20 Degrés Sud

20 Degrés Sud

Traveler (1554)
Panorama of the Austral Pool at the 20 Degres Sud Hotel
360
Panoramas (8)
20 Degrés Sud
Videos (3)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, May 26
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
$605
Fully refundable before Sun, May 26
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
$605
$352
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#8 of 34 hotels in Grand Baie
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Discover an intimate 5-star boutique hotel and the only Relais & Châteaux property in Mauritius! Nestled behind a grand oak carriage door in a former coconut grove along the lagoon. Our charming colonial-style hotel offers a tastefully furnished retreat, where tranquillity and elegance meet. Step into our rooms and be greeted by soft, neutral tones that beautifully contrast with the blue of the sea and the lush green of the coconut trees. Each space is thoughtfully designed to provide a serene and comfortable ambiance for our guests. Indulge in a culinary journey at our restaurant L’Explorateur, where fusion cuisine infused with local and international flavors awaits. But that's not all – 20 Degrés Sud Sud has more to offer: Step aboard the M/S Lady Lisbeth, the oldest motorboat on the island, for a magical dinner under the stars in the tranquil waters of the Pointe aux Canonniers bay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Boating
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German

Location

Coastal Road Pointe Malartic, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 52 out of 100
52
S. Seewoosagur Ram. Intl Airport
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,097 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

20 Degrés Sud hotel is frequently commended for its friendly and attentive service, although occasional disorganization has been noted by some guests. The hotel's location by the sea is often described as premium and picturesque, despite the chance of windy conditions. Cleanliness is a high point, with travelers consistently praising the well-maintained rooms and efficient housekeeping. While guests enjoy the comfortable, well-furnished rooms with beautiful views, the value proposition is sometimes questioned due to costs associated with dining and services. The amenities, including various activities and quality food, generally receive positive remarks, yet the spa is considered pricey. The hotel's atmosphere is distinguished by its boutique charm and personalized touches, creating a luxurious and welcoming environment.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Comprehensive

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,097Review44Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 807
  • 207
  • 53
  • 18
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jayne1931 wrote a review Nov 2023
Bolton, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a fantastic place this is
I’m sat on my balcony writing this review
All I can say is faultless
Manisha helping us with our room - what a lovely lady.
The reception staff were brilliant, helpful at all times.
The lads sailing us over the bay superb
The guys on the bar again brilliant
Lastly but not least the food and food service staff, these people are absolutely fantastic. The food at this hotel is as good as anything we have had, and we have been fortunate where we have eaten around the world.
I highly recommend the lady lisbeth boat for an off shore dining experience.
I will recommend this place to anyone and I think the 1980’s hit by the Kane Gang
“ the closest thing to heaven “ sums 20 Degres Sud up perfectly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lindley Thomen, Directeur général at 20 Degrés Sud
Responded Nov 26, 2023
Dear Mrs Jayne & Mr Glen, greetings from 20 Degrés Sud, where you just spent your holidays. Thank you for this beautifully written feedback on our team members, our food, and the Lady Lisbeth. Rest reassured that I will personally pass on your message to my team with special mention to Manisha. I am also glad to read that we are up to your expectations and thank you for highly recommending us. Knowing that you were on your balcony writing this review give even more importance to it and the way you summed up the Resort is really touching. We hope to have pleasure to welcoming you back again in a near future. I do wish you both an amazing end of Year 2023. My best personal regards to you, Lindley Thomen, General Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cocktailcarol wrote a review Oct 2021
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom18 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment you enter the Hotel through the impressive double-doors, the feeling is of an oasis of calm and serenity. The exceptional and efficient staff, after a 20 month long lockdown, are genuinely pleased to see you and eager to please in any way they can. Look out for Dennis at the Bar, with his endless love of a joke , the hardworking David and the gracious Prerna, Head of Food and Beverage. The overall impression is one of quality and luxury. A visit to the Spa is a must, too.The fine-dining restaurant, L'Eplorateur, is a culinary delight with the hugely talented chefs and kitchen staff working alongside Executive Chef Sanjee Purahoo. Works of culinary art, indeed! The pool and beach areas are kept in pristine condition by a dedicated gardening team and the view over Grand Baie, is too beautiful for words! Treat yourself to some time here, its fabulous! We certainly will be going back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deepa Jogessur, Marketing at 20 Degrés Sud
Responded Oct 29, 2021
Dear esteemed guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write these few lines relating your impressions. It has been a pleasure to host you inside one of the best kept secrets of Mauritius. We will make sure to communicate your satisfaction to our team. Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Warmest regards, The hotel 20 Degrés Sud - Relais & Châteaux We would be happy to be able to serve you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Christina Petrou wrote a review Sep 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 6 nights in this hotel at the end of our 2 week holiday on the island. Upon arrival, we were slightly disappointed as we had previously stayed in a larger resort which had a long stretch of beach but the warm, friendly staff and charming details of this boutique hotel soon won us over completely.
It's a bit out of the main town but there is a free taxi boat throughout the day. We also made use of the free bicycle rental to explore the area and different beaches.

We went for half board but had the idea that we would explore other restaurants in the area but the food was SO fantastic and varied that we ate in the hotel every night! At breakfast and dinner there is a variety of local Mauritian and western dishes. We enjoyed trying the local breakfast options each day.

We had a 'Charm room' on the upper floor, although it was close to the reception (and the back of the hotel), it was quiet during the night and we had a view overlooking the pool and across to the sea. The room was very clean, well decorated and considering it's 'smaller' size, it was more than spacious enough. The free standing bath was a luxurious addition.

We enjoyed a couples spa treatment which was very relaxing and the daily afternoon tea is a nice extra touch.
The bar is also lovely in the evening and the mixologist bar tenders and keen to experiment on you with their delicious cocktails.

The beach area is well maintained with different lounging options. While we were there, it was quite windy but if you go a few km's away Mont Choisy is less so.

One tiny negative is that the gym is very small but we enjoyed a nice run along the coast.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Communication Marketing, Marketing at 20 Degrés Sud
Responded Oct 5, 2022
Dear Christina, Thank you for your warm comments. It is always a pleasure to read how much our guests appreciate our hotel We will make sure to communicate your satisfaction to our team. Warmest regards, The hotel 20 Degrés Sud - Relais & Châteaux Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Saffron1962 wrote a review Sep 2022
Dillon, Colorado29 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On a wonderful ten day stay in Mauritius, we decided to leave the beauty and comfort of The Westin Turtle Bay and explore different parts of the island. Upon arrival at 20 Degrès Sud, we were escorted into a highly perfumed room. We immediately asked for a non-perfumed room since we both have lung issues. No problem, and they graciously took the diffusers out of another room and in we went. It still smelled so we went out and walked to town and came back three hours later. The room stunk of perfume. We smelled the curtains. They were drenched with this perfume so we put them outside. We slept with the doors open, but the disco across the bay was blasting music that kept us awake until dawn. After a sleepless night and a sick partner who literally had a relapse of asthma, and now bronchitis, we left. Turns out they spray the bedding, the blankets, the pillows and even the wood floorboards. We asked only for a refund of the second night ( we stayed the first so no expectation of refund there) and they refused. They offered to clean a room for us, but they were already supposed to have done that and now the damage was done. On a positive note, we found a fantastic restaurant called Onya on our walk. Highly recommend! The food and ambiance were fantastic. Also highly recommend The Westin Turtle Bay. Less expensive, more spacious, super comfortable and no perfumed rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lindley Thomen, Directeur général at 20 Degrés Sud
Responded Apr 9, 2023
Dear Mrs. Andie, Greetings from 20 Degrés Sud, we thank you for your honest review on your experience at our establishment. Our sincere apologies that our hotel was not up to your expectations. Please note that all the above-mentioned points have been discussed to avoid same situation. However, feedback on our rooms is generally very well rated and can reassure you that this remains an isolated case. Sadly, to read that you have left the hotel due to our perfume which was not to your liking. We were also unaware that both of you had lungs issues, needful would have been done earlier for you before the so said “damage was done”, our dedicated team always offer the best service to our lovely clients and did in fact offered another room to you and your husband which you kindly refused. We want to extend our sincere apologies for the noise coming from Grand Bay that is beyond our control since your doors were opened, we want to reassure you that authorities are often contacted by us when noise is too loud from the other side. We are however happy to read that you also had a blast in Mauritius with some positive note. Best regards, Lindley THOMEN – General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
224June wrote a review Feb 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom69 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This adults only hotel ticked all the boxes for a relaxing 9-night stay in a cosy setting with good service and an enjoyable restaurant. The daily specials add to the range of imaginative dishes on offer. Plenty of seafood/fish as to be expected for a tropical island. Wine is pricey but a bottle will be held for the next night so no pressure to guzzle it down. A good range of cocktails and other pre-dinner drinks in the bar.

Staff are welcoming, greeting guests with lots of ‘hello/Bonjour’ but without any stuffy formality.

A shout out to Kenny who runs complimentary activity classes (stretching, yoga, aquagym), he was great fun with bags of personality and did well to cater for all fitness levels.

The private beach is small with loungers, a bit breezy possibly for the time of year.

The hotel runs a boat shuttle to Grand Baie itself useful for local shops and two shopping malls, La Croisette is more upmarket.

The hotel’s complimentary bikes are a good way to explore the local area including the nearby public beach of Mont Choisy.

Overall, this hotel will suit discerning guests seeking a calm environment.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Works well as part of a 2-centre holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lindley Thomen, Directeur général at 20 Degrés Sud
Responded Feb 11, 2023
Dear Mr and Mrs, Greetings from The 20 Degres Sud where you just spent your holidays. I am so glad to read that you have enjoyed your time with us and that the team have been delivering service up to your expectations. Glad also to know that the different offerings and the calm environment was up to your appreciation. I saw that you used the different means of transport that we do provide to our guests to visit Grand Bay but also the vicinity, either through boat shuttle of by bike. Rest assured that I will pass on your appreciation to each member of my staff who exceeded your expectations and a special mention to Kenny whom you mentioned personally but also the culinary team who made you plenty of different dishes every night. I do hope to get the chance to welcoming you back here again soon. My best personal regards to you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geoff wrote a review May 2022
16 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I were looking for a location for our first ‘relaxing’ holiday for quite a few years and more importantly to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary .

Our stay at 20 Degrees Sud was pretty much perfection. The hotel has a peaceful , calm atmosphere , understated but great facilities and ideal location on the quieter side of Grand Bay. We ate in the hotel for all our meals and the restaurant served us great breakfasts and a constantly changing range of perfectly cooked dinner options . Complimentary afternoon tea meant lunch was not needed . Both the beach bar and the main bar served great wine and cocktails as well as local Phoenix beer . Most importantly all the staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming , taking the trouble to remember our names and to do everything they could to make our stay memorable .

For a major celebration , you always hope that plans will live up to high hopes and expectations . 20 Degrees Sud gave us one of the best hotel experiences we have had anywhere and matched all the other excellent reviews !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karen Francis, Marketing at 20 Degrés Sud
Responded May 5, 2022
Dear Guest, thousand of thanks for your rating here and your exhaustive feedback. We are glad to read that your stay reached your expectations for your 30th Wedding Anniversary. Our staff is undoubtedly one of the strengths of our hotel and we will make sure to communicate! We really hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, The hotel 20 Degrés Sud - Relais & Châteaux Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
claudiaboettcher wrote a review Oct 2021
Munich, Germany18 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I checked out of 20 Degrés Sud today and I already miss it. As a frequent traveler who appreciates luxurious 5* hotels as much as elegant small hotels, I have to say that this is definitely one of the most beautiful and charming boutique hotels in the world. The complex with its white, romantic houses around the pool impresses with its intimate and classic character. The rooms are also very romantic and elegantly furnished. A lot of attention was paid too small details. I had a Beachfront Room on the 1st floor and enjoyed its large terrace, furnished with loungers, table and chairs and the marvelous sea view. Around the pool and on the small sandy beach, which is maintained daily, there are more lounge beds, all equipped with soft cushions. The beach slopes gently into the sea. A highlight is certainly the excellent fusion cuisine of the restaurant L’Explorateur under Chef Sanjeev Purahoo, with influences from France, Italy, the Middle East and Asia. His signature dish, the Black Crust Half Cooked Tuna, is a real feast for all senses. The SPA offers a wide range of treatments and massages and a relax area around the SPA's own pool in a tropical garden. The well-trained staff, who are always extremely friendly and helpful at all times, make a significant contribution to the feel-good character of the house.I was so impressed with 20 Degrés Sud that I tried to book it again before flying home. But it’s completely booked out, and rightly so. So it is advisable to book early.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deepa Jogessur, Marketing at 20 Degrés Sud
Responded Oct 29, 2021
Dear Claudia, Thank you very much for your warm comments, it is always a pleasure to read how much our customers appreciate our hotel and attention. We are delighted to have been able to offer you a service that lived up to your expectations and we will gladly pass your excellent feedback to the whole team. We are sad that you were not able to book again, but we do hope to see you sooner than later to renew this experience. Warmest regards, The hotel 20 Degrés Sud - Relais & Châteaux Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
iiraan wrote a review Aug 2020
Mauritius16 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This exceptional Relais E Châteaux Hotel is an absolute paradise. There is no other way to describe it. I was recommended this hotel by Mrs Nalini Chandra, and I'm so glad she did. I've stayed in many 5*hotels, but 20 degre sud is something else.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt welcome, confortable and relaxed, which is not always the case with most high end hotels.
Every single member of staff were friendly and went above and beyond to make sure we had everything.
The austral suite was very spacious with a huge bed, a comfortable sitting area, a gorgeous bathroom and a generous dressing area with enough space to actually unpack and breathe including an enormous mirror to dress by.
Highly recommended hotel. Anticipating for another week-end with all of you.
Mrs Keeran Unthiah 29th to 30th August 2020.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karen Francis, Marketing at 20 Degrés Sud
Responded May 20, 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for your review and support. Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Warmest regards, The hotel 20 Degrés Sud - Relais & Châteaux team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
catherine B wrote a review Oct 2021
Surrey, United Kingdom11 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to split our trip to Mauritius over 3 hotels, and stayed here on half board for 4 nights. We tried to vary the hotels we visited and 20 degrees was a great choice. Certainly very different to a resort hotel, and I would describe it as individual and ‘shabby chic’.
First tip would be, make sure your taxi driver knows where the hotel is ! Our driver did not, and thought it was in the south of the island. My husband ended up having to guide him by google maps, which was rather stressful.
Once we arrived we were shown very efficiently around the hotel and to our room which was lovely and had a sea view balcony (43). The best thing about the hotel is it’s (almost) adult only, and that is so much more relaxing if you haven’t got children yourself. We were surprised in the current climate to find that it was virtually at full capacity at the weekend, and seems to be equally as popular with island locals.
Worth mentioning that the bed was really comfortable, and housekeeping service was excellent. There’s complimentary afternoon tea at 4pm which is also very popular.
If you like a hotel where it’s easy to chit chat with other guests, this place will suit you, and people were relaxed and friendly. I loved that the bar was next to the pool, so you could dip your toes in whilst you enjoyed an afternoon glass of wine. David worked tirelessly to keep everyone well supplied with drinks.
We did wander out one lunchtime, and you can walk to Eden Beach restaurant in under 20 minutes, which is on the beach along the bay. Had a nice vibe, so worth a look if you want to try something different.
As you would expect, a few things did not work like clockwork during our stay, and this is completely understandable given the last 18 months. I’m sure these will soon be ironed out. Overall a great stay and would absolutely recommend. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deepa Jogessur, Marketing at 20 Degrés Sud
Responded Nov 9, 2021
Dear Catherine, Thank you so much for sharing such a fantastic review here on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel, and that you liked the attention of our staff and the various facilities offered. We will make sure to communicate your satisfaction to our team. Once again thank you for your time and for choosing us as your holiday destination. Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Warmest regards, The hotel 20 Degrés Sud - Relais & Châteaux
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrick C wrote a review Sep 2023
Dunfermline, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is located in Grand Baie with beautiful views of the bay and the mountains a small sandy beach allowing easy access to the sea. Our room was large more like a suite, well furnished and very comfortable with a large private balcony overlooking the bay. Housekeeping was efficient friendly and of a high standard. We were on half board basis and the food was of the highest standard for both breakfast and dinner. There is a good room service menu or you can get lunch on the beach or by the pool. Breakfast was first class meaning we were rarely able to manage lunch. Dinner was a la carte witha generous allowance meaning you just paid for drinks. Beware wine was very expensive (the cheapest was £40.00) and this was the biggest downside. Service throughout was excellent while being friendly and warm. There are complementary activities including snorkelling which I did a couple of times being taken by boat to the reef.

A boutique hotel this is adults only and if you want to explore you need to hire a car or order a taxi. The hotel can arrange this but it is much cheaper to do it yourself. Overall a very good hotel peaceful relaxing and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book a car before you go to get around. Beware the drinks prices
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lindley Thomen, Directeur général at 20 Degrés Sud
Responded Sep 6, 2023
Greetings from the sunny 20 Degrés Sud, I'm delighted to hear that you had an excellent experience at our hotel and that our rooms, housekeeping team, the service and cuisine met your expectations. We greatly value your feedback, and I want to assure you that we have already discussed it to work towards a solution. Thank you for your constructive input and for your generous rating. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, David Lily, Resident Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Replevin2015 asked a question Sep 2022
Southampton, United Kingdom84 contributions110 helpful votes
Are there banks in Grand Baie? I never trust airport exchange banks!
Answer from Paul T
Bristol, United Kingdom125 contributions84 helpful votes
I think I saw some around the super u supermarket. Certainly cash machines.
billybodders asked a question Apr 2022
Letchworth Garden City, United Kingdom92 contributions
we arrive April 26th can I ask what type of plug sockets you have please
Answer from Hotel20DegresSud
Grand Baie20 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear Guest, We thank you for your interest in our Boutique Hotel. We are most pleased to inform you that our Hotel will be fully operational as from the 1st October 2021. We look forward to welcoming you soon! The 20 Degres Sud Team.
Nakkiran wrote a tip Feb 2024
Stellenbosch, South Africa998 contributions108 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Austal Suite have thebest views"
Read full review
Rickmansworth wrote a tip Jan 2024
Perth, Australia14 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s a quiet small hotel and would propose 3-5 days"
Read full review
smudge86 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Killingworth, United Kingdom338 contributions65 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Busiest times are weekends. There are a lot of mosquitos take repellent."
Read full review
Carol J wrote a tip Sep 2023
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the pool is great to swim upto the bar area and relax over the water on the net loungers"
Read full review
C K wrote a tip Sep 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place if you already have a budget, they will find a way to make you pay for things that are supposed to be free."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Grand Baie area.
PRICE RANGE
$385 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
20 degres sud grand baie, 20 degres sud hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
20 Degrees Sud
LOCATION
MauritiusRiviere du Rempart DistrictGrand Baie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

20 DEGRÉS SUD - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about 20 Degrés Sud
Which popular attractions are close to 20 Degrés Sud?
Nearby attractions include La Cuvette Public Beach (0.5 miles), Tamil Surya Oudaya Sangam Temple (0.7 miles), and BARaBAR (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at 20 Degrés Sud?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at 20 Degrés Sud?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at 20 Degrés Sud?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at 20 Degrés Sud?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 20 Degrés Sud?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Coolen Chez Ram, N'JOY, and B Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at 20 Degrés Sud?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does 20 Degrés Sud have airport transportation?
Yes, 20 Degrés Sud offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at 20 Degrés Sud?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at 20 Degrés Sud?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Does 20 Degrés Sud have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
All Grand Baie HotelsGrand Baie Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Grand Baie
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars