We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Save
Share
49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
Snaptravel
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (495)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (25)

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Tarrytown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1,842Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 991
  • 409
  • 223
  • 127
  • 92
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
drumdan2002 wrote a review Nov 2020
Valparaiso, Indiana45 contributions29 helpful votes
The setting is absolutely gorgeous with rolling hills and views of the Hudson. The grounds are immaculately groomed and very well maintained with many places to hang out and soak up the views. We stayed in the Jr. Suite which offered a great view of the river and grounds. The rooms are dated but ours was clean and spacious. The Estate is a very short drive to town with various shops and restaurants to enjoy! Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Owner at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. We loved reading about all the things you enjoyed during your visit and are pleased our beautiful location made your experience unforgettable. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson and we hope it is soon.
Read more
ZaPerfectionist wrote a review Nov 2020
New York City, New York21 contributions
+1
Initial impression upon coming in was nice, greenery was pretty nice, lovely Victorian style buildings, but everything else was poor. The pool was dirty, gym was closed, fountain was in poor upkeep. 1. As for the room, it looks very nice, same for the balcony, but upon closer inspection, you can see the poor upkeep going down. Balcony chairs were old and the table was stained with cup impressions and spills. Also, a rug in an outdoor area is never a good idea, if they had slippers in the rooms, that'd be nice so you can go in and out of the balcony, but the inside has hardwood flooring in a colder area, while the outside has a rug, doesn't make sense. Just provide some cheap slippers. 2. Inspecting the room closer, I noticed there was a mold spot on the wall by a window (regardless the ad saying this room was newly renovated,) the sinks drain plug was patinated (not for looks just hasn't been polished,) the bathtub had mold on the floor (no baths here,) the tiles in the bathroom were molded as well as also had some stains on them. 3. Upon closing the curtain that leads to the balcony, the hook fell off, almost hitting my wife in the head, as it was held together by the wrong type of hook, which I then proceeded to hook back up myself. 4. All of the towels, including the bathrooms looked very old and were not soft, they were very prickly and hard, as if they've been preserved since the early 2000's and only washed with bleach, which makes my skin very itchy. 5. There's no plugs at the desk area, so if you want to do work on your laptop and don't have an extension cord, your SoL. The plug with USB and extensions is semi far from the bed as well. 6. There's no beverages in the rooms, so if you want a drink of water, I guess you have to leave and go to the next building. My reservation came with 10 dollars food credit, but the restaurant was closed. 7. This is my anniversary, and the restaurant is closed, so we couldn't even celebrate in it, even though it says it's open on Mondays in my email for the reservation. 8. But the worst part is... Bugs. Thankfully not bed bugs, but there were a LOT of lady bugs and beetles in the room, and I simply cannot sleep with bugs running around, no matter what kind they are. Especially at this time, I was up watching TV, and I felt something on my head. It was a lady bug, I squashed it on my head, and it's blood is on me and the bathrobe I was wearing. I know it's a country side area, but they need to take proper measures in sealing the rooms from bugs. I know upkeep in such lovely, older establishments like this can be a challenge, but they simply have to be done. I most likely won't come back, but if they keep the rooms up to standards, it seems like a great spot to come with friends rather than a romantic getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Owner at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your candid feedback about your time with us. We truly regret that your special visit was not as you had hoped and apologize we missed the opportunity to make your experience pleasurable. Your feedback is helpful and will be used to make improvements so that we can provide only the best amenities and comfort for our guests. Please know, our team is always available and we wished we knew about your experiences while you were here so that we could better assist you. We hope that one day you will give us another chance to welcome you back so that we can surpass your expectations and provide you with a stay that is perfect from start to finish.
Read more
Charles P wrote a review Oct 2020
New York City, New York2 contributions
My wife and I stayed here for a night for a quick weekend getaway from NYC. The property is very well maintained and the staff was attentive and friendly. We really enjoyed spending the evening by the firepit outside. Everything seemed very clean and it was clear that all necessary precautions to keep people safe from covid-19 were being taken.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Owner at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Responded 5 weeks ago
Charles, it was our pleasure to provide you and your wife with everything you needed to make your weekend getaway enjoyable. We are thrilled you appreciated the ambiance and cleanliness of our estate and thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you both back to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson.
Read more
B B wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were in the Fairfield building room 249. The room was horrid, the furniture was a Hodgepodge of different styles that did not work. The “nightstand” was too small for the room and you could not reach it from either bed. The outside electrical cord laying on it was an interesting choice. The bed was ok, I slept in my clothes as the sheets were too big for the bed, the duvet had stains on it. The bathroom was grimy. The sink handled came off in my husbands’ hand and we had to take cold showers. Peeling paint, the vent in the bathroom was gross and dusty. Stains in the shower and peeling paint. The room was so gross that I bought a pair of sleepers (at the CVS) so I did not have to touch the floor. Also, all I heard all night was slamming doors and people talking. This was a last-minute stay so I did not shop pricing or look up an online review (which now I see would have saved me $ 250+) The lobby looked amazing and the grounds were lush and well maintained. That is about all the good things I have to say. There was a dog costume event that day on the lawn. I was told by the front desk if I wanted to enjoy the bar out on the lawn, I would have to pay 25 $ each for tickets to the dog costume event. I bought my own bottles of wine and went to sit on the lawn with my husband. We sat for an hour before 4 to 8 people sat down next to us and started playing house music, loudly. We decided to go up to the room to get ready for dinner. At 10 of 5, we headed off to dinner. We arrived and were asked if we had a reservation. I was told, we did not need one. There are 2 restaurants on this property. The restaurant had not even opened yet, the hostess came back 2 minutes later and told us they “might” have a table at 9:45 pm. Did not ask if I wanted to get on a waitlist, nothing she just waved us away. We walked over to the second restaurant/bar; we were told they were closed to an event. This hotel worries more about the events than the hotel itself. Which is sad, the hotel has some great bones, but it needs an overhaul or changes the name to motel6!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: pick somewhere else
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Owner at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your candid review of your time here with us. We never want our guests to leave disappointed and apologize that your guestroom was not at its best and that we missed the opportunity to turn your experience around. From your guestroom and amenities to the service we provide, your feedback will be shared with our management team so that we can make improvements. We hope you will allow us another chance to welcome you back for a stay that is enjoyable.
Read more
DNB wrote a review Oct 2020
Holmdel, New Jersey24 contributions23 helpful votes
We went for an overnight fall getaway. First the good. Goosefeather restaurant is out of this world! Everything was delicious and our party of 7 tried almost everything on the menu. The restaurant itself is beautiful and everything you could want-great service in a stunning atmosphere. The lobby was renovated and nice. There are some pretty spots on the property-fountains, etc. check in was quick and helpful and they do give you a little covid kit with masks and gloves. It was close to Lyndhurst mansion and Sleepy Hollow. The rooms are soundproof. The hotel was a different story. After reading the reviews, I thought a renovated room would solve the issues, but I was too optimistic. I do not want to be negative because I understand how hard businesses have been hit from the Pandemic. While the property has the potential to be amazing, the outdated buildings and lack of staff made it feel more like a 1970’s Catskills scene from Dirty Dancing or like the original Mt. Airy Loge. The room was 80% renovated, but they skimped on the bathroom, left old toilets and roughly finished or not repaired walls. The hallways also show the age and there are water spots on ceilings and just has a general outdated, musty feel. The continental breakfast was inedible for $20 and I believe the food is possibly kosher. There are plastic and some wood Adirondack chairs on the front lawn but there is no staff maintaining them. There were only 2 fire pits for all the guests and staff did not provide additional wood for the fire pits and did not wipe down the chairs or the tables between groups. No heat lamps were on the lawn. They actually came and asked us to leave at 11:30 and poured water over the fire, leaving nowhere for us to sit besides the rooms. In the morning, garbage was strewn all around the chairs and fire pits, staff didn’t clean the area at the end of the night or the next morning. There was a wedding the night we were there and the debris, including broken glass was still left all over the outdoor patio the next day. This is not a luxury hotel and not worth 300 a night. The website is beyond misleading. So, all in all, go for the restaurant, but stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Owner at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Responded Oct 20, 2020
Thank you for sharing your review with us. While we are thrilled you and your friends enjoyed dining at our Goosefeathers restaurant and appreciated the beauty of our estate, we do regret if you were disappointed in any way. Your concerns about certain areas of our property are appreciated as it helps up pinpoint areas we can improve upon. We hope you will return for another visit so that we can exceed your expectations and provide you with an experience that is perfect from start to finish.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$138 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tarrytown house estate on the hudson hotel tarrytown, tarrytown hotel estate, tarrytown house hotel, dolce tarrytown house, tarrytown dolce house
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkWestchester CountyTarrytown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
212
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Which popular attractions are close to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson?
Nearby attractions include The Puzzle Parlour (5.0 miles), Rockefeller State Park Preserve (4.7 miles), and Kykuit (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro 12, Bridge View Tavern, and Mulino's of Westchester.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kykuit (2.6 miles), Sunnyside (0.6 miles), and Lyndhurst (0.6 miles).
Does Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.