We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Cape Pines Motel

Certificate of Excellence
47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cape Pines Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 263: English reviews
Fabius, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just got home from a six day stay at Cape Pines Motel and loved every minute of it. From the very beginning they did everything they could to make sure that we were comfortable and happy. Management moved our room to accommodate an injury so I didn't have to do stairs, gave helpful tips for restaurants and directions around... More 

Helpful?
Thank mlong001
Stoneville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on our family vacation to the Outerbanks this past week(July 2016). We were in room 12. This year, the kids and I decided to bring our dog and this place is so pet friendly and cheaper than boarding him for the 5 days. The room was spacious and had a large kitchen and nice bathroom. Our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank jennbell2016
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

It's wonderful that you and your family enjoyed your stay here! Glad Cooper had a swell time, too. All the best, Angie & Bill R.- Owners More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great find for July. Shopped around and decided this would be a great stay and we were not disappointed. Checked in to a Double Queen room. Large room with a tiny bathroom but certainly NOT a negative. We found the room to be incredibly clean and welcoming. Received great recommendations for dining from Monica at the Front Desk. Just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roomseller59
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

You're certainly welcome! It's wonderful you really enjoyed the Double Queen room -- sounds like you were right at home. Hope the rest of your trip went just as well. All the best, Angie & Bill R.- Owners More 

pittsburgh pa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quant Motel in a great location on the plus side, but in much need of some TLC. Disappointing as we were just there a year ago. The room we had a very dark - dated décor. Last year we had a full kitchen which I thought we would have again this year , but only had a microwave and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank razayes
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

We're disappointed this was your impression of us -- especially since you really enjoyed your stay last visit. You have not booked a suite this year which would have a full kitchen, but a regular room with a microwave and a small fridge. We are surprised that you did not report a non-functioning refrigerator. Small fridges take time to cool... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted an option this year for an early arrival onto the island. I did some digging, and really could not find too many pet friendly hotels. We always rent a beach house that accepts pets. Cape Pines does! No, this is not the Waldorf Astoria!! (yes....I have stayed there), but it much like being home! We booked suite 12.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy P
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

You're so welcome, Amy! It's just wonderful that you, Hunter, and Isabelle really enjoyed your stay. Can't wait to see you next year! All the best, Angie & Bill R.- Owners More 

Kennesaw, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I were completely happy with the room. The beds were comfortable and the price was very fair for the beach in June. We were close to beach access either way when we left the hotel, plenty of places to eat and a great grocery store directly across the street for the late night snacks. We will return... More 

Helpful?
Thank pjosephprice
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

It's wonderful you and your wife had a pleasant stay here! We look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, Angie & Bill R.- Owners More 

Plymouth, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is much good to say about this motel. Rooms exceptionally clan, remodel tasteful, location prime. But a couple hings ruined a goodly part of our stay. On the second evening of a three night stay, a pacl of local teens descended on the pool, discouraging use by guests such as us. On the third day,a neighbor wacked out on... More 

Helpful?
Thank news985
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

Again, we want to apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused. As soon as we were made aware of the situation, we took the appropriate action to make sure she wouldn't bother our guests again. Sincerely, Angie & Bill R.- Owners More 

Perry Hall, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Triple make sure your belongings are in tow upon checkout or they're gone for good. We stayed 2 nights and left an expensive beach towel behind. In a hurry to checkout, we forgot it and called the following morning expecting the staff would have found it as it was left in the most obvious of places inside the room. In... More 

Helpful?
Thank MomOf2SillyBoys
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

This is the last impression we'd want to leave for any of our guests. We've had people leave things like phone chargers before, and every time we've made an effort to return lost items to them. If we did find your beach towel, rest assured that Monica would have been the first to tell you. We are still wondering, though,... More 

Baltimore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We traveled with our dog. Nice small place with a pool. Clean and updated on interior. Staff was very friendly and accommodating Location was close and convenient to area places for breakfast , lunch and dinner. Only a short drive to other towns. Lighthouse is a nice jog in the morning.

Helpful?
Thank FamilyGuy21128
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

It's great that you and your pup had a pleasant stay with us! We can't wait to welcome you back next time you're in for another lighthouse jog. All the best, Angie & Bill R.- Owners More 

Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

It is a convenient location across the street from a grocery store. Overall, it was ok but would probably try somewhere else next time. While it was very clean, it didn't smell very good and the beds were not that comfortable. The bathroom was VERY small and it seemed that the shower head was only functioning on one side. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank LisaTravelTime
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

We're sorry if you didn't feel totally comfortable here, Lisa. Cleanliness is certainly a top priority of ours, so we would have looked into the smell if you brought it up to us. Likewise, we would have absolutely looked into the shower head. Still, we hope that you did have a relaxing trip here. Thanks for staying at our place.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.1 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
9.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 7 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
9.8 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Price Range: $110 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay