with housekeeping in the future. When these folks registered their complaints at breakfast that morning, we quickly offered to upgrade and move them into the Inn where we have 5 rooms...4 of which were available The 5th was under repair for a roof leak (hence the bucket). They INSISTED, however, that the room under repair was the one they wanted. We suggested that they choose from our other rooms, including our suite, the largest room in the Inn. They were not having it. They wanted THAT room. At this point, this guest plopped down in a chair our reception area, huffing and puffing, and making a huge scene in a public space. I did my best to placate this guest. But, she was not to be satisfied. It was at this point that I did something I've never done in the six years I've been an inn owner...I asked them to leave, explaining that it was clear to me that no matter what we did, they were not going to be satisfied and that I didn't want them staying at our property. We gave them their money back...all of it, including the night in the cabin...and they left. These days folks seem to melt down over the most inane situations, even when a business owner is doing his/her best to make a bad situation better. In this case, I chose to chalk this one up to CoVid or some other stress or circumstance beyond my control. I did my best to be hospitable and responsible to no avail. Our other reviews speak to the level of hospitality, quality and service we strive provide to our guests. But in this case, no matter what we did it was clear there wasn't going to be a "win-win" in the end. Like I said, sometimes you can't win for losing.
Read more
Kristie S wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
This was our first trip to Engadine Inn, and will not be our last. The Inn is a Beautiful and Charming home away from Home, and Tom and Rick make sure that you feel that way. The breakfast they cook in the morning is WOW, it is as if you are eating at a 5 Star restaurant. No one leaves breakfast hungry! Each room has its own unique charm, which pulls you into the history of the home. Make sure you read the book in your room about the history of the home!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from U2083DQrickb, Owner at Engadine Inn & Cabins
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Thanks so much for sharing your Engadine experience! Tom and I know our guests have choices about where to stay when visiting Asheville, so we do everything we can to make certain our guests feel special and appreciated when they choose Engadine. As for breakfast, it's part of what we do, so we make it as special as we can! Hope you'll be back to stay with us again soon! Rick.
Read more
Anna B wrote a review Dec 2019
2 contributions
We stayed in one of their cabins, it was so nice and beautiful. Only reason why I gave four stars instead of five is because when my husband sat down in one of the chairs outside it broke and the rugs near the sink were slippery I ended up slipping and hit my knee. But this was just a few seconds of our trip. For the rest of the time we had a wonderful stay. I would recommend some rugs that are slip resistant for the kitchen area. Overall great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from U2083DQrickb, Owner at Engadine Inn & Cabins
Responded Jan 5, 2020
Hello Anna. We appreciate your taking time to share your experience about your stay with us! I'm sorry to hear that one of the chairs broke. While there isn't much we can do about furniture and fixtures getting broken on the fly with normal use, I wish you had told us about it while you were here, however, so that we could replace it. Finding about it after the fact doesn't allow us the opportunity to make the situation right. As for the rug, we'll definitely take a look at it and will add some non-slip backing to it if it is warranted. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. Thanks for staying with us!
Read more
Debra Benifield wrote a review Dec 2019
Chester, Virginia4 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband & I were in the Cherokee Cabin for the weekend. He was won over with the price (less than $400 total); and I was ecstatic for the tub & fire place :) When we got there Friday evening, they had already put the wood in the fire place for us, as well as the coffee service we requested for the weekend. The whirlpool tub was so relaxing after an almost 6 hour drive Friday night. And there's a Dollar General Market not even half a mile from the cabin, so you can get pretty much anything you're going to need for your stay. Breakfast is not included with the cabins, but can be added for an additional charge. The owners were super nice; and we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from U2083DQrickb, Owner at Engadine Inn & Cabins
Responded Dec 9, 2019
We are happy to hear that you guys enjoyed yourselves! We do our best to create experiences that guests will find relaxing and memorable. It sounds like we hit the mark! We appreciate that you took time to share your experience with future travelers. And, we also hope we'll see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$172 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
honey hill asheville inn and cabins hotel candler
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsCandler
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Engadine Inn & Cabins
Which popular attractions are close to Engadine Inn & Cabins?
Nearby attractions include Mr Robot Shop - Museum (4.4 miles), Canton Thursday Farmer's Market (4.5 miles), and Old Pressley Sapphire Mine (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Engadine Inn & Cabins?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Engadine Inn & Cabins?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Engadine Inn & Cabins?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Engadine Inn & Cabins?
Conveniently located restaurants include BearWaters Brewing Company, JRO's Burgers & Subs, and Doc Brown's Bbq.
Are pets allowed at Engadine Inn & Cabins?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Engadine Inn & Cabins have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.