We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hatteras Island Inn Buxton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 134: English reviews
Cornwall, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We found this place to stay the night before we got into our rental house . It's very cute,clean and in a great location. There is no bfst but they do have coffee and juices in the adorable lobby always . Pool looked nice but it was raining the day we were there ,and the beach is literally 5 min... More 

Helpful?
Thank mellymel77
Malgrate, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent a night on our way from Washington to Florida. The place is really poor and room number 102, at ground level, which we preferred because travelling with a disable kid and no elevator, was wet humid, with rusts everywhere and smelling mould like crazy. Extremely expensive for what they offer too. Avoid it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sdragona
Philadelphia Suburb
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here one night on our way north to Corolla. Staff was very cordial at check in. Room was clean and comfortable. Hotel is on the main road but Beach is a 3-4 minute walk. Lots of good restaurants not far away. Grounds are kept clean. We would choose this hotel in the future.

Helpful?
Thank psmu82
Liberty sc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this hotel for a long weekend. Read other reviews when making our choice to stay. The exterior looks far better than the interior. Décor is a little dated, which is ok, but the bathroom was in need of a complete tear out and redo. The bathtub had what looked like mold around the tile, there was a used towel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lisa m
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I didn't book this room ahead of time... I'd hoped to catch the ferry and didn't make it in time. So we stopped here. The woman at the front desk hooked me up with a great discount due to the fact it was pretty late, in the middle of the week and they weren't very busy. Good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
HatterasIslandInn-GM, Front Office Manager at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you for the super review! It was a pleasure accommodating you! More 

Newport News, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was clean and the air conditioner kept us comfortable. We spent one nite here on the way to Ocracoke so we could avoid the ferry crowd. We had no trouble boarding the ferry mid morning. I realized later that one of my bracelets was missing. I called HII and the desk clerk was super. She actually went to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank _ringangel
HatterasIslandInn-GM, Front Office Manager at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you! I will share your comments with the entire team. I am pleased that we were able to assist you! More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only stayed one night after being in Nags head and this hotel was much better than the $300+ cost of the Nags Head hotel! The king room was a very nice room, comfortable bed, clean and neat as well as the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, It has a pool and you just have to walk to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie D
HatterasIslandInn-GM, Front Desk Supervisor at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the kind words! Our housekeeping and front desk staff will be delighted when we share this with them. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit Hatteras Island! More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful weekend......lots of things to do nearby, and great food nearby. The beach access may be a little tough for the elderly as there is a steep dune to climb. Walking distance to mini golf, and ice cream, and a pizza place with an arcade inside that kids may enjoy. We will be back! The room itself... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy C
HatterasIslandInn-GM, Front Desk Supervisor at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your comments, especially about our location, room condition, and staff. We are glad that you had a great time, and look forward to seeing you again! Our guest service associates will happily recommend more accessible beaches during your next stay. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

App has crashed 4 times and erased my review-this is the 5th try so it's going to be short! Linens and fixtures clean, room smelled terribly if disinfectant. Staff were adequate, nothing impressive. It's a 2 star hotel you get what you pay for... Well almost. But it does have free coffee all day, no pastries at anytime.

Helpful?
1 Thank Qbrigid
HatterasIslandInn-GM, Front Desk Supervisor at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We are also sorry to hear there was some confusion about our amenities. We do offer coffee, juice, and tea in the lobby all day, but that is typically the extent of what we offer. We have... More 

Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

We were not sure what to expect as we had made a last minute reservation. From the minute we drove up, we were very happy. The building and grounds are very attractive. The pool is sparkly clean, with a covered cabana area and lots of seating in excellent condition. The pool remains open until 10 PM and is lit both... More 

Helpful?
Thank r_islandgirl
HatterasIslandInn-GM, Front Desk Supervisor at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are delighted you had a great time! We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the island. Until then, safe travels! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
2.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
9.5 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 7 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 7 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
10.4 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hatteras Island Inn is on the ocean side of Hatteras Island in the village of Buxton North Carolina. The beach is just a short walk away using the beach access. The Cape Hatteras Lighthouse is just two miles from the Inn and can be plainly seen from our observation tower as well as incredible sunrises and sunsets. Horseback riding, Go-Carts, Bumper Cars, Mini-Golf, Museums, Charter Cruises/Fishing trips, Gift Shops, and Great Dining are just some of the pleasures you can experience during your stay with us. Don't forget to take some time-out and relax at our pool while you are with us! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hatteras Island Inn Buxton

Address: 46745 NC Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Price Range: $89 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatteras Island Inn Buxton 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hatteras Island Inn Buxton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hatteras Island Hotel Buxton
Comfort Inn Buxton
Buxton Comfort Inn
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton NC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay