We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
9239 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6338
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (252)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (16)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Green Park Inn
Updated 08/25/20

About

#5 of 17 hotels in Blowing Rock
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
The graceful Victorian era hotel, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, has been lovingly and faithfully restored as of the fall of 2010. Turn back the clock to a more genteel time when exquisite attention to guest's needs, a polite, respectful and helpful staff, and an atmosphere of quiet elegance was the magnet that drew authors, poets, presidents and first ladies to the cool mountain breezes of the Green Park Inn. Come and experience our affordable elegance. When you want to spend time away, spend it somewhere that's timeless. The Chestnut Grille Restaurant is open nightly, or weekends seasonally. The Divide Tavern opens nightly at 5pm, serving casual dinner fare.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Couples massage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Meeting rooms
Massage
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range
675Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 329
  • 201
  • 85
  • 44
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Suzi P wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I love unique places, without pretentious airs. We stayed three nights here and enjoyed the vibe of a grand hotel from yesteryear. We drank in the history of the place. It is just a stone's throw from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and beautiful downtown Blowing Rock... so lots to do. They include a fresh cooked breakfast every morning. The owner is very personable. We enjoyed the massive front porch.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
YaleDad wrote a review Jul 2022
New York City751 contributions557 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Just saw some negative reviews: are you talking about the same property? I had a fabulous time staying here. Kerry handled our front desk needs, the wait staff were so pleasant and attentive, and Hunter our bartender was nothing but smiles and accommodations. Loved the room; the bath was well appointed. Both a ceiling fan and HVAC. Was very quiet even with big events going on- I enjoyed the historic venue and its little quirk- they are endearing, beautiful, and storytelling. If you want a Holiday Inn Express, this ain't it- it's a thousand times better. In a post-covid world, this place is amazing. Can't believe people's biggest concern is that "Christmas (strung lights) are up and no elevator. It's only a. couple of floors. I'll be back, with friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jeff K wrote a review Jul 2022
Winston Salem, North Carolina342 contributions183 helpful votes
Excellent location and staff. Holly at the front desk was very helpful during our stay. Full breakfast included was a bit slow but they were short staffed. Rooms very clean. Overall a good place to stay. Creaking floors and a bit of an old hotel feel are not for everyone but we enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Susan T wrote a review Jul 2022
Reidsville, North Carolina, United States66 contributions62 helpful votes
We throughly enjoyed our stay at The Green Park Inn. The old hotel is beautiful. We ended up having all our dinners there and the food was wonderful! The divide bar was a great place to hang out and get a drink before enjoying the piano player in the lobby. Eric was excellent at helping us at the bar and dinner. All the employees were friendly and respectful. This was a good choice for our 30th anniversary! We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christian L wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I called about getting a room 318 in particular suppose to be the haunted room I got rudely hung up on and called back twice more no answer that is the worst service I have ever seen in a hotel and I didn’t even get to make a reservation it was a night male worker
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jon P wrote a review Jun 2022
Fort Thomas, Kentucky2 contributions1 helpful vote
I recently stayed at this historical and romantic hotel, with my Long Reach Ling Riders organization. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. It has an old charm to it. One night there’s musicians playing Sinatra classics and the next night, there will a small combo playing modern covers.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
traveler1110_10 wrote a review Jun 2022
New Orleans, Louisiana21 contributions6 helpful votes
nice staff; outstanding weekday restaurant breakfast included. Property needs some love - paint, chirstmas lights half burned out; front doors dirty. Room dark with old wallpaper; stained carpet; towels thin ,scratchy. Long curtains cover window a/c, so you have to choose to close with no air or air with open curtains! no room service so have to get clean towels, etc. yourself. no pool so parents beware. thankfully they called to say elevator was out and accommodated a first floor need. Could be a real charmer - fixer upper for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Brad B wrote a review May 2022
Lake Los Angeles, California8 contributions16 helpful votes
Very bad hotel. Let’s be honest here. No staff no elevator no American Flag on the flag pole for Memorial Day. No elevator for disabled veterans like myself. The staff was rude no room service poor and rude service to everyone. I want my money back. There was daily service for towels or anything. I urge people to read this and other reviews. Do not waste your time or your money
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Normally, we fly the flag proudly, year-round, and only take it down to replace it. Unfortunately, our flagpole was broken on Memorial Day and is being repaired. We do regret not being able to fly the flag on such an important day, as many of our own family members were veterans and it’s an important day to remember those that were lost fighting for our freedoms. We contacted you in advance of your stay to tell you that the elevator was out of service, so that you would have the opportunity to either ask for first floor accommodation or change your reservation to another hotel if you wished to. You told us that you were fine with being on the second floor and agreed to keep your reservation. We tell all guests that housekeeping services are currently by request and we brought you towels and other items when requested. We offered to go ahead and arrange for housekeeping services for the remainder of your stay, and we’ll just say you rudely declined. We also offered to allow you to cancel the rest of your stay with no cancellation penalties since you were so upset, and you said you wanted to stay. We apologize that you didn’t enjoy your stay, but our staff did make every effort to offer services to make sure you were comfortable.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy K wrote a review May 2022
9 contributions3 helpful votes
We booked this hotel for the last two nights of a touring holiday in May. We wanted somewhere special to round off our trip, and this looked really inviting from what we could see on the internet. On arrival, however, we found that there were a number of signs around asking guests to be kind because the hotel was suffering from staff shortages. Possibly as a result of these shortages, the restaurant was closed, the lift was out of order and we had to book specific times for dinner in the bar and for breakfast each day. None of this had been made clear to us in advance of our arrival. We pretty quickly realised that maintenance and cleaning were also a problem - for example, the front door was smeared and sticky, the carpet on the stairs hadn't been vacuumed recently, the shower curtain was mildewed, some shower tiles were cracked and the radio-alarm didn't work. The facilities in the room were limited – for example, while there was plenty of room to fit both a fridge and a safe in the room, neither had been provided. There appeared to be some pretty small-minded thinking going on in other ways - for example, while we had pre-paid for breakfast the breakfast menu then advised us that fruit juice would be an extra $1.75 each, and that if we wanted milk, we were limited to 1 glass (this being underlined for emphasis!). We feel that this is a beautiful building in a good location and with lots of potential. The few staff visible all seemed to be doing their best, and were invariable polite and pleasant. At present, however, it is a seriously over-priced hotel that appears to be very tired and in need of both a major overhaul and an injection of hospitality. While we understand that staff shortages can be a problem, none of the other 14 hotels we stayed in on our trip had provided a lower level of service than usual nor had they felt the need to ask us to be “kind”. The whole experience of staying here was a depressing end to our holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Check that the lift and restaurant are open before booking!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Thank you for reviewing. We appreciate your compliments of our staff and appreciation for this beautiful historic hotel. We did take a look at your room after seeing this review to check on the items mentioned, and we did see the couple of spots at the bottom of the shower curtain and replaced that. We made sure to point this out to the new housekeeping to make sure they are checking the replacement curtains for spots before hanging them up. We checked the alarm clock, which needed to be plugged in, and we did see some scratches across some of the tiles in the bathroom, which don’t appear to be significant, but we will look into that further to make any necessary repairs. Housekeeping did vacuum the stairs and address the public areas on the day of your arrival, though it is likely that it was after check-in time as we had them focused on getting rooms for our arrival guests cleaned first. We do apologize for any oversights, and do appreciate your feedback so we can continue to work with our staff to make improvements to our facilities and services. We encourage all guests to make reservations directly through us so that we can make sure guests have the most updated information about the hotel and facilities. Your reservation was made through an online travel agent, which did not share contact information with us, so we did our best to inform you about the hotel by sending you a confirmation email through the messaging center of the online travel agent, which detailed information about breakfast, amenities, and other details about your stay. We don’t have refrigerators in the rooms but did provide you with a portable mini-fridge at no additional cost upon your request. We also offer to store refrigerated items for any guests, if needed. We offer full breakfast meals. (For example, one meal includes eggs, bacon or sausage, grits or hash browns, biscuit or toast, and one beverage) We do not offer a completely unlimited breakfast service. As would be the case at any restaurant, you receive what is included in your chosen meal and you have the option to purchase additional items. If you want more than 1 beverage, there is a price to add a second beverage. This information is included in our confirmation e-mails. We’re not sure what service you felt was lacking during your stay. We had a homecooked breakfast available every morning, and while housekeeping isn’t regularly servicing rooms, we are still servicing the rooms upon request and providing any additional amenities needed 24/7 at the front desk. We had 1 dining facility closed during your stay but had another one open every evening. We also had complimentary, live musical entertainment both nights. However, we will take your feedback into consideration.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan F wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel is short staffed so there are no housekeeping services and no restaurants. In addition, the elevator is out of order. The people who do work there are very nice and are doing their best. For the current amenities and level of service, the room rate is too high, however.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded Jun 21, 2022
We appreciate your review, but must correct some misinformation. We do offer housekeeping services, but they are by request, as opposed to housekeeping stopping by every room to check if service is desired. We also do have a restaurant open 7 nights per week, with a small dining menu and a full bar drink menu. We are working toward a larger dining menu in the already available restaurant and reopening the second restaurant as soon as we are able to do so. Thank you for your compliments to our staff!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$145 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the green park hotel blowing rock, green park inn, park inn green
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBlowing Rock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Green Park Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Green Park Inn?
Nearby attractions include Bass Lake (1.8 miles), Doc's Rocks Gem Mine (3.2 miles), and Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (2.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Green Park Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Green Park Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Green Park Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Green Park Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge, Sunny Rock Eggs and Things, and Kilwin's.
Are pets allowed at Green Park Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Green Park Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Green Park Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (2.8 miles) and Flat Top Manor (2.8 miles).
Is Green Park Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.