We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
639 Whispering Hills Rd, Boone, NC 28607-7378
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (22)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (1)

About

#3 of 9 in Boone
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.7
Shankara Ayurveda Spa at the Art of Living Retreat Center: Rejuvenate and relax with wellness retreats, spa getaways, restful rooms with incredible views, delicious dining and daily yoga and meditation. Located near Boone, NC, five minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Hiking
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness classes
Special diet menus
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Steam room
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Desk
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
57Reviews4Q+A23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 39
  • 10
  • 0
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kate wrote a review Jul 2019
7 contributions3 helpful votes
Worst facial I have ever received. The woman was so harsh on my face that I had to tell her she was being too rough. The towels they put on your face are scalding. 3 days later and my face feels over exfoliated, raw, and red. Also, the pictures look great online but the ambiance is almost like going to a dorm room. We have been to a different day spa in Boone and it was amazing. This place was horrible, unfriendly staff, and under educated service providers. Do not go.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
coleanne2003 wrote a review Aug 2018
Royal Oak, Michigan1 contribution1 helpful vote
My room had a beautiful view of the Blue Ridge Mountains. I stayed in the Spa and as soon as I arrived I was greeted by friendly, professional, knowledgeable staff. There is a tea room that is open 24 hours offering a selection of Ayurvedic teas. There are many programs offered. When you call, you can ask for recommendations/explanations. I was on the 5 day cleanse which included 3 hot Sesame oil massages. These are designed to removed toxins from the body in preparation for the cleanse. The area outside of the massage rooms is a beautiful, tranquil room offering chaise lounges and beautiful mountain views. After the massages, I utilized the steam room. I had individual counseling and an individualized plan designed for me that included eating recommendations, exercise suggestions and lifestyle modifications. There is morning and evening meditation which is different each day and offered me suggestions on incorporating meditation into my life at home. Yoga is Sri Sri Yoga, which is gentle and flowing. It is, by far, the most tranquil yoga I have every done. After dinner, chanting is available in the Meditation/Yoga room and is a beautiful experience, not to be missed. Not far from the Meditation/Yoga room, there is an outdoor Labyrinth, which I found a wonderful accompaniment to my daily meditation. When I left on Friday, I felt transformed and knew that this is an experience I will carry with me for the rest of my life. My body, mind and spirit have been nourished in a way I did not think possible. Everyone should give themselves the gift of this truly unique experience!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Ask for room with mountain view
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob B, Guest Relations Manager at Shankara Ayurveda Spa
Responded Aug 29, 2018
Thank you for the review. It seems you thoroughly enjoyed the entire Art of Living Retreat Center. We are very pleased that the Refresh Ayurvedic Cleanse and all that the Center has to offer nourished your body, mind and spirit.
Read more
CHamiltonBooks wrote a review Dec 2017
Mount Airy, North Carolina222 contributions48 helpful votes
As soon as I arrived, I was greeted with many smiling faces. This stay was my second stay in two years and I have never been disappointed. This property has a magical charm and always seems to find the friendliest of staff. The views of the sunrises/sunsets are incredible at the Spa and on top of Boone, NC. The Ayurveda teas offered throughout the property are delicious and was a nice added touch too. The Spa experience was very unique and was one of my best experiences ever. I was pampered from head-to-toe. They offer many different experiences including Ayurveda Treatments. After your treatment, be sure to jump in the steam room to further your relaxation. My visit this time was a yoga and spa retreat. My awesome Yoga instructor's name was Xiomara. Be sure to ask for Xiomara, because she took the time to teach me several forms of Yoga including Sushma Yoga, Sri Sri Yoga, and other forms of Meditative Yoga. Also, the meals were included in the package and were all Ayurveda and they tasted amazing. Compliments to the new Chef at the Art of Living, because his food was delectable and seemed to have healing qualities. All-in-all, I rate the Shankara Ayurveda Spa with 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend this to anyone that needs to escape the hustle and bustle. Cheers and Enjoy
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Choose a room on the side with sunsets and sunrises (South side)
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob B, Guest Relations Manager at Shankara Ayurveda Spa
Responded Dec 28, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you immersed yourself into all that our Retreat Center has to offer. We look forward to your next stay when you need to escape from the hustle and bustle of daily life.
Read more
vlmontero wrote a review Jul 2017
Miami Beach, Florida79 contributions19 helpful votes
Peaceful oasis in the beautiful mountains was a nice cool and refreshing change from the heat of Atlanta. Lovely staff and excellent yoga, meditation classes and massages. Definitely recommend for a relaxing holiday. There's a vegetarian buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob B, Guest Relations Manager at Shankara Ayurveda Spa
Responded Aug 1, 2017
Thank you for the review and we are so happy you were able to get away and enjoy all that the Art of Living Retreat Center has to offer.
Read more
Emily M wrote a review May 2017
Raleigh, North Carolina31 contributions8 helpful votes
My husband and I went to the Art of Living Retreat Center in March of this year and stayed in the Spa building. We were in the area for a ski get away and also partook in the spa facilities. Overall, our experience was excellent. This primarily stemmed from the calm atmosphere and the fact that we were one of maybe 3 other parties staying at the spa. Our room had a great view of the mountains. We enjoyed the tea every evening, coffee in the morning, and fresh fruit. We ate one breakfast at the Art of Living Retreat and it was very yummy - vegetarian. There isn't really a fully staff on site the entire time but that was fine except for a door key that became demagnetized in my purse, but we had a spare. Bare in mind, this is not like an average hotel in that you don't have a fridge and your own coffee maker etc, but you have everything you need and it is well appointed and clean. The best thing I can say about this place is the massage I received, which I would give 10 stars if I could. Best massage I've had in years and I probably get one every few months. It was incredible. My husband said his massage was amazing too. We both got the foot enhancement and he got the head enhancement as well.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Stay at the spa unless you are on a planned retreat
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob B, Guest Relations Manager at Shankara Ayurveda Spa
Responded May 3, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations and the massage treatments you and your husband had. We do hear quite often that our treatments are exceptional and we take pride in providing the best service, accommodations and spa services.
Read more
kashvy wrote a review Jan 2017
Charlotte, North Carolina5 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed here when we went for a Ski trip . Honestly this is not a hotel more like an apartment complex .There are no elevators in the buildings haul our suitcases upstairs . They said that there is a room cleaning service but our room was never cleaned /linens changed . I didn't see any housekeeping staff either and if you call the reception , the call goes to some call center . there was no microwave in our room - we had kids and we could not warm anything for them . There wasnt even a coffee maker or toiletries in the bathroom . They say they have tea / coffee available in the lobby but it wasnt tea- some strange concoction of whole spices .Its located in the middle of nowhere so the first night we were forced to eat the buffet dinner . The food was blaaaaah!! i love indian food but this was the worst Indian food i have ever had . desserts ran out before half the guests had started eating .Its associated with some religious group and felt very cultish .We were approached couple of times by other guests asking us if we were " art of living " members . The only good thing was the view from the room and luckily we had a room with a view .Will not recommend to any one
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: ask for a microwave and coffee maker
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob B, Guest Relations Manager at Shankara Ayurveda Spa
Responded Jan 14, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We welcome all feedback as we are constantly striving to improve. We are retreat center, not affiliated with any religious organization, with both hotel rooms and retreat style rooms, and thus we are a unique property and are sorry that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. We do hope that you did enjoy the time with your family and once again, thank you for the review.
Read more
bay_area_boss wrote a review Oct 2016
bay area70 contributions30 helpful votes
The place itself will put you into a un-rushed calming state without even before hitting the spa, the location is in the Whispering hills mountains and spa is well appointed . I found the quality of the masseuses to be top notch, the whole area is good with many meditation centers next to this premise so ended up taking some meditation/breathing techniques as well in those centers that immensely added a lot to my experience of un-winding myself. Overall a very positive experience
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob B, Guest Relations Manager at Shankara Ayurveda Spa
Responded Oct 20, 2016
Thank you for your review and we are very happy that you were able to unwind and enjoy the Art of Living Retreat Center. Our goal is to have each guest leave their stress behind and depart with a smile on their face.
Read more
Cindy v wrote a review Sep 2016
18 contributions17 helpful votes
First let me say that, if you are looking for a place to get away for a while, this may be ok, albeit with a far eastern religious approach. However, I was just looking for a hotel room during homecoming weekend at App. State when hotels in Boone were booked or outrageously expensive. I do not think I will stay here again. First, I received no instructions on the check in process, arrived in the dark, and was surprised when I drove to the above address and found no one there. I was, however, able to call the phone number on my reservation and get check in straightened out. It turned out, I was put up in a different building. Secondly, there were few amenities of a hotel available. There was no air conditioning, so the room, being closed up, was hot when I arrived. The internet was so slow, I gave up using it. There was no cell service. Coffee and tea were available in the lobby, but I would have preferred it in my room so that I did not have to get dressed in order to go get it. That being said, the room was clean and cooled off once I got the windows open and the ceiling fan going.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob B, Guest Relations Manager at Shankara Ayurveda Spa
Responded Sep 21, 2016
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. We both welcome it and appreciate it. We are a unique property, not associated with any particular religion, and as a retreat center you will not find everything that a typical hotel has to offer but, rather daily yoga and meditation, Ayurvedic Spa services and Art of Living courses. Again, thank you for the review and we all wish you the best.
Read more
smiles1024 wrote a review Aug 2016
Columbus, Ohio7 contributions14 helpful votes
A friend and I went for a long weekend getaway and stayed in the spa hotel. The room was great, nothing fancy which we didn't need or expect. There is plenty of complimentary water, coffee, fruit, and tea down in the lobby. The room was pretty comfortable at night with the windows open, ceiling fan, and box fan. I would have loved a balcony to be able to enjoy the scenery more! We were on the second floor - technically mountain view but mostly trees... still a peaceful setting. The drive was beautiful (when there wasn't fog)... we flew into Charlotte and rented a car to drive the two miles up. The roads are definitely winding so I would not recommend driving there at night! The towns of Boone and Blowing Rock are about 20 minutes away if you should need to explore (shopping, restaurants, music, breweries...) We also took the Blue Ridge Parkway to Cascade Falls and Moses Cone Manor. Just beautiful. Activities at the center were great! I enjoyed Daniel's yoga class, the steam rooms, relaxation lounges, labyrinth, gift shop... We didn't get to explore the trails onsite as it got too hot and the elevation was getting to us a bit. Can't say enough good things about the massages. I experienced Rob's signature massage - amazing!!! My friend cannot stop talking about Lorrin's abhyanga warm oil massage - she is already trying to figure out when she can go back just to experience Lorrin's treatment again! We did get to have one dinner on site and it was delicious... I already eat similarly to what they had so I very much appreciated the menu - lentil soup, vegetable pizza, zucchini noodle pasta, veggie lasagna, kashidi, salad, and baked apples. Overall, we were very satisfied with the experience!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob B, Guest Relations Manager at Shankara Ayurveda Spa
Responded Aug 9, 2016
Thank you for the review. We are happy you took advantage of all that the Art of Living Retreat Center has to offer and are pleased that you found are Signature Massage and Abhyanga Massage "amazing".
Read more
Alexa Lewis wrote a review Apr 2016
Peachtree City, Georgia42 contributions12 helpful votes
If you are looking for an action packed, Grove Park Inn like experience...please pass by. If your focus is on health, inner reflection, growth through experiencing another culture and relaxation, please, come right on in. This review focuses more on the experience and not a general overview. I do suggest researching Ayurvedic practices and principles to give you a better appreciation for the offerings at this campus. I booked a two night Detox and Restore package. A lot had happened over the last six months and I needed balance again. I was familiar with Ayurveda, but not enough to make decisions on what the best treatments for the visit. The staff guided me in the choices after asking a few questions. The choices were spot on! I experienced the Abhyanga Massage and Marma treatments. These treatments are meant to balance the doshas. Each therapist was prompt, courteous and professional. Each one would explain in detail at the beginning what was to happen before and during the treatment. The therapists I experienced will not speak unless instructions to move your body position -- meaning no chit chat during the experience (which is exactly what I prefer)! For the Abhyanga, Theresa performed the experience like an experienced dancer -- her moves were precise, smooth, deliberate. Kimber, who guided me on my Marma (accupressure) experience, worked steady and firm with her touches. I recommend asking for these ladies if you decide to book these treatments. It is not obligatory to participate in every event on the itinerary, attempt to experience as much as you can. Sanjeel is a sweet soul who instructs the yoga portion. The classes I attended were based for a beginner, but I encourage the advanced students to join in a session to experience a different point of view. Sanjeel asked the participants if there were any physical limitations. Based on the feedback, she would take great care to tailor the instruction to fit the needs of the participants. I also dropped in on one of the 30 minute meditation sessions. The young man who led this experience also asked us about any meditation experience. He began the session with a power breath technique for stirring energy before we commenced with the stillness. His voice, calming and reassuring, guided us through with minimal imagery a gentle, basic session. Overall, I am planning my next visit already.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Any 2nd floor, odd numbered room will have the view of the mountains. Mine was 201.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob B, Guest Relations Manager at Shankara Ayurveda Spa
Responded Apr 12, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience during your recent stay with us. We will share the review with the entire staff and will personally reach out to the staff you mentioned and thank them. It is very satisfying to each of us when we can make a difference and we look forward to your next visit. Rob B Hospitality Manager The Art of Living Retreat Center
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBoone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shankara Ayurveda Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Shankara Ayurveda Spa?
Nearby attractions include Doc's Rocks Gem Mine (3.4 miles), The Greenway Trail (4.7 miles), and Tweetsie Railroad (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Shankara Ayurveda Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness center.
What food & drink options are available at Shankara Ayurveda Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Shankara Ayurveda Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shankara Ayurveda Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mint Cuisine of India, Come Back Shack, and Coyote Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shankara Ayurveda Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, fitness classes, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Shankara Ayurveda Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Shankara Ayurveda Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (5.9 miles), Flat Top Manor (6.2 miles), and The Jones House Cultural and Community Center (6.3 miles).
Does Shankara Ayurveda Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Shankara Ayurveda Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.