We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Washington Irving Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Washington Irving Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We won a certificate for breakfast here at a local benefit auction, and went last Sunday morning. Had not visited before. It is attractive from the outside with attractive lines, but even more beautiful inside. It has a chalet feel with many skiing decorations and has high ceilings, loads of dark wood paneling and a historic feel. The dining room... More 

Helpful?
Thank allerton21
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

My husband and I wanted to treat his parents to a relaxing stay in the Catskills. We were looking for accessible accommodations, as they do not have the best knees and have difficulties climbing many stairs, and this inn happened to have two joined units located next to the inn (and with a pretty view of the woods from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank voyajem
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

We just returned from a wonderful weekend getaway at this beautiful Inn, It is an old Victorian Inn that has been carefully restored and is very well cared for. We loved every minute of it. It's owner-operated, and Stephanie gives her own special touch of warmth and welcome. The breakfast that is served is fresh and delicious . The rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank 35Lauren35
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015 via mobile

My sister and I recently stayed at the inn for a night to hit up hunter the next day. It was so cute!! The inn keeper is extremely friendly and accommodating. I'm trying to get all of my friends to go up for another weekend. Oh and the breakfast is amazingly delicious!!

Helpful?
Thank Lyss_Co
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I frequently ski at Hunter Mountain and I have been going to the Washington Irving Inn for 10 years. If you would like to travel back 150 years this Inn is the place to go. Travel down the long driveway, parking could not be easier. The restored word work will amaze you. Stephiana will check you in to a comfortable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ski_Travler
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

The Inn was very well kept. It wasn't my family and I's first time coming here. We love it every time. The breakfast is delicious and our room is great every time. The Inn keeper was very nice and made sure that we were happy at all times. We will be coming back.

Helpful?
Thank NickBBall
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

The Inn was beautifully restored and the Inn Keeper was very friendly. My room had its own bathroom, was clean, and had a balcony looking out to the beautiful winter scenery. The Inn was very close to the ski hill, and other amenities.

Helpful?
Thank Melissateacher
Astoria, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

My parents and I stayed here for two nights. Between the green swimming pool, the doors that don't open and close properly, the leaky faucet in the bathroom, the dresser missing a leg and propped up with books it is quickly clear that this place is run down and needs an extreme makeover. But the worst part was when I... More 

Helpful?
Thank kelly487
washingtonirving, Owner at Washington Irving Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for bringing this to our attention. All of our guests safety and comfort is very important to us. This property was built in the late 1800's , it is a registered historical site. We are constantly making improvements to our facility. All of our rooms are different, with various furnishings and antiques throughout. With that being said,... More 

Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

BEWARE!!! I booked two rooms here for a weekend trip to Hunter Mountain. After 8 days, I received an email telling me our reservation was denied because of a two-night minimum. No where does it state a two-night minimum. If they have one, that's perfectly fine, but they need to state it during the reservation process, or at least cancel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank emun2
washingtonirving, Owner at Washington Irving Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you had an issue with this policy. On our official website it is stated under the reservation section that this is our policy. If you contact us directly via phone we may be able to accommodate you for a one night stay next time. We apologize again for any inconvenience and look forward to hearing from you... More 

Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
218 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend in June and found everything to be just right.The outdoor pool had recently warmed to a level of 'acceptability' - the accommodations were lovely- and the breakfast delicious. Stephania couldn't have been more helpful. While the Inn is older it is extremely well cared for and the afternoon teas on the weekend should not be... More 

Helpful?
Thank IP3806
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tannersville
8.1 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Scribner's Catskill Lodge
0.9 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 5 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Inn circa 1890,in Catskill State Park. Distinctive architectural charm, classy comfort and today amenities, splendid mountain views, authentic period pieces/antiques. Full breakfast and afternoon tea and home made pastries. Sophisticated reminders of yesteryear. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Washington Irving Inn

Address: 6629 Route 23A, Tannersville, NY 12485
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Tannersville
Price Range: $182 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Washington Irving Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Washington Irving Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Irving Hotel Hunter
Hotel Washington Irving
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay