We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Tarrytown House Estate

Save
Share
49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500
Lowest prices for your stay
$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/31/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (517)
Room & Suite (158)
Dining (26)

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Tarrytown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Tennis court
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Patio
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1877Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 995
  • 411
  • 230
  • 134
  • 107
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jason wrote a review Jan 15
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Do not stay here. The heat was broken. They refused to refund the room. They told us to talk to Expedia. This place tries to pass itself off as being high end but we had a miserable experience there and they treated us poorly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonia Torres, Other at Tarrytown House Estate
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your response, and we apology for the inconvenient this may have cause you during your stay at the hotel. As for the refund because you did not book directly with the hotel there is no way we could have done the refund at the site, this is why recommended that you call to Expedia and then they call us to verify the refund. We apology for any inconvenient that you experience and hope that you allow us to make up to you with a future stay.
Read more
pncboy85 wrote a review Dec 2021
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania193 contributions81 helpful votes
Arrived and was directed to a room with no hot water. After being told the absence of hot water was due to a state regulation to protect patrons from burns, we were relocated to another room. The new room had no heat. The “super” came to trouble shoot and heat was restored… for the moment. After the first cycle, the heat went away again. Lucky for us the ambient temperature was in the 40’s and we like cool rooms. For the price, the rooms are clean but not necessarily maintained. Sockets pull out from the wall; electrical plates are mounted crooked etc. The good news is the price was fair and hot water was available in our second room. There are only two choices in town. This is our first.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonia Torres, Other at Tarrytown House Estate
Responded yesterday
Thank you for input and we apology for any inconvenient this may have cause you during your stay at our hotel. Please allow us to create a better experience in the near future. Regards
Read more
ajkagain wrote a review Dec 2021
Seattle, Washington1 contribution2 helpful votes
What I noticed, in order: 1) Not easy to navigate -- parking can be far away and no elevators; 2) I could hear TV noise and voices from both sides once I entered my room; 3) security lock on door had two screws missing; 4) enamel was missing from bath shelf in shower; 5) cabinet doors were falling off: 6) BIGGIE = no hot water in shower! 7) When I called front desk, an engineer was sent to the room who tried to convince me that tepid water (not even warm) was standard in all the rooms but he would "try" to turn up the ONE water heater in the hotel for me. 8) Waited for about ten minutes, turned on all the taps, and no hot water in either sink or shower. At this point, I packed up all my belongings, dropped off my key at the front desk, drove to a nearby Marriott, and soon had completed a delightfully hot shower and popped open a split of Chardonnay to help erase the memories of my miserable one-hour stay at this disaster of a hotel. Bonus negative points to an "engineer" who tried to convince me that cold showers were completely normal in a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ebboni Evans, Guest Services / Front Office at Tarrytown House Estate
Responded Dec 19, 2021
Dear Aleta K, We're truly sorry to hear of the difficulties you experienced while staying with us. Your experience of the hotel room and property amenities has been shared with Upper Management, we sincerely apologize for the team’s shortcomings. We are dedicated to resolving these issues in order to improve the hotel experience in the future. We hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future.
Read more
DAFEastAurora wrote a review Dec 2021
East Aurora, New York23 contributions13 helpful votes
I have stayed here a number of times purely out of convenience as I visit a work office close by. That said, it works for being close to where I need to be. However, as other reviews suggest, this property is in need of some serious updating. While the grounds do feel like an estate, the hotel feels more like a Motel 6. Outdated rooms, no mobility accommodations, a RESORT FEE with NO resort amenities, drafty rooms, and underwhelming service make for a lackluster experience. On a good note, the breakfast buffet in the Biddle Mansion is of good quality, and the Food and bar at Goosefeathers is good for winding down at the end of the day. Quality of food at Goosefeathers is quite good! I wish there were better options in the area, but most hotels are ho hum! Too bad that they don't have the resources to improve the property, as the bones have potential!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Choose floor 2 if mobility is an issue, but you still may have stairs. No luggage assistance is...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ebboni Evans, Guest Services / Front Office at Tarrytown House Estate
Responded Dec 19, 2021
Dear DAFEastAurora, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It is through guests' feedback that we continue to improve upon the service we provide. It's disheartening to hear of your poor experience with us, We will be working internally with our team to elevate our property. We hope you'll consider staying with us again, for the restful and relaxing experience you deserve.
Read more
Matthew G wrote a review Nov 2021
New Jersey2860 contributions915 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I recently traveled with friends to the Tarrytown area and needed a hotel just for one night, so we chose Tarrytown House Estate. It seemed like it would be a fine choice, since it was right in the area where we needed to be, it was dog friendly, and our friends had stayed there last year with a positive experience, largely based on their enjoyment of the grounds in the summer. I had also stayed there a long time ago with my family and had positive memories of my visit from over a decade ago. However, our experience this time was just not good. This hotel is honestly a real dump, and so much work would be needed to make it a decent place to stay. Despite management’s best efforts to market it as such, it is not an upscale hotel by any means. Even though I was told that Tarrytown House recently “renovated,” so much of the property is decrepit and dated, or in total disrepair. Especially when we were there in late November and it was cold out, spending time outside on the grounds wasn’t an option, so the stay had no redeeming qualities with the interior basically needing to be gutted. Arrival Experience: When you first drive into Tarrytown Estate, it makes a good impression. The hotel is housed on a 24-acre wooded, hilly property that’s quiet and bucolic. You wind your way up the hill to get to the lobby, passing the historic Biddle Mansion along the way, which is largely just used for event and meeting space. The second historic building on the property, the King Mansion, is at the top of the hill adjacent to the lobby. From a quick first glance, things look nice, and it seems like a unique, pretty property. However, the minute you park and walk into the lobby, it’s a totally different story. The lobby had the most bizarre décor, which I believe was “updated” in a very cheap way at some point in the recent past, but somehow manages to look like you’ve just walked into a cheap, dated motel. I know they were trying to look modern, but it missed the mark by a lot. The check-in process was also poor. The man who checked me in could have not have been less friendly, and did the absolute bare minimum. His greeting was simply “ID and credit card” and that was about it for conversation. He did at least tell me that our room was going to be in the Rockland building that is adjacent to the lobby, and showed me on a map where to park and then enter that building to access our room. It seems that basically every guest is told to park in parking lot 3 near the lobby, so it was hard to find a spot there. On top of that, even though we were in the first building, it was also still a bit of a hike to get from the parking lot to our room with all of our things. There really isn’t convenient parking for the rooms, and the property is definitely not well designed at all for anyone with limited mobility. Hotel Room: Despite having some nice older buildings on the property, virtually all of the guest rooms (other than the handful of rooms in the King Mansion, which are clearly marked as such when booking), are located in a series of four interconnected buildings with ugly red roofs next to the lobby. The buildings look dated on the outside, and they were simply built in a bizarre way. I’m not sure if there’s any real difference in the buildings other than location, but Rockland was definitely not good. In the Rockland Building where our room was, the building is built into a hill, so going down the hall means constantly walking down sets of stairs of 5 or 6 stairs after every room or two, with no option of an elevator. This is especially hard to navigate with luggage. We were lucky that our room was toward the beginning of the hall on what was marked as the second floor, but was essentially the ground level. This allowed us to come right in and avoid stairs. However, if you are further down the hall and down the hill, expect to be constantly trying to drag your luggage down multiple sets of stairs. The hotel isn’t high-end enough to offer luggage assistance either. On top of the odd design, walking into the building felt like walking into the past. The hallways are super dated and old, and it’s clear they haven’t been touched in years. There were just so many little things that you take for granted and expect will be updated when a hotel renovates, but basic things haven’t been touched here in possibly decades. When we entered our room, it wasn’t much better. First, the room doors are so old that they don’t automatically shut, so you have to push them really hard to get them to fully shut and latch. This creates extra noise in the hallway as people come and go. The room itself was just weird, in line with the odd design and vibe of the property as a whole. At some point in the past few years, they clearly made some updates, since the main section of the room appeared to have newer furniture that was pretty simple with a midcentury modern look, and the bedding and wall behind the bed had a blue and gray motif that felt somewhat new. It was fine – nothing upscale, but ok. However, the entire rest of the room was like a blast from the past. It makes no sense that they would update some of the furniture and bedding into the newer blue and gray color scheme, but left gold and green carpeting that would have been in style in the early 2000s. Similarly, the bathroom was totally dated and rough, with tan tile and an older-looking granite that matched nothing else. The very tiny separate room containing the toilet and tub/shower was all in white, but in such a stripped-down way with grime and dark mold in many places, making it totally gross. The little counter/cabinet with a Keurig and mini-fridge underneath was painted light green. Next to that, the closet had no door, but rather just a cheap gray piece of fabric to pull across it. Truly nothing at all in the room matched, and the parts that had not been updated were really rough and old. There was no attention to detail or effort put into general maintenance over time in that room. I truly don’t think I’ve ever seen such a mismatched, piecemeal “renovation” of a hotel. The room looked awful. Lighting in the room was also really poor. The entire main part of the room only had one small lamp on the desk, and then wall-mounted lights on either side of the bed. However, all of that lighting was overly sterile with harsh LED bulbs, so you could barely even have those on without feeling like you were in an operating room. If you didn’t use them, there was also no other option for light. Soundproofing was bad too. The insulation between us and the room above us felt non-existent, and we could hear every step guests directly above us took. It was very audible and annoying. I’m honestly not sure I can think of a single good thing about the room. I guess the mattress was better than I would have expected given all of the other issues, but it was still relatively hard. Wifi also worked well and was easy to connect to, so I guess that was good. Our room view wasn’t too bad either. We overlooked some of the grounds and the main pathway from the lobby to the room buildings. I think most rooms at least look at some portion of the grounds or a courtyard between the four buildings. Amenities & Resort Fee: As I mentioned previously, the main positive of this hotel in good weather would be its grounds, since there is a lot of space to walk around, and there is an outdoor pool open in the summer, as well as a tennis court and some sort of other sport court. However, in the winter, there are basically no amenities. There is an indoor pool, but it’s currently closed without any explanation for why that’s the case. The only thing I noticed that we could have taken advantage of were a few fire pits set up outside of the lobby on an open patio area in the evening, which did look nice. The lack of amenities in cooler months isn’t necessarily a huge deal or unexpected, but what was frustrating was that there was still a $25 per night resort fee charged even in winter months. I am still scratching my head trying to figure out what amenities they were offering as part of that fee (maybe a gym, but that is truly the only possible thing I can think of). Even in good weather, I wouldn’t really call this property a “resort” simply because it has grounds and an outdoor pool, but in the winter, it feels like a total scam to charge that extra fee. Given that, they could at least do a better job of keeping up the grounds. For example, the front lawn by the lobby was covered in a large number of ugly orange chairs on that were clearly there from the summer and just look like a messy eyesore now. Dining: We didn’t dine at Tarrytown House at all, but I understand that the main hotel restaurant, Goosefeather, is quite good. It did seem to draw a lot of people in the evening, and their Asian menu sounded nice. You can also get food from Goosefeather delivered as room service in the evenings. I get the impression Goosefeather is managed and operated separately from the rest of the hotel, since it actually looked nicer and newer, something the hotel did not manage to pull off anywhere else on the property. A breakfast buffet is also available in the Biddle Mansion each morning for $25 per person most days, but $35 per person on Sundays for Sunday brunch. The breakfast menu was given to us at check-in and it did seem to include a good number of options, but we didn’t try it and I wouldn’t trust this hotel to actually be able to put together a good breakfast when they don’t seem capable of having their act together on anything else. Location: If you’re looking to be in the Tarrytown area, this hotel does have a good location, as it’s convenient to major highways and right off of the Cuomo Bridge. It’s also very close to a lot of beautiful towns and Hudson Valley attractions. Its name is a bit of a misnomer, as it’s not actually “on the Hudson”, but just close to the Hudson. There aren’t any clear views of the Hudson (at least not from anywhere we saw), so I think the idea of it “overlooking” the Hudson is also a bit overblown. I think a couple of rooms on the highest floors may have Hudson River views, but it’s not the norm. Given how much we disliked the hotel, I would definitely not recommend staying here if you’re in the Tarrytown/Westchester area. There unfortunately aren’t a lot of great hotels in the area, and you’re otherwise mostly limited to basic chain options. However, those are bound to be better. I would have been much happier to stay down the road at the Marriott or Sheraton where there was likely to be at least a little bit more quality control since they’re part of a chain. Overall: I would not recommend Tarrytown House by any means. It’s clearly a property where there has not been enough money or time put into it for years, allowing it to gradually decline to the point of being a total mess now. On the surface, it appears to be interesting, with expansive grounds and unique buildings, but all of that is just a façade hiding an aging, decaying hotel that is overcharging for what it offers. Rates were over $300 per night when we visited, and the quality of what was provided was not worth even half of that cost. Just as so many other reviewers have stated, do not stay here. It’s not nice and not worth your time or money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Yelissa Guzman-Grossman, General Manager at Tarrytown House Estate
Responded Dec 11, 2021
Dear Matthew G, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. In order to better uphold our commitment to deliver exceptional service to every guest, I have shared your feedback with the leadership team. We will work to improve our arrival experience and do our best to prevent poor handling of directions from occurring in the future. Your experience of the hotel room and property amenities has been shared with Upper Management who joins us in offering not only our sincere apologies for the team’s shortcomings, but our commitment to resolving these issues in order to improve the hotel experience in the future. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during these unusual times.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$138 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tarrytown house estate on the hudson hotel tarrytown, tarrytown hotel estate, tarrytown house hotel, dolce tarrytown house, tarrytown dolce house
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkWestchester CountyTarrytown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
212
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tarrytown House Estate
Which popular attractions are close to Tarrytown House Estate?
Nearby attractions include The Puzzle Parlour (5.0 miles), Rockefeller State Park Preserve (4.7 miles), and Kykuit (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tarrytown House Estate?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Tarrytown House Estate?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tarrytown House Estate?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Tarrytown House Estate?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tarrytown House Estate?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro 12, Bridge View Tavern, and Lefteris Gyro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tarrytown House Estate?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tarrytown House Estate?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Tarrytown House Estate offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Tarrytown House Estate?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kykuit (2.6 miles), Lyndhurst (0.6 miles), and Sunnyside (0.6 miles).
Does Tarrytown House Estate have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.