We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

414 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 406: English reviews
Lacey, Washington
Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

First time at a Holiday Inn Express and found it to be the typical large chain hotel. This particular visit was right after the Memorial Day weekend, so it was very quiet. The hotel is built on a hill, so the ground floor is above the first floor...kind of odd. The breakfast has hot and cold items, the bedding is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDan M
hiexpressbr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

AnnaDan M, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I am happy to hear that you found our location convenient to the Blue Ridge Parkway activities you had planned during your visit to Blowing Rock. I am also happy to hear that you found the bedding to...

Orrum, NC
Reviewed May 26, 2015

The overall room was clean and quite nice. The staff was courteous and willing to aid with advice about local restaurants and sights to see. Avoid the local Italian restaurant as the food was awful. The pool was small and not always suitable because of the lack of resources. Towels were not always available and waiting for staff to bring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
hiexpressbr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Marie W, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay! I am happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and quite nice. I am also happy to hear that you found the staff to be courteous and willing to provide you with...

Reviewed May 25, 2015

Clean room and comfortable bed. Breakfast was included and had a nice selection of hot and cold items. We were just passing through the area but we were pleased with our stay here. Nothing fancy, but certainly lived up to what you would expect for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Sue B Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

North Augusta, South Carolina
Reviewed May 23, 2015

It was ok but dated. there is hwy construction just in front and it was easy to miss the turn into the parking lot. the staff were friendly and our room was clean. The bed was very comfortable unlike many we have stayed in. There seems to be a newer Holiday Inn Ex just over in Boon this is also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William B
hiexpressbr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

William B, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was merely okay rather than exemplary. I am very happy to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and the hotel to be clean. I am also happy to hear that you found our beds to...

Bristol
Reviewed May 9, 2015

My husband and I stayed for one night during a road trip across the Appalachian Mountains. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We were looking forward to a nice swim in the pool. Unfortunately there are no changing rooms, therefore you have to shower off in your room prior to swimming and then trudge back to your room dripping wet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CandidOne
hiexpressbr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

CandidOne, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that you found the staff to be very friendly and professional. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. I am sorry to hear that you were displeased with...

Port Saint John, Florida
Reviewed May 4, 2015

We were traveling from Florida up to Virginia and decided to make our stop for the evening at Blowing Rock. Holiday Inn had openings and so we booked us a room. The location of the hotel is in an excellent location and is very scenic. We were a little disappointed with the beds has they were really uncomfortable to sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikeyt89
hiexpressbr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

mikeyt89, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you were able to enjoy some of the close-by scenic opportunities. Blowing Rock is a beautiful area! I am happy to hear that you appreciated the location of our hotel and our proximity to...

Raleigh, United States
Reviewed May 3, 2015

I don't quite understand how anyone could rate this hotel with more than one star. I was in a room with a king bed. The paint was chipping off the ceiling, everywhere. There were stains on the furniture and bathroom door. There was mold in the shower. The room had an odd musty smell. The toilet seat lid does not...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jennifer K
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Jennifer K Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Please email me in a...

New Bern, North Carolina
Reviewed April 29, 2015 via mobile

When searching for a room in Boone I compared the Holiday Inn in Boone and the one in Blowing Rock. Blowing Rock was $84.00 cheaper per day for the same stay. I have stayed at the one in Boone too. The one in Blowing Rock is just as comfortable although not quite as new. There is some highway construction going...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R_Seagle
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

R_Seagle Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback from our guest. THe feedback we receive from the guest lets us know how we are doing. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

Second time here...very clean and rooms are outstanding. Beds and linens are very comfortable and staff is friendly and helpful, they remembered us from a visit a year ago. Hotel is near several restaurants and is easy to get to.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hondak47
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Hondak47 Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself once again. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope...

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

We were in town for a Odyssey of the Mind state competition. This hotel was clean and had an indoor pool. Unfortunately, breakfast did not start until 7:00 am on Saturday which was a little late for us this time since we had to be at competition by 7:30. That being my only complaint, I would highly recommend it for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LuvsCampingPeriod
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. I apologize that you were not informed that we opened the breakfast at 6am to accommodate the guest that were leaving...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blowing Rock
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
264 reviews
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The High Country's newest hotel! Our beautiful newly renovated rooms include two queen beds, one king bed, as well as deluxe rooms all with flat-screen HDTVs, microwaves and refrigerators. Stop by in the morning to enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot Breakfast. Available every day, the breakfast bar offers our world famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, gravy biscuits, Pancakes and more! We also have an indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center all available to our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Address: 8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Price Range: $79 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South Hotel Blowing Rock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Grimesland, North Carolina
9 months ago
Carol City, Florida, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a top floor much quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Z2415WJjamess, Nov 16, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid 350, 250 and the rooms on either side of them. Windows are blocked by front entrance over hang.”
 of 5 bubbles justmaryp, Nov 7, 2016 | Read review
“Call to ask for handicapped room instead of requesting online.”
 of 5 bubbles peggyk504, Oct 27, 2016 | Read review
“Since it was non-smoking hotel (there was an outdoor area) a room closer to the ground floor would be preferable.”
 of 5 bubbles roadqueen1340, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“first floor rooms are downstairs....thought that was interesting!”
 of 5 bubbles Authordixon, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question