We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Hotel Kiponda

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Kiponda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 85: English reviews
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Kiponda B&B is a great little place. The communication prior to my arrival was flawless, including the pickup at the airport and room booking, and the website is nice and up to date. The rooms differs in size - I stayed at Kiponda two times in two different rooms, and both rooms were good and cool - no need for... More 

Helpful?
Thank annagade2016
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of Kiponda is perfect for walking in and around Stone Town. Our room was very simple, but comfortable with a good air conditioner. Communication was good before arrival, and the service was efficient. The breakfast wasn't quite as extensive as the website pictures make it appear, but it was sufficient.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
Salmazanzibar, Manager at Hotel Kiponda, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, Thanks for taking the time to write a review even after 7 months. We are glad we stayed on your mind for such a long time and it seems in a quite positive way. If you are still located in Kenya maybe you want to come back for the Stone Town Food Festival in October. And we hope... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We paid 60 usd for a double room with bathroom in an authentic building in stone town. The room was spacious, traditional arabic, very beautifull. Breakfast on rooftop was delicious. Kind service. Small negative: wifi was not working in the room, only on the roof. Room had fan, but no functioning airconditioning.

Helpful?
Thank Lukas V
Salmazanzibar, Manager at Hotel Kiponda, responded to this review

Hello Lukas, thanks for your review. We are happy you liked our style and enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding A/C: There might have been a miscommunication. You booked a room without A/C. The room we gave you had an A/C but it was switched off due to the booking. Rooms including A/C are charged differently. If a guest has... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

Lovely building and a great location for the ferry terminal and Fordhani Gardens. My room (15) was comfortable and had a huge bathroom but was quite noisy as it overlooked what seemed to be a place to park motorbikes. But it was clean and the fan kept it pretty cool. The breakfast on the roof was good and the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank kezzer1976
Chico, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016

Highly recommended little hotel with only a couple dozen rooms but nice Zanzibar/Omani architecture. Kiponda is basic, with few if any frills (no AC in my room but there are some with). But it covered the essentials well, with firm beds, crowded but comfortable rooms, working shower and hot water, fan, nets, comfortable non-view terrace on top for a basic... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoelZ195
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff and a fair breakfast for this price range. Rooms are clean and the beds have mosquito nets. For breakfast you get fresh fruits, toast, eggs, coffee and tea. It's close to the city center and you can walk everywhere. Free wifi is also available.

Helpful?
Thank Andre F
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay at Kiponda hotel. Room was nice. Shower was broken, but was fixed the next day. Loved the roof terrace, which was a great place to eat breakfast and relax in the evenings. Breakfast was very nice with eggs to order, fresh fruit, and toast. French press coffee was a real treat! Only difficulty was obtaining a beer... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MTS13
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016

Nice hotel in old town of Stone town, well located just few meters near House of wonders and Darajani gardens. The building it’s in traditional style with good atmosphere, beautiful terrace where it’s served the breakfast and where you can rest ll day. Good and complete breakfast, efficient staff, you can book with them all the excursions and services you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lola B
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2016

Kiponda B&B was just what we needed in Stone Town. We were there for 2 nights and enjoyed the quaint room that had a fan and AC. What was so appealing was the location- just a short walk from the park, waterfront, and other attractions. Kiponda was able to set up our excursions, too. The breakfast was simple, but good:... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2016

I stayed in Kiponda for 2 nights in Jan. 2016. The overall experience is not impressive at all. The email response for my inquiry was replied very quickly. When I asked for direction from ferry to hotel, I was told someone will meet me at the ferry. I emailed several days prior to my arrival to let them know my... More 

Helpful?
Thank BlueSea97
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#16 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#13 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 34 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hotel Kiponda

Address: Nyumba Ya Moto St | PO Box 3446, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Price Range: $66 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kiponda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kiponda Zanzibar Island/Stone Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay