Zanzibar Serena Hotel

Zanzibar Serena Hotel

Traveler (941)
Panorama at the Zanzibar Serena Hotel
360
Panoramas (17)
Hammock on our deck and view
Room & Suite (278)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
$284
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Only 1 left at
$282
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#10 of 38 hotels in Stone Town
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Looking for a place to stay in Stone Town? Then look no further than Zanzibar Serena Hotel, a family-friendly hotel that brings the best of Stone Town to your doorstep.

Zanzibar Serena Hotel is a family-friendly hotel offering a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features a 24 hour front desk, room service, and a rooftop terrace. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and free breakfast, which have made this a popular choice among travelers visiting Stone Town.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Mercury House (0.1 mi) and House of Wonders (Beit-el-Ajaib) (0.5 mi), guests of Zanzibar Serena Hotel can easily experience some of Stone Town's most well known attractions.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Stone Town's popular crab restaurants such as Forodhani Gardens, House of Spices, and Taarab Restaurant, all a short distance from Zanzibar Serena Hotel.

Should time allow, Old Slave Market/Anglican Cathedral, Forodhani Park, and Christ Church Cathedral are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Zanzibar Serena Hotel as you experience everything Stone Town has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Shangani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 4151 Tanzania
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Kisauni Airport
Dar Es Salaam Intl Airport
49.3 mi
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles943 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Zanzibar Serena Hotel is renowned for its traditional charm and historic ambiance, complete with Zanzibar-style furnishings that captivate many travelers. Guests consistently commend the immaculate rooms, which boast spacious balconies and stunning sea views, although noise can be an issue near the Sunset Bar. The hotel's location is a highlight, offering easy access to Stone Town and authentic local culture. While service is generally applauded for its professionalism, some visitors have encountered slow responses. The pool and other amenities add to the tranquil experience, despite mixed opinions on value and dining costs.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Relaxing

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
943Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 542
  • 271
  • 80
  • 32
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
berad wrote a review Jan 2020
Miami Beach, Florida18 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we are very impressed with this hotel- the woodwork,decor and charm and the layout is very very good.
in addition the location is perfect.
it sits on the beach, viewing the sunset every night. They have this happy hour with
sundowners and local live
music that you cannot beat.
In the morning for breakfast
you have the ocean breeze
cooling through the
restaurant while you sip
fresh passion fruit mimosas, aka Champassion
on white linen tables. Great service as well.
The rooms are tastefully done with balconies that overlook the pool and the ocean .incredible!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SerenaHotels, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Dear Berad28 We are truly honored and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our property exceptional in all ways. Management will be sure to share your encouraging feedback with the entire team. Thank you once again for sharing your wonderful experience and we pledge to continue offering the very best of the Serena Hospitality and Service. Sincerely Wilfred Shirima
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hanif Hirji wrote a review Sep 2021
19 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff at the Serena Hotel was amazing. The actual hotel managers Ali Ali and Abdallah Abbas actually took the time to assist me in booking rooms and getting us the best rooms ever. Every staff member of the hotel from the restaurant staff, the lobby staff, the concierge, housekeeping treated us extremely well. It felt like we were home. Suleiman Naser, who works there at the lobby was amazing and took care of any requests we had. The location of the hotel is very central to all the sightseeing tours, airport, main town, etc. We highly recommend this hotel for its amenities, staff, and location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose the Superior Room with Ocean View. Rooms 22 and 23 are fantastic.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wilfred Shirima, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Responded Sep 24, 2021
Thank you very much for sharing your excellent feedback with us. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at Zanzibar Serena Hotel and we are grateful that you chose to stay with us. We have shared with all the team your inspiring comment and we remain dedicated to giving exceptional experience to every guest at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, we hope to see you again soon! Asante Sana!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Forever Young Travel wrote a review Feb 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa270 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fabulous hotel right on the beach in Stone Town, wonderful ambience and authentic Zanzibari furnishings and tiled floors. Our room was impeccably furnished with french doors which opened onto a balcony overlooking the beach and sea. The perfect place to watch the passing parade of watercraft and people of all shapes and sizes. Breakfast every day in the restaurant was as close to the beach as you can get and the cooked buffet offered a delicious selection of local food, fresh fruit, eggs to order and more.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Taxis available right outside, negotiate the rate before you go. Walkabout Stone Town to the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wilfred Shirima, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Responded Apr 3, 2022
Dear Lizlin Thank you very much for taking the time to review and share your wonderful experience about your last stay with us, we are very pleased to hear that it was a pleasant one. I am also very delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast as much as you enjoyed your room. I will be sure to let our dedicated team know how much of an impact they made on your experience. Thank you once again for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Wilfred Shirima
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nikita Versace wrote a review Jan 2020
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my family visited the Serena Hotel for a short two night stay over Xmas and we were underwhelmed by the service, the rooms and the Xmas entertainment. The sea is dirty, the pool had so much chlorine that our eyes burned, the rooms had a lovely terrace that joined up and all the outside furniture was stuffed in our room for us to set up and there was an ironing board next to our bed (but no iron). The shower was leaking from the top and there was black mould (one of the striking features of stone town - it’s everywhere you look). The only thing we enjoyed was the breakfast room and the dinner on the roof terrace, service and food was delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SerenaHotels, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Dear Nikita Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback and on behalf of the team here, I am very disappointed to hear that you found our program and service over Christmas to be below the usual high Serena standard and it underwhelmed your experience. We always pride ourselves on delivering the best of the Serena hospitality and service so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the shortcomings. Management and staff have shared this feedback and appropriate actions taken. We hope that you can give us another opportunity to be of better service to you in the future. Sincerely Wilfred Shirima
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nelus Rossouw wrote a review Oct 2023
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa94 contributions59 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at the Serena Hotel in Zanzibar was truly delightful. The hotel's historic furnishings and charming ambiance created a unique and pleasant atmosphere. The property was meticulously maintained, and we found it easy to relax with sundowner drinks by the pool while watching the world go by. The staff was exceptionally friendly, and we were particularly impressed by Room 51, which offered an awe-inspiring view.

Notably, the price was quite reasonable for the exceptional experience it provided. The view from the hotel was simply unbelievable, overlooking the sea and granting easy access to the beach. Located right in Stonetown, it was convenient for exploring the area on foot, and we appreciated the easy access to various excursions on this side of the island.

The room was a true gem, featuring a spacious veranda complete with a comfortable hammock. The fantastic air conditioning added to the comfort, and the thoughtful touch of scattered rose petals on the floor and a complimentary bottle of red wine enhanced the experience. Room 51, with its wrap-around veranda, offered a prime location with stunning views of the sea and the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Zanzibar s, Other at Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Responded Oct 31, 2023
Dear Jeffreys, Thank you so much for this review, we really appreciate you being a customer. It’s great to hear that you found our location appealing and you enjoyed your stay. We will share this with the team to let them know to keep up the amazing work. Thank you and I hope to see you soon. Zanzibar Serena Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sigita S wrote a review Sep 2023
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed over for two days at Serena before taking our flight back to Europe. The hotel is in the best location to visit Stone Town. All places of interest are just minutes away, and at the same time you can enjoy the freshness of sea breeze while at the hotel. You can admire the most beautiful sunsets from your room or one of the restaurants, watching dhows sailing by. A truly romantic experience. Food is locally inspired and delicious. Staff is very attentive and helpful.
The hotel is housed in beautiful historic buildings and has very nice Zanzibar style furniture and decoration. However bathrooms could be renovated, there are some leaks.

Also, though the hotel features 3 green leaves on Booking for sustainability and claims it has no miniature toilette supplies, no beverages or water in plastic bottles, in fact it provides creams and conditioners in plastic tubes (though these same items are also available in the hotel in reusable glass containers), as well as water in plastic bottles (on booking it says it has a water dispenser, but there is none). The hotel could eliminate single use plastics as it advertises on Booking, especially given that there is almost no plastic recycling in the island, drowning Zanzibar’s sea and beaches in plastic litter.
Also if you have sensitive sleep, ask not to put you in southern flank rooms as the Sunset Bar which plays loud music until late at night is right next to the hotel (you don’t hear it in other parts of the hotel).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Zanzibar s, Other at Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Responded Sep 3, 2023
Dear, Sigita Thank you for taking time to write your comments and appreciation, We always welcome feedback from our valued guests to help us maintain and improve our product and services. we have taken particular note of the shortfalls you mentioned for correction. thank you for being customer we hope we will see you soon. Zanzibar Serena Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PL Henry wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Serena hotel is a lovely old world hotel that evokes an air of nostalgia for the early days on this island. The hotel is charming and the staff is very attentive. Our stay was enhanced by Amina who ensured us that we would be happy with our room and indeed we were. We had an ocean front room with a spacious balcony and a hammock. Watching the sunset from our balcony was absolutely amazing. Room 53 is a gem.
The restaurant was top notch and such an elegant environment. The wait staff was so professional ensuring that each meal was served properly. The restaurant manager, Haiha (spelling) was very concerned that on one occasion there was a problem with my dinner, which I assured him it wasn’t. His concern was greatly appreciated.
The doormen were absolutely helpful and attentive and ensured that were helped with baggage, information and directions that we needed. I believe Mussa was not working on the day that we checked out. Many thanks to him for his personal service.
The location of this hotel is great and is walking distance to shopping, historical sights and many restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Zanzibar Serena Hotel, Other at Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Responded Jul 15, 2022
Dear Plhenry, Thank you for taking time to write your comments and appreciation on Tripadvisor. We always welcome feedback from our valued guests to help us maintain and improve our product and services. It gives us great pleasure in knowing that you had an enjoyable stay. On behalf of the team and myself, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed our services. Thank you for visiting and we hope you will return soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
saltsy372 wrote a review Dec 2023
North Port, Florida366 contributions166 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice hotel, right in the heart of Stone Town.
Within walking distance of the harbor, island boats, Freddie Mercury Museum, Zanzibar bazaar and spice shops and the original slave auction markets.
The hotel has a strong middle eastern influence, which is natural as Zanzibar is heavily Muslim and very strongly influenced, architecturally around that culture.
We were originally booked into a standard room on the ground floor, with no pool or water view, but upgraded as soon as we arrived to a deluxe room on the 2nd level.
This room was much larger and had a huge verandah around 2 sides, with sitting area on 2 locations and a huge hammock as well.
We overlooked the water on 2 sides and often had breakfast delivered to the room so we could eat outside and watch the activity.
Sunsets were stunning
The only downside of being on the 2nd level or higher is that there is no elevator or lift. stairs are the only way to get to the room.
The room had plenty of room with a huge canopy style bed, with mosquito netting that is set when they come in to do the turndown. They also spray outside on deck.
All the windows have plantation shutters to control the light.
Furniture is middle eastern in design, with plenty of dark wood and lattice, including arches and carved wood. there are a couple of desks, TV (we never turned on a TV the whole tome we were in Africa), storage stands for luggage, wardrobes with a safe and bath robes. laundry is also available.
The foyer is large and inviting with a lot of activity. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There ids always a wandering concierge to assist with anything. He was wonderful. There is a booking office for tours in the foyer, shop down half a flight of steps towards the main restaurant.
Restaurants include a breakfast area, coffee shop and wine bar, a seafood restaurant up stairs above the main restaurant which is open air. Both are over the water.
The pool right next to the main restaurant. There is a spa and massage area upstairs which is very good.
If you have ever been to traditional hotels or Riad style accommodations anywhere in North Africa or the middle east, you will understand the term "rabbit warrens" and this hotel has a lot of those elements with different levels everywhere sometimes connected by 4 or 5 stairs and lots of side track areas where you can get very lost to start with. The old parts of the towns in these areas are the same, with little alley ways and corridors all over the place, sometimes going nowhere, other times opening to something important. Just takes a while to find your way around.
In summary the hotel was very comfortable, with pretty good food in the restaurants, good room service and delicious breakfasts whether in the restaurants or room service.
The only negative would be the stairs, but an elevator would probably spoil the charm of the hotel.
Would certainly stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a deluxe room upstairs over looking the water. The extra cost is well worthwhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Zanzibar s, Other at Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Responded Dec 17, 2023
Dear Saltsy, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave an excellent rating. It’s great to hear that you found our location appealing and would like to confirm that we have planned various renovation projects to enhance the overall guest experience where by lift is one the projects we are working on. thank you for the business I hope you will return soon. Zanzibar Serena Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GabrielleLG wrote a review Sep 2022
Camps Bay, South Africa18 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Only a short stroll to town yet away enough from the buzzing noises you will enjoy a beautiful setting next to the ocean. The historic buildings of Serena Hotel contribute to a feeling of an exciting bygone era . The staff is so friendly and kind , a real pleasure , every bit of the hotel a sparkling and clean experience. The hotel manager Mr Uledi sorted out a problem we had with the taxi fare in an efficient and hospitality oriented way which left us with a very positive feeling about Serena . We were astounded how small a premium room for over 500 Dollar/ night was and solved the problem with storing our suitcases on the big balcony/ terrace .
We had a lovely time at Serena .
Thank you to all staff taking good care of guests.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Inquire and compare shuttle service fares beforehand.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Zanzibar s, Other at Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Responded Oct 23, 2022
dear Gabrielle L. Much appreciation for taking time to write your comments. It gives us great pleasure in knowing that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for visiting and we hope you will return soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Murrali wrote a review Mar 2022
22 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
How do we begin ....When a hotel becomes a home and staff become family . We booked this hotel last minute as our 2 week holiday at Sandies Boabab in Nungwe was cut short after 10days due to a medical emergency ( Operation at Global Private Hospital in Stone Town )
We were upgraded ( my sister and I ) to a superior room ( 52 ) We would wake every morning to the sound of waves below our terrace and hammock. Every single staff member showed us kindness beyond our expectations . From our packed fruit and chilled juices which we had to take to my husband in hospital ...to organizing our amazing driver Omari ( endless trips twice a day for hospital visits )This was our sanctuary to come back to . We don't think we would have survived the 10 days without this amazing hotel and staff . Great lunches at the pool in the heat of the day , views and perfectly positioned to walk to our favorite restaurants at night . The Beach House , Cape Town Fish Market , 6 Degrees . Room service on our terrace . When we got the call to medivac late one night , we never had a chance to say goodbye . We left a piece of our soul at Serena . Colonial charm and the awesome Spa ladies .We will be back one day with Babu
Tip . The best coffee Roaster - Puzzle is a few minutes walk away .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wilfred Shirima, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Responded Apr 3, 2022
Dear Murrali Thank you very much for taking the time to review and share your wonderful experience about your last stay with us, we are very pleased to hear that it was a pleasant one. We thank you for choosing Serena and we so look forward to your next visit to Zanzibar, we will be honoured to host you again. Sincerely Wilfred Shirima
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RickH7612 asked a question Dec 2022
Newcastle, United Kingdom320 contributions29 helpful votes
Is there Inter connecting rooms available?
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
R.H, we have connecting rooms and it is available confirm the number of rooms required and dates. Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Answer from Cathy G
4 contributions
Yes it does. We travelled af a group and got a rate of US$25 per van carrying about 10 people, one way.
Answer from David H
Manly, Australia130 contributions75 helpful votes
It’s the buffet. Perfectly ok but nothing special.
Answer from Ellen T
New York City, New York35 contributions6 helpful votes
Did not hear anything about a refurbishing during our stay at the end of August. Room was in good condition and bathroom seemed pretty new.
Answer from Monterey
Cape Town Central, South Africa976 contributions134 helpful votes
It could be any name You will see at check in
iqbal Shamji wrote a tip Apr 2024
Cambridge, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best in Zanzibar."
Read full review
pernodladyleeds wrote a tip Feb 2024
Leeds, United Kingdom32 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of good restaurants nearby for your evening meals"
Read full review
DavidDundonald wrote a tip Jan 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom878 contributions544 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you can't climb stairs - you better let them know in advance. There is no lift. "
Read full review
TomM1951 wrote a tip Jan 2024
South Windsor, Connecticut582 contributions285 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room with an ocean view"
Read full review
Pieter_Mari wrote a tip Jan 2024
Saldanha Bay Municipality, South Africa154 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be mindful when you exchange currency at reception. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stone Town area.
PRICE RANGE
$305 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
zanzibar serena hotel stone town, zanzibar serena stone town
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandZanzibar CityStone Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ZANZIBAR SERENA HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Zanzibar Serena Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Aromas of Zanzibar (0.3 miles), The Coins Shop (0.3 miles), and Zivansh (0.00 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Zanzibar Serena Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Zanzibar Serena Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Zanzibar Serena Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Zanzibar Serena Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Zanzibar Serena Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Breadfruit Restaurant & Cafe, Puzzle Coffee Shop, and Taarab Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Zanzibar Serena Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Zanzibar Serena Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Zanzibar Serena Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Zanzibar Serena Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Zanzibar Serena Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Zanzibar Serena Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Stone Town HotelsStone Town Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Stone TownHotels near Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars