We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Falcon Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Falcon Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 61: English reviews
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

I was booked for June 10th - June 17th, 2016. Received a call in early April that our reservation was canceled due to the fact they would not be opening for the summer. Received my full deposit at the end of May. I was fortunately able to book another motel. I was in Buxton last week and went by to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Revelon
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

The front staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was cozy, quiet, clean and a good value. There is a seafood market across the street. We cooked fresh fish every day outside our room. Nice clean swimming pool.

Helpful?
Thank ILoveToTravelSome
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

Very dated motel (on par with masters inn, knights inn etc) but i wasn't expecting 4stars on a 1star budget. Convenient location with an excellent seafood market and restaurant across the street. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. Great for low budget travelers but if you're a family or use to the finer things pass this one up.

Helpful?
Thank Angela A
Llandrindod Wells
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

Budget motel it certainly is. Room was spacious, and fairly clean, except for the sand, ever present on the wooden floors. Bathroom, again clean, but the door would not shut, as it was rotted and swollen. All metal fixings were rusted solid. WiFi was non existent. Went to the office to try and sort this out, and it was all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Ocean Springs, MS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

I knew this wasn't going to be the Ritz by any means but this motel just wasn't my cup of tea. Got a slightly chilly reception at check-in, the furniture was pretty banged up, the tv's sound was bad and the bathroom was just kind of gross. I felt weirded out in bathroom because the tattered blinds in there didn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rndtwngrl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile

We got there late after a day on the road. I checked into the last available room on the Outer Banks. All the way down at the end. My family started with the "Janet Leigh's car is probably in the swamp nearby" jokes. This motel is straight from the 1960's, when almost all motels were small and owned by mom... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Mark B
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

We have stayed at our fair share of motels and hotels on OBX and this one is affordable, comfortable and mostly clean. The room had a super comfy king size bed with crisp white linens and lots of pillows. I checked the entire room for bugs, including the mattress and found nothing. Of course the occasional critter can get into... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank jaymie z
Livorno, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

I spent one night in that motel. It was the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel. We arrived late night (family with one son, 9 years old). As soon as I entered I noticed the room dirty and the bathroom with mold (room # 32). By the way we decided to stay. During the night, 130 AM,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank nimitz72
Dave D, Manager at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

Sorry your stay was so miserable. I can personally tell you we are not a pet friendly establishment and we do not have ticks. We do have a monthly pest control service. As I remember you called the following morning and just asked if everything was ok with your room because you had to leave in the middle of the... More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 via mobile

Not a resort, doesn't claim to be. But the beds are comfy, the housekeeping and desk staff are friendly, you can park right outside your door, and I never heard a peep from any other guests even though they were fully booked. Good location in Buxton--you can walk to a lot. If they just did ONE thing to vastly improved... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank sciteach07
Dave D, Manager at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! The good news is we are slowly replacing our floors with laminate flooring. It is a slow room to room process but replacing more and more each year. Hope to see you again soon:) More 

Georgetown
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. Excellent price compared to other places. Golf, ice cream, gas station, and restaurant across the street. Room was clean and quiet. Pool was small but clean. Literally a 2 min drive from the beach and hatteras lighthouse. We would stay again!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Hart789
Dave D, Manager at Falcon Motel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again in the near future!!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.1 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.6 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 7 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 7 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Falcon Motel is located about 1/4 mile off the beach and 1 mile from the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. All of the rooms are ground level and non smoking. There is a fish cleaning table where you can clean your catch. The rooms are clean, comfortable and inexpensive. We also have a swimming pool and picnic area under the live oaks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Falcon Motel

Address: 46854 Highway NC 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Falcon Motel)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Falcon Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Falcon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Croatoan Hotel Buxton
Falcon Hotel Buxton
Falcon Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay