We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pridwin Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Pridwin Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Pridwin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 211: English reviews
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The entire floor of where our room was located, smelled of pot. I was told it was from a guest on the 3rd floor. There was hair all over our floor, table and on the bed pillows. Very dirty, old, and run down. The women at the front desk refunded 2 out of 3 nights, so we quickly found another... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ccs16
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are saddened that your experience is not what you hoped for. To address the issues brought up in your review, we are a hotel founded in 1927, our building has held it's charm since then, however it is to be noted, as a wooded structure unfortunately smells can travel.... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

Don't put a "hold" on a room - they won't hold it. I visited the Pridwin Hotel on Sunday with the intention of staying on Friday night. I spoke with Megan and she had one room available for this Friday. Megan offered to put a "hold" on the room for 48 hours for me because I was coordinating a room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our systems are built to automatically release room holds after 48 hours, and as you made your hold on Sunday, it did automatically release on the Tuesday. Unfortunately, on this occasion the room booked soon after it, making your stay unavailable. Our team are trained to a high standard, but... More 

Travelers are raving about these Shelter Island hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

We stayed at the Pridwin one weekend last Summer and enjoyed it. We booked for another weekend (Friday and Saturday nights) this Summer and paid extra for a view overlooking the pool and the water. We were surprised to discover that the hotel owner was throwing a party at the pool on Saturday night, with many guests and very loud... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank alana f
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Firstly, let me apologize that your visit was not up our regular standard. The event was unfortunately organised last minute, and whilst we did try to notify our guests, we recognise this was an inconvenience. We are sad to hear that you do not wish to return in the future,... More 

Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Came here for lunch and it was nice, the staff were really friendly and warm. Unfortunately not staying here but I guess the staff are competent and well trained, very friendly. Anyways the food was average and the prices were a little expensive for its value. But all things aside the wow factor was the staff.

Helpful?
Thank Adrian T
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, our staff are one of our biggest assets and we're glad you had a pleasant experience. We hope that you will visit the Pridwin again in the future, and hope that you have a great summer. James Herridge-Gibson Guest Experience Manager The Pridwin Hotel More 

Canton, GA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

We attended Pridwin for a family function. The food was definitely outstanding with an amazing selection. The view was simply breathtaking. We did not stay here but next time we will consider it. Lovely.

Helpful?
Thank Travelers5GA
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a kid review. Your comments have been passed on to our chef, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! James Herridge-Gibson Guest Experience Manager The Pridwin Hotel More 

New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

First,a big positive shout to the following folks:JP,Glenn,Greg,Patty,Becky,Bridget&Sean!for being polite,responsive,friendly,professional and excellent members of the Pridwin team,Asides from the resort itself, the staff is always a joy, The plant as 've is clean,homey,roomy, nicely decorated inside and out, with the best view on the Island,the deck is worth going to by itself,breakfast is excellent,as are the dinning options,I was lucky... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blackiefazz
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review, our staff are asset to the hotel and we are so glad you found the staff welcoming and helpful. Our hotel, beach and pool are always guaranteed to satisfy our guests, and we're very pleased that you got to experience all the Pridwin has to offer. We can't wait to welcome you... More 

New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel. Has old world charm directly on the beach. Alittle pricey, but all hotels on Shelter island are. Their breakfast area is really nice, you can sit out on their deck, have a nice meal and enjoy views of the beach and bay. It is really quiet too! Staff is nice, most with British accents. Two drawbacks are the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jlipp5240
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback! We are glad that you enjoy the deck and that our staff provided a pleasant service, we do hire a lot of international staff for the summer season, mainly from the UK and Ireland, and they are an asset to our hotel! When the hotel was built in 1927, we originally had communal... More 

Level Contributor
253 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

The hotel is beautifully sited. The views extraordinary. Abundant common space to lounge in. The staff will even help you tie up your yacht or sailboat. Downstairs there is a common game room. The first day, there were no ping pong balls for the table. A bit odd for July? We thought it would be a busy month? They said... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian D
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! With reviews such as these we can really help improve the experience for all our guests. I apologise that some of the facilities in the Games room were not available, we surprisingly go through quite a lot of ping pong balls in the summer, due to damage or loss, we do try to keep track... More 

Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I had a great experience at The Pridwin. The staff is welcoming and can't do enough for you. Location is amazing with a small but beautiful beach. Rooms are comfortable and well-equipped. Complimentary breakfast was an added bonus. Would gladly return!

Helpful?
Thank mjcomba76
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. We are happy that you found our staff welcome, and hope to welcome you back soon! James Herridge-Gibson Guest Experience Manager More 

Long Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

Brought my children and grandchildren for a few days. The bay views from the hotel were spectacular. Loved eating outside - the food was great. The kids had a ball in the pool. and had fun building sand castles on the beach. We had a wonderful time. Everyone wants to go back next year.

Helpful?
1 Thank YiaYia25
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased to here that you enjoyed your time with us at the Pridwin. We very much look forward to welcome you back soon! James Herridge-Gibson Guest Experience Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
0.8 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sound View Inn
Sound View Inn
#2 of 7 in Greenport
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pridwin Hotel is an iconic Shelter Island hotel on Crescent Beach, Shelter Island. With 40 rooms, 9 cottages, private pool, beach, docks for boating and a restaurant and bar overlooking the bay, the Pridwin is a small resort with many amenities for a relaxing escape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Price Range: $213 - $1,112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay