We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (215)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (16)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A family run hotel located on the Garrison a short walk from the centre of St Mary’s and the harbour, commanding breathtaking views of the stunning Archipelago. Our focus is to provide exceptional customer service to all our guests, award winning gourmet food with a choice of two award winning restaurants featuring the world’s best fresh lobster and crab caught by the proprietor Mr Robert Francis aboard ‘Gallos’ the hotel’s own fishing boat.A 38 bedroom hotel boasting traditional sixteenth century castle accommodation and spacious contemporary suites within 4 acres of secluded gardens.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Bay View
HOTEL CLASS
535Reviews
359Photos
4Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 383
  • 103
  • 28
  • 13
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+6
A true adventure I knew the scillies in Winter would be risky Delayed by a day due to fog; I arrived cold and wet on a chartered Jet Boat Initial impressions are of a ramshackle hotel not conforming to the the modern norm. They were very communicative and helpful re the delay
Read more
Response from James F, Owner at Star Castle
Responded Jan 8, 2019
Dear jonworld Thank you so much for taking your time to review the Star Castle over New Year! We are so pleased that you felt looked after what with the foggy conditions keeping you on the mainland for an extra day. We do offer two different styles of accommodation, the castle being in keeping with the 15th Century castle and the garden rooms being more cottage style, these styles do appeal to different guests and seasons. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the food and restaurant service, this is the area of the hotel we are exceptionally proud of. It is great that you enjoyed the party on New Years Eve as well as the black tie dinner on New Years Day. In the summer the communal areas are less crowded as there is so much outside space as well as staggered dining times allowing for slightly less people in the bar at one time compared to Christmas and New Year. We are so pleased that you had a great time and hope that you would consider visiting us again next New Years! Kind regards James Francis
Read more
Overall a wonderful experience. Given the quality of the restaurants and bedrooms I do not think it was expensive. Our garden room was immaculate. The situation is amazing perched above the town with views of the nearby islands.
Read more
Response from James F, Owner at Star Castle
Responded Jan 8, 2019
Dear brettonLondon Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We are so pleased that you did not find it to be expensive given the restaurants and room quality as well as service. We do hope that you will return and stay with us again soon. Kind regards James Francis
Read more
The Star castle is a lovely hotel, but is very expensive for what you get. The furnishings in our room very lovely, but there were marks on the cushions in the bathroom and the lounge, but the room was very clean. Food was lovely with lots of choice at breakfast but service was
Read more
Response from James F, Owner at Star Castle
Responded Jan 8, 2019
Dear Jane F Many thanks for taking your time to review the Star Castle. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, just sorry that you found it to be expensive. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and the breakfast offering just sorry that service was hit and miss. It is normally extremely attentive, your feedback has been passed onto the team. It is the end of the season now so we will be doing a gentle refurb across the rooms checking all furnishings and improving them. We do still hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Kind regards Victoria
Read more
After a terrible trip on the ferry we arrived very tired. Straight away asked reception to book our return on the short flight back to Lands End. Our garden room was lovely and bed was comfortable, quiet. We booked late so did not get a sea view room. Staff were very helpful,
Read more
Response from RFrancis1, General Manager at Star Castle
Responded Nov 5, 2018
Dear salander2015 Thank you for taking time to review the Star Castle Hotel and thank you for the 5 star rating. I am so pleased you were well looked after and that you had a good stay with us. Sorry to hear that ferry was not enjoyable and pleased that we could assist with flights instead. We are so pleased that you are keen to return and hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards James Francis
Read more
We stayed here in August and we had a wonderful stay. We had a garden room with a view out to sea which was beautiful. All our meals were lovely with great service. Hotel provided airport transfer. Would definitely stay again and recommend.
Read more
Response from RFrancis1, General Manager at Star Castle
Responded Nov 5, 2018
Dear Laura B Thank you so much for reviewing the Star Castle and for giving us 5 stars. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in August and hope that you will come and visit us again soon. Kind regards James Francis
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Another view of our room
Our "Superior Castle Room"
"North" Guard room
view from our garden
our room
PreviousNext
12345610
Think it’s from Penzance if you google the isle of stilly travel company it should point you in the right direction
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes, they are a very short 2 minute walk from each other with about 15 steps.
1 vote
Show all answers
Is there wheelchair access
"book early for sea view room"
"The best rooms are in the garden with views of Tresco."
"The garden rooms with a sea view and veranda are best"
"Great hotel for a meal or a special stay"
"Garden rooms really nice"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$150 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
star castle hotel st mary`sstar castle st marysstar castle hotel st marys
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsles of ScillySt Mary's
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing