We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Riverside Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Riverside Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 70: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a short 3 day break here. The cottage was great, clean, everything we wanted in the kitchen, lovely wood stove and a gas heater for the bedroom. We had the downstairs bedroom but upstairs beds for 5 people. The caretaker was really nice and helpful. We could walk to town and the Blackwood river. Lovely place and would recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne D
Perth, Australia
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For what we paid you'd expect something more then a run down shack. A little heater to heat 3 rooms was never going to work, no wood left for fire or even a lighter or something to light it with. You even needed to clean and put away dishes.... Not sure what you pay nearly $300 for? Very disappointing and... More 

Helpful?
Thank thedonz85

Travelers are raving about these Augusta hotels

Kalgoorlie, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

Quiet out of the way accommodation that was pleasant and comfortable. The cottage was dated but clean and well equipped. We had a groupon stay deal. I wouldn't have paid the full price of the accommodation, as I feel the cottages are too dated to be set at the prices they state on their website, but was pleased with our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Donaghys_6430
Riverside-Augusta, Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Donaghys_6430, We are happy that you had a pleasant stay. At Riverside, we have a range of cottages on offer, from 1 bed to 6 bed and whilst some are older than others, we always ensure they are thoroughly cleaned from top to bottom and that all the towels and linen are crispy clean. We have an onsite manger... More 

Merimbula, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a night at the last minute. The staff were very friendly but the cottage was old and decrepit. A door was missing off the bathroom cupboard and the floor in the bathroom was wet and slimy. At first we thought it had just been cleaned but it remained that way until we left the... More 

Helpful?
Thank travellingbennetts
Riverside-Augusta, Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Dear travellingbennetts, Thanks for staying at Riverside Cottages Augusta. We're glad you had a pleasant stay in our 1 bedroom 'couple's cottage' overlooking the Blackwood River. Thank you for your comments. We greatly appreciate any guest feedback. Since your stay, we have employed a new, more thorough cleaner and have also addressed/ fixed all of the issues you mentioned. Thanks... More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Read below, the reviews are all correct! Wasted my money, left early. Uninhabitable. Owner, manager or who ever takes responsibility for the venue, should be ashamed to take people's money. Some of many issues we had: 1. The only heating option given was wood fire. 2 logs left to use for a 3 day stay. Not only this but also... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank sct2128
Riverside-Augusta, Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Dear SCT2128, At Riverside Cottages, we pride ourselves on making sure our guests have a pleasurable and memorable stay. We find it terribly upsetting that you found your stay to be contrary to this and find your review most alarming to say the least. I wish to inform you however, that we have since replaced the worker who "cleaned" your... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

Arrived late friday night commucation wqs good from manager that was never a problem wasnt aware cabin had zero heating so was cold. No woood wqs provided for open fire since it hasnt got electric ir gas heating other should of been provided or we should of been informed to bring up own heating. No fan or light in bathroom... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel B
Riverside-Augusta, Riverside Cottages at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hello Daniel B, Thank you for your review, Please note that we sell firewood, kindling, fire starters and matches. This information goes out to you prior to your arrival. We do offer heating upon request, and therefore had you called our 24 hour contact number we could have provided you with heating. Kind Regards Riverside Team More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

We were looking for a small place to stay for a single night on family business and were also trying out our first Airbnb experience, which is how we found the cottages. We received an upgrade from a small cottage to an A-frame house which therefore rather exceeded our Spartan requirements. We found that the hire process was simple enough.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
Riverside-Augusta, Riverside Cottages Team at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, Thank you for your positive feedback. Im glad that we were able to cater to your families needs and enhance the your experience in Augusta. When availability permits we do like to upgrade our guests to the A-frame cottages. Looking forward to hosting you and your family in the near future. Riverside Cottages More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016 via mobile

This place is in bad condition - well past its use-by date, worn out. Linoleum on floors was lifting and a trip hazard, the bathroom worked but was awful; the refrigerator was rusted. The sofa was covered in layers of fabric to hide its condition. The night we were there was quite cool and the blankets provided were too small... More 

Helpful?
15 Thank Roslyn W
Riverside-Augusta, Riverside Cottages Team at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Roslyn, Thank you for your review, Our Cottages are old and eccentric in nature. As you can see from other reviews, some guests appreciate this, and others not so much. This is why we have all of the images of our cottages on display on the website. Furthermore if you were uncomfortable or unsure of any of the instructions... More 

Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016

Stayed in riverside cottages for a long weekend. The accommodation was old and in need of updating but was clean. The beds were comfortable and as a base for touring the area the cottage was adequate. The gas cooker was difficult to use as the temperature markings for the oven had long disappeared and the adjacent counter top was burnt,... More 

Helpful?
Thank suzypuzyaf
Riverside-Augusta, General Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Suzypuzyaf, Thank you for your review. We value both positive & negative feedback. Thank you for letting us know about the oven now we can fix the temperature markings and ensure that no one else has the same issue. The cottages, including the ovens are of old style but we always make sure they are clean and tidy for... More 

Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2016

One star - after our stay I got an email - if you give them a four star or more review, they will give you a free night's stay. So basically bribing guests for positive reviews. Stay classy Riverside Augusta.

Helpful?
4 Thank perthpaleo
Riverside-Augusta, General Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Perthpaleo, Great to hear you received our follow up email. We do not like to look at it as bribing. We would like to think of this as a reward system. If a guest stays with us and enjoys their stay then of course we would like them to tell people about their pleasant weekend with Riverside Cottages. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
1.9 mi away
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
#6 of 11 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Augusta Molloy Motel
Augusta Molloy Motel
#2 of 2 in Augusta
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baywatch Manor Augusta
Baywatch Manor Augusta
#1 of 11 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Augusta Escape
Augusta Escape
#4 of 11 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alouarn Apartments
Alouarn Apartments
#9 of 11 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
23.8 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country style family accommodation overlooking the majestic Blackwood River. 10 self-contained cottages catering for 2-6 people in the heart of Augusta WA. Perfect for a couples retreat, a family getaway or a corporate excursion. Plenty of outdoor activities will keep you entertained, fishing, boating, walks, farms, wineries and much more. Make sure you try some of the fresh local produce at the town stores! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverside Cottages

Address: 2 Molloy Street, Augusta, Western Australia 6290, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Augusta
Price Range: $92 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riverside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay