We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:This business is temporarily closed until 5/31/24

Hotel Riu Turquoise

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (3588)
Room & Suite (385)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Riu Class Benefits
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#6 of 10 hotels in Le Morne
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.3
Value
4.2
The Hotel Riu Turquoise, which is located on the island of Mauritius is the perfect choice for a holiday on the heavenly beaches of the Le Morne Peninsula. Mauritius is known for its relaxing and exotic atmosphere, as a favourite destination for romantic honeymooners and couples, and as an acclaimed meeting place for diving and snorkelling enthusiasts. Its wild nature, the immensity of its beaches and the abundant natural spaces make it a paradise. Our RIU Turquoise hotel is an exclusive 24-hour All-Inclusive service and an unforgettable family getaway to one of the world’s most beautiful locations. We offer more than 380 rooms, with their cosy décor, which have been designed to make your stay perfect thanks to several amenities, including comfortable beds, a minibar, a lounge area and a balcony or terrace. Do not miss the three wonderful pools with a sun deck and sun loungers where you can feel the sea breeze or enjoy refreshments and cocktails in the swim-up bar, exclusively for adults. Come and enjoy the wide variety of dining options that will awaken all your senses! You can start your day with buffet breakfasts and live cooking stations, in the main restaurant. We also offer delicious lunches and dinners that will surprise your senses. Discover exotic flavours at the à la carte Indian restaurant or try the Steakhouse’s delicious dishes. Chill with a nice drink and a snack at the bars. What is more, our hotel is on the best beach in Le Morne. You will have a blast with our entertainment options for all ages: outdoor activities, fun for the little ones of the family all day long, a pool with slides for children, the Riu Fit fitness programme for adults and much more! You will feel like in heaven in the crystal-clear waters of the Mauritian coast, where you can go snorkelling, kayaking or scuba diving, or simply spend the day relaxing on the sun loungers, in the exclusive area for our hotel guests on the beach. If you are looking for an experience to renew your body and mind, come to the Renova Spa and book any treatments that you fancy. In the evenings, we offer a varied entertainment programme with live music and shows for all ages! Undoubtedly the best hotel in Mauritius, an island known for its white sandy beaches, turquoise blue sea and pleasant year-round climate and a natural beauty. We highly recommend excursions to such fascinating places as the imposing Le Morne Brabant mountain, the 7 Coloured Earths, the Tamarin Falls or Grand Bassin and the impressive Trou aux Cerfs. Enjoy its charming towns and the lively capital, Port Louis. Discover this melting pot of cultures, ethnicities, cuisines and nature with RIU Hotels & Resorts.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Canoeing offsite
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Lagoon View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Offer:Riu Class Benefits

Location

Pointe Sud Ouest, Le Morne, Mauritius 91202
Hotel Riu Turquoise
2,553Reviews461Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,253
  • 741
  • 263
  • 138
  • 158
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Cardiff, United Kingdom190 contributions141 helpful votes
Good hotel with nice location and good food choice. We came here in October just before the hotel was closing for a refurb. When we arrived we had booked a family room, but we preferred a room overlooking the sea with a balcony and the kind front desk staff kindly swapped us. The room was spacious and clean. With great sea views. The food was good and good choice. Although a lot of the service in the main restaurant was slow or non-existent. We had long waits for when asking for tea in the morning or glasses and when you went up to get your own, because of the wait half the time there were none there. Although some of the waiter's did give us very good service but they were in the minority. The location is good but be warned the beach had strong winds on most days and there were alot of rocks which made it difficult to get in right in front of the hotel , plus to many windsurfers unless you walked further down the beach a few hundred yards where there were no rocks around the corner to the right. We enjoyed the outside bars although sometimes long queues . Good choices of cocktails, even though sometimes some weren't available. Some parts of the hotel looked a bit tired, hence the shutting for the refurbishment. Although some issues we did very much enjoy our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Get your own glasses etc as long waits otherwise usually
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SAUNAK S wrote a review Oct 2022
Siliguri, India120 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Check in was prompt, the room was on the second floor accessible with easy, wide staircases, and view was seaview. The food items were tasty, and choices from all the continents were in the buffet. Snacks bar and lobby cocktail bar was open 24x7, and there was always the freedom to take a cocktail or a snack in take away containers and sit in any spot of the beach or the pool or the garden, implying that one doesn't have to sit inside to finish the cocktails and snacks. The mobility of all-inclusive boarders with food and drinks in their hands was thus, leisurely and not regimented, unlike in some all-inclusives in Maldives that I had experienced before. This is one of the best aspects of this hotel. The scenic beauty was awesome, the fun events for the boarders were frequent and vivacious, and overall, a jolly good vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cosmin C wrote a review Jan 2023
Timisoara, Romania152 contributions95 helpful votes
This hotel is located on a small peninsula (Le Morne) and it is the most western point from Mauritius. And this makes a perfect place to watch the skies, even if you are not intending it. I have never seen such a sky and I do not know if possible to rent a telescope, but if it is, you should do it. I regret not doing it while I was there. There is another fantastic opportunity if you stay there: the sunsets. Rarely I have seen a similar spectacle. The hotel itself it is not extraordinary, but it doesn't matter that much. Huge rooms, enough restaurants, beside the main one, even if one of them was closed during our stay there. You have plenty other reasons to enjoy the island and everything else. The beach is great, the people from the hotel more than nice! The food is also good for an all-inclusive resort! You could practice water sports for free, I think even the scuba is "included". And there are three pools, one is for kids.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Shani wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with our 2 children in August 2022 and instead of having a relaxing holiday, we ended up with lots of stress dealing with housekeeping and front office staff: 1. When we checked-in, We did NOT feel welcomed at all and all the questions and requests asked to Reception staff were denied with rudeness. It was holiday season and the hotel takes on lots of bookings and the staff just cannot cope with a busy hotel. Irrespective customer service does not exist in this place! Bar staff near the beach are very Rude! 2. When we checked into the Room, we found dirty bed sheets and blankets both in the kids Room and main bedroom. We called Reception so many times I lost count and spent hours waiting for someone to turn up! In the end I ask for the duty manager who was “shocked” to see how disgusting the laundry was (see pics) 3. This hotel is sold as All Inclusive and is expensive for the service & housekeeping disasters, you can get better elsewhere! Better avoid if you want a relaxing time with family and book somewhere else- there’s many options!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Turquoise
Responded Dec 12, 2022
Dear Sham, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Riu Creole. We are certainly sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay. Our goal is to provide a great experience for all visitors to the hotel. Please accept our apologies. These issues are not indicative of the high standards that we strive for, so that we have immediately shared your feedback with our Management Team. Your feedback means the world to us as it only makes us better! We do appreciate you staying with us and regret that we were not able to leave you with the same positive impression that is appreciated by so many of our guests. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future proving that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception! Warm regards, Hotel Riu Creole Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ValerieRohan wrote a review Oct 2022
Beau Bassin - Rose Hill7 contributions
+1
Great hotel, good food, good entertainment. Staff in general friendly. Cocktails could be better. Some guests were really acting like pi#* though. The pool is just great but sometimes too crowned. Kids section unattended with pool overflow not working. Chris was great despite all guests checking in at the same time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sharmila M wrote a review Oct 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa5 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a family of 6 holiday and the friendliness and helpful smiles from staff is what mostly stood out for.me. Clint from reception was ever willing and so helpful to our requests and the kind hearted chef, Rakesh from Bangalore restaurant spolit us with delicious meals. The return time to attend to calls from hotel room took a little longer , but overall I highly recommend this hotel and wish it the very best with the renovation plans.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Heli05 wrote a review Oct 2022
Londonium15 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
A hotel is souless without its staff. We were reluctant about staying 10 nights including the penultimate week prior to the Riu Creole and Riu LeMorne closing for a full 18 month rebuild after 25 years of operation, particularly with some of the recent reviews. I'm glad to say the staff members went out of their way to ensure we had the time of our lives in the hotel paired with it's stunning location; Moussa the general manager was a Godsend in ensuring all was well and making sure we had a superb stay, Morrocan hospitality in Mauritius at its best. The deputy manager Rishi efficiently organised our rooms and a custom menu for a magical beach dinner to celebrate our 15 yr wedding anniversary and 40th birthdays. Rakesh the talented chef at Bangalore with his team executed the authentic varied Indian cuisine from our custom menu, gracing the beachfront gondala table and our stomachs which we were extremely grateful for. Thanks to Ghislane the part time amateur chef at the buffet (studying Business Management) for kindly cooking up delicious custom pasta dishes when the vegetarian options were a little sparse. Steve and other waiters from Nigeria for their patience, the lovely cleaning staff who silently and efficiently went about cleaning the buffet restaurant floors spotlessly after hoardes of guests and their babies dropped food sometimes uneccesarily. Of course a shout out goes to the housekeeping staff for their hard work cleaning our rooms. These guys sometimes are forgotten amongst the usual hustle and bustle but perform an important unsung role in ensuring the hotel maintains its standards. Odela the lovely towel lady who exuded positivity every morning at 8am setting up the upbeat mood for guests for the rest of the day. The whole animation team who were very inclusive to all guests ensuring we could improve our water polo, volleyball, yoga and aqua gym skills. In addition they kept the night time theatre entertainment going, which must require long hrs and dedication. The efficient bartenders who maintained their composure under sometimes long queues. What I loved about all of the people above was the fact they all adored their jobs, were always genuinely smiling and having great satisfaction in ensuring guests were experiencing an excellent holiday. We were genuinely sad to leave after such a fun time, having met so many great staff and new connections from around the world. So the advice I have for the Riu management is please ensure the soul (the great staff) is kept intact for the newly refurbished Riu hotel to shine even stronger for a new era.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: The hotel will be closed for a 18-24 month rebuild.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Khevna S wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
I never bother writing reviews, but I'm genuinely shocked as to how this place has a 4 star rating. Currently staying here and the hospitality and cleanliness have been the worst I've experienced in my entire existence. You cannot even walk around your hotel room without having gunk stuck to your feet, it is sticky and smells of humidity which is disgusting. The bath tub is a big turn off to look at, very unkempt. At the main restaurant the waiters don't clean the tables and mats, *experiment* you can use a wet wipe to clean down the table & mats and see how brown/black it gets. The tables are very sticky, and when asked to clean down, the staff don't like it. You get served used cutlery too. The pool was filty inside and out, we used it the first day and were out in 10 minutes. If you are unable to keep up with the standards of 4 star you should admit it and publish it on the internet, at least people will know what to expect. You're a 2-3 star hotel at this point.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Turquoise
Responded Oct 25, 2022
Dear khevnas2022, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback about your current stay with us. We are so sorry to hear that your first impression of Hotel Riu Creole is not a positive one, when the majority of our guests do appear to be satisfied with our standards of quality and service. However, we are not able to track your reservation with the provided Tripadvisor username. We would love nothing more than to have a chance to regain your trust before your departure, so we always encourage guests who are still at the hotel to contact our Front Desk staff in order to resolve any issues during the stay. It is our hope that your stay gets turned around for you and encourage you to let us know if there is anything else, we can do to make things right. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Creole Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ash wrote a review Oct 2022
44 contributions23 helpful votes
Me and my wife stayed at this hotel. The staff were very attentive and the their service was great. The food was amazing and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A special mention to Dev in catering and chef Rakesh Dogra in the Bangalore restaurant who looked after us extremely well. Thank you to you all.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stoned74 wrote a review Oct 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom115 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
Fantastically locate hotel. Brilliant for water sports. A little tired but you have to understand it’s closing later this year to be rebuilt. Staff are fantastic apart from the over worked ‘Michael’ at the beach bar …. Gets a little stressed when it’s coming up to closing ….. mainly as the queue gets rather long as the sunsets are out of this world …. Anyway other bar is only 20 metres away! If you can’t find anything to suit you to eat, simple stay at home and cook yourself …. Choice is fantastic Will be back in a few years to visit the new hotel
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Rather windy , but fantastic for all water sports
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Le Morne area.
PRICE RANGE
$268 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MauritiusRiviere Noire DistrictLe Morne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
390
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL RIU TURQUOISE - Prices & Reviews (Le Morne, Mauritius)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Turquoise
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Turquoise?
Nearby attractions include Underwater Waterfall (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Turquoise?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Turquoise?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Turquoise?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Turquoise?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Turquoise?
Conveniently located restaurants include The East Restaurant, Floating Market, and Simply India.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Turquoise?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Turquoise have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Riu Turquoise offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Riu Turquoise?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Turquoise?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Martello Tower Museum (8.4 miles).
Does Hotel Riu Turquoise have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.