We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cape Hatteras Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cape Hatteras Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 241: English reviews
Fremont, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here last October and absolutely fell in love. We could have sat in the rockers on the deck/porch and never moved. Are the rooms perfectly modern? No, however they supplied exactly what we needed. They were clean, everything worked fine and the view & sound were to die for. We are actually headed back down for 5 nights... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen D
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

We thank you for your review and your insights into what we offer. We always strive for improvements where needed, but always want to true be true to the Harteras vibe. Look forward to seeing you soon! More 

Columbia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for our first visit to OBX in July 2015 and we returned this July. We recommend this Motel not only for the location right on the beach and ocean but also for the pleasant staff and clean town home. Yes, the rooms have a retro appearance but remodeling for the sake of remodeling is a waste of... More 

Helpful?
Thank BB1053
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and your perspective. An outlook like yours is refreshing. We will continue to work on upgrades because they are always needed. We are pleased to know there are guests, like you, who accept exactly what we offer and who we are, and you enjoy your vacation as a result. We hope... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On August 8 we made our first trip to the Outer Banks. Unfortunately a few hours after we arrived we got a call about a death in the family. We had to leave immediately. We called Cape Hatteras Motel because we had to cancel our reservation. They immediately said they understood and they refunded our deposit. We didn't expect that... More 

Helpful?
Thank dlhauser
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

We are so sorry for your loss. We do work very hard to meet customer's needs, especially in times of family hardship. We look forward to serving you in the future. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The view was amazing. This was the first beach vacation where we stayed in an ocean view room. I was satisfied with the location and the amount of space in the room. We could hear the waves at night and it was so relaxing. We would take the very short walk down the steps and were right there, set up... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Danyelle B
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry you did not feel you received value for your money. To address your issues: 1. We continue to work to improve the look of our rooms. 2. We have found from over 40 years experience that guests who book rooms with kitchens generally do not want the housekeeping staff in the... More 

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm giving this hotel 5 stars because of the view and location. Stayed in a room in the motel which was across the street from the oceanfront part of the motel. Rooms were old and musty smelling but clean. The beach was absolutely divine and private, not nearly as busy as the beaches further north. Cape Hatteras has the tallest... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lori P
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We've made note of your comments and we continue to try to keep rooms fresh. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

These folks need to update the rooms, i. e., put globes on the bare ceiling bulbs, replace the rusted fridge and fuse box, clean the rooms, and update the decor that looks like a mobile home. New towels once a day would be nice, too. Oh yes, replace the flat sand bags with real pillows. Much overpriced for quality of... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank James H
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

While we always appreciate guest feedback, we do find this guest's final comments to be inappropriate. We have already responded to this guest who sent us an identical e-mail. We are addressing his concerns, but we would add that we receive many positive comments about our rooms and especially about our service. It may have been helpful if he has... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a good room in college, but this motel extended upon it by having a small fridge and microwave. Having a room right next to the beach didn't hurt either. I love the fact that the lighthouse is visible. Or, at least it was from my vantage point. Clean sheets and a peaceful place.

Helpful?
Thank Black S
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice people with the staff members. They really made us feel welcome. They really wanted to make our stay good. Thank you to the staff of Cape Hatteras Motel. Clean rooms. Great view! The only thing I would suggest is in a beach side motel is take the carpet. The carpet gets really bad and feels yelk when you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dancingeyes37
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We agree about the carpeting and hope to change over all rooms with carpeting by next season if we can. Hope you see you again soon! More 

Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent four days here through a reservation with Bookings.com. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the location is great. Unfortunately the quality of the rooms (which are very old) doesn't make this a very good value for the money. I can appreciate the peak season pricing, but this four night stay was not worth $1000 (with tax).... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John E
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate the review and the positive feedback on staff and on our amazing location. Our rates during high season directly on the oceanfront are comparable to others who offer the same amenities so we are sorry this guest did not feel he/she received value for the money spent. We continue to work on improvements on the property. More 

Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

The room we booked was right on the beach. You step downstairs, your there. The room was clean and included a small fridge and microwave. The staff was very friendly and helpful (we looked our keys in the room and they helped us immediately). We had such a relaxing time. We live in Columbia, MD and a place like this... More 

Helpful?
Thank FromColumbiaMD
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (169)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.9 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.5 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 7 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
10.6 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cape Hatteras Motel is located on the oceanfront in Buxton North Carolina. We are located about a mile down the beach from the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The motel is bordered by the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Atlantic Ocean. The motel has a fresh water pool with a hot tub. When conditions are safe, our beach is great for swimming and surfing. It is also one of the best places in the country to surf fish. We are about ten miles from the marinas at Hatteras Inlet. Boats out of Hatteras have the shortest run to the gulf stream north of Florida. There is also a fishing pier five miles north of Cape Hatteras Motel. We offer oceanfront rooms with either one king or two queen beds. We also offer two bedroom suites, complete with full kitchens.These units are complete with linens and dishes. All units have access to free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and air conditioning. Whether you are coming to Cape Hatteras to surf or kite board, windsurf or fish, or maybe to just walk our miles of National Seashore beaches; the Cape Hatteras Motel is the place to stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Motel

Address: 46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Price Range: $133 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Cape Hatteras Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cape Hatteras Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Motel Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Hotel
Cape Hatteras Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay