We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius

Save
Share
Baie Aux Tortues, Balaclava, Mauritius 20108
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$774
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/22
Expedia.com
$774
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/22
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$516
View deal
Booking.com$694
Travelocity$774
ZenHotels.com$1,218
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2268)
360
Panoramas (16)
Pool & Beach (552)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Balaclava
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.5
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius is directly located on the pristine white beach of Turtle Bay, a natural marine park. Spread over 80,937 square metres of lush, sub tropical gardens, it offers views of breathtaking sunsets and night skies bursting with stars. Magnificent accommodation with traditional thatched roofs. Unique restaurants serving authentic Creole and international cuisines. And a Touching Senses programme of daily cultural and mindfulness activities. All complemented by warm, intuitive hospitality at our five star hotel in Mauritius.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Bicycle tours
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Walking tours
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Finnish, German and 2 more
2003Reviews104Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,823
  • 126
  • 38
  • 11
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
michael j wrote a review Today
Wales, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
The holiday began when we were met by one of the resorts private chauffeurs at the airport terminal, with a warm and friendly greeting, and carefully driven to the Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius. Here we were met by The Rooms Division Manager, and other members of the reception team. We were welcomed back with friendship and a cooling refreshing drink and towel, before check in at our luxury villa with private pool. The villa was spotless, with additional personalised treats left for us to enjoy. The grounds are always well maintained and manicured, the tropical gardens are more akin to a private botanical garden than a typical beach resort, which of course the Oberoi is not, it is a very special place to stay. This resort is an oasis of peace and tranquility, where all members of staff strive to provide each guest with a level of personal service, delivered sincerely, with professionalism and genuine warmth, where nothing is considered too much trouble. We enjoyed all meals provided at the a la carte breakfast’ s at the main restaurant each morning, now with the additional self service continental buffet available as well. A large choice of prepared orders that are cooked to order and of which many items rotate half way through the week. We had evening dinners at ‘On the Rocks’ a number of nights, right on the shoreline with incredible charcoal grilled seafood and a special one off starter prepared by the chef, excellent. Mostly, we dinned in the main restaurant where the quality of ingredients were second to none, all dishes cooked to order, and dishes were of a very high calibre and well presented throughout. International cuisine, Creole and Indian style Talli’s were all perfectly cooked and all chefs were attentive either before, during, or after service, for not only feedback, but to enquire whether guests would like any special dishes prepared that did not feature on the menus. Later during our stay we were treated to such a special meal by request. All staff provided us with exceptional service. The managers were attentive and were able to anticipate many of our wishes. The team that they have in support are friendly and professional. The housekeeping team provide a daily morning full service and later evening turndown and clear up of the whole villa, they are to be commended. Our private pool was cleaned and maintained on a very regular basis, and we enjoyed that facility several times each day. For us, now having stayed at this resort many times in recent years for our holiday, it has become our favourite resort. It has everything that one needs for a perfect special occasion, where one can relax and feel well looked after. We very much look forward to returning in the near future . On this occasion, in writing my review, I have not mentioned names of particular staff that are worthy of particular note. I feel that all staff provided a high level of service and to list some by name and miss out others might seem unjust. We were able to give our own personal thanks to staff on the day of departure and in return were greeted warmly. Thank you all for another perfect holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. Some of the terraced villas have lovely sea views. But in my opinion...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
stushy2016 wrote a review Nov 18
West Sussex, United Kingdom163 contributions52 helpful votes
We arrived at the Oberoi from Lakaz Chamarel so were already in tune with Mauritian time. We were welcomed with a cold drink before being shown to our stunning room - I don't think there is a bad room at this hotel....we stayed in the entry level 'villa' it was fab. There are 4 restaurants but some only open on certain evenings, we were aware of this so had contacted the Oberoi prior to our visit and booked ourselves in, to ensure we sampled them all during our stay. We were staying on a half board basis. The Herb Trail: this restaurant carries a supplement when booked on a half board basis. It's communal dining and a lot smaller than we had expected. The dinner was delightful and we met another couple who we shared a few drinks and dinner with later in the holiday. If I'm honest, I don't think I would repeat this experience for the additional cost. The Restaurant: Absolutely fabulous - everything about it was perfection. The service (thanks Mevin for making our anniversary dinner very special) was faultless and the food was just superb. The wine is a little pricey but is also exceptional so definitely worth it. We would have liked to have had more dinners here. On the Rocks: More informal than the Restaurant and in a beautiful setting, right at the waters edge. Great meals again, couldn't fault it, except my preference was still the restaurant. On the Rocks is open at lunch time and it's an excellent spot with a good varied lunch menu. The Gunpowder: We had dinner with our new friends who we met at The Herb Trail; here we had a sample of a variety of curries, really good, good service and excellent tastes. We were definitely pleased we booked ourselves in.... Breakfast again is varied, mostly served to your table, excellent quality and fabulous service. We had lunch at our sun lounger where there was a buzzer to call for service. Ralph was particularly good and responded quickly, he was usually one step ahead in knowing what we wanted. The highlight of our day was the snorkelling.... brilliant! The hotel runs a complimentary boat 3 times a day to the reef which skirts around the beach.... abundant sea life, and some good coral - don't miss it! We also saw dolphins who seemed to pay a visit most mornings. We also snorkelled off the jetty and were luck enough to see a turtle, I think this was quite a rare sighting, but beautiful to observe. There is also access further around the beach and beach shoes are definitely a good idea for swimming, as there are quite a few sea urchins around...it's not a problem, but packing some beach shoes is a good idea. Finally, we had sundowners in the bar in happy hour (buy 2 and get the 3rd free), personally it would have been nice to have had a more informal bar, maybe on the beach where guests could have mingled before returning to their room for a wash and a brush up before dinner. The bar was lovely and sometimes had live music so a nightcap was often in order. If you're still reading (!) and there's lots more I could say (all positive) just book the wonderful Oberoi, you will not be disappointed. We hope to return. Thank you for a perfect stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your detailed review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you have carried back fond memories and that you intend to return. Thank you for all the lovely comments on the food, service and activities you enjoyed. We sincerely and eagerly hope you return more often. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on this forum. Best regards, Dhiren Pereira General Manager Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
litall2015 wrote a review Nov 7
Washington DC, District of Columbia1 contribution
+1
We had an absolute perfect experience! The food was delicious and diverse, the service was kind and beyond, the facilities were fabulous, the adults pool, the the bar with live music - the most beautiful sunsets we have ever seen -heaven on hearth.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, The team is delighted that you had a memorable time in our midst. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on this forum. We are grateful for your lovely comments and sincerely look forward to seeing you back more often. We will most certainly save some sunsets for your next time with us. Best regards, Dhiren Pereira General Manager Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SUE R wrote a review Nov 7
Birmingham, United Kingdom14 contributions37 helpful votes
From the moment we arrived at the Airport we were met by the wonderful Raj and received a warm welcome and then we were on our way in the comfort of the luxury BMW. We have stayed at this resort many times and on arrival we were met by Dhiren (General Manager), Natacha, Amanda and several more of the team. We felt the warmth of their welcome and it was time to relax and enjoy our holiday in the midst of these wonderful people who treat us like family. We had finally arrived "HOME" and that is a truly an exceptional feeling. Everything about this place is geared towards making all the guests feel special and pampered from the delicious food, the outstanding service, the friendly atmosphere, the nightly entertainment and the high standard of cleanliness throughout the resort. Every member of staff gives of their all and makes you feel special. I have not visited any other place in the world where the standards are so high but where a huge level of friendliness is always maintained. We are always sad to leave but we know that we will return again to meet our "family in Mauritius". Many thanks to Dhiren and his team and we look forward to seeing you all again as soon.as we possibly can.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dearest Mr. & Mrs. R, Thank you for your loyal patronage of Oberoi Hotels & Resorts and The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius. Each time you leave, we eagerly await for your next stay. Thank you for mentioning the names of various team members who with the support of others provided you with exceptional service. Have a fabulous year ahead and see you real soon. Best regards, Dhiren Pereira General Manager Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jet826339 wrote a review Nov 1
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom14 contributions20 helpful votes
Wonderful resort, the staff are exceptional The manager Dhiren Pereira and his assistant Dyuksha Ramphul were always ready to listen to your requests Amanda from check in was very swift in organising everything throughout the trip The chef Tomas was helpful regarding my veg options and food tolerances and prepared wonderful dishes for us The restaurant manager Prashant and Nevis from restaurant staff was also very helpful The Tai Chi instructor was good and the best bit was the star gazing evening Also wonderful views of the sunset from the rooms facing the ocean
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing The Oberoi on the sunset coast of Mauritius for your recent stay and holiday. Thank you for mentioning the names of various team members who with the support of others gave you exceptional service. They have asked me to thank you on their behalf. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back and seeing you more often. Best regards, Dhiren Pereira General Manager Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Off2thesun wrote a review Oct 2022
Oxford10 contributions7 helpful votes
Well what can I say that hasn't already been said. We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and it was truly wonderful, we have such great memories of our time at the Oberoi. The team, and it is one team that deliver the unique experience, are incredible, so authentic, welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Everything from the food, the location, the staff, the room was of an exceptional standard. When we booked our trip we were looking for somewhere where we could relax, enjoy a high degree of comfort and quality, this was delivered in spades. We can't thank you enough for making our stay so special and memorable. A bientot.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing The Oberoi for your wedding anniversary stay in Mauritius. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food, the service by the team, the peace and tranquility of the resort and have carried back fond memories. We sincerely look forward to seeing you back more often. Best regards, Dhiren Pereira General Manager Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
catherine r wrote a review Oct 2022
This was the third Oberoi we’d visited and, as previously: outstanding. The hotel team was exceptionally kind and engaged, creating - what is nowadays - a rare atmosphere of good manners and decorum, of things done well, a place where you can completely relax because you feel safe, protected. We were celebrating a birthday & they handled this with wit and flair, with a sequences of delightful surprises. There are all kinds of excursions and excitements on offer. But we were just happy to soak up the Oberoi’s sophisticated glamour: chefs in tall white puffed hats; live music; sensory, tactile interiors; the dreamy spa. And it is like living in a botanical garden! With theatrical birds and a seascape framed by fantastical peaks. Very few hotels achieve or sustain this level of hospitality; even fewer combine an exquisite location with such sensibility. It was a pitch-perfect experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are thrilled that you enjoyed a relaxing holiday in our midst for your birthday. Thank you for your loyal patronage of Oberoi Hotels & Resorts. Thank you for all your lovely comments. We sincerely look forward to seeing you back. Best regards, Dhiren Pereira General Manager Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
srsama wrote a review Oct 2022
East Coast3 contributions3 helpful votes
Our second trip to this property and if possible, it was better than the first! The property is visually stunning (rooms are spotless and the layout designed in such a way that it feels private despite a high occupancy) with so many activities and water sports at your disposal. Service throughout is exceptional - everyone you meet is so genuine and keen to ensure that you enjoy your holiday to the fullest. The kitchen under Executive Chef Tuomas turns out inventive, tasty food night after night - every dietary restriction catered for with great care. Prashant and Baboo in F&B are personable and aim to please with their team - Akshay, Oomar, Mevin and Nivis to name a few. The spa team is skilled - delivering some of the best massages my family and I have had the privilege of enjoying. To sum up, a flawless experience, magical memories made and discussions about our next visit already underway!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for coming back to stay with us. Thank you for all your lovely comments. Thank you for mentioning the names of various team members who with the support of others ensured you have carried back fond memories again. We sincerely look forward to seeing you back for your third stay. Best regards, Dhiren Pereira General Manager Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MMD234 wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom71 contributions4 helpful votes
We were there to celebrate our engagement dinner party with family. We received a warm welcome from Mr Rossan Busgeeth and he inspired us to book for the dinner. The security was so helpful to guide us to the reception. The 5* resort is so beautiful with outstanding views and traditional touch. It has magical vibrations and well trained trained happy staff. On that special day, we were greeted by Mr Prashant Trivedi with a mesmerizing hospitality and you can tell that his management style shows in his FNB staff, especially Oomar who was excellent with his service and entertainment. He offered a magnificent setup with customized menu cards. Our guests were very pleased on that day. Compared to other hotels around the same area which we visited to finalized our dinner occasion, the Oberoi Beach Resort still holds the 5* quality, service and hospitality. If you see happy staff, you can imagine how good the operation is well structured. I highly recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Thank you for mentioning the names of several team members who with the support of the others ensured you have carried back fond memories of your time with us with your guests. We look forward to seeing you back more often. Best regards, Dhiren Pereira General Manager Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Todor Tashev wrote a review Oct 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Great and relaxing property. We were taken great care of. Great location and staff too. I recommend the villas. Special mention to the people that went the extra mile In the restaurant, special mention to: - Nevin - Mevin - Aarti from the water sports, huge thanks to: - Danny lastly, thank you to the Tai Chi teacher - Henrio
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius
Responded Oct 24, 2022
Dear Guest, We are thrilled that you enjoyed a relaxing holiday in our midst. We endorse your recommendation of the Villas with private swimming pools which is our most popular accommodation. Thank you for mentioning the names of various team members who provided you with exceptional service who with the help of others strive to make our guests happy. We sincerely look forward to seeing you back. Best regards, Dhiren Pereira General Manager Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$499 - $891 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the oberoi mauritius hotel pointe aux piments, oberoi hotel mauritius, oberoi mauritius, oberoi pointe aux piments, pointe aux piments oberoi
LOCATION
MauritiusPamplemousses DistrictBalaclava
NUMBER OF ROOMS
71
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE OBEROI BEACH RESORT, MAURITIUS - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Balaclava)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius
Which popular attractions are close to The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius?
Nearby attractions include Balaclava Public Beach (0.5 miles) and Balaklava 2033 (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius?
Conveniently located restaurants include Château Mon Désir, Kangan Indian Restaurant, and Noble House Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius have airport transportation?
Yes, The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Oberoi Beach Resort, Mauritius?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Hindi, Thai, and Finnish.