We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Save
Share
Blue Bay, Mauritius 00230
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 2 left at
$161
Hotels.com
Only 2 left at
$161
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$120
Trip.com$134
Vio.com$134
ZenHotels.com$185
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (862)
360
Panoramas (8)
Pool & Beach (301)

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Blue Bay
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.8
Value
3.6
In the South-Eastern part of Mauritius, the island’s most authentic region, a small friendly hotel awaits you, on the borders of the best-preserved lagoon of Mauritius! The Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa offers you holidays filled with conviviality, magic, charm, and relaxed ambience! Embark upon a stay where young and old alike will be in heaven! As you relax in the shade of a palm tree, admire the fauna and flora of the Blue Bay Marine Park, or take advantage of all the activities we offer, you will find everything you need for unforgettable holidays! An Ideal Location! After a long plane ride, how delightful it is to be only 10 minutes away from one’s vacation spot! That’s what the Peninsula Bay offers! We are located within minutes of the airport, but also of Mahebourg, a lovely well-preserved hamlet full of easy nonchalance, where you will enjoy strolling along small traditional streets, as you discover the colourful market, and the National History Museum… The Peninsula Bay is a short distance away from the kite - and wind-surfing hotspot of Pointe d’Esny, the Henri Rault cassava biscuit factory, la Vanille Réserve des Mascareignes nature park with its giant tortoises, and many other amazing sites! Of course, you will also be able to explore Blue Bay, the lagoon that surrounds the resort, either in a scuba diving session, or on a glass-bottom boat trip. Discover Blue Bay’s fantastic coral garden, with more than 50 identified species. Not to mention its marine fauna, a pure pleasure for the eyes, with the parrot-fish, demoiselles, sergeant majors and many more that you will get to admire in the crystalline waters of the lagoon…
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Table tennis
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Spa
Massage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French
841Reviews53Q+A91Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 195
  • 278
  • 181
  • 82
  • 105
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Hazel S wrote a review Jan 2023
South shields39 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
I originally give this one star after my first night as I was so angry with the noise anyway here is a more in depth rather than a mad woman ranting We upgraded to a beach front DONT unless you are happy listening to chairs in restaurant being moved about above your head 3 times a day Night time is unbelievably loud 9.30 to 11pm so forget an early night! Rooms are clean (cleaner was excellent) but dated our shower handle fell apart Staff are very inconsistent one day they served tea and coffee next they didn't and if you ask for a cuppa while seated in the restaurant if looks could kill I've died a hundred times Doesn't seem to be very well managed I get that it may be a chill layed back place but come on customer service should be first class We did have 2 excellent bar tenders but the rest were just terrible we were often ignore but might be as we were the minority token Brit who knows On a plus side:- Spa is excellent Snorkeling is truly fantastic too Take a taxi or bus into Mahebourg defo worth a visit On a previous trip we hired a taxi for the day and toured the island totally recommend this!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid Jan rained all week
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TerraExplorator wrote a review Jan 2023
Budapest, Hungary555 contributions521 helpful votes
This hotel was a last minute booking for us, as our original booking was canceled upon arrival in Mauritius... So first of all we booked this place on Booking.com and the photos shown there of the room are completely different than what we got in real life.... We were 2 couples, so we opted for the room with two separate bedroom and the photos also confirmed this... But in real life the room was as small as a one bedroom room with 3 beds inside, bathroom without a door and a glass door toilet... We were horrified upon entering the room, but because there was no other room available and the price was already incredibly high (christmas) we could not book anything else.... The room was also in a dark corner of the hotel, where we didnt have any view to the garden, just partial view to our neighbour's terrace... we didn't have any terrace or feeling of privacy... The reception is definitely not a friendly one, could never help us with anything or answer questions about simple things like Laundry services outside the hotel... Not worth dealing with them really... The cleaning was very superficial. My boyfriend's watch dissappeared from the room safe in this week and nobody seemed to bother about our problem. They only said, no they cant find it and that was that... Horrible The restaurant was good, large variety of food for breakfast and thematic evenings which was good. The animation team screams the music until 11pm, so its really hard to rest in the evening before that... The beach is super tiny, but you can sit by the hotel sun chairs. The water here is very clean. There is a good mall just minutes away with car if you need anything... Overall, for the price paid for this one room I would never book this hotel. Its far off from all program opportunities, the beach is tiny, the staff is not welcoming, the rooms are horrible....
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DigitalMedia HP, Marketing at Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear TerraExplorator, Greetings from Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your feedback. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Customer experience is key to us and we usually deliver with excellence in mind. Due to the high occupancy during your stay dates, the only room available was our “Comfort Room”. We are sorry to read that the room configuration did not meet your expectations but as specified on booking.com, this room category is 28m2 and comprises of 3 beds (2 single beds + 1 extra-large double bed). Our sincerest apologies as well for the setback you encountered at the Front Office as they could not help you in answering your queries. Concerning your boyfriend’s watch, we sincerely wish that you brought these concerns to our attention during your stay. This would have given us the opportunity to investigate and report a police case. Unfortunately, as at date, our housekeeping team could not find any watch in your room. Should we find the watch, rest assured that we shall contact you accordingly. We would also like to inform you that the animation was well appreciated by the other in-house guests of the hotel at the time of your stay, and it is quite regrettable that it was not to your liking. Rest assured that your comments have been taken into consideration and we will sincerely take your feedback to the team to ensure we continuously maintain our standards. With thanks and kind regards, Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fabien Maurice wrote a review Dec 2022
Trou aux Biches8 contributions4 helpful votes
Each year, Le Peninsula is the place where we go for a weekend break. This resort is so peaceful and staff are helpful and friendly. Recommend it ! Try the All-Inclusive package and the see view rooms. You will have the chance to see take off of airplanes as the airport just 5 mins away.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
amooafshin wrote a review Dec 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates128 contributions93 helpful votes
This resort is one of the best in Mauritius specially for Snorkeling. All staff are very helpful and friendly. I recommend this accommodation 100% for families. Beach is perfect for swimming and snorkeling but take care of the reef and marine nature.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dianne Barnes wrote a review Nov 2022
17 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We picked Le Peninsula Bay because of the gorgeous blue lagoon and it’s proximity to the airport as travelling with a 2 year old. We had several issues but the hotel staff and manager dealt with this very well. The hotel is situated on the most stunning lagoon. Crystal waters and lovely white sand beach. The water activities are great with a snorkelling boat trip offered every day. The kayaks and pedal boat have been a massive hit with my son. I have enjoyed stand up paddle boarding on the lagoon. The staff are so lovely and knowledgable about the coral and the marine life. We have snorkelled with turtles 3 times now in the lagoon just off the shore. The buffet dinner at night has been delicious and our ocean front ground floor room has been very comfortable with stunning views. We have enjoyed the local food and stalls outside the hotel with amazing freshly made local fruits juice. There is also a nice restaurant close by called Blue Bamboo (10 minute walk from the hotel) We have enjoyed taking the local bus to mahebourg and managed some fantastic trips including a great dolphin trip with Vitamin Sea. We hiked up le morne Brabant and enjoyed some gorgeous views. We have a few nights left and I don’t want to go home. I can’t thank the staff enough for a fantastic stay. We will definitely be back. Dianne Barnes (Scotland, UK)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DigitalMedia HP, Marketing at Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Nov 13, 2022
Dear Dianne Barnes, Warm greetings from Mauritius. Thank you for the lovely review. It has been our pleasure serving you during your stay with us and making sure you had the perfect holiday. We absolutely adored your lovely family and we would be delighted to have you stay with us again one day soon. Looking forward to seeing you again, Regards, The Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fitz-Patrick T wrote a review Oct 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates1 contribution
The reception staff who are supposed to be the first impression of the hotel were the problem. Before travelling, l messaged asking if they had an airport shuttle service but they didn’t respond. I then phoned and the person who answered wasn’t as friendly. Upon check in, the room we got didn’t match what I reserved for despite booking for a sea view room which at the time was the highest priced room on Booking.com. When I inquired with the reception lady, she did everything to find an excuse to avert my question and came up with a flimsy excuse stating that the room was a deluxe type and not an ocean view room. Yet on the booking reference, there was an indication that the room was to have an ocean view. Other issues were as follows; -A lizard somehow creeped into our room on 2 occasions through some gap in the door. I had to use a towel to cover it to prevent more lizards creeping in. -There were cats and birds inside the restaurant
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Be prepared to get a room you didn’t book for! Buy water! There’s no free bottle water after day...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DigitalMedia HP, Marketing at Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Oct 21, 2022
Dear Fitzpatrickt, Warm greetings from Mauritius. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are extremely sorry for the inconveniences caused to you. We have taken good note of every grievance you have right from the reception service till your in-room and restaurant experience. Rest assured, we will be working on improving the same to provide you with much better services next time. Best regards, The management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angelines G wrote a review Oct 2022
Zurich, Switzerland5 contributions
We spent 4 nights at the Peninsula... the location idilic but the hotel doesn't deserve any visitors... its more like a hostel rather than a beach hotel. The provided towels had stains and smell cigarettes. Breakfast not worthy, like hospital food. ... VERY SAD
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DigitalMedia HP, Marketing at Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Oct 21, 2022
Dear Angeline, Warm greetings from Mauritius. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are extremely sorry that you had to face inconveniences during your stay with us. We have noted your grievances about the towels and the food. Rest assured we are going to improve on the same and provide you with a much better service in the future. Best Regards, The Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vardezila wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom167 contributions123 helpful votes
I’ll start by saying that overall, this was a disappointing stay and we will never return back to this hotel nor will we recommend it to anyone else! However, I will try to be objective and will outline the positives and negatives separately below: POSITIVES: -The transfer to/from airport is very quick – about 15 minutes one way in a taxi, which cost us 700 Mauritian rupees on arrival and 600 Mauritian rupees for the way back. -Prior to arrival, we had indicated that this will be our delayed honeymoon, so we were greeted by a bottle of champagne and some fresh fruit in the room on arrival. -The ocean front room on the ground floor does provide you direct access to beachside / sea view as promised. -The hotel provides beach towels with no deposit needed (previous reviews indicate that people were asked to pay 10 euros per towel, but this was not the case for us). -The hotel provides free use of kayaks on first come first serve basis. -The hotel offers 1 free snorkelling trip to the nearby Blue Bay marine park. The corals were dead, but at least there were some nice fish. -There is a water dispenser by the bar, so you could fill up your water bottles for free. NEGATIVES: -As previously mentioned, the airport is nearby, and for most of the time it did not bother us, except for those 3:30am and 7:30am flights which did occasionally wake us up. So if you are a light sleeper, this may be a problem. -The location of the hotel, and particularly the oceanfront rooms, is in a very windy spot. We paid premium for the oceanfront room but were unable to use the sun loungers in front of the room, facing the ocean, as it was impossible to undress due to the cold winds. We found that we had to use the sun loungers by the pool instead as buildings around the pool provided some shelter from wind. -The beach was beautiful to look at (the colour of the water), but impossible to swim as the shoreline was just all in stones, not allowing you a nice entrance to the water… -The all-inclusive package was a complete joke. It included just 5 cocktails, none of which were drinkable. We had this discussion with other guests, and they agreed. When we asked if another cocktail could be mixed, they refused. Interestingly, they advertised (supposedly) better cocktails for extra charge, so perhaps they wanted the all-inclusive cocktails to be so poor so that people would spend money? -The hotel homepage indicates they have 3 restaurants. In reality, there is just one. The website advertises that during daytime you can enjoy burgers, hot dogs, pizzas, salads and other light bite favourites – there was NONE of this, except for pancakes at 3:30-5:40pm. -Also, there are no a la carte restaurant included in the all-inclusive package. There was one sea-food a la carte restaurant, based in the corner of the main buffet, but we were told this was extra charge and we were told it serves only lobster. -The food in the buffet (the only restaurant available) was appalling. There were usually only 2 main options, which usually included fish and chicken with tiny bones (clearly some leftovers). Therefore, if you don’t eat fish, then you were left to eat vegetarian meal as the chicken with all those tiny bones was inedible. Similarly, for the sides, there were usually just 2 options – rice and potatoes, or rice and steamed vegetables. To their credit, they did have some salads for the sides as well, but they were hit and miss. -They only had fresh fruit for breakfast and the choice was limited to bananas, pineapple and papaya. No fresh fruit for lunch or dinner. Instead, to save money (presumably) they served canned fruit at lunch and dinner. -There was zero entertainment in daytime and almost zero at night-time. We only had 1 karaoke night during the week we stayed and that was it! -The hotel clearly cared more about their income as they rented out the hotel grounds, including the buffet space and bar to Anantara hotel to host their staff party for 2 nights of our stay. This meant extra people (around 100!) for dinner and bar queues, with loud staff party all in French. As guests, we were absolutely appalled to see this! There weren’t even spaces for us to sit in the evening as it was overtaken by the Anantara staff party people. We were left to feel as outsiders. -There was nothing outside the hotel to keep us entertained. We went on a walk one day, but the beach was disappointing in nearby areas too. **other bits: -The air and water temperature was very cold in October (+24 daytime, +18 night) -Taxi for a day to do an all day excursion cost us 3500 Mauritian rupees. -Excursion to Ile Aux Cerfs cost us 2600 Mauritian rupees per person. -Taxi from airport 700 Mauritian rupees, back to airport 600 Mauritian rupees. There are taxis just nearby the Blue Bay and you can negotiate prices with them.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DigitalMedia HP, Marketing at Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Oct 21, 2022
Dear vardezila, Warm greetings from Mauritius. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We heartily apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. We have taken note of all your grievances and we will definitely work on improving on every aspect so we can be of much better service to you in the future, Best Regards, The Management Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nina R wrote a review Oct 2022
Herning38 contributions7 helpful votes
Breathtaking sunsets. Food was average, pleasant staff members. I particularly appreciated the Indian chef & waiter always smiled and very helpful, however I did get the impression that the staff are under pressure working long hours. I did experience some fake customer service! We had a lovely room overlooking the sea which was bonus but windy in September. Will stay elsewhere next time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DigitalMedia HP, Marketing at Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Oct 21, 2022
Dear 68ninar, Warm greetings from Mauritius, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We heartily apologize for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay with us. We have taken note and will work on improving our service henceforth. Best Regards, The management team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gilbert Bouic wrote a review Sep 2022
Rodrigues Island110 contributions95 helpful votes
Throughout the years this classic hotel has stood the tests of modernisation, politics, COVID and an over exaggerated oil-spill. How to describe it? Consistent, friendly, professionell, personal, delicious, value-for-money. Never disappoints.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DigitalMedia HP, Marketing at Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Oct 21, 2022
Dear GilbertBouic, Warm greetings to you. Thank your for the lovely review. We are happy to be of service. See you with us again soon. Best regards, The management team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MauritiusGrand Port DistrictBlue Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
95
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LE PENINSULA BAY BEACH RESORT & SPA $134 ($̶3̶7̶4̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews - Blue Bay, Mauritius

Frequently Asked Questions about Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Ile des Deux Cocos (0.5 miles), Pointe d'Esny (1.5 miles), and Blue Bay Beach (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Bazilic, Le Jardin de Beau Vallon, and Blue Bamboo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Île du Phare (5.2 miles).