We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hatteras Island Inn Buxton

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 127: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a wonderful weekend......lots of things to do nearby, and great food nearby. The beach access may be a little tough for the elderly as there is a steep dune to climb. Walking distance to mini golf, and ice cream, and a pizza place with an arcade inside that kids may enjoy. We will be back! The room itself... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy C
HatterasIslandInn-GM, Front Desk Supervisor at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your comments, especially about our location, room condition, and staff. We are glad that you had a great time, and look forward to seeing you again! Our guest service associates will happily recommend more accessible beaches during your next stay. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

App has crashed 4 times and erased my review-this is the 5th try so it's going to be short! Linens and fixtures clean, room smelled terribly if disinfectant. Staff were adequate, nothing impressive. It's a 2 star hotel you get what you pay for... Well almost. But it does have free coffee all day, no pastries at anytime.

Helpful?
Thank Qbrigid
HatterasIslandInn-GM, Front Desk Supervisor at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We are also sorry to hear there was some confusion about our amenities. We do offer coffee, juice, and tea in the lobby all day, but that is typically the extent of what we offer. We have... More 

Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were not sure what to expect as we had made a last minute reservation. From the minute we drove up, we were very happy. The building and grounds are very attractive. The pool is sparkly clean, with a covered cabana area and lots of seating in excellent condition. The pool remains open until 10 PM and is lit both... More 

Helpful?
Thank r_islandgirl
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off, let's start by managing expectations. This is a beach property in a rustic yet authentic area of the Outer Banks that is for folks who travel seeking such. If you want upscale chain hotels head in the other direction towards Nags Head and Duck. This hotel is exactly what it says it is. Beach properties take a beating,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank smotley
HatterasIslandInn-GM, Front Desk Supervisor at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are glad you had a great time, and appreciate your kind words. Our staff will be thrilled to read your review! We are especially glad our hotel met your expectations, and hope to see you again the next time you pass through the Outer Banks! More 

Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I feel this place is overpriced. Although booking site said that only one room had left, I saw a bunch of empty room when I got there. Pros: This place is a very convenient area in terms of accessibility. Five min to the light house, walking distance to beach etc. Provided breakfast (donuts, beverage). Cons: The room was outdated although... More 

Helpful?
Thank jakang40
HatterasIslandInn-GM, Front Desk Supervisor at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments, especially regarding the air conditioner. The hotel is in a period of transition, and the new owners plan on updating the rooms in the coming months. Our maintenance staff is in the process of resolving issues with disruptive units, and your feedback will help them prioritize... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Looks great on the outside but needs much renovation. Room 214 had moldy dresser drawers, rusty dirty bathroom bathtub drain and handles. Didn't clean our room the first day and had two incidents with very dirty "clean" towels. Sheets were not replaced daily. Toilet is too close to the door and would hardly flush. Very dirty and outdated. Would only... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah D
HatterasIslandInn-GM, Front Desk Manager at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the kind words about the exterior and pool, but we are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with the condition of your room. We take housekeeping complaints very seriously and have taken steps to ensure these issues do not happen again. We are transitioning to new ownership of... More 

Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night on my road trip this summer. It's a little pricey for what you get; but that's probably the norm on the outer banks. The room was clean, with accessible outlets and decent wifi. No microwave or mini fridge. The staff was very friendly, and they had coffee (and juice, I believe) in the lobby.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve P
HatterasIslandInn-GM, Front Desk Supervisor at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are glad you had a great experience while you were here. I have forwarded this review to our staff, so they could read your kind words. I am especially sorry to hear that your room lacked a microwave and mini fridge. All of our guest rooms are supposed to... More 

New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 1 night on weekend before 4th of July. So I guess we were lucky to even find anything available. Very pricy for the accommodations. But at least it was clean. This is an old hotel that doesn't look like it's been updated or maintained for quite a while. The staff was very nice and morning coffee, juice and donuts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne Z
HatterasIslandInn-GM, Front Desk Supervisor at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate the kind word about our staff, and I have forwarded this review to our guest services and housekeeping departments. Our property is transitioning to new ownership, and they have major plans to update the property. We thank you for your feedback, and will use it to continue pursuing... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was nice and centrally located. It does not have laundry service as advertised on Hotel Tonight. Maid service could have done a much better job. Overall decent hotel for the price. Beds are not comfortable and they don't have extra pillows for guests. Pool is much smaller than internet photos portray.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
HatterasIslandInn-GM, General Manager at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Thank you for your comments. Your requests are always our top priority. The fact that you did not receive extra pillows upon request is not acceptable. I will ensure that this does not happen again. Unfortunately during the time of your stay, we were in the process of upgrading the guest laundry machines. This process... More 

Hillsborough, NC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Basic motel. Our room was clean and did not suffer from mildew (like many at the beach). The shower was clean but only had WARM water available. We tried several times and never had hot water available. There was a TINY flatscreen TV. Road noise was not a problem but we were at the very back of the motel. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RonCooley
HatterasIslandInn-GM, General Manager at Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, they assist us in creating a more satisfying guest experience. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
2.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#11 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 7 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 7 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
10.4 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hatteras Island Inn is on the ocean side of Hatteras Island in the village of Buxton North Carolina. The beach is just a short walk away using the beach access. The Cape Hatteras Lighthouse is just two miles from the Inn and can be plainly seen from our observation tower as well as incredible sunrises and sunsets. Horseback riding, Go-Carts, Bumper Cars, Mini-Golf, Museums, Charter Cruises/Fishing trips, Gift Shops, and Great Dining are just some of the pleasures you can experience during your stay with us. Don't forget to take some time-out and relax at our pool while you are with us! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hatteras Island Inn Buxton

Address: 46745 NC Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Price Range: $80 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatteras Island Inn Buxton 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hatteras Island Inn Buxton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hatteras Island Hotel Buxton
Comfort Inn Buxton
Buxton Comfort Inn
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton NC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay