We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$230
View deal
Booking.com
$184
View deal
Agoda.com
$176
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/05/22
Travelocity$230
Hotels.com$230
Priceline$184
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (553)
Room & Suite (164)
Dining (29)

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Tarrytown
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Tennis court
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Patio
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1912Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,009
  • 414
  • 238
  • 138
  • 113
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Molly L wrote a review Sep 25
1 contribution
I stayed here for two nights in September 2022 and Cymantha was absolutely incredible. Every hotel should be lucky enough to have a Cymantha working the front desk. She was kind, helpful, funny, and super knowledgeable. The stay was lovely all around and the staff was the best in the business.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
KLW wrote a review Sep 18
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is built on a hillside - every few rooms there are steps. Parking is free, but a long walk from the hotel. Walking to the the room was exhausting and inconvenient. The bed was comfortable, but there was only one chair in the room. We won’t return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Shuda, Owner at Tarrytown House Estate
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Tarrytown House Estate. Although our hotel has it's challenges and you are not alone who find it exhausting with the overall layout, the majority of our guests are delighted to experience staying on 26 acres with two historically significant mansions; one with an award -winning restaurant as well as statue gardens, outside living rooms, indoor and outdoor pools with extensive sports facilities, and walkable to other significant landmarks such as Lyndhurst Castle, Rockefeller Estate and the Hudson river. There are a number of other branded hotels in the area that may be better suited to your needs. I hope you give the Hudson Valley destination another chance. Regards, Mark Shuda General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lsnyder813 wrote a review Sep 5
baltmore, md36 contributions26 helpful votes
The pictures and the views on the approach up the long drive are lovely. The hotel is not--at least not what we saw. Our room rate was $278 per night before taxes and fees and the room was, as my husband said, "70's Holiday Inn". Plastic cups in plastic wrap, tiny toilet/bath/shower area and dated carpet We got to the room and discovered a single towel and washcloth at the sink so we asked for an additional towel when we headed out to dinner. When we returned 3 hours later, no towel. The next morning, as we left for the day, we asked them to please make a note that there were two people in the room who needed two towels and we also asked that someone reattach the front panel to the air conditioning unit under the window. We came back 8 hours later and NO towels at the sink this time and the air conditioner hadn't been fixed. It took two calls to get the towels and we just ignored the air conditioner since we were headed out in the am. The place sprawls and you can't count on an elevator or assistance with your luggage. We were in a third floor room--no elevator. And again, not enough staff to count on help with bags. When we checked out this morning--two older women dragging bags and carryons though the lobby--there was no one to open the glass double doors leading out to the parking so we managed to open them only to see, as we struggled with the second door, the valet turn to look at us and then ignore us to turn back to stare at the parking lot. He was about 20 feet from us. When we checked in on Saturday we inquired about valet parking--which they had. But on Sunday, when we returned from a day out and looked for the valet, we were told that there was no valet parking on Sunday because of a private event. Not a big deal but something they should have told us the day before. We travel a lot and rarely are this disappointed with a hotel but I can tell you that there will be no return trip to the Tarrytown House Estate.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonia Torres, Other at Tarrytown House Estate
Responded 2 weeks ago
I apologize for the inconvenience that you incurred during your stay. We will apply a comp for your stay. We hope to see you in the future. You’re truly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean H wrote a review Sep 4
1 contribution
Hotel is set upon a hill next to the Hudson river. Scenic drive around part of the property to the front desk. Great view of the river and close to NYC. All of the staff are very friendly and approachable. My room was cool. With clean towels and clean sheets.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Shuda, Owner at Tarrytown House Estate
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the fabulous review! It was a pleasure to welcome you as our guest and we're elated that you thoroughly enjoyed you stay with us. We look forward to having you back in the near future. Regards, Mark Shuda General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chuck E wrote a review Sep 1
Washington DC, District of Columbia51 contributions32 helpful votes
Ok, we took the cheap approach, choosing a "bargain" off Tripadvisor to stay in this resort-looking place for about double what we would normally pay for a night's lodging--$180 including tax and fees. Here's our experience: 1) Room: no window in a basement room except to a window well. Fully underground.Sparsely furnished, but full size. Night stand for two beds, very small. Depressing. See photo. No elevators to help with luggage. At the desk, no plugs to give your computer any power. Hope the battery holds out. 2) Things to do: Look at the Hudson? Didn't see any river. Sit out in chairs on the lawn? Music piped into to multiple speakers makes it impossible to get away for a quiet conversation. I asked the desk to stop the music because we were the only people there at that time. Answer: "it's the restaurant's music; I'll try." Result: music continued. Not our kind of music (rap). Sit by the pool. Full sun on an August afternoon. Nope. Only two Lounges in the shade (taken). Go to dinner a little early. Had to sit in the bar despite making reservations 3 minutes after the restaurant opened for the evening. $108 for two appetizers and 2 glasses of wine and dessert.. Not bad, but nothing to write home about. I had hoped that a "resort" type atmosphere might be a nice change for my wife. Next time I will be very suspicious of a bargain. If you go full price, I'm sure you will have a better room, at least. But I am too cheap to pay hundreds of dollars for a one night stay. They really shouldn't rent these basement rooms. Sorry to be so negative, but I've tried to spell out what I reacted to. I'm different from you, and you might not react so negatively.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Get room above ground so you can look out the window
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Shuda, Owner at Tarrytown House Estate
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for writing us and giving such a comprehensive review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, you did have one of a couple of rooms that have a very small window. We would have been happy to moved you to another room. Our front lawn has music that most of our guests enjoy and it does get very active because of the atmosphere. We should have directed you to an area adjacent to the Biddle Mansion where we have adirondack chairs and it is extremely quiet and peaceful there. We have a few rooms that you can see the Hudson and there are areas of the estate that you can see the river. Our Goosefeather is one of the most popular restaurants in Westchester County and it is extremely busy most days. If we had the chance to receive you reservation in advance, we could have provided you with a seat in our dining room. We do hope that you will give us another chance. Please contact me directly and I will ensure you have an exceptional experience. Regards, Mark Shuda mshuda@tarrytownhouseestate.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine D wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
My room was fresh, clean and quiet. I am so pleased that I chose this place to stay while attending a family funeral. In the evening I sat outside on their expansive grass veranda looking up at the stars and beauty of the grounds. All of that the Tarrytown House Estate had to offer was very comforting to me. The Goosefeather Restaurant was a true culinary experience and I recommend the Shaved Mango Ice desert and anything else on the menu. The decor is Chic and Classy. Top Notch! Breakfast in the Mansion was presented beautifully with delicious pastries, freshly made omlettes as well as a wide variety of other choices. Breakfast also comes with breathtaking views. This Estate will be the only place I would want to stay should I ever be back in Tarrytown, NY.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Tell Reservations the type of room you would like to be comfortable and happy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Shuda, Owner at Tarrytown House Estate
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Christine, It was a pleasure to welcome you as our guest, and we're elated that you thoroughly enjoyed you stay with us. It is a huge compliment when our guests enjoy their stay so much that they take the time to review our property and recommend it to others. Regards, Mark Shuda General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
whatchamycallit wrote a review Aug 2022
Portsmouth, New Hampshire59 contributions34 helpful votes
This hotel is billed as a charming old estate on the Hudson, unfortunately that’s not what I experienced. In fact, we checked in and then after seeing the room, checked right back out again. Our arrival was hectic. We arrived on a Saturday night and it was extremely busy. Check-in was confusing. We weren’t sure where to park while we checked in. When we questioned the valet stand in front of what we thought was the main entrance he was rude. Ended up leaving the car in front of the check-in, but there is really no space for multiple cars and thru traffic, so we felt we were blocking traffic. Check-in was very slow, seemingly for everyone. It seemed strange considering we had a pre-booked room and with other hotels you can now check-in instantly using the app. The couple beside us also seemed to be having issues with the room they had booked. This hotel is NOT suitable for anyone with mobility issues. You have to park down a steep hill and walk back up. When unloading, you access the various buildings via outdoor walkways, up and down hills, finally carrying your bags up and down stairs to access the rooms in different buildings. I assume there is an elevator somewhere but I didn’t see it. The room was in Fairfield. They have different buildings and give you a handout explaining directions. This building is not in the old mansion overlooking the Hudson. The building looked like a second-rate motel and the interior was the same. We were given a room on the corner, closest to the stairs with a door that seemed broken (it wouldn’t close properly unless forcefully slammed). The bathroom was feeling it’s age- cracks, peeling paint and not terribly clean. It was clear that had we stayed we would have been in for a very noisy evening due to the location of our room and the fact that the hotel was full to capacity with tons of people everywhere. On a positive note, it seemed most people were enjoying the outdoor bar/seating area and the music. Perhaps this is a good place to come to party? For me, this place was not worth the price and did not reflect what was advertised.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid if you have mobility issues
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Shuda, Owner at Tarrytown House Estate
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for writing us a very comprehensive review. I am very sorry for the unsatisfactory experience you had during your time with us. Many of the issues that you list are inherent in the property itself . such as parking, steps, navigating to your guest room. We do have rooms in the one of two mansions but there are only 12 rooms there. I also don't know what room you were in to address maintenance and cleanliness issues. I would like to provide you with restitution and if you would kindly contact me at mshuda@tarrytownhouseestate.com or call me at 203.667.8539. Thank you, Mark
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael H wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Hi I Recently Stayed Here For A Few Days And I Have To Say That The Customer Service From Agent Tasia Was Outstanding. She Made It Very Easy For Me And My Buds To Navigate, Inform And Service Us. Not Too Mention She Was Polite And Took Time Out Her Day To Hold A Positive Conversation. Aside From That It Was A Great Stay And Definitely Plan On Coming Back When We Are In That Area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Shuda, Owner at Tarrytown House Estate
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for this fabulous review! We're delighted to hear that we went above and beyond in providing you with the best experience possible. Tasia will be so happy to hear about your glowing review and we look forward to having you return when you are in the area. Regards, Mark Shuda General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kjcwgjt wrote a review Aug 2022
11 contributions5 helpful votes
Please take to heart reviews on this property. Beautiful gardens but..our room in Putnam wing was subterranean; our window without sky. We tried to move 3x since we booked for 4nites and refused with poor customer service at reception and phone direct to hotel..rang n rang ceom room to operator..because told 3wedding parties booked and blocked rooms. Black mold in the shower; each time daily housekeeping came ALWAYS missing lots..coffee refresher, towel service..do we have to hide 2towels,..broken curtain rod, we needed to lift the the window bench to access the window AC. Property not for the infirm..we parked bottom of the hill, up path, down 3flights of stairs to our room. Up to lobby desk even more of a maze hallways, elevator stairs.Positive; Great dinner at the fun and beautiful bar in Biddle Mansion, exquisite fusion Asian..amazing chef.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Shuda, Owner at Tarrytown House Estate
Responded Aug 11, 2022
First and foremost, please accept my sincerest apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you had during your time with us. Please know that what you describe here is not the level of service expected of our employees and our product. With regards to Tripadvisor reviews, we are the number one rated hotel in our area and it confirms that we have many satisfied guests. There isn't much we can do with regards to our physical layout. The tow original mansions were built in the mid 1800's and the hotel was built in the mid fifties. But, I am sorry about the customer service you received at the front desk and would like to talk with you further about these details. Please call or email me at your convenience. Thank you, Mark SHuda mshuda@tarrytownhouseestate.com 2036678539
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cbotch wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom45 contributions9 helpful votes
Having booked online and spoken to the hotel to confirm the staff seemed very helpful and friendly. On check in, whilst the grounds looked a bit unkempt, the reception area was nicely done. This all changed when we headed to our room. The decor was very dated, paint peeling on the ceiling, minimal natural light and all in all looked like it would have been very grand in the 60’s/70’s. We decided to look around a bit before making a judgement but seeing the pool area made our minds up and we returned for our bags and checked straight out again. The staff were very understanding and kind so this probably isn’t the first time they have experienced this. Unfortunately for what they were charging I think they are living off an outdated reputation. Wouldn’t go back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Shuda, Owner at Tarrytown House Estate
Responded Aug 8, 2022
First and foremost, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the overall room condition and pool area. The hotel did receive a complete renovation less than 3 years ago. The two main buildings were built in the mid 1800's which always receive outstanding comments. We try very hard to keep the grounds as attractive as possible. This summer has been very dry and there are areas on our 26 acres that are not sprinklered. We also have many of our flowering plants that have been ravaged by our friends, the deer. You raise several valid concerns regarding room condition and we will take swift actions internally to fix these issues. Thank you, Mark Shuda General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$152 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tarrytown house estate on the hudson hotel tarrytown, tarrytown hotel estate, tarrytown house hotel, dolce tarrytown house, tarrytown dolce house
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkWestchester CountyTarrytown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
212
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tarrytown House Estate
Which popular attractions are close to Tarrytown House Estate?
Nearby attractions include The Puzzle Parlour (5.0 miles), Kykuit (2.6 miles), and Sleepy Hollow Cemetery (3.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tarrytown House Estate?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Tarrytown House Estate?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tarrytown House Estate?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Tarrytown House Estate?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tarrytown House Estate?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro 12, Bridge View Tavern, and The Melting Pot.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tarrytown House Estate?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tarrytown House Estate?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Tarrytown House Estate offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Tarrytown House Estate?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kykuit (2.6 miles), Lyndhurst (0.6 miles), and Sunnyside (0.6 miles).
Does Tarrytown House Estate have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.