We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Pridwin Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Pridwin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 207: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think if I had read the reviews of the Pridwin before going , I'd have thought twice about booking ..thankfully I only looked up the resort on their website and going by the images of the place reckoned if would be fine ..and it was.. Firstly lets get things in perspective ..in the Hamptons , there are no Four... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony F
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review, we hope you have a pleasant summer and hope to welcome you back to the Pridwin in the future. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came here on a Monday-Wednesday for an easy getaway. The hotel is lovely. Yes it's old, but we knew that going in. We stayed on the first floor by the bar - and were able to get a deal with the stipulation that we couldn't ask for a refund for noise complaints. If you're not a very light/early sleeper... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jessica z
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review, we hope you have a pleasant summer and hope to welcome you back to the Pridwin in the future. More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dear friends, We have never before had such a degrading experience in any hotel in the whole world.  What a nightmare. The hotel’s website misleadingly alludes to an establishment of classic style that could possibly justify the rates they demand. Instead, to our great dismay what we found is a dirty YMCA style hostel / beer-smelling college dormitory. We checked... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank AlessandroBarile
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us and we appreciate the opportunity to redress your concerns, as we did, in person, at the hotel. We do not wish our response to be exhaustive, however, for clarity, we feel it is important to offer some perspective to the points raised. The... More 

Travelers are raving about these Shelter Island hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second stay at the Pridwin. There are many things I love about the place and would most likely stay here again. BUT they are in desperate need of updating their lobby, lobby bathrooms, and room bathrooms. The carpeting in the lobby, up the stairs and in the rooms looks worn, dirty and very old. The ladies bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank barbara m
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We planned a last minute visit to Shelter Island with our daughter, her husband and our 2 grandchildren. We overlapped our stay, The hotel met all of our needs. The setting on the water with the view was one of the best on the island.The standard room was very nice though my daughters bathroom shower had a shower head that... More 

Helpful?
Thank carol M
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We absolutely love this place. We rent a cottage for a week during the summer every year, this is the fifth consecutive year. Very unpretentious but still cleaned up. The Pridwin is kid friendly, but with the nicest families and really well behaved kids. Fantastic breakfast, do not miss the powdered sugar donuts. The staff is super nice, cleaning staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank R G
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The entire floor of where our room was located, smelled of pot. I was told it was from a guest on the 3rd floor. There was hair all over our floor, table and on the bed pillows. Very dirty, old, and run down. The women at the front desk refunded 2 out of 3 nights, so we quickly found another... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ccs16
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are saddened that your experience is not what you hoped for. To address the issues brought up in your review, we are a hotel founded in 1927, our building has held it's charm since then, however it is to be noted, as a wooded structure unfortunately smells can travel.... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't put a "hold" on a room - they won't hold it. I visited the Pridwin Hotel on Sunday with the intention of staying on Friday night. I spoke with Megan and she had one room available for this Friday. Megan offered to put a "hold" on the room for 48 hours for me because I was coordinating a room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our systems are built to automatically release room holds after 48 hours, and as you made your hold on Sunday, it did automatically release on the Tuesday. Unfortunately, on this occasion the room booked soon after it, making your stay unavailable. Our team are trained to a high standard, but... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Pridwin one weekend last Summer and enjoyed it. We booked for another weekend (Friday and Saturday nights) this Summer and paid extra for a view overlooking the pool and the water. We were surprised to discover that the hotel owner was throwing a party at the pool on Saturday night, with many guests and very loud... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank alana f
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Firstly, let me apologize that your visit was not up our regular standard. The event was unfortunately organised last minute, and whilst we did try to notify our guests, we recognise this was an inconvenience. We are sad to hear that you do not wish to return in the future,... More 

Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for lunch and it was nice, the staff were really friendly and warm. Unfortunately not staying here but I guess the staff are competent and well trained, very friendly. Anyways the food was average and the prices were a little expensive for its value. But all things aside the wow factor was the staff.

Helpful?
Thank Adrian T
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, our staff are one of our biggest assets and we're glad you had a pleasant experience. We hope that you will visit the Pridwin again in the future, and hope that you have a great summer. James Herridge-Gibson Guest Experience Manager The Pridwin Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
0.8 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sound View Inn
Sound View Inn
#2 of 7 in Greenport
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pridwin Hotel is an iconic Shelter Island hotel on Crescent Beach, Shelter Island. With 40 rooms, 9 cottages, private pool, beach, docks for boating and a restaurant and bar overlooking the bay, the Pridwin is a small resort with many amenities for a relaxing escape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Price Range: $221 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay