We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rottnest Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rottnest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

778 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rottnest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 768: English reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely stay on Rottnest Island with my family ! Although the Lodge is old it has a lot of character and was very comfortable ! We had a deluxe room with shared balcony/ verandah which was great to relax & what the world pass by ! Only down side was the smokers ! Be nice if the island...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
Glen T, Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Emma, Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Karma Rottnest in the near future. Regards Management

Perth
Reviewed January 7, 2017

Rottnest is beautiful. Truly magic. Such a shame the accomodation is so under inspiring. We found the service in general to be poor most of the time and downright inhospitable the rest. I understand that the buildings are historical and that presents challenges. However, there is much they could do with the place. Each and every room needs an update....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Suna C
Glen T, Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Suna C, While we appreciate all guests feedback, this does need to be directed accordingly. Karma Rottnest are in no way responsible for the pricing of items at the bakery or the booking system for the Rottnest Island Authority units that you complained about in your review. Each of these that you mentioned have their own trip advisor pages...

sydney
Reviewed January 4, 2017

The Karma Resort has been renovated since it was the Rottnest Lodge and the rooms were very spacious and nicely furnished in more modern decor than the pictures I found online. Our room was a premium lakeside room which was a little more expensive and nicer and had an air conditioner but most other rooms (like the ones our children...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vmrayner
Glen T, Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi vmrayner, We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Karma Rottnest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards Management

Reviewed December 25, 2016 via mobile

So disappointed as we have stayed for 4 nights and have 2 rooms. One for the boys and one for the girls. Neither rooms have been vacuumed since we arrived and today is day 4! No one has topped up toilet rolls or soap,they only come in and empty the rubbish bin and even that only happens when you specifically...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kristy D
Glen T, Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kristy D, All of our rooms are serviced daily including replenishing all guest amenities in the rooms. If declining the services during your stay, this does not allow our housekeeping department to conduct the service on the room and would be worth checking with the rest of your party if they had declined the services during your recent stay....

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed December 19, 2016

First timer for Rotto. Everyone told me it was basic and it was and I was fine with that because it's an island. The Lodge was a great location to the Main Street with all the shops and restaurants. It was bike riding distances to a few of the beaches. Now the Lodge only has a lake view no beach...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ttuurreekk
Glen T, General Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi ttuuurreekk; Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Karma Rottnest and that you enjoyed the various entertainment that we had on offer during your stay . Looking forward to welcoming you back to Karma Rottnest on your next visit to the island Regards Glen

Perth, Australia
Reviewed December 11, 2016

The place is called Karma Rottnest but I guess it is still Rottnest Lodge in terms of facilities, amenities and structure, so if you stayed in a Karma resort just be aware that the place will have to undergo renovation as I wouldn't define the structure as a lauxury accomodation, even though it's nice and cozy. Check-in was very late....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank And_F_82
Glen T, Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi And_F_82, Check in time for ourselves is 2pm and this should be noted accordingly on all online travel agents including Expedia. There are strict noise policies here on Rottnest and these do apply to all guests staying on the island. Our duty manager is available 24hrs a day to assist with any noise complaints from the rooms as would...

Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

It's funny...I notice one of the 'terrible' reviews left has a response from the manager in Oct 16 stating that 'they should have booked a lake side room if they wanted nicer accommodation'. Well, we did - £346 for one night. The sheets and mattress cover were dirty, there were tiny teddies on the floor, hair and dust on the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kelly M
Glen T, Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kelly M, We would like to investigate the claims in your review. If you could please contact myself directly at fom@rottnestlodge.com.au to advise further details of your booking. Regards Management

Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile

We had a great time on Rottnest and staying at the Karma Lodge really helped make it relaxing and enjoyable. There was plenty of room for three of us plus our baby in the room we'd booked and it came with a good fridge and a balcony deck. The food at the restaurant was very good (the cheese plate was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Glen T, General Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Paul C ; Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us here at Karma Rottnest . Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to karma Rottnest. Regards Management

Reviewed December 3, 2016 via mobile

We love Rottnest and visit on a regular basis usually staying in Geordie Bay. This is the first time we have stayed at the lodge. The accommodation was as to be expected for Rottnest; simple but comfortable. But the noise from the governors bar at night kept our family awake until midnight on Friday and Saturday despite us paying a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clair M
Glen T, Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Clair M, The Gov's Sports bar offers a range of evening entertainment throughout the week for the enjoyment of our guests including quiz nights, DJ's, Stand up Comedy and Live music. These are always very popular with our guests who do appreciate that we offer the best entertainment here on Rottnest consistently throughout the year. Regards Management

Stoke on Trent, England
Reviewed November 27, 2016

I booked into the Rottnest Lodge for two nights in November. I was travelling alone and the main purpose of my visit was to get out and tour the island taking lots of photos, so I just needed somewhere comfortable to rest my head at night and shower. The room, a basic one, did just that. It was relatively large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blueaerodynamique
Glen T, Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi blueaerodynamique, We are please to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us at Karma Rottnest. We look forward to welcoming you back when next coming to explore the island and capture some more amazing images of the natural beauty of Rottnest Island. Regards Management

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (133)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottnest Island
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
177 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Rottnest Lodge

Address: Kitson Street, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cockburn > Rottnest Island
Price Range: $128 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rottnest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rottnest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rottnest Hotel Rottnest Island
Rottnest Island Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Rottnest Lodge staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rottnest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Delux rooms are spacious, Queen plus single bed”
 of 5 bubbles tigerbeer, Jan 28, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with lake views (and away from the streets as it was a little loud on the weekend with schoolies kids).”
 of 5 bubbles sanfrankate415, Jan 21, 2017 | Read review
“Room 61 Great Lake view, top floor and corner room. But it's near the pub so could be a bit noisey”
 of 5 bubbles Ttuurreekk , Dec 19, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms faces in a circular setting. Nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Kosing2015, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
“Lake side rooms are modern larger and the amenities are better so is the price but if you have to stay there i would recommend them.”
 of 5 bubbles 110John110, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question