We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,473: English reviews
Honolulu
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Spent ten nights at the intercontinental and overall was impressed with the quality of service. While I would agree with some reviews about the hotel needing a bit of tlc the room we had was kept very clean as were the public areas. We ate twice in the buffet area, the staff here rarely smiled and it was difficult to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Inths
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Thank you for your hospitality at the hotel;special thanks to Rahul;Sanjay and harsh which made my few days stay exordinary.clean room; fresh towels;clearing the tables efficiently and a tasty Indian breakfast 😊🙏✌

Helpful?
2 Thank Chandra N
IC_Mauritius1, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Chandra N, I am pleased to read your review on tripadvisor and happy to learn of such a great experience. Will pass your thank you to Rahul, Sanjay and Harsh which made your stay even more memorable. Looking forward to welcome you back in near future. Jiri Benes Director of Marketing & Sales More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Can't believe it is a 5*hotel! No one answered the phone when we tried to reach the hotel to let them know we would be checking in late. When reached we were welcomed by a nice young man, Very agreeable. The room was a real disappointment. The bathroom was dirty, lack of towels. We needed to wait 10 minutes before... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Nostals
IC_Mauritius1, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Nostals, thank you for your review on tripadvisor. I am sadden to hear that you didnt enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that we take training and developing of our team members very seriously and I will personally talk to our Director of Training to look into those areas and take a proactive approach. Thank you also... More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we have just returned from this beautiful island, Mauritius. This hotel was a bit of a disappointment, as when we arrived there was construction work re building the sugar cane bar which we hadn't been told about, this was by the main pool and senso restaurant which was moved to the ballroom. they did upgrades us to half board which... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Alison P
IC_Mauritius1, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Alison P, thank you very much for your review and your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that information about installation of new deck at Sugar Cane Bar didnt reach you via your travel agent or online on our websites as we didnt announce these works one month prior. I am happy to hear that you have... More 

Europe
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is unfortunately not up to standard of your typical intercontinental hotel. The facilities are really run down actually to the extend that they should really consider closing this place down in off season and invest in a full renovation. But obviously this will not happen - what the hotel is doing,they are now focusing on the lower grade... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank TravellerLion
IC_Mauritius1, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear TravellerLion, thank you for your review and for your personal opinion. We do run continuous improvements across our resort. We just completed installation of brand new decking at our main beach including new entertainment deck for our evening shows & life bands. Our clientele is international as we are international brand and therefore we dont limit any nationality or... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Each morning I have been joined at breakfast by my wife and a multitude of Mauritian friends. They all have two legs, two wings, a beak and an uninhibited heartbeat. The physiology may differ but the one thing about this hotel's staff and the Mauritian people is that they share that same uninhibited heartbeat. This is a fantastic hotel! Ignore... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
Mauritius_intercon, Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Stephen W, Thank you for your fantastic review of our resort. It is an absolute pleasure to have you staying with us. To hear that the team has made such a lasting impact on your is one of the highest accolade we could ask for as Hoteliers. 1. We will be sad when you leave the Hotel 2. We... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited this resort in February 2013 it is no less than a heaven . The moment we entered the resort we felt a strong breeze of the ocean which immediately made feel connected to nature . Their welcome drink is outstanding. Everything in this resort is perfect . Will definitely stay here only if I visited Mauritius again .

Helpful?
2 Thank Gautam N
Mauritius_intercon, Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Gautam N, Thank you for your very positive review of our resort and for sharing your thoughts of your stay with the wider online community. I also agree with you that the resort has kept the charm and natural landscape of the Bay of Balaclava, with wonderful views overlooking the Indian Ocean. On behalf of the entire team and,... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have visited the Intercontinental for a short business trip for 4 nights. Being around many 5 star resorts, one has a minimum expectation, but Intercontinental just exceeded to beat that minimum. I am not the person to bash a place, but here I do not have any choice. If I would be a person spending my hard earned money... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank SiggiZA
IC_Mauritius1, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear SiggiZA, thank you for your review shared on tripadvisor. I am sadden to read that we didnt meet your expectations as IHG Rewards Club Member. All of our restaurants are open for last order at 10 pm, which is standard in Mauritius, as InterContinental hotel we of course provide 24 hours roomservice with wide range of dishes and beverages.... More 

Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very belated review as we stayed in May. (Currently catching up on all admin!!) The plus sides of this resort are the restaurants. You have to book the day before, but the food is beautiful, fresh, well cooked and amazingly presented. Segela was our favorite. Im not a buffet fan, so we had breakfast and lunch here... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bennybex
Mauritius_intercon, Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear bennybex, Thank you for your review of our resort and for sharing your experience with the wider online community. Overall it is pleasing to see that during such an important personal occasion to travel without your children you enjoyed yourselves and that our food and beverage service met and ultimately exceeded your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Intercontinental during our Honeymoon. We selected IHG coz we knew they will offer us Indian Food (Jain). When we arrived, they took long time for checking us in saying the rooms were not ready. As soon as we entered the room, we expected better from IHG. Property is quite old, you can smell it. However, after we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hiral D
Mauritius_intercon, Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Hiral D, Thank you for your review of our resort on Tripadvisor I am so pleased to see that our chef and restaurant teams were such a strong influence in making your stay so satisfying, As you were able to experience the resort always works to ensure that the needs of our guests are met. Thank you also for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,836 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2082)
Viewed
View from Room (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (262)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (435)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (451)
Viewed
Dining (126)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (633)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (458)
Viewed
Amenities (57)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (68)
Viewed
Family Room (60)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Room (59)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
South Pool (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (296)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Dining (120)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (72)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
11.2 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4.5 of 5 stars 3,760 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 stars 2,596 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
17.4 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 16 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 stars 1,918 reviews
15.7 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Price Range: $186 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay