We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3805 Main St, Stone Ridge, NY 12484-5614
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (39)
Dining (11)
Pool & Beach (5)

About

#1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Ridge
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.3
Value
3.5
Located in the historic hamlet of Stone Ridge, NY, Hasbrouck House is an inviting escape from the city, a food and drink destination, and a beautiful, natural setting for special events. The property centers around an 18th century Dutch Colonial stone mansion featuring twenty thoughtfully designed suites within the main house, nearby carriage and stable houses. Centrally located in the Mid Hudson Valley, Hasbrouck House provides access to the vibrant communities of Kingston, Woodstock as well as Minnewaska State Park and the extraordinary Catskill Mountains. Hasbrouck House was designed by Akiva Reich & Co. to preserve the historic integrity of the property while providing the modern accommodations and amenities of a boutique hotel. We value the property’s rich heritage and position in the region and remain locally-focused, highlighting the vibrant and lush Hudson Valley region through our food, drink and partnerships. We invite you to come experience Hasbrouck House for yourself.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Breakfast available
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
56Reviews3Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 40
  • 6
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Holly H wrote a review Oct 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We visited New York to see friends and decided a few days upstate would be lovely in the Autumn. The grounds and house itself were beautiful. Our first interaction with a girl on reception was less than adequate. There was not the kind welcome we expected, and more than anything we felt like we were an inconvenience being there. We asked her to book a restaurant for us (given the restaurant was shut) - which she decided not to. We arrived at the restaurant and there was no reservation in our name or the hotels name. There definitely wasn't the inclination to advise us more about the facilities or the sauna which we could use. And there was a lot of eye rolling when we asked anything. We went to use the sauna - fully clothed with our costumes and dressing gowns in hand. We asked if there were showers and she said yes. To our surprise - there were no changing facilities, and yet she had just directed us to where the sauna was. I felt it was rather strange not to advise us to change before heading to the sauna - given there was no changing room to change. The Sauna wasn't on - she didn’t tell us how to use the sauna, until we went back to reception and asked. It felt like she thought we were stupid when she showed us how to use it. The breakfast was nice, but there were no staff around to top up the buffet (you had to ask!) and you help yourself the small paper plates and plastic cutlery - with an appropriately placed bin next to the buffet indicating to clean up your own table after use. This is not something i would expect for a 3 night stay $1500 (at the discounted rate) The restaurant closed 2/3 nights of our stay which we found out just before arriving, and 10% was offered in an email as a deduction to our room rate for this. However on check out - I had to ask if it had been applied - but of course - it hadn't! So a manual adjustment was needed. All the other staff were wonderful - especially George and another server in the restaurant - when the restaurant was open - the food was fantastic. The makings of something really wonderful here - just a few things that let it down.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dlamourt1 wrote a review Oct 2022
96 contributions26 helpful votes
I had high expectations for the Hasbrouck House. Unfortunately, after a long weekend stay I was not impressed. I will start off with my reservation for a massage. I was with a friend and wanting to book a massage at the same time but they could not accommodate because they only have one room for massages. Therefore, I had to cancel my appointment. Next is my yoga class, the instructor was really nice but unfortunately do to lack of communication with the front office, they kicked out out of the room because they booked a spa in that space. Next, towels, after several calls, there were no towels to be found. They informed me because it was a holiday weekend, they had no laundry service and had to do the towels on site; and they had problems with the dryer they had. Finally they delivered towels and needless to say when it was delivered by the front desk she was not very pleasant at all! Lastly, check out, after reviewing my request three times to charge a different card at check-out, they still used the original form of payment. I will not be returning to Hasbrouck House anytime soon. PS, I gave two stars because of location and maintenance of the grounds.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Andy M wrote a review Oct 2022
17 contributions7 helpful votes
Originally booked in order to take advantage of a promotional deal. Come the week of the booking the promotion was removed from my stay. The ‘complimentary’ offer given was much less than the value I had booked on the basis of. I would avoid this place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akiva Reich, Owner at Hasbrouck House
Responded Oct 12, 2022
Dear Andy, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us! First and foremost, we want to apologize for the removal of the promotion. For your stay, we noticed you had a package which included 10% off our normal rates, a bottle of wine at a discounted rate, and a gift certificate to use at our restaurant. The promotion was removed due to an unforeseen closure of our kitchen during the dates of your stay, rendering the gift certificate unusable. We also sent an email out in advance to alert all guests of this sudden closure, and offer a refund of the stay or the chance to remove the dates. We are so sorry for the inconvenience this caused, and if it impacted your travel plans in any way. As you wished to visit during your original dates, we also adjusted the stay to offer 20% off the rates instead of the original 10% to provide additional compensation, along with of course removing the charge for the wine. Once again, we are so sorry for the disappointment our restaurant availability caused, but do hope to welcome you back in the future. We would love to have the chance to connect with you via email at hello@hasbrouckhouseny.com further discuss your experience. Best, H/H Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel_LadyNYC wrote a review Aug 2022
New York City, New York153 contributions147 helpful votes
Very nice, upscale Inn with lovely grounds. Even though I do have some feedback for improvements, we liked it very much and will return. We stayed in the Stable House Classic Room, second floor overlooking the forest, beautiful view of leafy trees. Very comfortable bed, small desk and chair. Nice bathroom, good shower. Lots of windows but no screens, which is uncomfortable in the Catskills which are so buggy. Instead of breathing fresh air, we had to use the AC, which was a waste of energy, especially given the cool nights while we were there. Plus, the system isn't that great; it was hard to find a comfortable temperature. So in spite of the very comfortable bed, I did not sleep well. Expansive grounds, adirondack chairs and hammocks; campfires at night with s'mores. There was a special yoga class outdoors one morning, which was great. Problem: while promotional material says that Hasbrouck House is a smoke-free facility, there were at least two ashtrays loaded with cigarette butts just outside the reception area which is where you sit for “light bites” in the morning. Even though no one was smoking, the smell from the full ashtrays made me have to leave. Imagine if someone was smoking: I – and others – would not be able to sit there and enjoy the snacks, or just at all. Excellent restaurant: comfortable, great service, very good food. Only objection: again about air quality. When we arrived, there was some kind of fragrance in the air; the place had been misted. I don’t understand adding content to the air – “organic” though it might be, our lungs are not supposed to breathe these foreign substances – much less in a restaurant. This is carrying a design element too far. “Light bites” for breakfast was good quality, but didn’t quite make it. Started late – 9:00 – for the Catskills, where many want to get up, out and hike: fruit, excellent donuts and protein bars the first morning, but not sufficient for a continental breakfast at these prices. We ended up going into town for breakfast the second day (at Roost, ½ mile up the road: excellent). When we got back at 9:30, there was only one donut left, a little fruit and some cereal. I understand our hosts might not want to compete with their 10:00 weekend brunch – which sounds great, but is a little late for many guests – but there must be a creative solution. Maybe make a deal for an early brunch on the weekend? Or give the light bites a little boost. In spite of my feedback on a few items, the ambience here is very nice, the place is comfortable, gracious staff are all around. (I don't normally mention staff names, but I must say that Victoria is a tremendous asset.) Assuming that someone will respond to my feedback, I do recommend this Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David80209 wrote a review Jun 2022
Denver, Colorado9 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed there for 2 nights in what they call the Stable House last weekend. Neat setting and beautiful grounds. Wonderful people. So why 2 stars? Was there for a wedding with lots of clothes changing from hiking gear to pool to cocktail hours, to the wedding service, dinner and brunch the next day. Cost was around $450 a night. So for almost a thousand dollars for 2 nights you'd think they would provide some level of maid service. Simple things like making the bed; providing more coffee packets for their in-room machine; providing dry towels when requested; providing water for the 2nd day . . . Nope. None of that. And none of that after we very politely requested it twice. Their response: After our first request they said, "We will be there during the wedding service and party." Didn't happen. Their second response: "Because of COVID we're limiting those services for the safety of the guests." About the first response . . . they didn't provide anything even after the wedding and party on the second day. About the second response . . . it was nonsense. COVID wouldn't be transmissible by simply leaving us additional coffee packets, sugar and milk, or dry towels; and the disease is spread by aerial transmission not by someone coming in while we are gone making our bed. Bottom line, it was the first and only time I've ever stayed in a hotel or lodge that I have not left a room service tip. Maybe what was really wrong was that they didn't have the employees to do that basic work. Who knows? But what they told us was neither accurate nor spoken in good faith. Truly disappointing for a facility that has such a exceptional reputation and rating. I certainly hope they fix whatever really was the issue and I would have hoped they would have been honest with their guests instead of simply shunting us off.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room where the AC doesn't blow directly on your face while in bed (i.e., not Room 16)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Akiva Reich, Owner at Hasbrouck House
Responded Jul 14, 2022
Hi David80209, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us! First and foremost, we would like to apologize for the miscommunications regarding our tidy services during your visit. Our daily housekeeping services have been constantly evolving over the past few years, and it seems as though there was a disconnect between our teams during your stay regarding the services you had requested. Guest satisfaction is our top priority, and we apologize that wasn't demonstrated to you. With your feedback, we have recently updated our policies and procedures to ensure that all guests who wish to receive daily tidy services receive one. We are so thankful that you took the time to share your insight with us, and would love the chance to host you again in the future! If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to send us an email at hello@hasbrouckhouseny.com and we can set up a time to speak, and hopefully plan your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hooper3 wrote a review May 2022
new jersey57 contributions20 helpful votes
This is such a lovely inn and a perfect getaway for those seeking a short respite from the city. The rooms are lovely with fabulous bathrooms. And the grounds are beautifully kept and one can follow a short well lit path to a lovely lake where there are chairs and a bonfire. I cannot say enough about the special people that work here. Victoria who heads the front desk and manages the inn is a delight and was there to help with any of our needs. And I have to rave about the restaurant, Butterfield, the food was amazing!!! I am still thinking of the fresh trout I had for dinner. We were lucky enough to have Dante as our waiter who provide exceptional service!!! My husband and I and our terrier cannot wait to return!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Akiva Reich, Owner at Hasbrouck House
Responded Jul 14, 2022
Hi Hooper3, Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback and are so ecstatic to hear of your wonderful experience with us! We are looking forward to having you, your husband and sweet pup back at Hasbrouck House soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fixitswife wrote a review Feb 2022
New York144 contributions104 helpful votes
We came up for three nights for a nice getaway for my birthday. The time also happened to include Valentine's Day. The inn is beautifully & thoughtfully restored, maintaining many of the old & historic features, while successfully incorporating modern amenities. It's not cookie cutter, and we love that. Everyone on staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. Rooms are well appointed with nice touches like flowers & a handwritten welcome note. We ate two nights at Butterfield's - YUM! The Valentine's Dinner was perfection. Yes, it's located in a small hamlet with not much around, but Mohonk Preserve is not even 20 minutes to most trailheads, and New Paltz & Kingston aren't far at all. Looking forward to another stay in warmer weather when we can take advantage of the outdoors on the property.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: We chose 3rd floor so noone would be above us, and we wouldn't be above the restaurant or bar.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akiva Reich, Owner at Hasbrouck House
Responded Jul 14, 2022
Hi Jen, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear your birthday getaway was a trip to remember. We most definitely hope to have you back in the summer season when you can enjoy our landmark pool and cozy up for one of our Sunset Flix movie nights!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelMomma wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
Lovely place - very chic and quaint. If you can avoid staying on the 2nd floor of main house, I would. Can get a little loud, but totally manageable. Lots of fun activities, and the staff and service is excellent. Will look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akiva Reich, Owner at Hasbrouck House
Responded Dec 31, 2021
Hi Curiosity38987165105! We also look forward to you returning to Hasbrouck House! We appreciate your feedback! As the Main House accommodates the Butterfield restaurant and some of our common areas, we would recommend taking a look at staying in the Carriage House or Stable House for your next visit being that they are separate buildings!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Foodie wrote a review Nov 2021
21 contributions21 helpful votes
Spent one night at this charming inn. Beautifully restored to a cozy country hideaway. Lots of thoughtful touches all around from pre-stamped postcards to send, individual smores packets to roast at the fire pits, and fresh flowers around to little nooks to curl up with a great selection of books and games. The downstairs game room is fantastic. Several comfy hammocks and 2 large match ready fire pits around the property. Our room was excellent with superbly comfortable beds and pillows. I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud. I could definitely see returning during warmer months to take advantage of the pool, bocce ball and shuffleboard. Breakfast of pastries from a local bakery was a nice touch and the Butterfield restaurant was amazing for dinner. Not to mention the excellent cosmo from the bar before dinner. I felt like it was my own country estate and can see why people go back numerous times.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akiva Reich, Owner at Hasbrouck House
Responded Dec 30, 2021
Hi foodiehedonist! Firstly, thanks for taking the time to write us a review of your stay here at Hasbrouck House. We are overjoyed to hear your enjoyment of all our thoughtful touches as we truly put time and effort into making your stay feel both homey and luxurious. We hope to have you here again soon so we can continue to meet your expectations and beyond!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BigApple41 wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York102 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed here for 3 nights and were disappointed. The property is beautiful and the room was lovely but we didn't feel this was a true Inn. There were NO brochures to help us navigate the area. Our friend stayed nearby at a generic type of hotel and handed us lots of literature. The property is gorgeous but the path to the pond was difficult to find. When we did find it there was glass all over. It needed to have some paving stones as it was very muddy as well. it needed to be cleaned. We came home late and wanted to roast marshmallows but we had no clue where the sticks were! We also thought there was only donuts and coffee but on the last morning we saw some simple offerings-cereal,yogurt etc which we were not told about. A little annoyance: there were no towels at the pool and we called to ask for towels. Towels were brought to the pool but we needed to get up to get them. A simple bit of thoughtfulness would have been nice. Also there were no cups for water. I must say that each time we mentioned something we were not pleased with the woman at the desk wrote it down. We were first offered champagne which we declined but then received chocolate and a bottle of wine. Upon checkout we received a 10% discount which we didn't request. Perhaps the owners are new to the hospitality industry. I wish them luck but it would not at this point be our first choice to return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Akiva Reich, Owner at Hasbrouck House
Responded Jul 14, 2022
Hi BigApple41, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! Primarily, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your visit. We strive to ensure our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable getaway and we apologize that wasn't your experience. Our team gained insight and demonstrated action with your feedback. We can assure that we have made our reception area more convenient to find all s'more necessities and guides about the local area. We now promote a complimentary farmer's market styled breakfast spread on weekdays and Butterfield has initiated brunch on the weekends. Our poolside amenities have improved with an abundance of towels found at the entrance, an ice chest, carafe of water and other summertime amenities. We are thankful that you took the time to share your experience and truly hope we get the chance to host you again in the future. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to send us an email at hello@hasbrouckhouseny.com and we can set up a time to speak.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
the inn at stone ridge hotel stone ridge
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Inn at Stone Ridge
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkCatskill RegionStone Ridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HASBROUCK HOUSE - Updated 2022 Inn Reviews (Stone Ridge, NY)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hasbrouck House
Which popular attractions are close to Hasbrouck House?
Nearby attractions include The Wallkill Valley Rail Trail (3.0 miles), Woodstock Farm Sanctuary (2.8 miles), and Wired Gallery (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hasbrouck House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Hasbrouck House?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hasbrouck House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hasbrouck House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Egg's Nest Saloon, The Roost, and Rosendale Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hasbrouck House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hasbrouck House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Stone Ridge.
Are there any historical sites close to Hasbrouck House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The D&H Canal Historical Society and Museum (1.6 miles).
Is Hasbrouck House accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.