We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Domaine Thomson

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Domaine Thomson
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had planned to stay 4 nights in July and meet up with friends from the UK. When one of the recent French strikes meant that our flights were cancelled and we couldn't find any alternative we told Domaine Thomson immediately. Unfortunately we were required to pay in full unlike our other destination in Collioure. A great pity - left... More 

Helpful?
Thank gollyoz
sarahthomson, Owner at Domaine Thomson, responded to this review

I am sorry that Gareth and Rosie Lloyd feel this. Their reservation was for three nights, from the 28 June, departing the 1 July 2016. They were due to meet up with friends here. They had informed their friends the day before their arrival date that because of the expected air strike, they would get a later flight, once the... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Possibly a little less smart than its pictures suggest, rooms were basic but clean and the welcome friendly. Our host couldn't do enough to help and advise, but you do need a car because it is not near any public transport nor any facilities. Ideal for a tranquil and inexpensive away-from-it-all break.

Helpful?
Thank 1sjh53
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

Brilliant location for friends and family to holiday together. We self catered for a week in July. There was plenty of room for everyone to relax in. Large private garden always somewhere shady to sit to eat an evening meal together. Added bonus of a lovely 12m swimming pool. Sarah was very helpful in recommending places to visit and some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here with our two young children when in the area for a wedding. Sarah made us so welcome in her lovely home. First impressions were good as we arrived to be greeted by Sarah who showed the kids her toy supply and showed us to a pot of tea, croissants and apricots for use in her beautiful, tranquil... More 

Helpful?
Thank nickeeee
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 via mobile

we found this wonderful little hideway on tripadvisor and enjoyed relaxing at the pool in the middle of nowhere before continuing sightseeing. nice, clean rooms with a tiny bathroom hidden in the wardrobe. sarah, our charming host, served us fresh rasberries from her garden and homemade marmelade for breakfast, wonderful!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We spent a wonderful week here in September 2014. Such a peaceful, tranquil place helped us recharge our batteries. The pool is fabulous on hot days. My 89-year old mother had a good time, too, and felt well looked after. The nearby town of Mirepoix is what you'd expect a small French market town to be - try to see... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We spent three night in Domaine Thomson in July 2014. Compared with what we paid in hotels on the same holiday, the value for money here was exceptional. The swimming pool and gardens were lovely, but the most outstanding aspect of the stay was Sarah's helpfulness. She recommended places to us to visit and they all proved to be excellent.... More 

Helpful?
Thank cantobre60
Monpazier, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights last week and only wished it was longer! From the moment we arrived Sarah (our hostess) was warm and very welcoming. We had 2 adjoining rooms with a large bathroom. We loved the pretty garden, used the fabulous pool and enjoyed the cosy living room (with a huge assortment of English books and toys)b... More 

Helpful?
Thank ally t
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Many people say that they would like to get away from it all. Well we were fortunate enough to find that very exceptional place. We had been enjoying some time in Spain at the beginning of this year and on our journey back to the UK we stopped off at Domaine Thomson which had been recommended to us by a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil591
Brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Together with family we've rented this place for a week, too bad it was only one week... The house is located very quiet township. The house is maybe not state of the art, but it's very charming. In the kitchen everything you needed was there, clean bedrooms, all with a very nice view. With breakfast/lunch/dinner we always sat outside under... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirepoix hotels
8.9 mi away
Auberge du Balestie
Auberge du Balestie
#1 of 1 in Malegoude
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Minotiers
5.9 mi away
Hotel Le Commerce
Hotel Le Commerce
#4 of 5 in Mirepoix
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
La Maison des Consuls
La Maison des Consuls
#3 of 5 in Mirepoix
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Deux F
Les Deux F
#3 of 5 in Mirepoix
5.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
9.5 mi away
Domaine de la Trille
Domaine de la Trille
#1 of 5 in Mirepoix
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Domaine Thomson is a lovely 1830s farmhouse in a small village in the Ariege region of the Midi Pyrenees. It is a great place to `get away from it all` without being too `far from the madding crowd`. A 15 minute drive from Mirepoix, and 1 hour from Carcassonne and Toulouse. It has been beautifully restored with oak beams, original fireplace & many unique features, it is very comfortable, with large outdoor pool, free wifi. Sunny terrace, children`s swingset, and possibility of evening meals of local regional dishes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Domaine Thomson

Address: Engravies, 09600 DUN, Mirepoix, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Ariege > Mirepoix
Price Range: $72 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Domaine Thomson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay