We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Green Park Inn

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (268)
Room & Suite (67)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 15 hotels in Blowing Rock
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
The graceful Victorian era hotel, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, has been lovingly and faithfully restored as of the fall of 2010. Turn back the clock to a more genteel time when exquisite attention to guest's needs, a polite, respectful and helpful staff, and an atmosphere of quiet elegance was the magnet that drew authors, poets, presidents and first ladies to the cool mountain breezes of the Green Park Inn. Come and experience our affordable elegance. When you want to spend time away, spend it somewhere that's timeless. The Chestnut Grille Restaurant is open nightly, or weekends seasonally. The Divide Tavern opens nightly at 5pm, serving casual dinner fare.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Couples massage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Meeting rooms
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Mid-range
706Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 337
  • 206
  • 91
  • 50
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
James H wrote a review Jan 2024
Davidson, North Carolina274 contributions69 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
The Green Park Inn bar is the best in all of Blowing Rock if you like moderate prices, beautiful mahogany wood all over, friendly servers and relatively quiet atmosphere. Everyone there seems to be in a very good mood and therefore it is a good place to sit, relax, enjoy and meet nice strangers.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DayTrip28377769909 wrote a review Jan 2024
Whitsett, North Carolina2 contributions
The hotel was decorated for Christmas and it was warm and inviting. Room was clean and bed was fine , but everything else was mediocre especially the bathroom and shower. Very small and not heated . Staff was pleasant and the bartender very friendly. We only stayed one night and we were glad to leave . I would recommend this hotel as it is historic and beautiful .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Room not fancy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
gsurocks6X wrote a review Dec 2023
Jesup, Georgia165 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
We stayed three nights at the Green Park recently. It is a very neat old hotel with a few issues but a staff that really makes the place! We had a king room on the first floor away from the lobby. The room was clean and comfortable. The only negatives were that the shower temperature wouldn’t stay consistent and the door to the balcony was a little drafty. We ate at the Tavern two nights and the ladies in there were awesome. We didn’t get her name but the dark haired server that was probably around 30 was the best. I’m really sorry we didn’t get her name. She was a very hard worker and so personable. Her recommendations for food and drink were spot on. The food was great. Charlie was our waiter at breakfast for two days. He was very friendly and polite. He did a great job waiting on us. The breakfast was included and it was delicious. One complaint we thought we would have would be about the pets. When we got to our room, the huge dogs next door started barking. We found, though, that they only barked when we came in our room or their owners came into their room. Luckily that wasn’t often.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Try the food at the tavern
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
elbrujo_ve wrote a review Nov 2023
Texas230 contributions69 helpful votes
+1
While the hotel itself is full of charm and history, they have a problem with staff and the services they say they provide, but they do not and you do not get a credit for that either. There is nobody to help you with your luggage, the elevator does not work (most of the time), the "breakfast included' is subject to a schedule (because they do not have the staff to serve you when you want), you need to order the food in advance in the restaurant if you want to eat and the front desk service is in the limit of rude. If you want your room cleaned, you need to request the service 24 hours in advance. Rooms are cozy and beds are comfortable. If still you decide to go, do not accept any room facing the main avenue.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay away. Ask for a lower floor room and facing the back of the property. Make plans for having...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded Jan 10, 2024
I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay. You are correct when it comes to staffing. Every business in the entire country is suffering from staff shortages. We do not advertise that we offer valet service however, if requested, we will quite happily assist with luggage. I am confused about your elevator comment. While we did experience elevator issues in 2022 and early 2023 the elevator has been working since I have been here as the new AGM since August 2023. We pride ourselves in providing a full, made to order breakfast to all of our guests. We provide breakfast fine dining and, yes, reservations are required, as they would be at many, many, MANY restaurants. I am also confused about your statement that guests must “order in advance”. Guests only order their food after they have sat down at the dining table. Last but not least, upon check-in guests are informed that housekeeping services are no longer provided daily, but that all room amenities are available at the front desk (and front desk or housekeeping staff can deliver them) and if full, room cleaning services are required for longer two night stays (we typically provide this for three or longer) that we will do our best to accommodate if and when requested. This is to support the economic “green” footprint. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your review and to further explain our policies and procedures if you would like to telephone the hotel and speak to me. Please tell the front desk associate that your call is in reference to a previous review and I will happily speak with you. Thank you for reviewing the Grand Dame. Meg Quinn, AGM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephanie S wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
We were looking forward to our one-night romantic stay on Saturday night, so we paid $184 plus tax. It came with breakfast by reservation only. It’s an Inn with a lot of charm and history. Upon arrival, there was damage in the entryway caused by a previous guest. There was a sign that explained what happened, and they were waiting on insurance to repair it. Okay, we understand. We entered the lobby to check in, and it had so much charm and warmth. Checking in was a breeze. The front desk agent reserved our breakfast spot for the next morning and handed us our key. The elevator was very old and could use a facelift - perhaps new paint and flooring to brighten it up. We got to our room, and it was nicely furnished and decorated. However, the floor of our room was slanted pretty badly, so when you go to sit on the toilet, it’s slanted as well. There were cobwebs on the ceiling throughout the room, leak damage, and black spots that looked like mold. My husband started to apologize to me, but I didn’t want to sour the mood, so I told him I didn’t notice those things and said I was having a wonderful time. During the evening, they had a pianist playing, which we really enjoyed, and there was plenty of seating available. I saw a few patrons visit their restaurant bar and purchase glasses of wine to enjoy the music and atmosphere. We had a little too much to drink already, so I couldn’t tell you about that experience. The next morning, my husband told me we were skipping breakfast, and he was going to take me somewhere nice, so we didn’t get to experience their breakfast service. From looking at it, though, I saw that people were given a menu, and it was made to order. This Inn has so much potential, but it isn’t managed well. The parking lot was full, so they are getting business. I wish they would invest in it more instead of just relying on their history but not properly caring for the property. We would never stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
carol wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Whenever we're near Blowing Rock, we enjoy returning to the Green Park Inn. Rocking chairs welcome us (along with seasonal musicians) to the white veranda & century old front door. Do not expect lavish, expensive accommodations as this is historic inn requires constant touch ups. DO expect comfortable beds, hearty breakfasts, fantastic bartenders, & friendly service for all your needs. Don't miss gathering around the grand piano as Charlie Ellis provides professional, nostalgic entertainment on the weekends.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DWA wrote a review Oct 2023
Newnan, Georgia3 contributions1 helpful vote
The Lady has lost it's heart. Please, please sell her to someone that can put her back to her grand stature. Every part of the hotel has been ruined from the rooms, to the dining room to the grounds. Stay at the motel down the road. This is now no better than an old, rundown roadside motel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Majmacc wrote a review Oct 2023
Longs, South Carolina138 contributions66 helpful votes
The public areas are interesting and show the histoy of this 140 year old inn. The bed rooms are another story. Furniture is worn out and uncomfortable. Windows are sealed with duct tape (I assume to keep out drafts). In our first room (210) the toilet broke and floded the rooom. We were moved to 219 in the middle of the night. This room was as tired and poorly maintained as 210. The included breakfast ( 5 choices) was served cool and became cold within a minute or two. The lighting throughout was depressingly dim. Closing the bar at 9 p.m. is ridiculous for a tourist resort town. Green Park may have been great in the 1880s, but now it is a tired dump with no redeeming features.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs. There are plenty of other options in Blowing Rock.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kathy D wrote a review Oct 2023
Lexington, Kentucky1 contribution
The room was cold and the heat was not turned on. The shower also had minimal hot water. The free breakfast was ok and the only offerings were scrambled eggs and pancakes. The staff at the desk acted put out to help you. The staff for breakfast were very pleasant. I felt bad that we could not tip because the front desk did not have change for a 20 dollar bill. Location was out of town.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Starbuck211 wrote a review Oct 2023
Saint Charles, Illinois1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were in for a weekend wedding. Our experience was horrible. We were all in from out of town so wanted to visit with each other in the evening. The bar closed at 9:00 so we could not sit in there, we opted for the porch on night one. That night we were asked to go to our rooms around 10:00. Night two (after the wedding) around 10:00, we were asked again to go to our rooms. I felt like we had a curfew and were being treated like children. The hotel was not hospitable at all. The front desk and owner were extremely rude. The waitress and restaurant employees were wonderful. My friend that was getting married was told we could congregate on the front porch, but the front desk wanted us in bed at 10pm. They were also told (because we were a big group) that they would keep the bar open for us to congregate and catch up and talk. Both promises were never followed through. The room was gross, the carpet was stained and air conditioner had black mold. When I made the front desk aware I was met with an “oh jeez”. For the amount of money we paid for this hotel ($225/night) we were extremely disappointed! There are many hotels in the area so I really suggest you look around before booking this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: This hotel does not clean your room daily.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Blowing Rock area.
PRICE RANGE
$126 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the green park hotel blowing rock, green park inn, park inn green
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBlowing Rock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GREEN PARK INN - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Blowing Rock, NC)

Frequently Asked Questions about Green Park Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Green Park Inn?
Nearby attractions include Bass Lake (1.8 miles), Doc's Rocks Gem Mine (3.2 miles), and Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (2.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Green Park Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Green Park Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Green Park Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Green Park Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge, Kilwin's, and Gamekeeper Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Green Park Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Green Park Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Green Park Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (2.8 miles) and Flat Top Manor (2.8 miles).
Is Green Park Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.