We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 89: English reviews
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited this hotel for only one night stay. It is located in Malindi area which is just few metres away from the sea port. It is a new hotel, the room was nice and clean, bed was comfortable, tv was there though it had very few channels, bathroom was clean, their services were good. This hotel didn't have swimming pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank saleem-khatri
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Golden Tulip ( formerly the Gran Palace) for 3 nights while in Stone Town. The location was perfect for touring around the old town and being close to the shore and restaurants. The air conditioning worked in all of our rooms and that was essential since Stone Town was extremely hot. The managers were really kind and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MDW789
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MDW789 We are glad to have host you here in Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique and we thank you for your kind and positive review. In behalf of all the staff of the Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel Asante sana na Karibu Tena. The Management

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights. I have been to Africa a few times before so I keep my expectation low for hotel. However: 1. Lift was broken. Appreciate that Management was aware and compensate the inconvenience with free room service. However, during my 3 day stay, I didn't see anyone working on fixing the lift. Hakuna matata! 2. Air-Conditioning not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thuynguyen209
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thuynguyen209, thanks to have taken the time to review our hotel, we will take your comments as suggestion to improve our service. Unfortunately You never seen person fix the elevator because we are waiting the spears from abroad, unfortunately neither in Zanzibar neither in Tanzania they have the spears necessary to fix this elevator problem. Kindly allow me to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the Golden Tulip three nights this past summer and again for another three nights in December. For a midrange hotel it's a good choice. If you're travelling alone the price point is great, but as a couple I find it a little steep. The location is great - right across from the ferry terminal. The breakfast that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renata R
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Renata R, many thanks for your positive review and we apologize for the inconvenient that you had with our front office service. We take your comments as important suggestion to improve our service for the future. In behalf of all the Hotel 's Staff Asante Sana na Karibu Tena! The Management

Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well located hotel with simple and very clean rooms. Helpfull staff and great choice of breakfast on a sunny terrace. Reasonable way to spent a night or two in Stonetown. Close to the all attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emily B we loved your enthusiastic review at our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the short future when we will have the new service of the pool and the new gym. Thanks you and welcome to Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique. The Management

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 13, 2016

The hotel has just been taken over. All the rooms had newly been decorated and were very clean. They are in process of building a swimming pool in the garden which I think will be excellent when finished. The down side, the lift was not working due to the renevations being carried out. We dined on the roof top for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wilsons70
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wilsons70, All the Staff of the hotel is glad to have hosted you in our hotel and we hope to see you again in order to show you the new finalized garden pool! Thanks for your positive review, Karibu Zanzibar. The Management

Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

Close to the historic Old Town (where most of the old buildings are actually made of coral!) this beautiful resort is ideally located in the West Coast of Zanzibar, with easy access to the world famous Prison Island where you will witness Darwin's theory of evolution in progress while standing in the midst of giant tortoises (their second home after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SajiVarghese
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SajiVarghese, We are glad to have hosted you here in Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique and we thank you for your kind and positive review. In behalf of all the staff of the Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel Asante sana na Karibu Tena. The Management

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed November 3, 2016

I stayed here for one night en route from Arusha to my beach resort. It was very comfortable and more than adequate for my requirements. Great location for exploring Stone Town and staff more than happy to assist and give directions etc. Don't expect a glass of wine with dinner as this is a 'no-alcohol' facility, but food and service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catherine o, we are glad to have host you here in Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique and we thank you for your kind and positive review. In behalf of all the staff of the Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel Asante sana na Karibu Tena. The Management

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 28, 2016

So convenient for the Port and for meandering through old Stonetown. Has a great rooftop terrace for breakfast, but no pool or bar. The service was genuinely caring with exceptional management. Super location for restaurants, beach and historical buildings. Concierge staff excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudyG53
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JudyG53, thanks for your kind and positive comments, in behalf of all the Staff of the Hotel we are glad to have hosted you in Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique and we hope to have the opportunity to accomodate you again in order to show you all the new service provided by the hotel. Asante Sana na karibu tena The...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed September 21, 2016

Had a good time, loved the friendly staff, the Zanzibar decor. A walking distance from the port and to and from a lot of necessities. Taxis were very accessible. However the breakfast needs improvement to include Zanzibari cuisine. Otherwise Hakuna Matata!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamila_abri
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jamila_abri thanks for your kind and positive comments, in behalf of all the Staff of the Hotel we are glad to have hosted you in Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique and we hope to have the opportunity to accomodate you again in order to show you all the improvement done in the hotel Asante Sana na karibu tena The Management

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
#22 of 33 in Stone Town
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#28 of 33 in Stone Town
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
#29 of 33 in Stone Town
5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#20 of 33 in Stone Town
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beyt Al Salaam
Beyt Al Salaam
#21 of 33 in Stone Town
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"International Standards, Local Flavors" Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique offers all those amenities that give the perfect frame for enjoying a stay in Zanzibar's capital before or after safari. The ideal place to discover Stone town from it is located within one hour drive from any of Zanzibar's beaches and attractions. Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique is a replica of a historic building located in the city center of Stone town opposite to the ferry terminal. Our guest can enjoy a stunning sea town view from THE TERRACE RESTAURANT. Located at the Top Floor, the Terrace menu a la carte, presents a selection of Continental and International dishes that can be consumed enjoying an incredible 360 degree Ocean and Stonetown scenery. All highlights of this beautifully city, recognized as UNESCO heritage sight, such as the house of wonders, Forodhani gardens, the old fort, Darajiani market (...) are within walking distance as well as the numerous shops, restaurants and nightspots. GT Zanzibar Boutique's rooms are decorated to ensure a traditional picturesque and soothing environment and are designed to meet all your needs. We offer at total of 33 rooms and in addition the property offers a state of the art conference facility as well as event venues that can accommodate up to 350 people comfortably. All rooms are fully furnished to meet the highest International Standard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel

Address: Malindi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 25524, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel)
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Price Range: $84 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Jovago.com so you can book your Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“rooms overlooking the back would be best”
 of 5 bubbles Wilsons70, Dec 13, 2016 | Read review
“Maybe ask NOT to have room overlooking front entrance and the busy street”
  • Moorish and cool
 of 5 bubbles JudyG53, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“Amazing sea view from the restaurant top floor, very close to ferry boat terminal”
 of 5 bubbles 512yuri, Jun 21, 2016 | Read review
“The rooms faced on the garden are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles miremirella, Apr 1, 2016 | Read review
“Check the air conditioner for leaking water and make sure your belongings are placed far away as they will get soaked.”
 of 5 bubbles Sharmeen115, Oct 26, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay