We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
185 Chetola Lake Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6037
E-mail hotel
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
$189
View deal
Tripadvisor$189
Etrip$189
Hurb$189
Traveluro
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (478)
360
Panoramas (26)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Chetola Resort
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 17 in Blowing Rock
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
Explore Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, an 87-acre resort within walking distance of a quaint mountain village, neighboring a 3,600-acre National Park and surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina. Enjoy first-class accommodations in Chetola's Lodge, luxury Condominiums or the Bob Timberlake Inn at Chetola Resort, as well as fine dining at Timberlake's Restaurant. Discover The Spa at Chetola Resort, our Health and Wellness programs, Chetola Sporting Reserve, our Orvis Endorsed Fly Fishing, and the many opportunities for recreation at Chetola Lake and along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Chetola also offers exceptional meeting and conference facilities and is a favorite destination for weddings and events.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Archery
Boating
Children's playground
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Skiing
Tennis court
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1023Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 585
  • 255
  • 112
  • 50
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
WOTUS wrote a review Apr 2022
Salisbury, North Carolina258 contributions67 helpful votes
Why haven't we stayed here before? Mostly because we couldn't get a room on the nights we tried. Last weekend we did manage to get a room, two actually, and the experience was just as we had hoped. We were in town for a special event at Appalachian State University. We booked two nights at the Chetola. The reservation clerk said we would have to change rooms for the second night, from a queen to a double. The move couldn't have been easier. We just moved from room 304 to room 306 right next door, and there was no gap of time that we didn't have a room. The rooms were great, the view wonderful, and the restaurant is highly recommended. Staff members that we encountered were friendly. We can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tristan Thomas, Owner at Chetola Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
David, Thank you so much for your wonderful 5-star review! We are so happy to hear you had a great stay and that you were finally able to have the opportunity to stay with us at Chetola Resort! We are so glad that your room transition went smooth, the views were enjoyed, you enjoyed our staff, and that you had a delicious meal. We hope to welcome back again soon! Kind regards, Tristan Thomas Social Media Manager & Creative Designer
Read more
Tgoduse wrote a review Apr 2022
Raleigh, North Carolina5 contributions16 helpful votes
Stayed with our grandchildren ages 6 and 9, room very clean and updated, beds comfy, had breakfast and dinner at Timberlake restaurant and had excellent service and great meals. Beautiful surroundings- enjoyed a walk around the lake.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tristan Thomas, Owner at Chetola Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Tgoduse, Thank you so much for your great 5-star review and your kind words! We are so happy to hear you and your grandchildren had such a wonderful experience visiting the resort! We hope you all will join us again so that you can enjoy even more of the wonderful amenities that Chetola has to offer. We can't wait to welcome you back again sometime! Kind regards, Tristan Thomas Social Media Manager & Creative Designer
Read more
Redbubbles1 wrote a review Apr 2022
Wilmington, North Carolina96 contributions10 helpful votes
On the bright side, Upon entering the property, it’s very nice decorated and inviting. The lake is surrounded by lights and outdoor fire pits being used by patrons. The Timberlake restaurant is by reservation only and pub is first come first serve. The kitchen closes at 9pm so orders have to be in by 8:30pm. There are outdoor activities available such as walking trails, picnic tables, frisbee golf, fishing in the pond. Aerobic classes are available to those who want it and fitness room. There are many banquet rooms and wedding event tent available for use. On the other hand, It’s an older resort so much of the decor is older, outdated, and or rustic. Without having made reservations a month ahead-the spa was not available. The hot tub was dirty, pool water was freezing and heater was broken. The cost of items on property were pricey however there are nearby markets. It was ok but not sure we would return unless updates were done.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: There is plenty of parking. Elevators are available if you are in wheelchair. Microwave and mini...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tristan Thomas, Owner at Chetola Resort
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Redbubbles1111, Thank you for your review and feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the lake along with our lakeside firepit, Timberlake's Restaurant, our fitness classes, and the outdoor activities we have available for guests to enjoy. However, we sincerely apologize that you found the decor of the resort to be outdated, our lodge was just recently updated and the Bob Timberlake Inn and Restaurant are meant to hold the historical looks from when they were first designed. The Bob Timberlake Inn is receiving some upgrades this year. We always recommend reservations ahead of time for activities like our spa, restaurant, fly fishing trips, and trips to the Chetola Sporting Reserve as they are open to the public and fill up very quickly. Our pool heater has been out for a while - we are trying the best we can to get in the part we need but due to supply chain shortages we have had trouble. We again sincerely apologize that your visit did not exceed your expectations but hope we can invite you back again in the future so that we can show you an exceptional stay at Chetola Resort! Kind regards, Tristan Thomas Social Media Manager & Creative Designer
Read more
jmints15 wrote a review Apr 2022
Farmington2 contributions4 helpful votes
My husband and I decided to take our two children ages six and eight here for a weekend at the last minute. It did not disappoint. The grounds are beautiful and clean. Timberlakes restaurant was delicious and the service was great. Overall this resort provides a great atmosphere and is very close to downtown Blowing Rock. This made for some great shopping and had an awesome park to kill some time with the kids. Would definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Restaurants offsite fill up quickly. Try and get reservations in advance.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tristan Thomas, Owner at Chetola Resort
Responded Apr 18, 2022
jmints15, Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Chetola Resort with your kiddos and that you were able to enjoy the restaurant, grounds, shopping, and outside time! We hope you'll come back again soon and enjoy even more of the wonderful amenities and family activities on the property soon! Kind regards, Tristan Thomas Social Media Manager & Creative Designer
Read more
Kristin R wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We had a team-building weekend trip to Chetola and it did not disappoint! The Resort was beautiful. We had dinner at Timberlake’s. The food had great quality and taste. The next day we checked out the Sporting Reserve and did clay shooting. As a team, we had so much fun and it was a excellent bonding experience. All the staff made us feel welcome. Everything was top notch. Highly recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tristan Thomas, Owner at Chetola Resort
Responded Apr 11, 2022
C6039VOkristinr, Thank you so much for your delightful 5-star review! We are so happy to hear that you and your team had a wonderful trip to Chetola Resort, Timberlake's Restaurant, and the Chetola Sporting Reserve and that you enjoyed all your interactions with our team and the activities! We hope you'll come visit us again soon! Kind regards, Tristan Thomas Social Media Manager & Creative Designer
Read more
dskme wrote a review Mar 2022
Mooresville, North Carolina3 contributions
We really enjoyed our first time staying at Chetola Resort for a quick getaway. We ate at the Timberlake restaurant, our waitress was great and the food was delicious. We booked the hotel for the sole purpose of the heated indoor pool and kids being able to swim in the Winter which was part of their Christmas gift instead of going to Great Wolf Lodge like we typically do for the Christmas gift, unfortunately we were there while the heater for the pool was not working. We did get a call to confirm our reservations a couple days before check in but we were not made aware of this during that call and did find out that they were aware of pool issue when they called. We were also checked in the same day the elevator was not working which is ok, we understand things happen that are out of your control but one of the ladies at the check in counter (not the one who checked us in) made it a point to abruptly tell us that the elevator wasn’t working and that we were going to have to carry our luggage to third floor. Which was obvious if the elevator wasn’t working but her tone of voice threw me off, I couldn’t figure out why she was speaking to us in an aggressive, aggravated tone. Also, the bath water was yellow and I thought maybe it was just the color of the bathtub but when we went to fill the coffee pot up with water from the sink it was very cloudy and pretty much white. Thankfully we had some bottled water. I included the pictures of the water in this email. We would probably stay here again because it is a beautiful area and so close to downtown blowing rock but I would have appreciated some type of email back after letting them know our issues.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tristan Thomas, Owner at Chetola Resort
Responded Mar 9, 2022
329181728, Thank you for your review and your feedback. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit to Chetola Resort and to Timberlake's Restaurant. We sincerely apologize that you were not made aware of the pool issues before your stay. We have been waiting for a part for a while now and unfortunately, it has not yet come in. We have information regarding this closure on our website but we will pass your feedback along to our front desk team. We also sincerely apologize for the attitude you received from our front desk staff and the color of the bathwater. We attempted to respond to your email but realized yesterday that we had some technical difficulties on our end and have responded again. We would love to have you back again and ensure a wonderful stay for you and your family. Kind regards, Chetola Guest Services Team
Read more
Giddygetty wrote a review Feb 2022
Piney Flats, Tennessee36 contributions7 helpful votes
We've been visiting the Chetola since 1993 with many work-related retreats and a few personal ones. I still love this location in Blowing Rock and for the most part, the Chetola has managed to remain a top destination in this area. The grounds remain well-kept but honestly, things are looking a bit dated. Reservation staff was helpful and kind. The condo I booked was clean and acceptable, nice fireplace and roomy overall, very quiet, but needs updating from a design perspective as was very 1990's in its finishings. Check-in staff were friendly and competent though understandably, communication was difficult through the clear plastic COVID screens. Dinner at the resort was good, my wife loved the elk she had ordered, really exceptional. My steak was so-so, perhaps a touch over-cooked, not a lot of flavor. Dessert was the strawberry chiffon cake, we enjoyed it very much. Highlight was our server Riley who was attentive, focused, and committed to us having a great experience. Our table was close to the area where the night's entertainment was occurring so we definitely did not have a cozy, quiet and romantic dinner as the singer played his guitar and sang very popular country songs! I would have preferred a quieter meal but understand that those at the bar certainly enjoyed their experience! Chetola is solid place to stay, the value is fair and the location is excellent. May be time for a very fresh upgrade to the property for its continued successful future. We will return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tristan Thomas, Owner at Chetola Resort
Responded Feb 23, 2022
Giddygetty, Thank you for your review and your feedback. Thank you for your continued patronage of Chetola Resort over the years - we love having you come stay with us. Our condos are privately owned and each decorated to the tastes and likings of the specific owner, however, we will pass on your feedback. We are so happy to hear your wife's elk was exceptional, but apologize that your meal did not exceed your expectations. Our staff always try to ensure a wonderful experience for our guests and we will make sure the kind words get passed on to Riley. We again appreciate your feedback and will pass it on to our team. We can't wait to see you again in the future and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit! Kind regards, Tristan Thomas Social Media Manager & Creative Designer
Read more
James H wrote a review Feb 2022
Davidson, North Carolina254 contributions62 helpful votes
We love this place because of the ambiance it presents. The Divide Tavern is beautiful! and all of the 'public' areas are very well maintained and in great condition. However, our bathroom was far from GREAT! The caulking looks like it was applied by a three year old (many years ago) and the ceiling vent has cobwebs that look like they've been there for years! Hot water takes minutes to arrive but nice when it does.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tristan Thomas, Owner at Chetola Resort
Responded Feb 16, 2022
James, The Divide Tavern is not part of the Chetola Resort property. Our only onsite restaurant is Timberlake's Restaurant. We think you have mistaken us for another Blowing Rock property. However, we would love for you to come stay at Chetola Resort on your next visit to Blowing Rock! Kind regards, Tristan Thomas Social Media Manager & Creative Designer
Read more
Joe V wrote a review Feb 2022
Jefferson, North Carolina4 contributions
We booked Chetola for Winterfest 2022. Unfortunately they canceled the polar bear plunge there because of extreme cold but no mention made of lowering the bill. Also the pool heater was broken all weekend. Just seems to be a little more average than they used to be. Still a nice place but not worth what they are charging.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Tristan Thomas, Owner at Chetola Resort
Responded Feb 7, 2022
joevoshell, We sincerely apologize that your stay did not exceed your expectations. Due to concerns over COVID-19 safety and the extreme weather that was forecasted for the Saturday of Polar Plunge including a -8 degree wind chill, we made the decision to cancel Polar Bear Plunge. The safety of our staff, volunteers, guests, community members, and visitors is our top priority. Despite the Polar Bear Plunge being canceled there were still 20+ other activities going on around Blowing Rock for visitors and guests to enjoy during Winterfest Weekend. We are currently waiting on a part to fix our pool heater. Due to supply chain shortages, we have been unable to get a replacement and we apologize for the disappointment, however, we hope you were still able to enjoy our hot tub or sauna. We again sincerely apologize that your stay did not exceed expectations as it has in the past. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to once again exceed your expectations. Kind regards, Tristan Thomas Social Media Manager & Creative Designer
Read more
Karen D wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Chetola lodge delivered a a picturesque setting straight from a Hallmark scene. Twinkling lights, roaring fireplaces, comfy beds, artistic meals. The ambience welcomes you entering Timberlakes restaurant. Wooden floors, overstuffed relaxing chairs, crackling fireplace, festive drinks, historic nostalgic photos scatter the walls. The meals are farm to table artistic displays of elk and mountain trout. Service staff were masked, friendly and accommodating, walking us through the remote controls and fireplace settings in the room on a busy Friday Winterfest weekend. Staying in the inn, there’s a separate entrance with a stocked mini fridge water ,soda ,unlimited mini Ben and Jerry ice cream. The falling flurries outside only added to the cozy interior. Who needs Vail when CHETOLA is only a driving distance away?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tristan Thomas, Owner at Chetola Resort
Responded Feb 4, 2022
Karen, Thank you so much for your wonderful 5-star review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Chetola Resort and found it to be like something out of a Hallmark movie. We're delighted you also had a great overall experience in Timberlake's Restaurant and the Bob Timberlake Inn (and all of its wonderful amenities). We hope you'll come enjoy our little slice of heaven with us again soon! Kind regards, Tristan Thomas Social Media Manager & Creative Designer
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$199 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chetola mountain hotel blowing rock, chetola resort, chetola mountain blowing rock, blowing chetola nc resort rock
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBlowing Rock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chetola Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Chetola Resort?
Nearby attractions include Bass Lake (0.2 miles), Blowing Rock Art and History Museum (0.7 miles), and Kilwins Chocolate Kitchen (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chetola Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chetola Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Chetola Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chetola Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chetola Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Camp Coffee Roasters, Kilwin's, and Village Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chetola Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and yoga classes during their stay.
Is Chetola Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Blowing Rock.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chetola Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Chetola Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Chetola Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (1.2 miles) and Flat Top Manor (1.3 miles).