We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 400: English reviews
north carolina
Reviewed August 13, 2015

Nice hotel and a clean, quiet, restful stay. Nice room and comfy bed and pillows. Good breakfast but get there early before the little kids and families get up! Front desk staff is GREAT! We'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zzz08
hiexpressbr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

zzz08, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I am happy to hear that you found us to be a nice hotel that is clean and quiet and that you were able to enjoy a restful stay. I am also happy to hear that you found...

Toledo, OH
Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

The rooms were as clean as an inexpensive hotel should be. Service was great. They had motorcycle specific parking out front of the main entrance. The facilities are a little dated, but who cares. All of the outlets, TV, etc. worked as they should.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joeljhelbig
hiexpressbr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

joeljhelbig, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I am happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and the service to be great. I am also happy to hear that you found us to be a good value. I am pleased to...

Virginia
Reviewed August 7, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights here. Room was clean, bathroom was smaller than some other HIE's I have been too. Had to request a blanket for the end of the bed; I was told they are not normally provided because guests are stealing them?! One problem was that all 5 of the rear parking lot lights were out, after 9 pm....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DRC847
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

DRC847 Thanks you the review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I apologize that the parking lot lights are not working. We are trying to figure out this issue. The electricians told us that there has been a lighting strike and they are trying to figure out where the...

Statesville, NC
Reviewed August 5, 2015

Smoke-free hotel......spacious rooms.......great free breakfast......good rate for a resort. Wifi was very slow and a/c unit was noisy. Entrance will be easier with completion of US 321 highway. Will stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reldnil4
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

reidnil4 Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree once the road construction is done it will be nicer and easier to enter and exit our property. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.

Danville, Virginia
Reviewed August 4, 2015

We stayed here the on July 18th. Our room was on the first floor and it was damp. At first we thought the sheets just hadn't been fully dried - and then we realized everything was damp - the floors, the walls, the furniture, etc. Even the checkout envelope got so wet from being on the floor that it sealed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Kelly W. Thank you for the review of our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I apologize for any issues you experienced during your stay. It is our goal to make sure that all our guest have any enjoyable stay with us. If you didn't like the location of the room in...

Waynesboro, Va.
Reviewed August 2, 2015

We stayed here recently and while our expectations were reasonable, we've stayed here before, there were some very annoying issues. The hotel is located just off a highway that has been undergoing construction for what seems like forever. This is not their fault, of course, but what is their fault is the total lack of signage to help visitors negotiate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bermudaman
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Bermundaman Thank you for the review of our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience that the road construction caused you during your stay. I am not allowed to put up any signage per the DOT until the project is complete. We would love to have signage to direct the guest to our location. The back parking lot lights are out...

Reviewed July 29, 2015

Visited Blowing Rock NC and stayed a night at this hotel. Rooms were nice and clean and the staff was very friendly had a nice time The breakfast served was good the only downside was construction going on on highway caused some traffic problems.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James S
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

James Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am please to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The road construction is a pain at times and I apologize for any inconvenience that this caused you during your stay. Once the road is finished it will be safer and nice for all the guest traveling to this area....

Gainesville
Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile

Hotel is convenient in blowing rock, Went with family and kids, 1st floor seems worn out and muskier than rest of hotel, request higher up. Carpet in room was pretty used up, was afraid to let kids sit or play on floor. Not many hotels to choose from unfortunately.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophos75
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Sophos75 Thank you for the review of our hotel. I sorry you did not enjoy you stay with us. Thanks for the feedback. We will use you comments to make the necessary changes so that all the guest can have an enjoyable stay. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.

Denver, North Carolina
Reviewed July 28, 2015 via mobile

I wish I would have stayed in a nicer hotel in downtown blowing rock. I didn't because their websites didn't look all that great, but they were beautiful when we were there! The hotel was not what I'd expected based on other holiday inn stays. It was dated. Hot breakfast is great and the indoor pool was nice. It seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doublec27
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

doublec27 Thank you for the review of our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you had notified us that the smoke was bothering you I would have asked the people to move to another location why they were smoking. We appreciate the feedback and we will use it to make the...

New Bern, North Carolina
Reviewed July 24, 2015

Stayed here two nights with grandson on a hiking trip. The hotel is dated, beds are a little worn, the exercise equipment is all broken, and the decor is shabby, not chic. But, it's clean, convenient, and relatively inexpensive. Hot breakfast is a plus. Weekday traffic is a nightmare (construction), but we got where we needed to go by being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
hiexpressbr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Diane H, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay. I am happy to hear that you found us to be clean, convenient, quiet, and a good value. I am also glad to hear that you appreciated the complimentary breakfast. I am very sorry to hear that...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.7 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Blowing Rock
324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
560 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#4 of 16 in Blowing Rock
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#11 of 16 in Blowing Rock
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The High Country's newest hotel! Our beautiful newly renovated rooms include two queen beds, one king bed, as well as deluxe rooms all with flat-screen HDTVs, microwaves and refrigerators. Stop by in the morning to enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot Breakfast. Available every day, the breakfast bar offers our world famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, gravy biscuits, Pancakes and more! We also have an indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center all available to our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Address: 8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Price Range: $78 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South Hotel Blowing Rock
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Blowing Rock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Grimesland, North Carolina
5 months ago
Carol City, Florida, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a top floor much quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Z2415WJjamess, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Avoid 350, 250 and the rooms on either side of them. Windows are blocked by front entrance over hang.”
 of 5 bubbles justmaryp, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Call to ask for handicapped room instead of requesting online.”
 of 5 bubbles peggyk504, Oct 27, 2016 | Read review
“Since it was non-smoking hotel (there was an outdoor area) a room closer to the ground floor would be preferable.”
 of 5 bubbles roadqueen1340, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“first floor rooms are downstairs....thought that was interesting!”
 of 5 bubbles Authordixon, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay