We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 261: English reviews
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

No luxury here, but the beach is out your door. The ocean and beach are quiet and clean. The rooms need updating and use of greener cleaning products, but worth the stay. Old fashioned great location if your looking for low key beach atmosphere. We even saw the milky way at night.

Helpful?
Thank pamgrant10
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is pretty nice. When they say its on the water there not kidding. Its about 500 ft from our room. It just stinks climbing up the sands dunes but to have the beach right on your back door, i guess its worth it. As far as the room it was nice. The beds were not comfy at all... More 

Helpful?
Thank kristin b
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This beautiful duplex is located approx. 100 yards from the beach. Very clean, 2 bedroom with a king and queen bed, 2 bunks and 2 1/2 baths. The views were very nice with a relaxing porch. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate our last minute check-in needs. Great walking distance to Cape Hatteras Lighthouse from the beach. Close... More 

Helpful?
Thank lawill50
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is dated but, clean. The hotel is right on the beach and the porch is nice. I wish they didn't allow smoking as the porch was difficult to use with the chain smokers next door. The beach is steep and relatively small. The hotel is within walking distance of putt putt and several good restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank UNCtraveler08
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful, Relaxing, Invigorating, Lasting memories made here :) Outstanding views and the soothing sounds of the ocean unreplicated anywhere. Excellent Staff, great location, best room overlooking our National Seashore! What a treasure!

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina M
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This beautiful seaside suite was a great getaway for me and my family. There are many excellent dining choices and and an ice cream parlor not far from there. The beach is a great place to swim, read, boogie board, fish, etc. etc. There are also opportunities after sundown such as looking for crabs, as they are more active at... More 

Helpful?
Thank susannah365
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our room was very humid with a horrible "musty" smell. The clerk was very nice and moved us to a beachfront (vs. parking lot view). The new room was more updated with central A/C and it smelled great. However, this was for one night only. We had to move back to our first room. For the price, I expected decent... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey W
LighthouseView, Guest Relations Manager at Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review

Hi Lynsey- Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Lighthouse View. We deeply apologize for the issues you experienced while staying with us. We do understand that while we were able to offer you an upgrade the first evening to an oceanfront room, we were unable to extend the offer during the other nights of your... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

Upon entering our room I noticed everything appeared rather clean. Although for this prime location with a high price, the rooms have decor that is a bit outdated. We were in an ocean view room and absolutely thrilled with how close to the beach we were. It was really beautiful. What brought this stay from 4 stars to 3 was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Brandon P
LighthouseView, Guest Relations Manager at Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review

Brandon- Thank you for taking the time to review Lighthouse View. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the view from your room. We do have some great views! We are sorry to hear that you had a water bug sighting. They are not uncommon for the area but our property is treated regularly as a... More 

Wilmington NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

Booked this motel at the last minute. They were very accommodating and even shooed us out to grab a last minute dinner before all local restaurants closed since we had been traveling all day. Our room was very clean and quiet. Not the newest in furnishings, but certainly comfortable with adequate room to move around. There was a cold refrigerator... More 

Helpful?
Thank flygirl13762
LighthouseView, Guest Relations Manager at Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Lighthouse View! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all that Buxton has to offer. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

Location was good. Personnel good. Room was ok. No privacy on the outside deck. Dunes blocked some of the ocean view, I understand that but still was a little disappointed. The room itself could use an upgrade. Tiny bathroom. I think they have some sort of temp block on AC. Couldn't lower it passed 68. They soap the have is... More 

Helpful?
Thank zwizz94
LighthouseView, Guest Relations Manager at Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Our main complex of rooms does offer privacy walls between rooms on the ocean side deck which does offer some privacy while still allowing access to other decks and rooms, but unfortunately not as private as our cottage decks. The dune does also block some of the view on the lower level units, so opting... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.1 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.8 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.4 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#11 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 7 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 7 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nowhere will you find a more delightful combination of beautiful vacation rentals seashore wonders, and southern hospitality, all within the shadow of the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse than at Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging. Located on the oceanside village of Buxton, North Carolina, our beachfront campus offers some of the best views on Hatteras Island!Many of our guests have made us their annual retreat of choice because we have everything you could need for a great Hatteras vacation: convenient Cape Hatteras lodging, great in-room amenities, a location that couldn’t be any closer to the beach and sound, exceptional surf fishing, a host of exciting water sports, and, of course, the majestic Cape Hatteras Lighthouse for a fun sightseeing opportunity.We offer a wide variety of Buxton vacation rentals, from motel rooms to efficiencies to beach cottages. Whether you’re planning a quiet getaway for two, a fishing or water sports escape, or a full-blown multi-family and friend Cape Hatteras beach vacation, we can make it all happen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging

Address: 46677 Hwy. 12, PO Box 39, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Price Range: $44 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging Hotel Buxton
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging Buxton
Lighthouse View Hotel Buxton
Light House View Motel
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing