We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Albion Motel Hotel

Traveler (29)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (3)


#3 of 3 hotels in Castlemaine
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
24-hour check-in
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Good to know
Languages Spoken
12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 16
  • 19
  • 6
  • 2
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The Albion was recommended by my sister as she had stayed there previously. I travelled by myself for a one night stay, and met up with two friends for a dinner at the on site Bistro. I stayed in Eucalyptus Room. I loved the location, the quaintness, the outlook from the room, the tranquility, and the ease of parking. It was so restful! The bathroom was enormous and the room a good size. I'm fairly certain my room was the wheelchair accessible room.The bed was comfortable, and the microwave and fridge were very convenient. My one and only complaint is that the fridge was noisy at night, so I had to turn it off, or else it would have kept me awake. It defrosted overnight, and fortunately all the water went into the drip tray, then I emptied it and mentioned it to the lady in the morning after turning it back on. I did not use the heating or cooling as the weather was perfect. Adjacent to the bed, were floor to ceiling, double sliding doors to the outside, where there were a couple of chairs and a table to relax with a good deal of privacy from the shrubs. Check in was 2pm. The person running the hotel bar assisted with my arrival at 6pm. I found the dinner service charming,however the menu choice was limited and what we ordered was nothing special to us. For breakfast, in my room fridge, there was some fresh fruit, milk and cereals, plus bread to make toast and jam. I really appreciated that, but the bread wasn't nice-very bland, I was missing my sourdough! Upon check out, the lady making up the rooms very kindly showed me the family rooms upstairs above the garage. I am interested in booking one at a later date, they definitely seemed large enough for that. The family room facing the street was north facing and would be lovely in the winter, however I would myself prefer the family room facing south so as to avoid any noise from the road or hotel garden. I was allowed to keep my car parked outside my room after check out for a short period and that enabled me to conveniently visit the Wesley Hill Market directly across the road from the Albion Hotel (and open every Saturday). The market was a great place for coffee, breakfast/brunch etc. with artisan food and the atmosphere was friendly and country like. I bought some large fresh dahlias and fresh produce. All in all, I had a most enjoyable stay and I look forward to returning.
Read more
What a lovely place! I didn’t really know what to expect when I booked online. I was on a motorbike trip and the booking was really based on price giving myself somewhere to stay. I received a message welcoming me and letting me know how to access my room, great communication no problem. When I arrived I thought I would be staying in pub accommodation, but no a cute row of rooms behind the main old hotel building. I found my key and entered the room to find a lovely set out studio with a small back patio. It was quite a warm day and opening up both the doors front and back and letting the breeze blow through was just wonderful. A very comfortable bed and everything you could want plus very nice breakfast things to enjoy. There was parking in front of every room and so what if you had to park on the side street it’s so quiet and safe with more then enough room for anything. Happy to recommend this property to anyone. As my wife has allergies to perfumes and some cleaning products, this is a problem for us when trying to find somewhere to stay. I found no scent or odour of anything that I might think would affect her so will be stay at the Albion when next in Castlemaine.
Read more
We booked here as all around Kyneton had no accommodation and upon arrival thought that it did not look so good! The staff were very friendly and once we had entered our room (number 5) found that it was quite large with a very big bathroom also breakfast of fruit, cereals, toast & jam was included in the $140.00 room. We decided to try the restaurant for dinner and that was a treat with real Malaysian style meals including the best satay I have ever had so all up a great place to stay, older but clean and bed was very comfortable so would certainly stay again. It is a couple of kilometres out of town.
Read more
The Albion is unpretentious, and the rooms are small, but clean, and well appointed, and the staff are unfailingly polite and helpful. The Bistro menu isn't extensive, but the food is well prepared, and well presented. Highly recommended!!!!!
Read more
Parking is a very big problem here, if you are lucky you might get 3 cars in the car park, 4 at a pinch, it is not allocated just a free for all including day staff. It seems to be standard practice for tradies to have to park their vans and tools on the road outside, certainly not ideal! We received a substantial refund from Wotif/Expedia due to all the issues and trouble we encountered at this Motel. It pays to go through booking agents rather than direct for this very reason and it’s either the same money or less but as a customer you have better rights and protection. It can be cheap but it does'nt have to be nasty. We voted with our feet and have just booked our contractors into 4 rooms elsewhere for the next few weeks and well into the new year – no hassle – no issue – plenty of parking – no problem.
Read more
Response from KhurshidA87, Manager at Albion Motel Hotel
Responded Dec 21, 2018
Hi, This is the manager from The Albion Castlemaine. Thank you for your review. Just reminding you that you forgot to mention in the review that you have parked in front of a disable room & were requested to park on an allocated parking spot as the disable guests were having trouble to have access into their room. Such a polite request from one of staff to move your car made you posting this bad review against us!!! This is sad! I hope you will enjoy your stays in other places & sorry for the inconvenience incurred in our facilities.
Read more
$64 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
albion hotel castlemaine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing