We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Petite Madeleine

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Petite Madeleine
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 115: English reviews
Cornwall, England
Reviewed October 28, 2016

Tricky to find, even with a sat-nav, so trust in the directions provided by the hosts. We received a very warm welcome even though we arrived very early. Lovely room and a wonderful spread at breakfast. Lots of tips were offered on how to make the most of our time in Saint Emilion and Bordeaux.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farnsfield
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Don't be deceived. This property is barely maintained on the outside. Inside it is less than charming, and had a weird bad smell (mildew?) that permeated the house and linens. The hosts were nice enough, but not especially helpful. Our traveling companions pronounced the place dreadful and left early. We stayed but wouldn't recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbb1542
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 25, 2016

This is a small b&b in the midst of a vineyard . We stopped on the way home from a trip to Spain , staying just one night and both my husband and I thought we would wish to return for a longer stay in future . The rooms are rustic but clean , bright and welcoming . Money has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cust0merservicequeen
Vancouver
Reviewed October 23, 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights on a bike tour of Bordeaux with 5 friends. The house has a good location with vineyard views, a short distance from St Emilion but without the crowds. The rooms are simple but comfortable, reasonably sized. The breakfasts were good. We enjoyed dinner so much the first night, we cancelled our outside reservation for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emkay0
Orange, California
Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at LPM for two nights toward the end of our month in France. We arrived a little bit worn out but Véronique's warmth and generosity completely revived us. We can only add to the previous reviews that LPM won't disappoint you on any level. Thor saw that we liked to take long walks so he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hulies
Burke, Virginia
Reviewed October 11, 2016

What can I say - all the 5 star reviews are right on target. Trip Advisor needs to add another star! We stayed with another couple for 5 days and Véronique took great care of us, making chateau visit and restaurant reservations along with recommendations for local markets. And, image fresh breads delivered from the village baker every morning combined...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy_and_Wayne13
LaMadeleine, Owner at La Petite Madeleine, responded to this review

Thank you very much. It was lovely having you stay at La Petite Madeleine with us. We hope that all 4 of you enjoyed the cruise afterwards. We hope to have the pleasure of hearing you or seeing you in the future. Véronique and Thor Inge

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 6, 2016

We had one night here en route back to St Malo and thoroughly enjoyed it. Thor is a very pleasant and laid back host as is his wife Veronique, who was unfortunately unwell while we were there. Our large room (with big bed) at the back overlooked the pristine rows of vines and we had a nice stroll among them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Googly2010
LaMadeleine, Owner at La Petite Madeleine, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. It is true that unlike the hotels, we do not offer a choice of toiletries. We provide towels, a hairdryer, soap and small bottles of shower gel/shampoo. We can give extras on request ;) To follow your conversation at dinner, we shall follow what happens with Brexit and Trump! Véronique and Thor Inge

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed September 25, 2016

Okay, I admit it: we are private people ordinarily discomfited by the enforced intimacy with strangers in which B&B fans seem to revel. But at La Petite Madeleine, hoteliers Veronique and Thor and their other guests happily gave us a comfortable space . . . unless we wanted to break out of it. And we did. Illness required a medical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JackIndo
LaMadeleine, Owner at La Petite Madeleine, responded to this review

Happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope that everything went well during your trip to New York and that you enjoyed your time there. Véronique

Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night but really should have booked longer. Thor and Veronique made us more than welcome. If you needed anything they would always try to accommodate. The house is nestled in between the countryside with stunning views of vineyards. Only a short distance from the town. It was so quiet and tranquil that you couldn't do nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
LaMadeleine, Owner at La Petite Madeleine, responded to this review

Thank you. Therefore we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon! Véronique and Thor Inge

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

This B & B was recommended to us by our close Australian friends, and it was just beautiful. Location central, food warm and welcoming like Thor and Veronique's hospitality. Quiet and peaceful location for couples and families

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kate_caillot
LaMadeleine, Owner at La Petite Madeleine, responded to this review

Thank you. We enjoyed welcoming you just as we enjoyed having your friends over (just before). Véronique and Thor Inge

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
3.7 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
642 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
331 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
198 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
#5 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
213 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Pavillon Villemaurine
Le Pavillon Villemaurine
#1 of 23 in Saint-Emilion
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Petite Madeleine is an old wine farm which we have renovated.It is located in the heart of the Saint Emilion vineyards, 3.5km from the village of Saint Emilion.We have 5 comfortable bedrooms (good beds) with ensuite bathrooms (shower + sink + WC).We also propose the Table d'hote which is a home made cooked dinner on the spot. Good opportunity to taste good food and to share with other guests and the hosts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Petite Madeleine

Address: 6, lieu dit Saint Jean de Beard | Saint Laurent des Combes, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Price Range: $91 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Petite Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from La Petite Madeleine staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from La Petite Madeleine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“No air conditioning but fan is provided”
 of 5 bubbles cust0merservicequeen, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms look good”
 of 5 bubbles Googly2010, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
“Thor will point to the rooms with stronger wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles JackIndo, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“twin bed room at rear.”
 of 5 bubbles Fussy-but, Aug 3, 2016 | Read review
“Wonderful place to explore Saint-Emilion.”
 of 5 bubbles kjmj, Apr 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay