We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Happy Journey Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Happy Journey Motel
View Map
Add a photo
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Take that how you want!!!! But this motel had me feeling some type of way. That's all. I've never had quite an experience like this. WOW. If you are ever in Utica, please take the time to Visit. The room was a mosaic, beautiful carpet colors. Wildlife? Pristine. But DONT FEED THE RACCOONS.

Helpful?
1 Thank ajlockwo3
HappyJourneyMotel, Webmaster at Happy Journey Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What an unusual set of comments about our hotel here in Utica. Thank you so much for commenting. Since you seem in a good mood about our stay, I must assume you had a good experience. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m happy that you had a pleasant stay.... More 

Ridgeway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

This was the first motel we came across as we left the highway so we decided to give it a go. The room was not clean, desperately needed a vacuum and a good scrub of the walls. The bathroom looked to be recently renovated but the floor was not clean and there were dried urine drops on the floor in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia645
HappyJourneyMotel, Webmaster at Happy Journey Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. I’m terribly sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and in the overall experience we provide to guests. I sincerely apologize that we let you down and assure you that action is already being taken to make things better for the future. Your experience... More 

Travelers are raving about these Utica hotels

Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015 via mobile

Yikes, last minute hotel. Accepted pets ($10 more) small and kinda musky smell. Sheets and blanket seemed clean but stained ick. Please invest in new linens would make a big difference. Shower was ok, TV was not that great. No coffee in room. Probably would not recommend unless really in a pinch!

Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieME1970
HappyJourneyMotel, Webmaster at Happy Journey Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future. We’re always working to make the... More 

Utica, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

If you choose to stay here.. PAY CASH!!! DO NOT use your credit card. I checked in at 12:02am and at 12:45am they manually ran my card and charged $300 under RS Cleaning thru a cell phone or ipad device. The address for the cleaning service wasn't the same as the hotel. We couldn't even stay the full night because... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank somewon2015
HappyJourneyMotel, Webmaster at Happy Journey Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. Our goal is to provide a consistently superior guest experience, and your comments are very important to us. If any billing issue remains, please contact us directly for quick resolution. We rely on guests like you to tell us when we’re doing well and when we aren’t so we can get better. If... More 

Salsbury Cove
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

awful place to stay. I travel with two dogs, and had a huge issue walking them.they put me on second floor, and the parking was unbelievably tight.Manager was snide, and the room disgusting, very worn.I almost slept on top of the bed.Had odd motion sensor overhead light that would tunr on every time i rolled over in bed, or if... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Liz M
HappyJourneyMotel, Webmaster at Happy Journey Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable. We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down. You can be sure we’ll do better for you next time. Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience.... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Absolutely disgusting, found a ripped off toenail in the bed.. Left my purse in the room accidentally and checked out, when I came back the next day I talked to the manager he lied straight to my face and said nothing was found, thankfully I seen it in the office and pretty much had to beg to get it back!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank Jred6753
HappyJourneyMotel, Webmaster at Happy Journey Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking time to comment. Your comments help us improve. I'm terribly sorry you had a bad experience with us. Your experience isn't an indication of how we usually do business, and I regret that we didn't do better for you. You deserve a room that meets your needs and exceeds your expectations, and we'll work to... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Terrible ....... Will try to up charge your bill by saying that more people stayed in your room than really stayed ...... And left a Threat on my voice mail ..... Scumbags.........I called back and the "Manager" hung up when I told him that I have his threat still........ Called booking.com on them and reported them ...... STAY AWAY. I... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank elvis19655
HappyJourneyMotel, Webmaster at Happy Journey Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future. Please contact us directly if there... More 

Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were only paying to sleep in the room, so why pay $150+ per night at a hotel a few hundred yards away? We were pleasantly surprised with the Happy Journey. The room, including the bathroom, was well maintained, and very clean. The Motel is within walking distance of restaurants and only a one mile from the train station. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BT-UpstateNY
HappyJourneyMotel, Webmaster at Happy Journey Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. I’m very glad that our hotel's excellent rates impressed you. We focus on offering a guest experience that will satisfy a wide range of travelers. When you’re in the area again, I hope you will make us your first choice. We’ll be here when you need us with another great stay that you’re... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

It was dirty, stink and plain rancid. The rooms are small, I don't believe they clean at all and the service is horrible. Television worked terrible, I felt like I was being punished staying there. Never will this place get a red cent of my money

Helpful?
2 Thank JackdaTripper
HappyJourneyMotel, Webmaster at Happy Journey Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. I’m terribly sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and in the overall experience we provide to guests. I sincerely apologize that we let you down and assure you that action is already being taken to make things better for the future. Your experience... More 

nashua n.h
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

the rooms where discusting, the bathroom discusting, the chairs in the room looked as though they where urinated upon the carpet looked brand new. the doors deedbolt would not engage so we proped a chair up against the handle like in the movies, sign says free cable not a chance not a single channel came in. left one of the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank chrisandzach2003
HappyJourneyMotel, Webmaster at Happy Journey Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future. We’re always working to make the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Happy Journey Motel

Address: 300 N Genesee St, Utica, NY 13502-2318
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Price Range: $63 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Happy Journey Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Happy Journey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Journey Hotel Utica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay