We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Hotel website
Hotel deals
8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9052
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 363: English reviews
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My first time at a HIE, not many amenities, very small lobby area (we could not use at all because it was always full). The rooms were just ok nothing special. I would possibly stay again if I were in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Thistish
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Thistish Thank you for the review of our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience that the road construction may have caused during your stay. It is almost completed and it will be nice for everyone once it is finished. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy the lobby because the other guest was using the... More 

Weare, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I am a Holiday Inn member & would not stay here again, the road down into the hotel is awful for getting in and out on a motorcycle with construction going on & not sure what it would be like without it, air conditioner was loud and layout of hotel is different for sure. the staff is welcoming, breakfast area... More 

Helpful?
Thank ladtvtxrider
ByronBurrell, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Ladtvtxrider, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I understand the road construction can be inconvenient at times. The good news about the road construction is the completion date is nearing. I agree that the facility has a different layout than other hotels, and I believe this is one thing that makes us unique. I... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
262 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

In my opinion, Holiday Inn Express should remove their good name from this place. The motel is located on a hillside, lobby is 1/2 floor above the 1st floor, and 1/2 floor below the 2nd floor of the motel. It does not look like a usual HIE, rather, it looks like at least a 25+ year old generic motel. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigTXN
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

BigTXN Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions and the lobby air conditioner not being operational. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

Antiquated cooling system kicked on and off so loudly all nite long! Staff friendly . Very clean. Nice breakfast! AC not working in lobby. Needs some cosmetic updating!! A bit overpriced for level of niceties! Am sure highway construction was a problem for the Friends and parking lot appearance.

Helpful?
Thank Diane S
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Diane S Thank you for the review of our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and will use your comments to make the changes necessary to better accommodate our guest. Our goal is to make sure all of the guest have an enjoyable stay with us. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again... More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Seeking an Overnight stop close to the Blueridge Parkway, so convenience of location was a major factor, allied to the fact that it had to have either a Bar & TV (it was The Masters Sunday) or one very close by, with decent Food & Beer. We booked this place that morning before we left Peaks of Otter Lodge. Turned... More 

Helpful?
Thank Safariholic
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Safariholic Thank you for the review of our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience of the road construction. We know if is difficult to get around at times, however once the project is finished it will be nicer and safer for everyone using the road. I will speak to the front desk agent and address the issue that you experienced... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

The staff at the Holiday Inn express was great, always smiling, and making sure that we were doing ok and enjoying our stay. The folk that worked in the breakfast area were amazing, so very nice and sweet, and were really hopping both mornings that we were there. Just really nice

Helpful?
Thank Becky H
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Becky H Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also pleased to hear that you found the stay friendly and helpful. Thanks again again for stayine with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

we planned on spending Valentine's Day weekend in Blowing Rock . This was the best deal we found. Due to construction and poor weather, access was difficult, but that was not the issue. Even though the lobby, staff and rooms appeared clean and nice, an hour into our stay, we noticed a bed bug strolling across the bed!! Reported to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Krn19
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Km19 Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Anytime we get a report of bed bugs we inspect the room and Have the exterminator come and inspect the rooms and treat if necessary. The health department also comes and inspects to make sure we are... More 

Ellijay
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Stopped here in May 2016 on our way to Virginia. Clean, with friendly staff. Coffee and tea 24-7. Hot or cold breakfast was good. Pancake machine is nice. Would stop here again. Decor is simple and clean. Free WIFI. Restaurants close by and is located just off Blue Ridge Parkway.

Helpful?
Thank F9415COterryf
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

F9415COterryf Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also pleased to hear that you found the staff friendly and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

Hotel is on busy road under construction, detached from town proper. Hotel was clean, but walls to room were paper thin and I could hear everything in the next room. Breakfast was good. Staff was super helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart P
ByronBurrell, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Hello Stuart P, I would like to start off by saying thank you for your review of our facility. Guest comments are how we are able to see what areas we are doing well in and what areas we need to improve on. I apologize that the road construction was inconvenient for you. The expected completion time for the road... More 

Advance, North Carolina
Level Contributor
228 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

We spent the night in Blowing Rock after a shopping trip to Tanger Outlet. The room was clean and the continental breakfast was as expected. We had a pleasant stay but nothing outstanding to write about. One thing that bothered us was the male employee behind the counter who was checking in guests. He was very vocal with his opinion... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationermom
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Vacationermom Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize that a conversation being held at the front desk with another guest was demeaned inappropriate. As the manager I will retrain the employees at the front desk to make sure that they are careful about the discussions... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blowing Rock
0.8 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#11 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#10 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The High Country's newest hotel! Our beautiful newly renovated rooms include two queen beds, one king bed, as well as deluxe rooms all with flat-screen HDTVs, microwaves and refrigerators. Stop by in the morning to enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot Breakfast. Available every day, the breakfast bar offers our world famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, gravy biscuits, Pancakes and more! We also have an indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center all available to our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Address: 8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9052
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Price Range: $90 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South Hotel Blowing Rock
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Blowing Rock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay