We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel

Route de Libourne D243, 33330 Saint-Emilion France
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (80)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 6 hotels in Saint-Emilion
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
3.6
Value
3.3

One-of-a kind property, the five-star, 19th-century Château Grand Barrail Hôtel ***** is located in the right-bank area of Bordeaux, next to a medieval town. With Saint-Emilion’s most famous wine-producing châteaux at its doorstep, it is less than an hour-drive to Bordeaux. Surrounded by a 7-acre park, Château Grand Barrail Hôtel ***** is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the world (SLH). It offers gorgeous guest rooms, split between the château and its outbuildings, and a gourmet restaurant, wich serves innovative, mouth-watering cuisine matched with carefully selected Bordeaux’s fine wines to tempt every palate.

Indulge in the hotel’s spa, offering a comprehensive array of Cinq Mondes body treatments to relax you, pamper your body and delight your senses.

The hotel’s friendly and committed staff is always on hand to cater to your every need. Offering each guest a warm and personalized welcome, Château Grand Barrail Hôtel ***** is sure to meet most demanding expectations.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
38Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 15
  • 7
  • 6
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
MisaGeziyor wrote a review Apr 3
Ireland39 contributions60 helpful votes
Lovely location, great vineyard views, amazing chateau atmosphere and all. The only downside if I really need to count was the knowledge of the stuff about the wine and its details. Also keep in mind to book the spa in advance, we couldn’t find a slot at all.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin ROBIC, Directeur général at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear MisaGeziyor, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent experience at Château Hôtel Grand Barrail. We are delighted to see that your stay with us has lived up to your expectations. Please be assured that your feedback has been taken into account, as it helps us to improve our service and better meet your expectations. Due to a high demand, we strongly recommend booking the SPA in advance. We look forward to welcoming you back to the heart of the Saint-Émilion vineyards. Kindest regards, Benjamin ROBIC - Directeur Général
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
audifans2016 wrote a review Jan 2024
Cardiff, United Kingdom13 contributions2 helpful votes
Superb experience. We had a lovely warm welcome on a bleak winter’s day to an elegant, beautifully restored chateau set in a vineyard amid lovely gardens. Our room was spacious, clean and contemporary with everything you could think of provided. Really comfy super king bed, and roomy shower. As in other hotels, they charge for a dog, but here they also provide a comfy bed and good bowls. Lovely to spend time before dinner in the very large spa hot tub, sauna and steam room. I was sceptical that I would enjoy the small menu in the evening, but we were blown away by fantastic flavours from the moment that the canapés arrived with our first drink. We had divided opinions on the potato foam with truffle, which came with the perfectly cooked, amazing beef. I always want more vegetables with my entrée, but we had an experience rather than just a meal, in the gorgeous art nouveau style dining room, which will stay in the memory. The staff were charming, warm and professional. Hope they fix the locks on the spa changing room lockers before our next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The stone stairs to the restaurant are difficult to get up if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin ROBIC, Directeur général at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel
Responded Jan 18, 2024
Dear Audifans2016, We truly appreciate that you took the time to write such a detailed review on your recent stay at The Château Hôtel Grand Barrail. It is a great recognition for us to know that we made your experience a one of a kind. Making our guests feel comfortable is one of our priorities and we are more than happy to read that our teams provided you with a beautiful stay. Your comments will be shared with the teams to let them know that you had a memorable experience, beyond your expectations. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our establishment for another break in the heart of the Saint-Émilion vineyards. Kind regards, Benjamin ROBIC - Directeur Général
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
İbrahim K wrote a review Nov 2023
Istanbul, Türkiye1 contribution
We stayed one night 27.October.2023. The rooms, breakfast, location was great. But we had a terrible night because of bugs in the room. There were more than 20 forest bugs that I catch during all the night over. We couldn't sleep all the night over. When we informed the situation with some photos of them to the hotel management the reaction was also unacceptable. Actually it should be normal according the hotel management because of their location on the wine yards. They are not informing I thought we should inform who are going to book this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Please be careful for the bugs in the room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin ROBIC, Directeur général at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel
Responded Nov 16, 2023
Dear Ibrahim K, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your stay at Château Hôtel Grand Barrail. We are very sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to the high standards we aim to deliver every day. Due to the heat wave we had the month of october, the forest bugs tend to get to cold areas. When you leave the window opened, you allow them to get into the room. Temperatures this year have been extremely high for October. This is therefore an isolated incident that does not reflect the high standards we strive to achieve every day. Rest assured that your comments have been taken into account to help us avoid similar situations in the future. We truly hope that you will give us the opportunity to offer you a more satisfying experience and regain your confidence in the future. Yours sincerely, Benjamin ROBIC - Directeur Général
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hanno Holm wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Location is great. The rooms are brand new, but mine was close to a commercial fan that is used in the wine making at this time of the year. It was impossible to have the window open, and even with it closed there was too much noise. They also started drilling holes in the room next door at 7.30m am. The service is OK but highly inflexible. They told us that they can not affix a stamp to sen a letter, and sent us to the nearby town to do it ourselves. Small thing, but it is highly indicative of the attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin ROBIC, Directeur général at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel
Responded Nov 8, 2023
Dear hannoholm, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your stay at Château Hôtel Grand Barrail. We are very sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to the high standards we aim to deliver every day. Referring to your room, the noise from Château La Marzelle, this was an isolated incident that has been resolved, but during the harvest season, sometimes there are noises specific to the season, such as machinery, tractors... What we don't really understand is what you said about "holes being drilled at 7.30am". Our maintenance team started work at 8.30am that day. There was no one next door drilling holes, so we don't know where the noise was coming from. As for the letter, we don't have any stamps here, which is why the person at reception told you to go to the post office to send the letter. Please, be aware that all your comments have been taken into account to help us improve our service and better meet your expectations. We truly hope that you will give us the opportunity to offer you a more satisfying experience and regain your confidence in the future. Yours sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mehdi E wrote a review Sep 2023
Bordeaux, France1 contribution2 helpful votes
we had a horrible experience! The restaurant staff was rude and unprofessional, we were treated horribly even though we were staying at the hotel. Also aggressive and very racist. Definitely not the spot to visit if you’re looking for great service. The hotel manager also didn’t provide much help when we tried to ask him to look into this.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
flipper2014 wrote a review Sep 2023
Clearwater, Florida71 contributions26 helpful votes
Unfortunately we arrived on a Monday night and had missed the email saying the restaurant was fully booked. When you pay over €500 for a night you would expect to be able to eat in the restaurant. When we asked we were told that it might be hard to find a restaurant that wasn't booked or closed as it is a Monday. The reception found an option in St Emilion but it was a pizza restaurant we had seen in the day and was not what we were looking for. We then asked if we could eat in the bar and were told yes but not until 7:30pm (the menu says 5pm for the Bar). When we tried to order while having a drink outside we were told that the bar was closed today, We were told room service was available so I asked if they could deliver to the terrace where we were sitting instead of the room but were told they were not sure if they could do that. It was hugely disappointing given the standard of the hotel and we have always had great service in Small Luxury Hotels of the World previously. One of the issues is that the staff are extremely young and don't seem to care about making the guests feel welcome. This is likely to be from inexperience. The room service menu offers a really limited choice of food which is another disappointment as the restaurant menu looked nice. When asked on checking out if we had a good stay I said 'No it was really disappointing'. This led to a huge pause and the person not knowing what to say. I told them a couple of the reasons and they still were not sure what to say. I could not check out immediately as both computers were busy. When I returned ten minute later I was again asked if I enjoyed the stay and again said no. This time the person apologized but did not ask why. When asked if I wanted to speak to the manager I said 'it is up to you'. So they did not get him. I am hugely surprised that no one wanted to ask more about why we were so disappointed. On the good side the hotel is clean and is a really great property. We would advise the hotel to try to treat guests as they would like to be treated. They did not with us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin ROBIC, Directeur général at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel
Responded Sep 25, 2023
Dear flipper2014, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your stay at Château Hôtel Grand Barrail. We are very sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to the high standards we aim to deliver every day. Please be assured that your feedback has been taken into account, as it helps us to improve our service and better meet your expectations. Our guests are our priority and we want to be very caring for each of them. Please be assured that your constructive remark regarding the quality of service and the falicities have been taken into great consideration. We would like to apologize again for all the inconveniences encountered during your stay. We truly hope that you will give us the opportunity to offer you a more satisfying experience and regain your confidence in the future. Yours sincerely, Benjamin ROBIC - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alx wrote a review Sep 2023
United States1111 contributions202 helpful votes
+1
Arrived around noon, were told rooms won't be ready till 3pm, despite requesting early check-in (which is a benefit when booking via Hyatt), so we figured out we will spend some time in the spa and pool. Spa experience was a mess. Staff directed us to the changing rooms, but for some reason didn't provide the bathrobes and slippers. Had to go back to front desk to ask for some. Changing rooms didn't have hairdryers, so again had to go to reception with the wet hair and ask for one. Finally got a room key (note that the extra bed is only possible in Deluxe room). Room was spacious and had a separate bathroom and toilet, toilet walls had mould - not sure how this could be allowed in a luxury hotel. We were coming to celebrate a birthday - on such hotel provided a very generous (of course not) welcome gift of a postcard (wow!) and some unwrapped (sick!) chocolates, for which neither front desk, nor housekeeping had ingredients/allregens list available. Not that I really expected anything, but given we are in the heart of winemaking area, one would think a bottle of wine would be a nice touch, but no. We had a breakfast (again as a part of the arrangement for booking via Hyatt) on the terrace. Selection was of good quality, but pretty limited. Parking was free.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin ROBIC, Directeur général at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel
Responded Sep 25, 2023
Dear frqtv, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent experience at Château Hôtel Grand Barrail. We are very sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to the high standards we aim to deliver every day. We assure you that we have taken your constructive feedback on your feeling into account. Your message have been fowarded to all the concerned department to look into it. We truly hope that you will give us the opportunity to offer you a more satisfying experience and regain your confidence in the future. Yours sincerely, Benjamin ROBIC - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
vito r wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We went to this five stars hotel with high expectation, amazing place amid the vignards, but awful in terms of services, air condition didn't work properly with external temperature outside 36°, a nightmare ......embarrassing juniority of the personal......
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin ROBIC, Directeur général at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel
Responded Aug 29, 2023
Dear 971vitor, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at the Château Hôtel Grand Barrail. We are glad to read you enjoyed our place. However, we are sorry to read your stay did not live up to your expectations due to the air-conditioning system. We are really sorry that the power of our air conditioning did not satisfy you. Maybe you noticed it, we were in a heat wave with exceptional temperatures during your stay. Please rest assured that we are taking into consideration your feedback about your stay with us. We still hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the heart of the Saint-Emilion vineyards ! Kindest regards, Benjamin ROBIC – General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Leah D wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution3 helpful votes
The hotel is spectacular and the front desk staff are very welcoming. But beware … food is NOT prioritized for guests - you are not made aware but must make you own bookings before you arrive - though they redirect you get food via room service or at the wine bar, it’s limited, mainly simple charcuterie, not ideal for multiple night stays especially a Monday as the wine bar is actually closed. *This caught multiple guests off guard - we bonded whilst all waiting over an hour for service in the bar the night we arrived. Some did but others didn’t have breakfast included. The spa too - book BEFORE your trip and make sure it’s not under renovation or that they don’t usher you back to the lounge as the room hasn’t been cleaned. Disappointing - happy to pay for 5 star accommodation when it is - however with issues in our room with coffee machine broken, power points not working, the bar fridge turned off (we had food we had bought elsewhere to keep cold!!) and less than sympathetic management reluctantly offering us compensation, it was not the relaxing decadent stay we had hoped.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Katrine wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions4 helpful votes
My family and I were really looking forward to staying at Grand Barrail, but unfortunately, we did not have the greatest experience there. Before arriving, we decided to extend our trip by an extra day. We were asked when we would like to arrive. We asked if it was possible to check in at 11 am and were told by the reception that it was okay. However, when we arrived around 11:30, none of our rooms were ready, and we were told to come back at 3 pm. When we returned from the city around 3 pm, only one of the rooms was ready, and we were told that the second room would be done in 10 minutes but ended up waiting 30 minutes. Upon arriving at our rooms, there was trash in the hallway. The same trash was there for three days, even though there was cleaning multiple times during our stay. In the end, we found this quite hilarious, that a hotel that prides itself on excellent service would allow this. After check-in, a dip in the pool, and a lovely dinner in one of the restaurants in Saint-Emilion city, we decided to head back to the chateau for a gin and tonic. There was only 1 couple left in the restaurant and we thought it would just be a quick drink before bedtime. However, it took 30 minutes for the first waiter to take our order of 2 x Gin & tonics and 2 x French 33, and a further 30 minutes to make the drinks. When it comes to breakfast at the chateau, it was fine. However, the cups were dirty and the buffet was never really filled up. Overall, I would not recommend the hotel. We have stayed in great hotels in Saint Emilion before, and this one was not worth it. The only five-star thing about this place is the building and its surroundings. The rooms are indeed beautiful, but the overall service level did not live up to our expectations. The spa was fine, and we were able to get two treatments there. When we checked out and were asked about our stay, we told them that we were not satisfied and were told that they at least hoped the city was nice, without asking about why or anything.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Dont expect that much
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin ROBIC, Directeur général at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel
Responded Aug 15, 2023
Dear Madame Brandt, We thank you for choosing our hotel for your getaway in Saint Emilion. The whole team feels truly sorry for every of the details described about your experience in which we were unable to show you our commitment with excellence. Your comments have been taken very seriously and we will work even harder to recover your trust and show you we can do it better and make of yours a wonderful experience. We regret the circumstances in which you left our establishment and the memory you keep. Kind Regards Benjamin ROBIC – General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint-Emilion area.
PRICE RANGE
$275 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau grand barrail hotel saint-emilion, chateau grand barrail saint emilion
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineGirondeSaint-Emilion
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHATEAU GRAND BARRAIL HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Saint-Emilion, France)

Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Wine Buff (2.1 miles), Chateau Ambe Tour Pourret (1.3 miles), and Château de Chambrun - Château Moncets (1.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro Pharell, Restaurant Le Tertre, and Chez Remi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.