We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Sunset Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Sunset Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 248: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Very nice motel clean friendly all you could want in Brevard. Walking distance to downtown Brevard and very quiet. Staff very accommodating and will take care of any issue that might arise. This was our first time here and we will definitely be back. The typical 50s motel but with lots of character and charm. A great place to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed at Sunset multiple times now and we keep coming back for more. Lorrie and her friendly staff are great and really make you feel welcome. From the quaint and charming rooms to the convenient hotel location, this is perfect place to rest your head when you come to Brevard. The rooms are always clean and we love... More 

Helpful?
Thank Courtney C
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those people and we are very grateful for guests like you!... More 

Fallston, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great, place to stay, easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, etc. The motel is clean, people are great and very helpful. Stayed in many of the rooms and all are more than expected. Will stay again soon!!!

Helpful?
Thank tommaryland2016
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We’re delighted that we could exceed your expectations and provide excellent service. Thanks so much for your feedback, and please come and see us again soon! Lori More 

Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Sunset Motel is an amazing place to stay. The staff are beyond friendly and helpful, and the owner went out of her way to accommodate myself, my business, and my dog!! I needed a very strong online connection in order to work and they went out of their way to make that happen for me. We were there for... More 

Helpful?
Thank dpg64
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Your thoughtful review is a pleasure to read. We’re pleased to learn that our team went above and beyond your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again and again in the near future; and we thank you for staying with us! Lori More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is our fourth year staying at the Sunset Motel. We enjoy our visits each time. The motel is clean, everyone is friendly and helpful. We enjoy the throwback to years past and such fun. This is the only place we will stay in Brevard!

Helpful?
Thank Pat C
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

You are most kind and definitely generous in taking your time to post this! Eternally grateful and look forward to having you with us again! Lori More 

Jacksonville
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found this cute little motel and loved it. Planned to only stay 2 days but extended to 4 just because we were so comfortable at the Sunset. The room was very clean and spacious. Staff was excellent with several recommendations of area activities and great food. We will most certainly be returning to enjoy another stay and find more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rex W
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us online! We’re so happy that you enjoyed the motel and that you found our team to be helpful and courteous. We hope to see you again for another stay sometime soon! Lori More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent accomidations and superior friendly folks up in Brevard , thank you for all , Best os best trails around bent at DuPont , Ridgeline',,,kkkkkkkkkkkkk'$ Hhhhhhhhhhhhhh,m, thank you , best food and you can walk to downtown

Helpful?
Thank Greg R
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This motel should be considered a national treasure: It is a 1950's roadside "motel" that was common during that era, but has been totally refurbished, renovated, and updated to 21st century standards. As was the design back then, the rooms are typically small, but even before you walk in, you will notice the attention-to-detail in how they are appointed. Door... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy M
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your thoughtful glowing review all the way from Rome! We are ecstatic to hear your thoughts on the motel and your time with usl! It was our pleasure to host you, and it pleases us more to know that you had an excellent stay. We hope that if you return to the U.S., we see... More 

United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I try to be positive about mom & pop establishments, and usually give them very good reviews. The Sunset Motel, however, was a disappointment. The 50s theme is nice, particularly in the lobby. The room was more "early garage sale" than a good 50s experience. The room was overall clean and the bed was adequate. The bathroom left a lot... More 

Helpful?
Thank EastBeachBum
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you found the motel lacking. We know that we are not for everyone and we also know you did not choose the motel, that it was booked for you. Thank you for letting us know about the AC. We took care of that as soon as we saw this. We work hard to correct room issues as... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Overall, we were happy with our stay here. The price was good, our room was mostly clean and the location was great. I say mostly because there was some mold on our shower curtain, but I informed the staff and it was attended to. There were some minor things in our room that appeared to be in disrepair, like paint... More 

Helpful?
Thank SarRey
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

We consider reviews from guests to be an important part of our business because it reflects upon how well we serve our customers. We apologize for anything that was in disrepair. When guests let us know things like this, we take care of it . The bathroom ceiling was painted 2 days ago FYI. We will continue to work extremely... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
17.0 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 12 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
18.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 12 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
17.8 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#2 of 12 in Hendersonville
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique 50's roadside motel that has been "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, some with kitchens/kitchenettes and porches with vintage chairs to lounge about or strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of wine or mug of brew. Personality plus the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 523 S Broad St, Brevard, NC 28712-4044
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Price Range: $76 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay