We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Scottish Inns on the Hudson

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Scottish Inns on the Hudson
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 16: English reviews
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

Worst hotel ever! The smelt in the bathroom ( mold) was so bad we closed the door and switch on the fan all the night. Very scary place, the man on the registration was behind a glass!! 82 $ for that it's a rip off. Sleep in your car.

Thank magcanada
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2016

when I was a young pipefitter on the road, booming jobs all over the country, trying to keep myself in beer and smokes..... If you need a cheap week or so while you are looking for another place, you can talk them into a 275 dollar weekly rate. Don't stay more than a couple of weeks though...... you'll probably end... More 

Thank buckroy
ravi m, Owner at Scottish Inns on the Hudson, responded to this review

We certainly appreciate your business and didn't realize that you were not happy in the room that you were in. We have a room for everyone's budget and needs. Our $275 rate is a Standard Single Rooms. Fortunately enough, we only have 2 economy singles, one of which you stayed in. We also have mostly fully renovated rooms with new... More 

Travelers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2016

It is what it is, Quaint and outdated, need's renovation but its ok for a couple of days... The price is a bit high for what it is but not to unreasonable. It's close to a new job nearby so it proved to be handy for work.

1 Thank indianj0e
ravi m, Owner at Scottish Inns on the Hudson, responded to this review

Thank you. We appreciate the review and appreciate allowing us to accommodate you. Regards, Ravi More 

Waterford, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2015

Quick and easy service for a fair price. The rooms are clean the sheets are clean the beds are nicely made and its peaceful and quiet. I come hear often and i never have any issues. They always have a room available the managment staff is nice.

Thank bricks811
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2015

stayed there on a Saturday night . the bed sheets were clean , after that murder . it should be torn down and rebuilt . my wife wouldn't take her clothes off to get into bed . looks like a motel you would rent by the hour . never again

Thank louis s
Sonoma county
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2015 via mobile

It is fairly clean (dusty but clean sheets) and quiet. No closets,hair dryer or coffee in room. Peeling dry wall and made with poor craftsmanship. Old tv but they have HBO and wifi. Definitely no frills. Only hotel in town is suggest staying in Saratoga. Lot more fun

Thank willmerry
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

Agree with the earlier reviews. Room was clean and overall a no-frills solid affordable stay. Good value for the money. We also heard our neighbors but thankfully not too loud or late. Note there is not a hair dryer in the room.

Thank Jennifer K
Piseco, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2015

I found this motel from an online search. Called late PM needing a pet friendly, outside entrance room for the next morning till evening. The lady was very pleasant and accomodating. She put me on the ground floor so I could walk right out to the yard. There is a huge mowed field behind the motel and a quiet, pretty,... More 

1 Thank jill c
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2014

For the price, location, and initial outside appearance of the Scottish Inns on the Hudson, I was a bit worried it would turn out to be dirty, dangerous, and uncomfortable. Was I wrong!! Scottish Inns on the Hudson is an excellent value for any traveler on a budget. The rooms are very clean. The beds are comfortably firm with linens... More 

4 Thank BMeltz
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We booked this motel as the least expensive dog-friendly option in the Saratoga area (about 25 quick miles away) during Saratoga's opening weekend for the racing season --- the motel was clean, comfortable, spartan, and with the air conditioner running, white-noise-quiet. The wonderful surprise was the town in which the motel is sort-of located, Waterford, the oldest incorporated town in... More 

4 Thank LKardish
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (20)
Room/Suite (7)
Bathroom (1)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
4.9 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
6.4 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Latham/Albany North
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Scottish Inns on the Hudson

Address: 83 Hudson River Rd, Waterford, NY 12188-1907
Location: United States > New York > Waterford
Price Range: $84 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inns on the Hudson 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Scottish Inns on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Scottish Inns on the Hudson staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try the second floor, 1st floor smelled like it got flooded.”
 of 5 bubbles buckroy, May 26, 2016 | Read review
“If you drink coffee, bring a coffee maker..”
 of 5 bubbles indianj0e, May 21, 2016 | Read review
“Need to leave some plastic cups for a drink”
 of 5 bubbles bricks811, Sep 4, 2015 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms have easy access to picnic tables and benches outside.”
 of 5 bubbles BMeltz, Nov 16, 2014 | Read review
“We were on groundfloor of this 2xstorey motel with nobody above us & so we slept well but I can imagine it being a problem if those above you were noisy, so a top tier room may be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles gooner1972, Nov 1, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay