We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Viva Blue Resort & Diving Sports

35 Km. South Hurghada, Safaga Road 35 Km. South Hurghada, Soma Bay Egypt
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (357)
Pool & Beach (124)
Room & Suite (57)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 7 resorts in Soma Bay
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.5
Value
4.5
This spectacular 107 rooms and suites adults only (16 years and above) Resort is directly located on the Red Sea and positioned in a way that each room enjoys its view. VIVA BLUE Resort & Diving Sharm El Naga,Soma bay, Red Sea area, is part of the Egyptian National park and offers a unique and exceptional virgin underwater wild life. Spectacular diving and snorkeling, boat trips, diving courses and reef offer plenty of opportunities for underwater adventures.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
Languages Spoken
German
147Reviews17Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 73
  • 43
  • 12
  • 8
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Priscilla W wrote a review Jul 2023
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom3 contributions
Very little good about this hotel, close to nothing. I’d say only the private beach which is nice, and the staff at the beach bar very efficient and respectful. But that’s pretty much it!!! First of all, NOT for solo female travellers! A lot of unwanted ‘very heavy’ attention, staring, and approach. Totally disrespectful! An only men running place. Never felt so uncomfortable, and I travel solo often! Food is a NO NO! Both variety and quality. I’m not fussy for food at all, I eat anything and everything, but it was just NO! I ate enough to keep standing.. and thankfully the tours I did offered lunch. Wifi DOES NOT work! I mean, at all! I tried all the networks they have, and when it connected, would take forever to send a simple text message on whats app, and disconnected every few minutes.. So, make other arrangements for internet… if I’d known I definitely would have… Air conditioner in the room worked, but in the common areas did not. Including the restaurant! Therefore, be prepared for heavy sweating while eating! And good luck. Unfortunately this hotel is the perfect definition of “you get what you pay for”… although, I can’t help but think in this case, was way overpaid. *I don’t understand the good reviews, honestly.. people’s standards are a weird thing.. I truly wish I hadn’t believed them.. :(
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John Middlemist wrote a review Jun 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
The brief for picking this holiday was to have no children, no water slides, no thumping music, no noisy entertainment, all inclusive, lovely weather and most importantly a chilled environment to easily relax in. All those boxes got ticked and and some! The hotel was very clean and tidy, the rooms were spacious (a top tip is to book a south facing room overlooking the pool and sea to avoid the prevailing wind and sand so you can sit on your balcony) and room service visited every day to clean the rooms and turn down the beds. The food was cooked very well and presented brilliantly but clearly they had a low budget so the choice was quite limited especially at breakfast. I have to make special mention of the chefs though who definitely made the best of what produce they had to work with! The staff were just great, they looked after my family and I (including my 90 year old Mother) like we were Royalty for the duration of out stay. The service levels we experienced were above and beyond. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and the drinks were all OK using local "hotel" spirits however the local Stella was great. Oddly the all inclusive reception bar shut at 23.00hrs (the only one open at that time in the hotel) and so after that you had to pay for your drinks which was a bit frustrating. The hotel was at about 60% occupancy when we were there with the majority of the other guests being German which actually made a nice change from being surrounded by fellow Brits. The weather was perfect and sunbathing by the pools and on the beach was lovely with a vast number of sun loungers and shade available to choose from. The beach was very clean and the sea was accessible from the hotel jetty (to protect the pristine House Reef) for scuba diving or snorkelling. There was also a beach bar and the waiter would periodically come and take drinks orders which was a nice touch. All in all this is a lovely secluded hotel with a fantastic staff who all go above and beyond to make your stay a great one. I will be back with some of my diving buddies to take advantage of the fantastic scuba diving on offer with the Extra Divers who are based on site (who I have reviewed separately and scored a 10/10) All in all I would score the hotel a solid 8.5/10
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LW64 wrote a review May 2023
Cambridge, United Kingdom123 contributions68 helpful votes
+1
If you are looking for animation, waterslides etc, this is not for you. If you are looking for understated, low rise peace and quiet then it is. The majority of people are here for diving or to snorkel on the reef which is directly accessible. To access the reef or for swimming it is via a jetty not straight from the beach. Subject to whatever the flag status was for less confident swimmers, there are also a couple of nice pools too. Spa /massage facilities available too. Buffet style food, there was always something you could eat. All of the staff in the restaurant and across the rest of the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to the Red Sea. Be aware that the hotel is some way away from Hurghada with the last stretch across unmade road.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Relax50122706603 wrote a review Jan 2023
2 helpful votes
The best place is perfect for relaxing and diving, staff are so friendly specially ramy and saher and Kerolos from reception, food is very delicious. We have enjoyed so much and we will recommend it to others
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MustTriharder66 wrote a review Jan 2023
Bideford, United Kingdom196 contributions73 helpful votes
Arrived in the dark and as previous reviews state, the last part of the journey is off road. Check in was quick and the room adequate. We had a ground floor room over looking the top pool and beach. (120) This is one of five rooms separate from the main accommodation block. It was clean and tidy and we had a patio. The only negative was the patio lost the sun early in the day. We were half board and a kettle would have been useful and we didn’t have a mini bar with any snacks. After a few days there was a sewage issue which resulted in us being upgraded but in the process we got to see a couple of other rooms in the main block. The rooms to the rear of the main block are adequate enough however the balcony is small and does not get the sun and faces the prevailing wind and desert. The rooms on the other side which face the pool get the sun all day. We had a ground floor room near the dive shop and we were overlooking the bottom pool. The only difference between this and our first room was the aspect, a partially enclosed patio which meant we could escape the wind ,an extra single bed and mini bar including snacks. Breakfast was simple, salads, fresh omelettes and pancakes cooked on request, fruit salad, cakes and various breads, coffee, a selection of teas and some interesting soft drinks! Dinner consisted of a selection of salads, soup, breads, two meat dishes and sometimes a fish dish. Chicken served in various forms everyday, side of rice and some cooked vegetables. Thee was also a pasta option but neither of us tried it as it didn’t look too appealing. There was a large selection of deserts, small pastries etc and coffee and tea. Full inclusive got red or white wine by the glass or lager. There was also an option for us to purchase alcoholic drinks at dinner as they were not included in our package. There is bar in the reception area which gets busy in the evenings, not for the atmosphere but because it’s the only place you can get Wi-Fi. If we went again we would purchase a SIM card. The bar only sells bottles of wine, you cannot buy it by the glass, they also do very basic cocktails. The grounds and pools are basic and generally tidy and met our needs. The pools are not heated, likewise with the hot tub, or the slightly warm tub as we named it. The beach area is serviced with a basic bar and an attendant. Access to the sea is via a jetty which takes you to the edge of the reef which is teeming with life and colourful healthy corals. We snorkelled most days and would have rented a wet suit from the dive shop but they wouldn’t rent them for liability concerns! The staff were all very friendly and speaking a little bit of Arabic goes a long way. Even a good morning and a thank you goes a long way as it appeared that a lot of guests didn’t bother and when asking for dinner items didn’t even speak to the staff but just pointed at various food items. Overall not a bad place to go, just bear in mind it literally is in the middle of nowhere with no shops and there is nothing to do other than swim, walk and sunbathe. We used Uber several times to get a taxi into Hurghada which cost €10 round trip. This compares to the €30 charged by the hotel. We felt safe during our stay and had no security issues. We would be happy to stay at Viva Blue again but would go for a room facing the pools.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Take a kettle if going half board, and maybe some snacks. Shortie wetsuit advisable in the winter...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lisa W wrote a review Nov 2022
1 helpful vote
This is a comfortable hotel with spacious rooms and very clean. The location is amazing, you go done an unmade road to get there and outside the hotel is the sea and the desert. That's it. So beautiful.The food is standard buffer fare but always something i wanted to eat, I recommend the breakfast omelettes and the honey cake.I have two issues, one is the sea is not suitable for swimming as aside from the strong tide it is very rocky and sharp underfoot. There are 2 really nice pools but I was sad about the sea. Also the bloke who sells day trips is a stranger to the truth. You can't get to Cairo in 5 hours and the tight squeeze mini van is really not adequate for a 7 hour each way jour. If you remember it takes between 6.5 and 7 hours to get to Cairo whatever the traffic ( and the traffic in Cairo is always terrible) you'll have a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Karim E wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I tried calling the front desk to confirm my booking that was made on Expedia, after a long hold the guy gets back to me saying that there is something wrong with this booking and that this was intended for foreigners only and since you are Egyptian we can not accept your booking!! I told them this is illegal and there’s no such thing and I’d like to talk to a manager, the manager was extremely rude and said we decide who we want to accommodate or you and he hung up!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibrahim Mounir, General Manager at Viva Blue Resort & Diving Sports
Responded Jun 13, 2022
It is a pity for you to play the role of the victim on social media, and since you started, and we have the right to respond to your allegations and claims, this is our response: - I was there ( the GM) by chance when the receptionist was trying hard politely to explain that the hotel has no contract with Expedia company that you booked with, therefore the hotel has the full right to reject your reservation and we are not responsible for fraud offers in the social media. the receptionist politely welcomed you to stay and pay for your stay directly in the hotel, even though that was not enough for you and you continued arguing with him!! asking him to talk with the manager. I replied to you and asked you to give me a chance to clarify the matter, but in an arrogance and impoliteness way, you started to shout yelling at me, so the response was what you deserve. Being in a high-rank post of authority (a prosecutor or judge) does not give you the right to use your power to ask the Safaga Court to accommodate you by force !! ( you are the law keeper - therefore please be the law keeper). Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
wael m wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
An exceptional hotel. Literally, it is a place in no where: the desert and a superb view of the ocean. It has a marina ,so you must be a good swimmer to enjoy the reefs. The last part of the road to the hotel is not paved,so if you need to move to hurghada or any other pkace ,you will need a charged car - uber is available . It is the right place for those who seek quietness ,peace and tranquility . I liked the attitude of the staff: they were always helping and smiling The food is good and delicious. Only you have to watch the weather as 2days of my stay were so windy .Actually I liked everything in this hotel.special thanks to Kerolos,and Ramy in reception ; Zaky and Tony in the restaurant and Mr. Ebrahim ,the manager. Sure, I will visit this place again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Zorana K wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
One of its kind. Unique, secret well hidden ecological spot. Great for snorkeling and diving. National park. The hotel does not belong to the big hotel chain. Privately owned. Not for small children and weak swimmers.Great management/owner. Great staff. Great food. The unique experience of a lifetime. The hotel offers limo 3 times a week at no cost for trips to Hurghada or Safaga.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kyle Newman wrote a review Aug 2020
Market Harborough, United Kingdom17 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed here in April 2019, had the most amazing stay. I have never had an all inclusive holiday before and it was all such a treat. I'm a new diver and all that side of things was great, managing our kit walking to the jetty, booking dives. We both eat vegan and expected a limited experience in the restaurant but we were blown away not only by what was available but also by the attentiveness and efforts of the manager and staff who already have a detailed menu book that is really clear. Totally gobsmacked. We made friends of all different nationalities too! We re-booked straight away for April 2020 but thwarted by covid19. We'll be back as soon as it's possible!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Soma Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
$35 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EgyptRed Sea and SinaiSoma Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
107
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VIVA BLUE RESORT & DIVING SPORTS $34 ($̶1̶5̶7̶) - Prices & Reviews - Soma Bay, Egypt

Frequently Asked Questions about Viva Blue Resort & Diving Sports
Which popular attractions are close to Viva Blue Resort & Diving Sports?
Nearby attractions include Soma raceway (4.1 miles), Sobar Rooftop (4.1 miles), and S.cape Beach (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Viva Blue Resort & Diving Sports?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Viva Blue Resort & Diving Sports?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Viva Blue Resort & Diving Sports?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Viva Blue Resort & Diving Sports?
Conveniently located restaurants include Benisuma Restaurant, Bamboo Shoot Restaurant, Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, and SOBAR.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Viva Blue Resort & Diving Sports?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Viva Blue Resort & Diving Sports have airport transportation?
Yes, Viva Blue Resort & Diving Sports offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Viva Blue Resort & Diving Sports?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Is Viva Blue Resort & Diving Sports accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.