We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
434 State St, Schenectady, NY 12305-2300
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel$90
Agoda.com$90
Etrip$90
Priceline
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (34)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (5)

About

#7 of 17 hotels in Schenectady
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
The Parker Inn & Suites is Schenectady's only boutique hotel, located on historic State Street, in the heart of downtown Schenectady's business and entertainment districts - just steps from Proctor's Theatre, MVP Healthcare, historic Jay Street, Schenectady County Community College, Aperitivo Bistro and the local Schenectady Farmers Market. Located within walking distance of downtown Schenectady's top entertainment and attractions, and a short drive from General Electric, Union College and Albany Airport, The Parker Inn and Suites offers the perfect location to explore New York's Capital Region. Now operating under new ownership and management, the Parker Inn & Suites offers luxury boutique hotel accommodations, whether you are enjoying a show at the famous Proctor's Theatre, in town for a meeting, or with us for an extended business stay. The studio and one bedroom suites at the Parker Inn and Suites offer a balance of historic finishes and modern amenities and include kitchens in select units. This downtown Schenectady hotel is sure to exceed guest expectations for dining, comfort and the finest business and banquet event facilities. All of our oversized, well-appointed hotel rooms and suites feature unsurpassed comfort our guests have come to expect from our boutique hotel. The warm ambiance of each of our rooms is sure to help you rest and relax on your next business trip, vacation or romantic getaway.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Wifi
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Radio
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
228Reviews4Q+A39Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 114
  • 59
  • 17
  • 11
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pioneer31146 wrote a review Sep 12
Fayetteville, New York4 contributions
First, we were concerned about the number of people sitting on the curb in front of the hotel, then the front door covered in dirt and fingerprints. We walked in and there was a sign on the desk that advised us to call the phone number written on it for service, and a young woman standing in the lobby who informed us that the guy working would be down shortly, and she was done with her shift. After about 10 minutes we called the number and left a voice message stating that we were hoping to check in. We never heard back. Them someone came in from the street and said they were working on the addition, and called the number and talked to the guy to notify that there were customers waiting. We waited another 10 minutes or so before he finally came down, looking like he may have just woken up. He didn't tell us anything, just handed us the key, which by the way was in a dirty, old looking envelope. We showed ourselves to what could have been a quaint old elevator but actually seemed to be on its last leg. Found our room after walking through a dirty hallway that was in disrepair, including the large holes in the ceiling. Walked into the room that was also dirty- everything was filthy- the bathroom including mirror, sink, counter- which was as far as we looked, the bedroom floor needed vacuuming, don't even want to consider when the bedding was changed. The view of a roof covered in pigeons and their poop was not the most pleasant view available, no doubt. We felt unsafe there, which says a lot since we live and work in Syracuse which is very crime ridden. Worried about touching anything in the room, worried about our safety if we went to sleep, worried about walking to our car. We left after about 5 minutes. Gross. This place should just close and reopen when they get themselves together.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GridironOH wrote a review Aug 2022
Westerville, Ohio44 contributions20 helpful votes
The hotel is understaffed and locked at night. The area is not safe. I saw three drug deals go down on the street looking for their parking lot. They say they offer free parking but that just isn’t true. Street parking available for free during the evening and weekend is NOT free parking that should be advertised as an amenity.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Erica Y wrote a review Apr 2022
West Chester, Pennsylvania2 contributions2 helpful votes
I thought I made a reservation for 2 rooms in May. I realized I never received confirmation/booking nor email. I tried calling the number listed and it is "not in service" . Strange. Booked another hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
frisbeesports wrote a review Apr 2022
Ithaca, New York11 contributions4 helpful votes
Sadly, this hotel is having real problems. I arrived at about 8pm on the night of my reservation. The front door to the hotel was locked and no one was at the front desk. I banged on the door and waited around for a while - no sign on the door and the phone number on their website is disconnected. I went to the Hampton Inn next door to ask if they knew anything - they told me I was not the first person to have this problem. The said they think it's a scam - that the hotel doesn't staff the desk after 3pm. Honestly, I'd love to give my business to a small, boutique hotel, but...I couldn't pick up a key, I had no way to stay there. Fortunately, I booked through Hotwire - they tried calling the hotel, found the number disconnected and so they immediately refunded my money. The next day, I went to the hotel in the morning. The door was unlocked, there was no body at the front desk but there was a hand written note on the front desk (which you can't see from outside) saying "text this number if you need help" and providing a code to the keypad at the front door. I called the number and the guy said that someone was a "no show" to work on the night of my reservation. He assured me I wouldn't be charged, but otherwise seemed not to fully "get it" that they locked up the hotel and left incoming guests with no way to check-in. I really hope the management of this hotel can get their act together - it sounds like they only recently reopened after covid (and under new mgmt) but...if guests can't check in, it's going to pretty hard to stay in business!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Philip C wrote a review Nov 2020
Tiverton, Rhode Island1 contribution3 helpful votes
Like other reviews, we have not been able to reach this hotel. We have called and emailed. We also tried via contact screen and it doesn’t work. We never received an email confirmation and there is no option on line to manage our reservation. We need to cancel as our plans have changed but are finding it impossible to reach them. It sounds like this is their MO which at best is bad business and at worst a ploy.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Elizabeth A wrote a review Oct 2020
4 contributions5 helpful votes
I have never been more horrified and don't know where to start except to warn travelers DO NOT STAY here! *Nobody answers the hotel's main phone number- all day it just rings - no voicemail, nothing. * show up to the hotel at 7pm and it's dark, locked, completely shut-down-looking, no humans in sight at the front desk or anywhere. *permanent sign on door (and again on front desk)gives a # to call if checking in after 11pm, which I was not, but I called it and the guy who answered just says: hello." *guy on phone does not apologize or seems the least bit interested in my attempts to reach by phone or my alarm with not being able to get into the hotel and proceeds to walk me thru the steps to use a nearby keypad, then open a drawer at the front desk and find my key. * in the hall leading to my room is a trash can full of kitchen trash. Get to my room and it STINKS so badly, I gag. The room is a tiny, dingy, dump. There's no kitchenette. I open a window, drop my bag and leave right away for my meeting. Hoping when I return, the smell will be gone. No such luck. I return and look around: the bathroom sink is not clean, crumbs on the desk and then I open the closet and find the source of the stench; a pair of FILTHY mens socks. * After my 1st complaint to Darshan (who answered the phone), he no longer responded to my messages. * I had no access to wifi. Darshan wouldn't respond to my texts asking for the access info. It's now 11pm on Saturday night, I am traveling alone and stuck in this filthy room, with no wifi in the middle of a pandemic. *Thank heavens there was a Hampton Inn 2 doors down. I left the Parker Inn in and paid nearly $200 for a room there, but it was better than risking COVID and god knows what else. Seriously, the health department should shut them down.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Parker Inn, General Manager at The Parker Inn & Suites
Responded Oct 6, 2020
Thank you for your review! I would like to start off by saying sorry for the experience you had at our hotel. This guest did book through a third party where the hotel chooses the room type, we do have rooms with kitchens but during this guests visit we were sold out, she also wanted a room with two beds, in which we do not have at this hotel. I informed her we can switch the room to a kitchenette, but it would not be until the following day. We tried to contact the guest before hand but there was no phone number on file to inform them about the special check-in instructions. The keypad is a standard procedure for guests to use throughout their stay which we have implemented. I had tried contacting the guests a few times after I was hung up on to help see if we could find some sort of solution to different room of the same type. As there is global pandemic, staffing is very hard for many small businesses, that is no excuse, but man owners are struggling to keep their doors open to make sure they can survive, this might mean they have to cut costs, such as breakfast, or staffing, etc. we have had a plan that has been working for the past few months and many of our guests, are returning, or do not mind. There was no need for my response after the third party had called me and we reached a solution for the guest, I was not able to switch the guest to a room strictly because we were busy. We looked at the Wifi, and it in fact was working and was able to connect very easily. Thank you so much for your suggestions and thoughts, we hope you have a great day and an even better year! Stay safe.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CJ wrote a review Jun 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I understand we are in unique times but my fiance and I have a wedding coming up in August and had some questions regarding our reservation. 20+ phone calls, and 6 emails over the past month and a half have gone unanswered. Hotel Phone doesn't have an answering machine so can't leave a message. Really just looking for another way to reach someone to make sure we aren't charged for rooms and can request our new date. Once that is done I am fine with editing/removing this review. Let me know the best way to reach someone.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sam wrote a review Mar 2020
Hoosick Falls, New York3 contributions
Economically priced spacious room very clean front staff friendly centrally located near restaurants and shows! Bathrooms are well lit great water pressure in the shower and beds are very comfortable!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mvp724 wrote a review Mar 2020
Copper Mountain, Colorado80 contributions33 helpful votes
This small renovated inn is just what I was looking for in Schenectady. It is conveniently located on the main street and the room was spacious and well-appointed. I would definitely recommend it. My only comment (and the reason for 4 stars instead of 5) is that we happened to be staying during a show at Proctor's. We left for the morning and when we returned mid-day, there was absolutely no parking left for hotel patrons. Even those spots designated for guests were take by theater goers.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michael L wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Business associates booked this for me. Amazingly nice accommodations. Will definitely book again when in the area. Convenient to shopping, dining and entertainment. Parking was a breeze. The hotel staff, Melody and Maria, were excellent. I normally only stay in Marriott’s or Hilton’s. This was very nice and I plan to return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: I stayed in a standard queen room. It was very nice.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from parkerinn, Front Desk Agent at The Parker Inn & Suites
Responded Mar 8, 2020
We are so pleased that you were happy with your stay. Looking forward to your next visit. Enjoy the rest of your day! - Melody
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the parker hotel schenectady, parker hotel schenectady
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkSchenectady
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Parker Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to The Parker Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Proctor's Theater (0.06 miles), Schenectady Greenmarket (0.03 miles), and Movieland 6 Bow Tie Cinemas (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Parker Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Parker Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Parker Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Parker Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Parker Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Villa Italia, Johnny's, and Tara Kitchen.
Does The Parker Inn & Suites have airport transportation?
Yes, The Parker Inn & Suites offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Parker Inn & Suites located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Schenectady.
Are there any historical sites close to The Parker Inn & Suites?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Shaker Heritage Society (8.3 miles) and Mabee Farm Historic Site (5.9 miles).
Does The Parker Inn & Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Parker Inn & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.