We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,550: English reviews
Indore, India
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our Trip to Mauritius was official I was the speaker at the ICT function held in Dec 13, though the journey from the airport is quite long but it was scenic on the new M2 motor way. On arrival, The resort had very calming ambiance and feel of great holiday destination. The checking was quick and smooth, rooms very comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chetan N
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Chetan N, We wish to thank you for having chosen InterContinental Mauritius Resort for your stay in Mauritius! We look forward to welcome you and your family to our Resort hoping that this time you will make full out of your stay!!!! Regards,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We've stayed in hotel for almost 3 weeks. They have beautiful rooms and all hotels have ocean view. Rooms are pretty new and specious. Hotel has quite few restaurants. In my opinion best is indian and far worse is "thai fusion" which was way to modern for me with very small portions. Lots of water activities included in your price...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TSroka
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Tsroka, Thank you for having shared your experience with us. I do apology if we didn't have the opportunity to meet-up during your stay. I use to attend weekly management cocktail and I am please to catch-up on daily basis with guests but unfortunately with almost 500 people in the hotel it can be very challenging sometimes to meet...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great place to stay for couples... Got more than expected ... I still remember the first look on my wife's face when she first saw the hotel... priceless!!! Amazing location... beautiful beach along side ... one can spend 2-3 days in the hotel itself ... its so beautiful ... scenic ...awesome ... one will love it there Great amenities... courteous...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pratyush23
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Pratyush23 Thank you for having chosen InterContinental Mauritius Resort for your Holidays! It feels great to know that you have left us with great memories... We would be more than happy to welcome you again to our Resort Regards,

Perth, Australia
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stopped over in Mauritius for a week on our way to Paris. To accommodate a family of six we had adjoining rooms on the first floor which were nicely presented and comfortable. We stayed on an all inclusive basis. The hotel was everything we expected. The food and entertainment were excellent and the catering and bar staff very good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Emma T, It was just a pleasure to welcome you in our resort and I am glad to notice that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate the time you spent to share your experience in our hotel and hope to welcome you again soon.

Mauritius
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I returned to Mauritius the first week in January and once again stayed at the InterContinental Resort! I would like to take the time to congratulate 2 wonderful members of your staff - Manav Hurnarain and Kevin Ritoo. During my weeks stay, these 2 men made me feel like an absolute Queen. Two weeks prior to my arrival Kevin Ritoo,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudia M
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Claudia M, We thank you for having chosen Intercontinental Mauritius Resort once again for your last stay ! I can assure you that this message will certainly be passed to Kevin and Manav for the great job they have done and obviously we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was my 5th time to Mauritius and 1st time to the Intercontinental. The hotel is about 7 years old and not in any town, but the location is great, took us about 15 min to get to Grand bay and Port Louis (capital).. The hotel itself was great and those staff can't do enough for you.. I read the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter J
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Peter J, We thank you for your wonderful comments about our Resort and glad to know that you had a nice Vacation. We look forward to welcoming you again in our Resort! Bes Regards,

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 16, 2014

we arrived at the hotel one hour after departing from the airport. it is at the very top of the island, about 25 minutes from Port Louis and 15 minutes from the Grand Bay. The area around the hotel is quite limited with nothing to do without using a taxi which is extremely pricey to take from the hotel. if...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MadamBK
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear MadamBK, First, we thank you for having taken time to write your honest feedback about your experience with us. We have for sure taken notes of the issues mentioned and kindly note that we are currently working on those. Please be assured that this message will be passed on to Wesley for his great job and obviously to the...

Reviewed January 15, 2014

We visited in December 2013 last year for our Honeymoon and was simply awestruck by the property. No other place / property in Mauritius is better than InterCo.We had a very nice time. The food was great. The best eating place was Nobel house. The spread of breakfast and dinner was good. There cultural performances were also good. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nehasa
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear nehasa, We thank you for having chosen InterContinental Mauritius Resort for your vacation. These good comments are really very motivating for our Staff !!! We have taken good notes of providing more options for vegetarians. I assure you that this would not be an issue should you wish to come to stay with us again. Best Regards,

New Delhi, India
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were travelling with our 6 year old son. It's a very well spread out resort with 3 specialty restaurants and a coffee shop. A beautiful pool area facing the beach, a little lagoon after that a private island of the hotel. Beautiful views from there. Also a beach coffee shop area. The rooms were very good facing the sea,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gautam_Meetu
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Gawtam_Meetu, We thank you for having chosen InterContinental Mauritius Resort for yur Vacation with your family! We are very much pleased to read your feedback and are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay! We look forwrd to welcoming you again at our Resort! Warm Regards,

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have never had such a poor experience from an Intercontinental hotel in my life. I read these reviews before we left and thought the people were just whining. However, the rooms are dirty, with mould in the showers. We were travelling with our children and had booked 2 rooms - we were not informed that they cannot cater for...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Rachel M
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Rachel M, We first thank you for your comments and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience. Of course, we have taken notes of the very bad experience you had during your stay and can assure you that it doesn't reflect our standard. By the way, we wish to inform you that corrective measure have already been implemented especially for room...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,985 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2229)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (535)
Viewed
Room/Suite (278)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (445)
Viewed
Dining (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
View from Room (112)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (663)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (458)
Viewed
Amenities (57)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (68)
Viewed
Family Room (60)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Room (59)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
South Pool (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (298)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Dining (121)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (71)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
11.2 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
3,960 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,712 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.5 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Price Range: $198 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort staff and other travelers.
96 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (96)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms have a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles dilipj359, 5 days ago | Read review
“Garden view”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 week ago | Read review
“Was very nice, big and comfortable room with balcony and sea view, perfect”
 of 5 bubbles tuzzi16, 1 week ago | Read review
“deluxe ocean view are very nice with nice terrace”
 of 5 bubbles 665vanessal, 1 week ago | Read review
“In our opinion all the rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles jubidoo2016, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay