We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverside Cottages

2 Molloy Street, Augusta, Western Australia 6290, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Riverside Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Merimbula, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a night at the last minute. The staff were very friendly but the cottage was old and decrepit. A door was missing off the bathroom cupboard and the floor in the bathroom was wet and slimy. At first we thought it had just been cleaned but it remained that way until we left the... More 

Helpful?
Thank travellingbennetts
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Read below, the reviews are all correct! Wasted my money, left early. Uninhabitable. Owner, manager or who ever takes responsibility for the venue, should be ashamed to take people's money. Some of many issues we had: 1. The only heating option given was wood fire. 2 logs left to use for a 3 day stay. Not only this but also... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sct2128

Travelers are raving about these Augusta hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

Arrived late friday night commucation wqs good from manager that was never a problem wasnt aware cabin had zero heating so was cold. No woood wqs provided for open fire since it hasnt got electric ir gas heating other should of been provided or we should of been informed to bring up own heating. No fan or light in bathroom... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel B
Riverside-Augusta, Riverside Cottages at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hello Daniel B, Thank you for your review, Please note that we sell firewood, kindling, fire starters and matches. This information goes out to you prior to your arrival. We do offer heating upon request, and therefore had you called our 24 hour contact number we could have provided you with heating. Kind Regards Riverside Team More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

We were looking for a small place to stay for a single night on family business and were also trying out our first Airbnb experience, which is how we found the cottages. We received an upgrade from a small cottage to an A-frame house which therefore rather exceeded our Spartan requirements. We found that the hire process was simple enough.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
Riverside-Augusta, Riverside Cottages Team at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, Thank you for your positive feedback. Im glad that we were able to cater to your families needs and enhance the your experience in Augusta. When availability permits we do like to upgrade our guests to the A-frame cottages. Looking forward to hosting you and your family in the near future. Riverside Cottages More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016 via mobile

This place is in bad condition - well past its use-by date, worn out. Linoleum on floors was lifting and a trip hazard, the bathroom worked but was awful; the refrigerator was rusted. The sofa was covered in layers of fabric to hide its condition. The night we were there was quite cool and the blankets provided were too small... More 

Helpful?
14 Thank Roslyn W
Riverside-Augusta, Riverside Cottages Team at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Roslyn, Thank you for your review, Our Cottages are old and eccentric in nature. As you can see from other reviews, some guests appreciate this, and others not so much. This is why we have all of the images of our cottages on display on the website. Furthermore if you were uncomfortable or unsure of any of the instructions... More 

Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016

Stayed in riverside cottages for a long weekend. The accommodation was old and in need of updating but was clean. The beds were comfortable and as a base for touring the area the cottage was adequate. The gas cooker was difficult to use as the temperature markings for the oven had long disappeared and the adjacent counter top was burnt,... More 

Helpful?
Thank suzypuzyaf
Riverside-Augusta, General Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Suzypuzyaf, Thank you for your review. We value both positive & negative feedback. Thank you for letting us know about the oven now we can fix the temperature markings and ensure that no one else has the same issue. The cottages, including the ovens are of old style but we always make sure they are clean and tidy for... More 

Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2016

One star - after our stay I got an email - if you give them a four star or more review, they will give you a free night's stay. So basically bribing guests for positive reviews. Stay classy Riverside Augusta.

Helpful?
4 Thank perthpaleo
Riverside-Augusta, General Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Perthpaleo, Great to hear you received our follow up email. We do not like to look at it as bribing. We would like to think of this as a reward system. If a guest stays with us and enjoys their stay then of course we would like them to tell people about their pleasant weekend with Riverside Cottages. We... More 

Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2016

Look you've all read the negative reviews and let me assure you they are bang on! If quaint means.. rundown, dirty and ready for the bulldozer you've come to Riverside Cottages. We visited previously some 3 years ago and thought things would have changed. Well they have..price has skyrocketed and the experience is even more unpleasant. Thankfully one hour later... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Barry A
Riverside-Augusta, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Barry, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are a budget family style accommodation and we accommodated over 3500 guests last year and regularly have guests coming back to stay with us. We are aware the cottages are of old style but we always make sure they... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

We're from Sydney. We booked 6 cottages for 3 nights during the Xmas & New Year break. We were very apprehensive and was expecting the worse due to the negative reviews we've read. However we took a chance since we had 6 families with kids and there wasn't anywhere big enough to accommodate our group. Upon speaking to Julia (customer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linh D
Riverside-Augusta, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Linh, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Riverside cottages. Thank you for bringing the issue of the front and back door to our attention. We will ensure that it is seen to. We are happy to let you know we will construct new cottages at Riverside Cottages during the... More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

I did not think such sub-standard accommodation was still around. It is pokey, a bedroom doesn't even have a door on it and a "dining" table that rocks more than a cork on the ocean. This would have to be the worst accommodation I have ever stayed in.

Helpful?
2 Thank Milkman F
Riverside-Augusta, Front Office Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Milkman F. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are a budget family style accommodation and we accommodated over 3500 guests this year and regularly have guests coming back to stay with us. We are aware the cottages are of old style but we always make sure they are clean and tidy... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
1.9 mi away
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
#7 of 11 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Augusta Molloy Motel
Augusta Molloy Motel
#2 of 2 in Augusta
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baywatch Manor Augusta
Baywatch Manor Augusta
#1 of 11 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Augusta Escape
Augusta Escape
#4 of 11 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alouarn Apartments
Alouarn Apartments
#8 of 11 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
23.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country style family accommodation overlooking the majestic Blackwood River. 10 self-contained cottages catering for 2-6 people in the heart of Augusta WA. Perfect for a couples retreat, a family getaway or a corporate excursion. Plenty of outdoor activities will keep you entertained, fishing, boating, walks, farms, wineries and much more. Make sure you try some of the fresh local produce at the town stores! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverside Cottages

Address: 2 Molloy Street, Augusta, Western Australia 6290, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Augusta
Price Range: $98 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Riverside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay