We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Karma St. Martin's

Save
Share
Lower Town, TR25 0QW England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
$454
View Deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (266)
Dining (39)
Room & Suite (27)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Discover the powdery white sands, clear waters and natural beauty of Karma St. Martin's in the Isles of Scilly, just 28 miles off the Cornwall coast. Karma St. Martin's is the island's only hotel, and poised to capitalise on breathtaking panoramic coastal vistas overlooking the azure waters of Tean Sound. Accommodation includes 27 individually appointed en-suite rooms and 3 luxurious suites. Adjoining family rooms are available upon request. Guests at Karma St. Martin's can enjoy summer days dining al fresco in the resorts' sub tropical gardens or have a more formal dining experience in the restaurant. Both dining options boast breathtaking sea views and are the perfect locations to capture the stunning Scillly sunset. For more active pursuits work-out in a nearby gym, play a round on the island's tennis court, and snorkel with seals off the island's crystal clear waters. Then unwind with a treatment at Karma Spa. Boat trips to nearby islands are available for fishing expeditions, viewing archaeological sites, spotting rare birds including puffin colonies and to explore some of the 500 skeleton wrecks dotted off the rocky shores.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Public wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Boating
Game room
Hiking
Patio
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Sofa bed
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Czech, German and 2 more
618Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 415
  • 118
  • 52
  • 24
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
nandd2 wrote a review Oct 19
Beaworthy, United Kingdom32 contributions12 helpful votes
This hotel has a wonderful location, but was spoiled by the timeshare marketing everywhere you looked. The toiletries are not local, (there is a lady on St Martins that sells wonderful local soaps etc)...so why not keep it local..it wasn’t even Cornish? It would have been nice to have 2 chairs in our room, as there were 2 of us? The breakfast was not great, the orange juice not fresh but out of a carton...although you pay premium prices? Luckily we ate out of the hotel, at the Seven Stones pub for dinner, which was fantastic. The staff at Karma were really friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Spiaggia wrote a review Oct 10
Edinburgh, United Kingdom420 contributions162 helpful votes
We stayed here for four nights in the Volunteer Suite. A rather odd name for the honeymoon suite :-) Before we arrived Pippa on reception made sure we knew how we would get from the ferry to the smaller boat on arrival. She phoned and emailed so we had nothing to worry about. In the end we spotted our suitcases on the smaller boat and paid our £5 each and sailed to St Martins. Pippa was so helpful throughout our stay. Nothing was a trouble. Thank you! When we arrived we were met at the quay and our luggage was taken to the hotel. We then walked to the hotel around a 20 minute stroll. Lifts to the hotel by car are not possible just now because of Covid. We stopped off at the bakery on our way and by the time we reached the hotel our room was ready. The Room/Suite The room we had is made up of a small bathroom, bedroom and then sitting/dining room with balcony. Everything was clean, comfortable and welcoming. The room was £1800 for four nights for B&B. The views from the bedroom were wonderful. The bed was comfortable and one evening when it was wet and windy we put the heating on and the bedroom was warm and cosy. We didn’t use the sitting area much as there was a lot of noise from below and it was as if others were in the room with us. That was a bit disappointing.The same was true for the noise from behind the bedroom wall. We could hear the lady chatting. The bathroom was quite old and care had to be taken coming in and out of the bath/shower as it was so narrow. We do however appreciate how difficult it must be to update rooms because of the location and logistics for work to be done. However as the room was so expensive we did notice that the paint work has completely come away on the door of the bathroom and the handle is broken so these should be things which are easily rectified. Breakfast and Dinner Delicious food and we enjoyed all our meals. There were a few hiccups with the ticket machine for our orders and our food simply didn’t arrive, once for breakfast and once again for dinner. However Luciano dealt with these problems so well. He is an absolute credit to the hotel, kind and professional. Pippa too at reception is a huge credit to the hotel. Covid safe We felt safe in this hotel. One small but important suggestion is for you to make sure all staff wear their masks properly. Over each day of our stay the petite waitress with long black hair wore her mask under her nose. We wanted to tell her several times but felt it wasn’t our place to do so. It is not safe for her to wear her mask like this for herself, but also for any of the guests whom she is serving. Location Simply stunning. Sunsets are beautiful. Grounds are well kept. Beach a 20 second stroll from the front door. Sun loungers in the grounds and tables for drinks and meals too. Transport We left the island to return home with a private boat. Pippa arranged this. Cost £75. We had a lovely stay and hope to return, thank you to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from S Fisher, General Manager at Karma St. Martin's
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear spaggia Thank you for taking the time to review our property and offering after your recent visit and stay with ourselves. Your kind feedback has been shared with our team and individuals along with us investigating the matters you have raised assuring you that they shall be addressed. I and we are also please that you enjoyed this stunning location and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the new season if not before. Kind Regards & Best Wishes Management
Read more
Les N wrote a review Oct 1
Telford, United Kingdom347 contributions36 helpful votes
As non-residents our visit was comparatively short and was to have a drink only. However, we sat outside and the location is simply stunning. The staff were very efficient and friendly and during these turbulent COVID days we were made to feel very safe. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from S Fisher, General Manager at Karma St. Martin's
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Les N Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with ourselves, We also thank you for taking the time to stop off and enjoy the views and offering here in these uncertain times, Your support and custom is greatly appreciated and we do thank you and we do hope to see yourselves back in due course to enjoy hopefully more than a drink in the Garden. Thank you once again, Kind Regards & Best Wishes Management
Read more
David H wrote a review Oct 1
Maidstone, United Kingdom50 contributions41 helpful votes
This is now the third time I have attempted to review this place with the hotel removing my last two reviews without warning. I will therefore keep this brief; 1. The hotel in my view is utterly over priced for what it offers. The room we had was average at best and had stains on the carpet. The bathroom was dated. 2. The food service was awful. Took over an hour for starters to arrive on two occasions not acceptable with a child with us. Food was a mixed bag some dishes very nice others mediocre including the steak which both nights came up well done when I asked for medium rare. Basics. The inclusive element if you pay for DBB is good as you get a budget which is more than enough for three courses. 3. Location is stunning and that’s all you are paying for, amazing beach. 4. Receptionist was fantastic couldn’t do enough for you (brown hair) - she is the reason I give another star on the rating. Overall you have no choice but to stay here due to lack of alternatives but it isn’t worth the money and the service at meals is woeful. I have no idea how they got awarded for the food as it’s hit and miss. If this place was £150 a night I would give it 3 or 4 star, but at the prices they charge not a chance.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from S Fisher, General Manager at Karma St. Martin's
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear davidhG9212ZF Thank you for taking the time to submit your review once again and we are equally pleased that we can read your experience again, We would also like to thank you for removing a lot of the false accusations from previous reviews and please allow us to reassure you that we have not had your review removed as we do not have the ability to do so, this is an action taken from Tripadvisor and their management team, However, please allow us to answer your points raised in this amended & constructive review towards our team which firstly I and we are sorry you have not enjoyed your time with us. We do hope you have more choice in the future and you secure the destination of your choice and we are sorry that our location and offering was not up to your standard and expectations. Kind Regards & Best Wishes Management
Read more
Auk wrote a review Oct 1
23 contributions7 helpful votes
We didn't stay here but had lunch one day. Wait staff didn't have the mask over their nose for a start. Food was very expensive (£11 for a plain small sandwich) and not very good - not bad, but no where near worth the price and no where near our expectations for this place (based on the photos we were expecting a five star meal and ended up with a sandwich and fish and chips which would have been the same anywhere else). Only 2 tables inside have a nice view though plenty of tables outside.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from S Fisher, General Manager at Karma St. Martin's
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Aukay75 Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion after your recent visit to ourselves. I and we are sorry to learn you feel this way and I can assure you our team are all wearing masks and have done this season prior to the legal requirements to do so, I apologise if at any point an individuals mask did fall below their nose, which would and should have been rectified immediately/as soon as possible, but our masks are designed to cover the nose and mouth. We are sorry that you didn't receive the 5 star meal, however if ordering a sandwich and fish and chips, we are unsure what more could be expected. We have a fine dining menu available in the evening in our restaurant and our lunch menu through the day. I do sincerely apologise if the quality of the above two had not been up to your expectations on that particular day. Your feedback will be taken on board and shared with the team and we hope to welcome yourselves back in the near future. Kind Regards & Best Wishes Management
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$373 - $799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsles of ScillySt Martin's
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Karma St. Martin's
Which popular attractions are close to Karma St. Martin's?
Nearby attractions include St Mary's Riding Centre (2.9 miles), Garrison Walls (3.6 miles), and Bant's Carn Burial Chamber and Halangy Down Ancient Village (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Karma St. Martin's?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Karma St. Martin's?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Karma St. Martin's?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Karma St. Martin's?
Conveniently located restaurants include Longstone Cafe, Dibble & Grub, and Carn Vean Cafe.
Are pets allowed at Karma St. Martin's?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Karma St. Martin's offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Karma St. Martin's?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Polish, Romanian, and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to Karma St. Martin's?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tresco Abbey Garden & Valhalla Collection (1.9 miles), Cromwell's Castle (2.1 miles), and Old Blockhouse (1.3 miles).
Does Karma St. Martin's have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Karma St. Martin's accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.