We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Africa House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Africa House Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Africa House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 193: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

It is such a shame that this place is so poorly managed!! It has such potential!!!!! One of the best places for a sunset drinks in all of Stone town!! But the service was shocking!!! Very disinterested staff, that didn't clear the tables, smile or ask you if you wanted a drink!. I would only recommend going for one drink...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alipaige11
Management response:

Dear Guest, We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services. Your Host, Team Africa House Hotel.

Sydney
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Arguably Stone Towns best location for sunset drinks and dinner with an outstanding view to the west, however the service was appalling - tourists turn up based on it's reputation and leave disappointed. We were there in December and went back twice hoping the poor service was an anomaly. Repeatedly we had to go to the bar to order drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scottschroeder0
Management response:

Dear Guest, We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services. Your Host, Team Africa House Hotel.

dar es salaam
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I recently stayed at africa house on a business trip to zanzibar,i was made most welcome from start to finish.The hotel is old but most charming and the management do there best to keep clean and comfortable.The rooms are basic but in traditional zanzibar style and everything worked nicely adding to the comfort.The bar area views are exeptional looking over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stewartDarEsSalaam
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Your Host, Team Africa House Hotel

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, in a fantastic location, that has the worst management I have seen in my life. I have stayed in many places, some luxurious, some very humble, and never had the impression that the staff could not care less about good service, and management that is practically non existent. We experienced pretty much most problems mentioned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Enrique B
Management response:

Dear Guest, We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services. Your Host, Team Africa House Hotel.

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Recently I have just got back from my holiday in Zanzibar. My two week trip was divided between Stone Town and the beach. In Stone Town I have stayed in a really nice,colonial style hotel: Africa Hotel. The place is charming with a really nice view on the ocean from one of its restaurants. During my stay I was welcomed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oqlarnica
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Your Host, Team Africa House Hotel

Lydenburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night (28 December 2012). We selected this hotel based on the colonial look and location. On arrival our sea view rooms (paid in advance) were no longer available and we had to settle for second best. A power failure added to our mood. We were disappointed with the state of the hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Henniekuit
Management response:

Dear Guest, We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services. Your Host, Team Africa House Hotel.

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Fantastic colonial place that has not lost its soul through renovation. Wonderful staircases, woodwork, old photos, signposts, lavatories. Could be used for a period film any day without much in the way of alterations! The staff are mostly lovely but a bit shy and lethargic. Unbeliavably they were out if coffee, the water came on and off. There were many...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter46773477
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Your Host, Team Africa House Hote

Reviewed December 28, 2012

DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!! Thus hotel is beautiful from the outside and HAD potential to be exquisite inside but something went wrong somewhere. We were previously at another hotel but couldn't stay there for the final day as it was full booked. So my dad booked African house hotel because he had previously had such a great stay there (must...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vgrla
Management response:

Dear Guest, We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services. Your Host, Team Africa House Hotel.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great fun, great food, beautiful view. The owners are saints. Very accommodating. Located right in the heart of Stone Town. Perfect for watching the sun set and have a few drinks!!! The service was excellent and we were treated like royalty for the duration of our stay by the owner/manager. The drinks are reasonably priced and bar staff efficient, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wazmataz
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Your Host, Team Africa House Hote

Stone Town, Tanzania
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Didnt stay in Africa house, but did come twice for a drink with fellow travellers. Terrace is great, overlooking to the sea which adds an atmosphere to the ambient. They offer a huge selection of cocktails priced for tourists. It might happen that bar runs out of many liquors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ninnna
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Your Host, Team Africa House Hotel

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (143)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
3:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#23 of 33 in Stone Town
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tausi Palace Hotel
Tausi Palace Hotel
#20 of 33 in Stone Town
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
615 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#29 of 33 in Stone Town
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The African House hotel is located within the prime and historic Stone Town overlooking the open sea and gardens and minutes from the beach and vibrant Shangani square featuring some of the best night life on the Island. The accomodation includes 15 airconditioned rooms, the Sunset Bar, The Sunset Lounge, a Turkish restaurant (yet to Open), Trade winds Restaurant (For Indian / Chinese / Continental / Italian and local dishes). A historical Library, a large conference hall, Hotel shop outlets and sea facing Shisha decks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Africa House Hotel

Address: Shangani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Price Range: $85 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Africa House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Africa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Hotel Stone Town
The Africa Hotel
The Africa House Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Africa House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms with a sea view are preferable”
902kennyt, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Deluxe room in 3rd floor was good”
Saqeee, Feb 9, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upper floor sea view”
merwee2014, May 10, 2016 | Read review
“Wifi is only in the lobby and bar”
Forrest5280, Mar 14, 2016 | Read review
“Request a sea view.”
JetSet0806, Jan 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question